HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: TechMagnet

Sony Xperia XZ2 vs XZ2 Compact Review - TOP Underrated Smartphones 2018!

245 ratings | 11662 views
The Sony Xperia XZ2 and XZ2 compact are definitly underrated, but can they stand up against Huawei P20 Pro or Oneplus 6 ? ↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓ open up for more info ↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓ ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Interested in Tech! ContentHub ► http://techmagnet.yt Facebook ► https://www.facebook.com/techmagnet.yt/ Instagram ► https://www.instagram.com/flokaheli/ Twitter ► https://twitter.com/techmagnet_yt Snapchat ► https://www.snapchat.com/add/techmagnet Interested in ChinaDevices! If you want to have more information , or discuss products from china , then please check out our forum ! You can register here for free, and i hope to see some of you guys there! 😃 Let´s build up a huge community. Community ► http://www.china-devices.com Be a part! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Links marked with * are affiliate links.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (125)
Asmodeus Brandon (4 days ago)
Nice review, dude. Keep it like that!
darren fitch (20 days ago)
Anyone that prefers saturated colours to natural colours then there really is something wrong with you but then I get you like everything fake and plastic.
darren fitch (20 days ago)
Benchmark tests against iPhone x and Samsung s9 suggests the xz2 out performs both. You say it lags behind other flagships that isn't what performance figures are suggesting look at real tech, real comparison reviews are saying
Paška (24 days ago)
waiting for the price drop, and my x compact will have a brother xz2 compact
Paška (21 days ago)
Wari Le Hustler nice to see someone that thinks with brains
Wari Le Hustler (21 days ago)
Paška yaah i have x compact and im waiting for price drop too
Bu Sog (28 days ago)
Something is not right with the xperia phones.... The feasibility and marketing studies are not that extensive...
nk7246 (29 days ago)
No head phone jack ..not buying..
Ho Lee Fuk (1 month ago)
Low light shot will never be good on any smartphone.
Joseph Kent Torreon (1 month ago)
I came to see a Xperia XZ2 and XZ2 Compact review but got disapppointed with this much Huawei and Samsung all throughout the video. Just focus on the phone itself dude and don't include other brands please.
Alex Kand (1 month ago)
Its a great device , however you better make sure you have a real good protective case for this phone coze it tends to quickly slip of your hands ...there is no issue with the headphones eventhough no jack ..Initially I had great concern regarding Sony products with their propretary software and very poor customer support world wide , however is a great device less their factory installed APPs but in all is a great device ! PS : I had few days experience with this device here are some additional remarks , is a geat quality super fast and promising , however is getting quickly hot during summer climate in Central Europe eventhough not really exposed to heat ,cam shutter in whatsup mode way too slow , the device is easy to operate and reacts fastly , no quick launch icon like on other phones , unless you get a good protective casing you going to soon have this expensive devise kaput because it tends to quicly slip of your hands, Sony standard factory apps are OK though some would spy on you .
L.P. TECH, GAMES, TOYS (1 month ago)
Sehr Gutes Video😊 Von Österreicher zu Österreicher warum sind deine Video eigentlich nur noch Englisch?
Tadej Sustarsic (21 days ago)
to get a wider viewership, duh...
Aria Seraj (1 month ago)
great phones
Goran Petrovic (1 month ago)
It falls short...even more than previous better looking Sony phones. Wrong shift, totally
Norberto Castro (1 month ago)
Huawei phones are ultra overrated.. the p20 pro 3 cameras setup is the most gimmick thing in years. Whats next? 4 cameras? 30 cameras? Its ridiculous.. the same goes for the "bezelless design" where do manufacturers go from here? The entire phone gets to have a screen on front sides and back? Lol. Sony phones were allways about original unique distinct design with top quality mix of materials and construction, and top specs, performance and reliability without gimmicks, thats why Sony fans dont change for others, because the experience is allways consistence (in flagship products.. i know sony also makes some crapy cheap things as well and that they are dumb for making them because it just damages theire image.) Apple samsung and huawei may be more trendy because they know how to properly market theire phones, but the product it self its not better at all than what sony produces, in fact i prefer sony phones because they are much more exclusive.
Ankit yagami (1 month ago)
😍😍😘😘😘
Mazin Alzadjali (1 month ago)
No headphone jack= no buy
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Mazin Alzadjali that was really a bad move by sony
Stefan Schacher (1 month ago)
giveaway ? :D no joke. Will buy the compact, there is no other phone coming close to its features.
Banana Joe (1 month ago)
Definitly the most underrated smartphone this year. 4K HDR GUYS
Crypto Universe (1 month ago)
Very good video steven !
ChrisViral Vlogs (1 month ago)
Liked for the awesome catch at 3:21 :D
Alvin Z (1 month ago)
Yup, both of them are the most underrated smartphone so far, at least for me.
Alvin Z (1 month ago)
People hated these phones without even seeing them in person. My XZ2 in green looks much better in person than it is in press shots.
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Alvin Z definitely. Like LG g6 last year
Eric Walldorf (1 month ago)
I really don't get why the fingerprintsensor placement is such a big deal to literally everyone. To me it is quite perfect. The sensor sits at the exact same spot where my indexfinger rests while I am actually using my phone, like typing. I don't have to reposition my hand after unlocking my phone. But maybe I am holding my phone differently than everyone else 😅
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Eric Walldorf for me it feels weird. Maybe because I have very big hands. On the compact it feels fine.... 😂
Nachiket Dhende (1 month ago)
Questionable design language? Omnibalance design was never questionable!
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Nachiket Dhende yes it was good. But the bezel was horrible. Not a fan of those super bezel less phones, but a bit more would have done the trick.
Tanmay Mishra (1 month ago)
Wait for sony xz2 pro it can do better job than Samsung s9 plus and p20 pro
Tanmay Mishra (1 month ago)
Premium sorry
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Tanmay Mishra premium or pro? :p
Heating machine
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
अंध-भक्त तेरी बहन की चुट why
papa franku (1 month ago)
man your voice trigger my sub woofer xd
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Haha Shit will have a look
papa franku (1 month ago)
try to low a little bit your voice base
Beastly G (1 month ago)
I like it a lot, but I'm going to have to wait for the Premium version for the 2nd lens setup and bigger battery/screen.
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Beastly G dual camera and 4k screen. Can't wait!!!!
Crimson Harry (1 month ago)
OnePlus 6 is way better then this. Sony needs to reduce the price and follow penetration method.
Crimson Harry (1 month ago)
Evil Morty and of course one us built quality is just smokin hot not made with polycarbonate 😂 Sony is dead long ago. Welcome to 2018
Crimson Harry (1 month ago)
Evil Morty 😂 nice joke. Smartphone is not just about cameras BTW one plus 6 cameras is amazing. And the specs ??? Sony is nothing in front of oneplus.
Evil Morty (1 month ago)
Way better? OnePlus' Camera is trash compared to Sony. And wait for the speed test. Sony will destroy it just like it destroyed 5T and 5 last year.
Johnny Since (1 month ago)
Both phones are excellent. The OnePlus 6 for specs and price, while XZ2 for basically "everything" about it.
Siddharth Arya (1 month ago)
love u SONY 😘
Ryuga Law (1 month ago)
I really think that you're wrong in your camera comparison, the sharpness and the natural colours on the XZ2 is much better than that on the P20 Pro. Are you saying that P20 Pro has better camera because of the saturated look? Well, that is a bad thing. Natural colours are more flexible to edit, and can get saturated in post-editing. I think there is no gap between the this flagship and the others in terms of Specs and features. The only thing Sony lacks is Marketing.
Nilasco Caguimbal (30 days ago)
TechMagnet for someone who doesn't upgrade every 6 months I think, Xz2 is a better buy than P20 pro. Camera wise, yes Sony is quite not ahead but definitely not really behind. I'm waiting for Xz2 premium, I think a game changer is on it's way.
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Yea the comparison set is bad. Took it from my other video to save time. However in low light the camera is due to its single sensor not Really good. Under daylight almost every camera performs well. If master AI is switched off on the P20 Pro, you get quite natural pics as well but way sharper. Also 5x zoom, real depth bokeh.... Let's see what the Xz2 premium will show us.
Ryuga Law (1 month ago)
Leica is not as good as Sony in camera lens department. Hell Sony is kicking the arses of Canon and Nikon, and supplying lenses to a variety of mobile phones. And no, Samsung and Apple aren't mammoths in the camera department. Sure they have their pros, but they also have their cons. Just like this Sony right here. If anything, Pixel 2 is better than both iPhone and Samsung in many aspects. And No Flagship can beat Sony in Natural colours and sharpness. Low-Light photography has been upgraded so much in Sony's XZ2 that now it can compete with all other flagships and beat them in some instances. All phones are doing great in my opinion, and I have no problem people pointing it out. However, they don't need to shun as Sony as an underdog in specs just because it's not big on marketing. After all, XZ2 hasn't been reviewed by DxOMark at all. Which shows how everything depends on marketing and since Sony didn't market that it fell behind in this aspect.
Lars loves Tech (1 month ago)
good point but the leica lens tech on the huawei means that they do actually produce the better picture...stefan just uploaded a terrible comparrison picture set for this video,ever since they partnered with leica huawei camera tech has improved immensly they are almost competeing on a level now with samsung and apple....sony have never come close to competeing against these two mammoths...and surely you must think that it is strange how they cannot reach the levels of the competition when they supply this very competition with camera lenses
Al Muntaser Al Sinani (1 month ago)
Ryuga Law on point bro👌
M D (1 month ago)
The compact is smaller than the iphone 8 with a bigger and much better screen
M D (1 month ago)
I agree with you , I don't like the iphones
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
yea everything below 5" = garbage
Iam Ardhi (1 month ago)
Incredible design from Sony , small battery in thick body & big bezel. Priceable too 😂
Johnny Since (1 month ago)
They packed 3180mAh battery with a 5.7" screen, while Samsung packed 3000mAh battery with a 5.8" screen. Super thick body, which makes it very durable, with lots of grip and not slippery like many other smartphones. Wireless charging, too. I thought bezels no longer are a problem for Sony. It seems assholes like you are still triggered then 😂 Anyway, I really don't care, because this phone will just be criticized for the first few months after coming out, then will be praised after a year, just like what everyone did with the XZ Premium, which is now still being compared to the newest Galaxy and Huawei phones because of how incredible that phone is. If anyone wants a cheap flagship phone, they should look at the OnePlus 6. That phone offers everything you want in specs. *ONLY.* Just prepare not to be surprised if your personal info is now being sold to Anonymous ISIS cyberterrorists and used to murder your family okay?😀
Shawn Jorge (1 month ago)
I feel the pictures of sony look more original than it's competition.
MASCULINE MCGAINS (1 month ago)
IMO Huawei are now the most overrated. Sony used to be the most underrated, but their lack of headphone jacks really killed them
Johnny Since (1 month ago)
Apple didn't die for jack removal. Why is for Sony?
Fidah Ahmed (1 month ago)
Are you using the quick charger or a standard charger? I want to get the compact but if the charging is too slow i might pass on it. I saw a video somewhere stating that you have to buy the quick charger separately and it charges pretty good.
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
Fidah Ahmed quick. It's a little under 2 hours.
阿波根梨穂 (1 month ago)
Yes, xz2 was underrated too much because, there are too much anti sony men who intentionally ignore xperia unique features
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
because sony doesnt pay tech youtubers ;)
Ryuga Law (1 month ago)
Anti-Sony Tech Youtubers.
girlsdrinkfeck (1 month ago)
cuz no jack
Afghan Boy Afghan Boy (1 month ago)
Thanks for information
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
thanks for watching
Remastered Zero (1 month ago)
What about the Z3, XZ, XZs, XZP and XZ1c, do they lack essencial features by your standard? Where is the headphone jack in the XZ2 line? Only 5 MP front camera? Thick and heavy as hell, and only 3180 mah battery, go tell your samsung and apple overlords that there devices are better than the XZP. How were the previous Xperia devices only ok? The Z3 had the best camera when it was released, 3gb of ram vs 2gb of samsung, samsung ui was laggy and the Z3 had 600 mah more, the XZ had an amazing design and screen, the XZP made it 4k HDR, comparing it to the s8/9 screen, it is leagues ahead
Remastered Zero (1 month ago)
Fefo Fefosa less mps = lower resolution, the back being curved has less space for a bigger battery, i dont like the curved design, it was the omni-balance design from sony that made me a fan, by losing that, i am no longer a client, the previous devices were slim and easy to hold already, the fingerprint sensor is now in the back too low to be used comfortably, previously it was in the best spot, in the power button And the place were the camera is now placed, makes the phone look like a cheap ZTE or Zenfone 3
Fefo Fefosa (1 month ago)
Remastered Zero That "no big battery" last longer than the Galaxy s9 plus and iPhone X so idk what are you talking about. "fat, curved back" which is way better to hold than any phone, no headphone jack I agree, and "only 5mp front camera" megapixels doesn't mean anything, and go look for comparisons.
Remastered Zero (1 month ago)
// because the XZ2 has nothing that was good in previous devices, no big battery, fat, heavy, curved back, no headphone jack, only 5mp front camera, do i need to repeat myself, or are you playing dumb?
Fefo Fefosa (1 month ago)
// he already answer your question, the problem is that you're so dumb and stupid to get it
Ezugo Obuekwe (1 month ago)
Remastered Zero Same here.
Vibo2 Aomi (1 month ago)
They order mediocre tech and overpriced plastic
TechLineHD (1 month ago)
Top-notch review. I agree, the new Xperias are legit flagships. The white color of the XZ2 is my favorite.
Eduardo Gallegos (1 month ago)
White rules.
SunsetNova (1 month ago)
Why why why can't Sony sort out their camera software division? If they did that they would challenge Huawei and Samsung in the Android market.
Johnny Since (1 month ago)
Don't listen to DxOMark. They turned into a money-making greedy freaks, usig their name and reputation as their selling point, just like how Apple uses their brand name and logo to sell overpriced worthless devices. Even if you do so, it is very unfair to compare the last year's XZ Premium to this year's flagship phones. Well, if that only means that the XZ Premium is such a phenomenal phone, that people still thinks it's comparable to newer devices and probably the next year, too.
Muhammad Syafiq (1 month ago)
Haven't you seen the detail that XZ2 produced? Sure natural color from sony looks dull and not stand out like contrasty picture P20 Pro produced. Isn't a camera that produce a picture close to real life is a better camera? Or the over saturated picture is better? That is personal preference. For me XZ2 camera is still better. I'm using P10 and XZs, it is not the exact phone but the situation is same.
Liion B (1 month ago)
On the few pictures (from the back camera) I saw here with the XZ2 and the P20 Pro, nearly all of them were better when taken with the XZ2. What are the missing new features on these phones apart from the headphone jack?
Liion B (1 month ago)
Muhammad Syafiq The P20 Pro pictures stand out the wrong way! Lol
Muhammad Syafiq (1 month ago)
Yeah, P20 Pro look contrasty and really standout but finer detail are greater in XZ2.
Kaius P (1 month ago)
I still love my xperia xz 👍 I highly suggest sony phones 👌
Abhijeet Etwarysing (23 days ago)
i am still using my xperia z3
Dante - (1 month ago)
Random Guy XZs <3
Lars loves Tech (1 month ago)
poor sony they should just scrap their phone division...the competition is too strong and they cannot compete...like you mentioned they supply the camera moduals for pretty much every manufacturer out there yet cannot come close to them in quality...it's bloody wierd if you ask me as it should be the complete opposite....they should stick to games consoles and televisions...LOL
Evil Morty (1 month ago)
Lars loves Tech They have the best performing phones. They recieve regular updates. Also you say OnePlus' camera is better than Sony? Fuck off
Lars loves Tech (1 month ago)
OMG...so many fanboys here say a bad thing about sony and out come the 12 yr old playground insult posts...LOL...guys guys guys...this is only my opinion...everyones opinion is different look below at linus's opinion...he loves the look of the white one...me personally i think sony phones are rubbish have never been impressed with them or their prices...if i had the choice between any of the top flagship devices sony would be the last choice please name me one stand out feature that should make me change my opinion...there isn't one yes i must give them credit for not adding in that god awful notch....but once again they forget that it's one of the selling points for 2018 flagships...attempting bezelless devices...and sony failed...again...the XZ2 looks like last years HTC flagships i must give them props on at least making a compact version of their device but to give it almost identicle specs i think is also a mistake one devices sales will surely affect the other the compact should have been much lower spec in order to compete at a different range bracket...now both the XZ2 and compact will compete against each other as well as all the other much better flagships affecting their sales even more so....and yes i did notice that stefan uploaded a terrible pic comparrison between the huawei and the sony...but the huawei sis still the much better device
M D (1 month ago)
Lars loves Mamy , did you finish drinking Mamy's milk for today , ask mamy to buy you very beautiful barbi becuose sony is too ugly.
Dani Ramdani (1 month ago)
Lars loves Tech you are wishing sony to scrap their mobile division? what for? am wishing you to stop commenting on youtube, fair enough?
Muhammad Syafiq (1 month ago)
I'm using both Huawei and SONY. Huawei really looks appealing but SONY is just great. I'm not a SONY fanboy, just mentioning the truth. My SoNY received a lots of update and for Huawei, they still didn't update their last generation flagship.
Tiago Gonçalves (1 month ago)
Hello TechMagnet im gonna send you a buisness email over to you email! My name is Tiago and im CEO of Focuz Arts Cheers
like for the video...not for sony....610 euro for this....no...
i purschased it from a friend of a friend 4 months after its released day (aug 2016) with almost 2 years on guarantie left and the reciept from a big reseler in Greece...probably the friend has spotted the problem and gave the thing away...the only good things about this phone was the 5.9 screen the extra sd card slot and the realy good desing (in front of his age) that unfortunately Sony didnt invest on it....i was a bit unlucky cause my carrier does not have the best signal in my area...so i beleived that it there's fault....but a few days ago i put it next to a Xiaomi junk (with the same network as mine ) and geuss what...xiomi was 2 out of 4 signal and SONY C5 struggled not to loose connection with the antena....anyway ..things happen...have a nice evening..
Johnny Since (1 month ago)
Just don't buy from unreliable sellers and your products won't have a problem. I rarely see anyone here asking to repair a Sony phone, mainly because they are built with quality. But I guess only because 1 of their phones failed on you, you assume that ALL of their phones will fail on you as well. Okay, that's fair. Really really fair.
Kaius P (1 month ago)
ΒΑΣΙΛΗΣ ΠΑΠΑΣ yeah you must have been very unlock cuz i have had Xperia m2 and m4 back in a tve day and havent had any of those issues lol... My sister actually just broke her samsung s6's internet moduel lol
the back palte is very curved...anyway i have a sony c5 ultra dual..and i wasnt very pleased from day one...the signal reception is problematic possibly weakest from all phones made on earth...and it wasnt the cheapest..300euros 2 years back...for me no more sony phones....the fisrt reports for weak signal reception came out 2 months after i bougth it...kind unlucky..
Kaius P (1 month ago)
ΒΑΣΙΛΗΣ ΠΑΠΑΣ how the hell that effects anything lol... Pretty much all phones have curved back lol... The wallet flop is on the front side...
Wow i never heard of xz2 compact... Its small
anthony williams (1 month ago)
justin padilla the battery life is good. Stamina mode helps and battery saver mode. Normal use nothing too heavy....you can get through a solid day of use.
justin padilla (1 month ago)
anthony williams how is your battery life
TechMagnet (1 month ago)
I love the compact version. So powerful and so small.
anthony williams (1 month ago)
Watching this on my XZ2 compact!!
Wotblitzgaming (1 month ago)
No shit Its small
kody koa (1 month ago)
Wow first

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.