HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Pocketnow

Huawei Mate 9 Review: It's Big. It's Bold. It's Good.

2471 ratings | 192384 views
One of the only true phablets of the year. The Huawei Mate 9 is a pretty special phone. BIG Screen. Second generation Leica dual camera, BIG battery. Is the performance as great as the expectations? Here's our full review! Get it? "Great"? Expectations? It's a book pun. Subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=Pocketnowvideo http://www.vessel.com/pocketnow About us: Pocketnow has been a key source of mobile technology news and reviews since its establishment in 2000. With offices on three continents, Pocketnow offers round-the-clock coverage of the mobile technology landscape, from smartphones to tablets to wearables. We aim to be your number-one source for mobile tech news, reviews, comparisons, and commentary. If you love mobile as much as we do, be sure to subscribe! Follow us: http://pocketnow.com http://vessel.com/pocketnow http://twitter.com/pocketnow http://facebook.com/pocketnow http://google.com/+pocketnow http://instagram.com/pocketnow Chat with Juan http://instagram.com/somegadgetguy http://twitter.com/somegadgetguy
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (395)
N3ssaya (14 days ago)
Would you recommend it now?
Sugandha Gupta (1 month ago)
Pathetic customer service and poor quality of your phones. Purchased Mate 9. Now suffering badly & there is none to handle our complaints. Really shocking that in such competitive retail industry, Huwaei doesn't have competency to respond to the customer and solve their issues. Thanks for befooling and regret trusting your products !!!!!!
Jules Allen (2 months ago)
5:14 the 20 megapickle camera
Fred Yoda (3 months ago)
5:14 20 'megapickle' camera
droid fan23 (3 months ago)
Mate 10 coming soon :)
Nnamdi Jideani (3 months ago)
What game is that you're playing at 8:40?
Sully Mems (3 months ago)
The Mate 10 might sneak in and become the best phone of the year.
Ronel Sylvester (3 months ago)
Do you have a link for that case at the beginning of the video?
Juneao Alfred (4 months ago)
The biggest problem with mate 9 is.. can't use USB pen drive storage.. Can't charge your phone if you didn't bring the USB cable for huawei.
King Of Kings (4 months ago)
I have this phone and the battery life is insane. In can get 8hrs of sot, easily. The camera, speaker and speed of this phone is awesome!!!
dro rios (4 months ago)
or what color is it
dro rios (4 months ago)
is the front metal or is that just the moonlight silver color giving it that effect?
Frank Bullet (4 months ago)
A lot of people complaining about the quality of phone screens, how much detail do you want to see? Even a phone with 250 PPI is good. When a product comes out with a million new features, people want them and complain about a device that they haven't done research on that doesn't have it. This is the phone for me.
hasan keskin (5 months ago)
It is big, but not bold and not good. This phone is not water, proof even resistant. easy go wrong even the humid. Don't buy it without extra water related issue coverage and also phone easily drains its battery relatively hot weather if you shooting 90 plus Fahrenheit degree.or 34-35 plus warm weather you will see phone will drain its the battery with extremely hot like hell ...
TheSentinel909 (5 months ago)
V20 or the Mate 9?
efren carcillar (5 months ago)
i have it now oh its so nice so fast
scy1192 (5 months ago)
5:14 20 Megapickle
govinda lamichhane (5 months ago)
plz some one tell me that..does it support 4k downloaded video with 60f.....and it is a splash proof phone or not ?
Mustafa Wajeah (5 months ago)
what should i buy? mate 9 or the galaxy s8?
Khotta Bogard (6 months ago)
don't buy or get this phone if you care a little bit about selfie cameras or video quality vs an iPhone or a Galaxy S.
Khotta Bogard (6 months ago)
can i be honest with you guys? i traded my galaxy S7 Edge for this phone, and boy do i regret it. i hated the freaking curves so i wanted a more rectangular phone, but it costed me an eye because what i see now it's worth damaging your sight to be able to ignore it. The resolution (the lack of) is very noticeable, the screen does indeed look softer, also, the LCD panel won't do any benefit to it, the colors look very bad. in THIS very video, it says that the camera is great, and well, it kinda is, but the low light capabilities (THE LACK OF) are a deal braker, for real!! it takes grainier pictures than a freaking iphone 4 with the damn front facing camera, it's basically useless if you want to take a selfie with some friends or your gf. it keeps hunting and hunting for focus once you want to use the front camera, again, the grain is tooo intense, but still, i didn't get decent enough results with the rear cameras during the night with a white bulb illuminating my room, i honestly can't say i have been spoiled by sammy since i barely used the S7 edge for 2 months. I can't say Juan lied at all, my buddy knows his stuff, but maybe the Pocketnow team were very soft on this phone's cameras, i do gotta see if i can take great crispy pictures with the rear camera, but so far, i feel like i bought a 200$ potato (that's what the front facing camera performance makes me feel like).
Ronald Olimpo (6 months ago)
im using it now. and indeed awesome phone
Romy Peter (6 months ago)
Hey Juan, do both the sensors have OIS or is it just the RGB sensor? Great review by the way :)
Ronald Olimpo (7 months ago)
correction! you can change number or icons for your notification status bar.
Ajw312 (7 months ago)
What phone has a stunning camera 20mp+ or dual 16mp cameras, 6gb or ram, Expandable storage, good battery life, IR blaster, headphone jack, 2.3ghz processing speed, Fingerprint sensor, 32gb+ internal storage, and under $600?
Vernon Warren (7 months ago)
I love this phone. I think the display is incredible! I simply love it. I can't stop staring at this display. best 1080p display I've ever seen. super fast and fluid. this is a beast of a phone. love the speakers as well
Abdus Salam (8 months ago)
My mate 9 my new phone mate 9 iam using mate 9 super super fast net work
Syed Azmath (8 months ago)
Proud owner of it
Joshua Montell (8 months ago)
Juan's reviews are always spot on. He knows what he is talking about! Great review on the phone I have set my eyes on.
Hamed Tasdigh (8 months ago)
Juan, I love the way you review mobiles, specially when you talk about the audio performance or camera quality of a phone.... good job :) cheers mate!
Muhammad Hafiz Aminuddin (8 months ago)
Can someone suggest which one is better Honor 8 or Mate 9?
Bradon Suter (8 months ago)
dude, I love your commentary. TBH even tech that I don't care about, I still watch your vids because they're so interesting
No Fix (8 months ago)
I am addicted to blaster.
Denise Scott (9 months ago)
rip to my note 5, checkmate on huawei mate 9. the perfect phone for me , big screen, big battery, powerful processor, NO CURVES, better price than the Giant companies. not everyone wants curves on their phones, Samsung. keynote for me is , not everyone will have my phone.
R.Xristian Mazes (10 months ago)
what is the name of the stylus shown in this video. please respond. thanks
WarriorForLife (10 months ago)
I'm so torn between this and 9 pro. Pro has a nicer screen but looks like a samsung knock-off. mate 9 is huge, which I love but v similar to p9 plus which I had previously.
Mitch Taylor (10 months ago)
Great review structure. No bloated crap just precise to the point without missing anything. Cheers
BigD Travels (10 months ago)
Just bought a Mate 9 today at Best Buy....I can confirm, Notifications have been fixxed, it shows my G+ or Message or missed call.  I really wanted a Note 7, but that failed, but I really liked my Note 4's camera.  I am happy with the Mate 9, it will fill the void till the Note 8 comes out and even then I may just keep the Mate 9 :)
Aaron Maruri (7 months ago)
BigD Travels hows it performing after 3 months
Nir Avniel (10 months ago)
hi, regarding the notifications , were you said its only display numbers, I think its not true now cause I saw some other reviewes and I saw they have notifications shown
Andrei Catapang (10 months ago)
mate 9 or p9? Which should i buy?
InTheNameofTech (10 months ago)
i was impressed with the camera
Adam David (11 months ago)
2:55 know your stuff because you can change that in the settings
Adam David (11 months ago)
Atleast my mate9 can change it
Skyler Davidson (11 months ago)
Klinton Walker cashed in that coupon that was in his mom's purse.
Carlos Ivan Jarre (11 months ago)
Once again a great review. This one is not my cup of tea, happy with my v20.
DRWXP (11 months ago)
let's see what the P10 or Honor 9 brings.
Karthik Pullela (11 months ago)
Amazing battery, good camera and consistent update support is what I want. This would be my choice along side but not after pixel XL given it ticks almost 2 of my 3 wishes perfectly.
Jon Snow (1 year ago)
i'm planning to get this phone to last me for 2 or 3 years. I wanted to know if it would remain fast throughout that time.
Timi (11 months ago)
Martin Fernandez The phone hasn't been out for 2-3 years so nobody knows.
thomas Blizzard (1 year ago)
I just picked up the mate 9. coming from a s7 edge and iPhone 7 plus hoping I made a good choice! other then that loving it so far
which game he playes featuring iron man?
Honesty GBM (1 year ago)
every time I hear him say megapickle I get pissed off lmao 😂
Alonso Andrés (1 year ago)
Is that pen come with the phone?
Timi (11 months ago)
Alonso Andrés No
MegaGooback (1 year ago)
20 megapickles!!!
Yuzislap (1 year ago)
2:03 haha
Ihsan Raiq (1 year ago)
I've never used a phone like this. Purely a beast. Huawei claims that mate 9 born fast and will remain fast. As all the smartphone shows laziness and starts hanging after some months. Good job huawei
Srdjan Panic (1 year ago)
Is Li-Po battery way less durable than the Li-Ion? What is life cycle of Li-Po battery?
Datafiend (1 year ago)
How strong is the vibration on this phone?
Gregory Bycraft (1 year ago)
i thought he called the camera's megapixels megapickles
Louis De Vos (1 year ago)
Doll institutional hold collapse emerge PM conduct actress expertise
Cristy Cornejo (1 year ago)
wow this phone is so great, but so big... in the other hand that is good when you see youtube vids like yours in it.
Dark BlazeGT (1 year ago)
wow the only phone which has faster fast charge than advertised
Faizan Ghasura (1 year ago)
1080p in 5.9 inch and only 373 ppi wtf . this is damn expensive phone
Oliver Lundström (1 year ago)
Where can i buy that stylus that you are using during your reviews?
Heesham Cedrus (1 year ago)
kudos to that child
Skyethur (1 year ago)
well when it comes to signal strength the mate 9 doesnt have Band 30 that is the main LTE now for AT&T that your galaxy s7 active is getting which is lower than B17 or B2 or B4 that your mate 9 is getting..
Cody Mhoon (1 year ago)
anyone know if HUAWEI is going to officially release this in the US anytime soon?
Pier Galeone (1 year ago)
1080P over 1440P aaaaaaall day!
I am currently using galaxy note 5 and I saw this mate 9 last week in a shopping mall. now I wanna buy is it enough to replace my note 5? pls guide me folks thanks!
Niidea1986 (1 year ago)
I am quite known for my dislike of Huawei but now I feel tempted...I guess I will wait until it arrives to my country to test it on my own.
Enaish Arora (1 year ago)
who else got the mate 9 add before this vid?
Martin Milata (1 year ago)
Huawei mate 9 or moto z (force) for camera?
Edmond Tan (1 year ago)
Is it a gold colour?or mocha brown?
Hugo Cerqueira (1 year ago)
Great video, I am curious about that pen you used in the video, which pen is it?
Wahyuddin Wahab (1 year ago)
5:14 the dude's not consistent with his megapickles
ballistichydrant (1 year ago)
bought it. wish they hadn't made it smaller., the mate 8 was perfect size. software is very buggy. camera is awesome. battery performance not as good as mate 8. if not for the camera I would take it back .
belle0prom (1 year ago)
Mate 9 now or waite for P10 no April 17?
ThePaddyJuan (1 year ago)
Huawei, please stop and take my money! :)
Nico B. (1 year ago)
Where can you buy this brilliant pen😊?
Justin Dulay (1 year ago)
Awesome review, Juan! I've been meaning to ask, what stylus do you use in your reviews?
Viena Pamonag (1 year ago)
my prostration in my life huawie gadget, i hope nxt other yr i hve dz,,, hmnnnnn
Sani Plays (1 year ago)
The Leica branding is fake
Krae Malone OFFICIAL (1 year ago)
numbers as notifications in status bar? epic fail!! no Qhd at that price epic fail! Good design though
Shady Nathan (1 year ago)
Pls do a review of Asus Zenfone 3.
Mark Lumsley (1 year ago)
05:14 - I'm digging the 20 megapickle monochrome sensor. ;)
Mohammed Al-Dhaheri (1 year ago)
does it support volte ?
Omar Abbas (1 year ago)
This is a great phone but I need better cam and audio quality which V20 is better at.
Average Joe (1 year ago)
Man, that's a big dang phone
Maranda Szeto (1 year ago)
Hi, thanks for your sharing. I do have interest in the pen you use in this video. Any pens will do?
Alven Chong (1 year ago)
Megapickles Hahaha
Luis Gonzalez (1 year ago)
what happened with v20's review?
Boris Santiaguel (1 year ago)
Subtle banana for reference.
Sayeed Latif (1 year ago)
30 mins= 58% the fucking awsome...
tiger ke (1 year ago)
cool.beautiful and powerful.
Tod Olusola (1 year ago)
a little disappointed it's so expensive, it would've been perfect for me otherwise, it's also missing a DAC and QHD, I will probably end up looking at the V20.
JZ VR (1 year ago)
It starts at 599 USD, if you want QHD get the Mate 9 Pro (not the Porsche one).
JNcustom35 (1 year ago)
pocketnow can u talk about the hidden apps feature because I use it as an app drawer. Just pinch the home screen out.
Jareds tC (1 year ago)
Not being able to see notifications on my lock screen is a deal breaker for me.
Cory Sayles (1 year ago)
"20 Megapickle" camera. ^_^ lol great video
Cristi Calin (1 year ago)
Mate 9 or S7 edge?
JZ VR (1 year ago)
Mate 9
Jason Jiao (1 year ago)
great phone, love it.
Bilal Bilal (1 year ago)
Megapickle

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.