HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Marques Brownlee

Google Nexus 5X Review!

44481 ratings | 2081572 views
LG Nexus 5X: The little brother Android 6.0 flagship for Google! Nexus 5X: http://amzn.to/1YkHpMi Nexus 6P Review: https://youtu.be/Xc5fFvp8le4 Camera photo samples: http://goo.gl/thGeZZ Video Gear I use: http://amzn.com/lm/R3B571T7PT4PWM?tag=m0494a-20 ~ http://twitter.com/MKBHD http://google.com/+MarquesBrownlee http://facebook.com/MarquesBrownlee http://facebook.com/MKBHD http://instagram.com/MKBHD
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (3773)
Christopher Miller (14 days ago)
Does this have expandable memory
Samuel Chan (14 days ago)
If you're trying to use this phone in 2018, don't... It sucks dick now
Hypernova (1 month ago)
Is it Nexuses or Nexi? 🤔
John Tantay (1 month ago)
I miss the Nexus 5x. I love LG as a brand but their phone branch is awful. LG G3/G4, Nexus 5x, bootloops. And the pixel 2XL blue shift panel. Google needs to get htc or Samsung again. Or source pixel themselves. Do not get any LG phones.
Jovie Brett Bardoles (2 months ago)
This was the first Nexus phone I've ever had, a really great phone if it wasn't because of the bootloop issue.
Joseph Sin (3 months ago)
Phone sucks, i have it
Safeboot (3 months ago)
I had this phone, but, it died. So I am getting a 6P.
TechThatYT (3 months ago)
I've had 2 and they both bootlooped would not recommend.
BallisticGamer 135 (4 months ago)
Does this phone work with sprint for service
クラッカーナット (5 months ago)
Don't get this phone The Nexus 5x boot loops!
Arjun Sen (5 months ago)
Watching this on my Nexus 5X in 2018!!!!
Ray Malik (5 months ago)
2018 still using nexus 5x
lemar mckellop (3 months ago)
Saame
Enrique Perez (5 months ago)
Ray Malik same lol
Joan Ardon (5 months ago)
I want a Nexus 5 with glass and metal, QHD+ bezel less display, and 2018 specs
GelsonBlaze (6 months ago)
Is it still worth it today?
Rage 9one (7 months ago)
Still a great phone, and it's so fast with oreo.
irisdesign guler (7 months ago)
nice and clean hardware 95 percent of the devices have bootloop issue
Beyblade420 (7 months ago)
This phone and the Xiaomi Mi A1 are likely the Best Buy for a little over $200.
Brittany Wasserbeck (7 months ago)
Not a best buy because it isn't compatible with androids new software.
Louie R (7 months ago)
I'd love to watch this video on my Nexus 5X that is just over 15 months old, however it's succumbed to the infamous bootloop problem and now I've gotta pay for LG to repair it. It's gonna be expensive. Although it is a good phone, the motherboard is crap and will fail. Don't buy this phone.
Louie R (7 months ago)
Brittany Wasserbeck Yeah, same here, I'm disappointed by LG and Google not recognising that it is a problem and offering nothing to owners of affected devices
Brittany Wasserbeck (7 months ago)
Had it since release. I'm so upset with this bootloop after upgrading to POS Oreo. I'm not paying a cent for a software/hardware issue that isn't my damn fault.
clash with kushal (7 months ago)
Lineage os spotted on google nexus phone 😂😂😂😂
Denzel Dickenson (7 months ago)
Feels so old
Tsaav Ntsaim (7 months ago)
some lg design language is there too isee
Sherif Sameh (7 months ago)
so this happened yesterday, My second Nexus Phone just died, got stuck into a bootloop, then refused to turn on, then shut-off completely after exactly 1 Year and 2 months (14 months). now to tell you the story from the beginning, I had my first Nexus device in 2012 which was Nexus 7, and I was amazed on how well pure android performs on a tablet contrary to Samsung tablets, I was in love, that was my first mistake, 2 years down the road, the tab began to hang and freeze & the only solution was to reset and work with it again, something about its build or RAM i don't know exactly. then in 2013 I got my first nexus phone (Nexus 5) it was really amazing, it performed beyond expectations, was very fast compared to its rivals which cost almost its double, and I was happy, actually happy, but Unfortunately, this did not last, on mid 2016 it got stuck into a bootloop where the power button got stuck that it always is pressed , maybe it was my fault as the cover of the nexus was slightly pressing down on the button, I said ok, tried to fix it, went to professionals but to no avail. people said, well it performed well for over 3 years, you should praise it for all those 3 years, and I said fine, so I thought to myself, If a mobile worth 3500 EGP got me around 3 years with nothing like freeze or hang or random shut-off, definitely its successor (Nexus 5x) would at least perform the same, if not better. here then and there is where I made the stupidest mistake, I was deeply loyal to the Nexus devices that I didn't even consider any other brand, I thought to my self no other mobile will be this comfortable and within this price range, this was in July-2016 so it cost me exactly EGP 3800, which I was like "YAY" :D here was my mistake, I was so stupid that I bought the same phone from the same manufacturer with the same brand expecting things would be different " this is the definition of insanity " by the way. My new phone nexus 5x had died from the SAME problem that the first phone suffered from. What I failed to notice, being blind by my loyalty to GOOGLE & LG, never thought that google would betray its loyal customers like this, is when google supposedly discovered the issue that LG had done with the Nexus line it decided to switch to another brand in its Nexus 6P. As I was too busy trusting you "Google" & "LG", you have stabbed in my back. After a through research on the nexus forum, i discovered the following, thousands of Nexus 5x users had encountered that same problem exactly after 1 year of their purchase (depending on their usage), so when I followed what they did, it was so ********* simple, they just went to google & then it was replaced, the most complain that I saw, is that one of the guys had to wait a long time until his device was replaced because he bought it from a third party store. What I've also learned, is that google recognizes this problem and immediately replaces the device. Too bad that I'm in this hellhole, where If I sent it to google they would replace it, and when it comes back to this swamp, I'll have to pay CUSTOMS for the SECOND time, which by my estimation would definitely cost more than what I had originally paid, in addition to the shipping cost, and all of this would not be done in a fortnight, it would take at least 2 -3 months. so in conclusion, I've got now 3 Nexus devices (N7 + N5 + N5x) How many of them I can actually use ? Answer = ZERO This story was just to sum up my mistake, and to widen your gaze not to stay loyal to one single company or brand just because it was good in the past, when you need to make a decision you need to be more objective and consider all possible scenarios.
Black Panthurr (9 months ago)
They say that; The legend itself, came back from the grave. And became, *the 5X.*
BaggiesofSwaggiesGaming (9 months ago)
I really want this phone for my 12th bday. It's cheap, i love the way it looks, and the software is new enough to use
Aliex Simth (9 months ago)
Garbage phone, 5X is very easy giving you a black screen and never wake up again. In two months.
Nathan C (6 months ago)
Speaking from personal experience?
Virtually Mainstream (9 months ago)
Nexus 5x or onePlus 2?
CS tec (9 months ago)
ha've an extre nexus
kasun madushanka (9 months ago)
pls dont buy nexes 5x..
Jovie Brett Bardoles (2 months ago)
Nathan C all of the manufactured 5X have a faulty motherboard which causes them to bootloop
Nathan C (6 months ago)
Why? It’s stock android
Habib Ali (9 months ago)
I have a 5X, best phone I had, one day I was playing a game and it just froze and the screen went black and it wouldn't turn on and still won't till this day and I figured out its called boot loop that's a problem with the LG Google Nexus 5X
Vishal Perera (9 months ago)
para para huththo
TheOnlyFairee (9 months ago)
Who else has a 5x brick?
Adnane Azami (9 months ago)
Guys i'm 14 and ..should i buy this phone or the s5?
Jovie Brett Bardoles (2 months ago)
your comment is a bit old but I wouldn't recommed you to get this one
Nathan C (6 months ago)
Personally I would go for the 5x. I have the SE but I really hate ios, I’m just tolerating it right now lol
Nikola Petrovic (9 months ago)
what about sound,and speakers??
Luis Feijoo (10 months ago)
Ohhh, I loved my nexus 5x. I had it for almost 2 years before it died, that was actually a pretty funny (sad for me) story; the device went on a boot loop two months ago and I went to a phone service that replaced a few parts (battery, charging pin, etc), then after two days the processor died. I couldn't take it to a google or lg certified service because I live in Venezuela and there are non of those here. But coming back to the nexus, I'm pretty much certain that it was THE BEST "budget phone" that I ever used or owned (I previously had a nexus 4 and a moto g2), for know I'm stuck with my old and nasty galaxy S3.
David Celaya (7 months ago)
Almost same story. Sucks. I guess $400 for 2 years is about all I'm supposed to expect. Dumping google and fi.
Rejay BOT (10 months ago)
Man... I wish I can do everything I want My dad doesn't let me to buy this Phone! 😢
Ashwin Prasad (10 months ago)
I find it easier to just use the volume buttons instead of the actual camera button as it saves time
zeeshan subhani (10 months ago)
can you get a skin for this phone
Felix Ravestein (10 months ago)
No, it will overheat the battery and explode.
robin (10 months ago)
I wanted it so badly when it was out! Wish it was available at ofline stores
zhen ting (11 months ago)
I watching this video on my Nexus 5x lol
Ar Rana (11 months ago)
Please, anyone give review about this phone after long term use.Hv any problem in battery??bootloop, what it's means?? Plz,m facing problem wht phn wil be better within 22k(bdt)
Rutger (10 months ago)
I got the bootloop after 1.5 years its getting fixed now. The battery is getting worse but i still get through the day. I wouldnt get it now though take a look at a motorola device.
Niels Van Steen (11 months ago)
My guestion would the battery last 5hours in a plane while watching a downloaded TV serie ? EDIT: notice the phone would have airplane mode enabled and thus consume less power
Muhitul Khan (11 months ago)
if it had 3 GB ram it would have been better
David Moreno (1 year ago)
3:15 Some thrash to the Nexus 6P showed up here
Adam E (1 year ago)
I had this and the original nexus 5. Both got bootlooped and stopped working. Never again. 4 year nexus user switched to an s7 edge
SuperK677 (1 year ago)
I still have a nexus 5
Ituze Christian (1 year ago)
Ever heard of the word bootloop? it's a a nightmare that strikes nexus 5X phones once you keep upgrading. My phone litteraly shut down and I was on a call. and this was after upgrading to the new android O.
David Celaya (7 months ago)
Android O killed my 5x. It's just that google wont admit it. Blaming lg. Whatever. They got my money once, no more. Bye google, bye fi.
Kimberly Yeung (1 year ago)
Worst phone I've ever had. I switched from iphone to this and i'm never making that mistake again.
David Celaya (7 months ago)
Sorry to hear that. The nexus 4 was an awesome cheap device. The nexus 5x was supposed to be the successor. My was great, for the 2 years it worked. RIP Nexus.
MoonSaiyan (1 year ago)
I use a lot of utility apps 2GB of ram is definitely not enough. Even 3GB of ram gives me lag.
Aqeel kamaldeen (1 year ago)
I send papered the back and sides of my Nexus 5X it feel so much better now.
Alex (1 year ago)
Is this phone worth it in 2017 ?
Evan Coleman (9 months ago)
Alex No
RRainerss (1 year ago)
Too bad it bootlooped...
Kanak Sharma (1 year ago)
plz upload camera compare bw nexus 5x vs moto g5 plus
Besjan Osmanaj (1 year ago)
Heya Marques, can you make a Nexus 6p vs Nexus 5x video :)
Zombiechrist265 (1 year ago)
Picked one up for 70 bucks new.
Dr. N. A. Faravi (1 year ago)
oneplus 3? or nexus 5? which will be the fastest phone even after using one year bro? @Marques Brownlee
Toby Forbes (1 year ago)
Great video, really helped my decision to buy the nexus 5x
Tomislav Soldinjo (1 year ago)
Nice review. After many thoughts, you convinced me to buy one. Thank you. You are awesome!
псих (1 year ago)
nice video
Aaron ___ (1 year ago)
mine bricked after a few months. and so did a friends.
Abdallah Daher (1 year ago)
Will it feel like I have the same phone if I get a Nexus 5X after having a Nexus 5?
Ayan Mukherjee (1 year ago)
3.20 JerryRigEverything's snapping a Nexus 6P's picture 😁
I always thought you were biased to stock Android... I can now see why. Good job!
Alex Kaikkis (1 year ago)
Nexus 5x wants 87.5 min to charge
Dinesh Parmar (1 year ago)
any one knowa how to fix the freezing screen on my nexus5x
jax (1 year ago)
2:02 WHAT IS THIS WITCHERY
Tycho van Steeg (1 year ago)
i am watching on a white Nexus 5x
Muhammad Ali Hassan (1 year ago)
or a Nexus?
Stefan Labuschagne (1 year ago)
about a year on the nexus after years of iPhone... just wanted to explore google phones and how they work...the picture quality is the best thing about this phone - software is shit. but Man I can't wait for the iPhone 8 !! plus my macbook pro yearns for one
DashMyster (1 year ago)
I like that t-shirt
SENATORPAIN1 (1 year ago)
what is the point of a fingerprint scanner when you still need a pin to unlock.
Messi Suarez Neymar (1 year ago)
got this cause of the camera. best pics on any phone including 6p and pixel
mihini n (1 year ago)
When the phone doesn't even have a front camera
PSH1138 (1 year ago)
Camera5 Rear: 12.3 MP; 1.55 μm; f/2.0 Front: 5 MP
Christopher Forrest (1 year ago)
5x or 6?
Ivander Ng (1 year ago)
Hey MKBHD, love your videos! Quick question, would you still get this in 2017?? Thank you!
Achintha madumal (1 year ago)
why am i watching this when i have nexus 5x already
Vales Valet (1 year ago)
Rafaela Silva yes
Sahar Zolberg (1 year ago)
Achintha madumal me too lol
Rafaela Silva (1 year ago)
Is it still worth buying a Nexus 5x today?
Pal Krasniqi (1 year ago)
is it dumb im selling my samsung galaxy s6 egde which is rlly old and the battery drains fast for the 5x
Sanatan kumar (1 year ago)
Super .... dope in 2017 still with Nougat 7.1.1
Harris T.A (5 months ago)
Me and my friend bought it together.. Both our phones bootlooped just after the warranty 😐
Shisha CEO (9 months ago)
Sanatan kumar It 8.0 no2
Julius Cæsar (1 year ago)
Sanatan kumar i got 7.1.2 now
Johannes Hardt (1 year ago)
Sanatan kumar yep. 7.1.1 on my 5x is awesome!
copalycandela (1 year ago)
Thanks for the review!
Claire (1 year ago)
Do not buy this phone, it has overheating problems. Mine overheated and the screen no longer works.
彧彧 (1 year ago)
I wouldn't watch this again and again without a Nexus 5x in my hand.😂
Frank Jiao (1 year ago)
Nexus 5X or OnePlus 2?
Henry O (1 year ago)
Gonna buy this phone tomorrow for 100 dollars .what a steal right ?
James Gordon (1 year ago)
Is the Nexus 5X still worth it in 2017 if you're on a budget?
Johannes Hardt (1 year ago)
James Gordon don't know how much it costs by you but it runs smooth and can handle some more powerful games too. The camera is 100% the best at that price As far as I know it's gonna get Android 8 so software shouldn't be a problem. it's a great phone if you value stock android, updates and camera but I think you can get a better one for its price. Since it has no SD card slot, consider buying the 32gb model, it'll be worth it
Jawad hossain (1 year ago)
what about the bootloop problem
Daniel (1 year ago)
does it feel cheap?
Weasel (1 year ago)
Absolutely love this phone, and 3 friends now have one after seeing mine.
Colton Manwill (1 year ago)
what is the phone on the desk?
Vamsi Nalam (1 year ago)
what's the performance of this phone after an year
Ty Brown (1 year ago)
Very stuck between this and the 6P, for budgeting reasons of course. Pixel is too expensive. I plan to switch to Project Fi. Currently using the iPhone SE, last Android phone I had was the LG G3. I know you can pay over time but I want to just buy a phone out of the gate, because I don't know if I'll want to stick with the same phone while paying it off.
ADP (1 year ago)
Ty Brown my nexus 6p is slow and lags as hell what's "pure nexus" is it like an app or something
Ty Brown (1 year ago)
I ended up getting the 6P and installed Pure Nexus. Very happy!!
Ty Brown the 6p, but if you want a super nice phone, the 5x.
Rick Emmet (1 year ago)
Hey Marques, great video! Been a while since you recorded this, but I just started looking at these phones. Your delivery is Broadcast ready. Anderson Cooper used to freelance and shoot his own video. What amazed me about his work, was how well he stayed on message. Apparently even people with lots of experience have a hard time with this. You didn't miss a beat!
nigge kakaka (1 year ago)
this or the huawei p9 lite?
Bia S. (1 year ago)
galaxy a5 2016 or lg nexus 5x?
xpforeverGAMING (1 year ago)
Bia S. I get around 3.5 hours of screen on time with mainly gaming and listening to music. Battery life isn't the greatest thing of the phone, but it's acceptable and I always have a powerbank with me, so that's okay.
Bia S. (1 year ago)
I always see people complaining about the battery life
xpforeverGAMING (1 year ago)
Bia S. 5X. Only things that A5 (16) is better are the expendable storage, superAmoled display (quite oversaturated) and the Samsung has got Gorilla Glass 4 in front and back and it looks better. Every other thing the 5X is way better.
WWEfanmen19 Tube (1 year ago)
get the phone soon
OVOXO (1 year ago)
xperia z5 in the background!
40 oz (1 year ago)
No sd card lmfao
xpforeverGAMING (1 year ago)
dick blownoff Welcome to the world of Nexus :P
xpforeverGAMING (1 year ago)
dick blownoff Welcome to the world of Nexus :P
LordMarkvirs (1 year ago)
Marques why do u ware a ultron shirt
spinna03 (1 year ago)
Debating between the Nexus 5 or 5x. I initially was going to get a 5x but the bootloop issue is a concern. Does anybody know how prevalent the bootloop issue is on the 5x?
Shoaib Khan (1 year ago)
3:16 insult of 6p 😂
TheCatMurgatroyd (1 year ago)
this one or the moto g4/ g4 plus?
Deepanshu Tomar ji (1 year ago)
is it single sim or dual sim does it support SD card
xpforeverGAMING (1 year ago)
Deepanshu Tomar ji Single sim. At least my 5X has got only one nanoSIM slot. And there's no microSD extension slot unfortunately.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.