HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Samsung Gear S3 Review: The Best Smartwatch for Android Owners?

790 ratings | 35845 views
Here's my review of the Samsung Gear S3 Frontier. Samsungs new watch that runs Tizen OS. It works with Android smartphones and provides a great experience. But is it worth it? Watch for the full review! Buy Here: Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2hXEJV2 Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2gKcqbS Amazon Canada: http://amzn.to/2gKcb0r My Gear: http://kit.com/monizma/my-gear Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (208)
Jon B. (1 month ago)
Cutie
binkyreeree (2 months ago)
Haha, you're hilarious! Good general info too ☺️
Harsh P (4 months ago)
Does work now Samsung pay in your region? If yes than gear s3 work Samsung Pay without any Samsung Device?
Parth shukla (7 months ago)
Please make this one doubt that I give you that Samsung S3 downloaded that they store you have make one video that is what I say something HD download Play Store
Parth shukla (7 months ago)
I have I have one doubt that the the gear Samsung Gear S3 the Play Store has downloaded in in Samsung Gear S3 yes or no
HMS MACHINE (9 months ago)
Check out my watch face apps available on Samsung Gear S2 and S3, and soon on Android Wear!. Later apple, but for now enjoy my cool creations. You dont have to be a multimillionaire to own something bad ass. check it out HMSMachine.com and on Samsung gear store, and within about a week Google play-android store. Cheers!
Caelan Nolan (11 months ago)
he looks like Ryan Renolds
Taras Omelchenko (11 months ago)
The watch is nice but you can't transfer document files on it, no Samsung pay in Germany, very few apps and a lot of cheaters sailing apps through the Samsung Gear app that wont work at all. Just bought the app "Filemaster" which is not working and you can't do anything about it.
MrMwk98 (1 year ago)
Does Anyone Know If The Watch Still Contains All Of Its Features (Especially In Terms of Tizen) If The Phone Isn't A Samsung Android Phone?
Aeman Abbas (1 year ago)
Hello. Can u use this watch with different android phone?
Corey Forbes (6 months ago)
Can you still make calls and text from other androids?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Aeman Abbas yup!
VON LON (1 year ago)
1 MORE DAY!!!
Adam Schwartz (1 year ago)
1. The frontier is the more expensive model, not the cheaper model. 2. The connectivity in the US in 4G LTE, not 3G LTE. Not hating, just thought I should let you and the comment section know. Good review though!
Kristin Hanson (1 year ago)
I downloaded an input alternative that works a zillion times better than drawing letter by flipping letter or the crappy voice feature: MODALITY. It's a mind-shift for sure but works once you get used to it (they claim 50wpm). Developed FOR Tizen OS; they didn't even bother with Android since nobody's made an Android-GearS comparable.
Mulyadi Kurniawan (1 year ago)
Nice review video! I wonder if the watch will work without installing Samsung app(s) on the cell phone.
Pablo Zamora (1 year ago)
The Gear S3 is one of those tools which you probably wont use 100% of the time unless you already wear a watch on the daily, but it's soo good to have once you do use it. ..Quickly picking up calls and checking important notifications, and a great addition to S Health which I so dearly appreciate on the S7 to begin with.
Darren Rich (1 year ago)
22mm is not the length of the band.
Parker Time (1 year ago)
went ahead and took the dive and bought the S3 classic. Love it so far, love the review thanks!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Nice! Glad you're liking it = ) Anytime Mike!
Morry Zelcovitch (1 year ago)
Great video, I wanted to give you a little hint... I'm a Canadian as well and I use Samsung pay on my watch all the time... There are a few hoops to jump though... 1) You need to be a cibc credit card customer (they are currently beta testing samsung pay on galaxy phones in Canada) 2) you need to buy your S3 in the US or at least order it from an American retailer (I got mine from B&H in New York city) and 3) you need to get creative with your postal code (you need to make it a zip code via trial and error)... By doing these things you will be one of the first to wow fellow Canadians with your magic payments and it definately works everytime regardless if it's a tap or swipe system ;l) oh, one more thing... It now works on iphone very well with its own appin the app store (a freind with an iphone told me after he gave back his apple watch and bought the s3 and says he likes it better than the iwatch)
Morry Zelcovitch (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz my pleasure, love your stuff, always find you, now subscribed ;)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Morry Zelcovitch ya I know it works with cibc but like you mentioned it's a lot of hoops to go through especially if you are with another bank. It's definitely my favourite watch for android! Love the design. Thanks Morry for watching!
Parker Time (1 year ago)
Have you tried this with a non samsung phone? Im thinking about getting this but use a Moto Z
Parker Time (1 year ago)
So have you seen the Zenwatch 3 yet? I am torn between this, the CoWatch and the Zen3
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Yup! i didn't use it with a Galaxy when I reviewed it but a Pixel XL. It works perfectly. I also tried it with the V20. Plus, it now supports the iPhone.
GEEKYKIE (1 year ago)
Great Review! This watch is amazing! I got mine two days ago, so far I can't fault this Watch. After using the Apple Watch and Sony Watch this by far is the best. New year - Fitness goal? Get this watch :)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+GEEKYKIE Thanks man! It's a great watch love the look of it
CNCfix (1 year ago)
i received an s2 classic as a gift. returned it for this way bigger more rugged looking s3 (luckily anyways since it was out of stock everywhere,) now my wrist makes sense. samsung pay is legit :) great watch & great review!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+CNCfix glad you're liking it! It's pretty sweet and thank you for watching !
simo Rabhy ER (1 year ago)
Thanks for this videos  my teacher  .moniz. Your channel in great  😚👈✌👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
You're welcome! = ) I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Matevž Krajnik (1 year ago)
I seriously enjoy your videos man! Keep up the good work :) + grow out a beard, it would be epic :D
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Matevž Krajnik haha thanks man !
yaqoob aljanahi (1 year ago)
there's remainder to move option
Asad Mayo (1 year ago)
Is there any chance it might explode??
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
So far none have, but there's always a chance for something to explode.
himmelsturmerIX (1 year ago)
best looking smart watch so far
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I agree it's pretty nice
Jordan King (1 year ago)
And for those of you that are going to be complaining about the fact that you can't take it swimming or anything like that, it's only designed to be used from my understanding in freshwater, not saltwater or chlorine. And also it's NOT waterproof, it's water resistant.
Ian Tetteh (1 year ago)
This is a pretty dead review compared to some others on YouTube. You just listed a bunch of specs that anyone would already know and did not actually tell us how you felt about each part of the watch.
RSB Key (1 year ago)
Don't you just hate when you walk into a door that's already open. :p
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+RSB Key lol
Lorenzo -81 (1 year ago)
You kept saying android when it's actually tizen on the Samsung gear s3. Also this watch is a hell of a lot better than the gear s2. This is more of a real man's watch compared to the girly looking, smaller s2.
Turbo TDI (1 year ago)
what do you mean Samsung pay won't work in Canada? I thought it was a matter of inputting your card info into the watch using the Gear app?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
The banks needs to support it first and right now it's in beta with only one bank here in Canada.
DrumWild (1 year ago)
I have the LTE version and love it, for the most part. Tizen does feel abandoned, and I hope they change that. Samsung Pay is limited, in that they will probably never add my credit union to the list of supported cards. By contrast, I hear that my credit union will work with Apple Pay. Also, AT&T's _NumberSync_ is nice in theory, but it is not reliable. It will turn on or off by itself, with little in the way of warning. I've missed calls and texts, and sometimes certain things will work or not work. This was the case, both with the LG G5 phone AND the Samsung Galaxy S7. In short, NumberSync is a gimmick that AT&T does not support, even though it is THEIR network. Replaced the band, and it feels a lot better: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MCY96ZE Finally, if you have problems with the Gear S3 and are using LTE, do not call your carrier for help. This is still relatively new technology, so they don't know what they're talking about. The stores rarely have any in the store, and one AT&T store actually told me to go to Best Buy. Also, when the NumberSync was not working, AT&T Tech Support said that I needed a new SIM card and sent me to the store, where they gave me a new SIM card. Problem is that this watch DOES NOT have a regular SIM, and instead is sporting an *_e-SIM_*, or Electronic SIM. Bone up on the details of the technology, because the stores aren't going to do this.
Peter Mckenzie (1 year ago)
if the screen is off on the gear 3 watch can you still receive messages and if so do you need to activate the screen to see the or does the screen activate it self when you get a message
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Peter Mckenzie yup you'll still receive messages with the screen off. You have the option to show notifications or hide them until you activate the screen.
KevTheHunter1 (1 year ago)
Honestly, I'm stuck between this and the gear fit 2. This seems more for all around use vs the gear fit is more for exercise (obviously). Is there a major difference software/firmware wise between the two? Also great video!
Co0lestcat Gaming (1 year ago)
Its not apple so its amazing
Ivan Villa (1 year ago)
loving this watch got the 4g LTE version here in the US through T mobile. hoping to get whatsapp app support soon
adaboy4z (1 year ago)
I got an open box buy for $275. It was opened by staff at best buy never used. Its a great watch like making calls and listening to music at work.
Ulysses Grant (11 months ago)
Thank you Adaboy4z. Yes, you are correct. I live in Canada and it is hard to get the watch on that price.
adaboy4z (11 months ago)
Ulysses Grant Best here in Texas if thats what you are asking.
Ulysses Grant (11 months ago)
Did you get it at USD or CAD?
Robert Draper (1 year ago)
love mine make phone calls on it and pay for everything with it while out.
Alex The Commie (1 year ago)
"They couldn't tell I was talking through a watch." I never imagined hearing talking to a wstch in any sentence, and years ago, I would've called tho cops on someone who 'talked to their watch' LOL. But seriously. The future from the past is finally here.
Alex The Commie (1 year ago)
I got the Gear s3, and MAN is it great, I can actually call people on it, it is insane where and how far technology has gone so far.
CNCfix (1 year ago)
more like get smart style for the older crowds :)
-Vance- Dun (1 year ago)
Alex Oelerich Michael Knight style
adaboy4z (1 year ago)
Alex Oelerich Dick Tracey style
Tucker Weippert (1 year ago)
ur grandma is a cyborg guys
Tucker Weippert (1 year ago)
i know its crazy shes so nice but could be pure evil
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
you better believe it! That replacement hip is no joke!
AgCain (1 year ago)
22mm is the width of the strap, not the length. Doing a review on a watch, you should know of this!
Davinder Singh (1 year ago)
great video Matt ...enjoy it
nice review
man u really care about viewers.👏👏 hands down most humble youtuber.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
It's the least I can do for you guys taking the time to watch my videos!
man i love how actively u reply to your fans.👌👌
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks Muhammad!
Jordan King (1 year ago)
Great review Matthew on the Gear S3 Frontier. BUT having said that though (and this is not your fault Matthew and other reviewers that report this don't worry) I wish Samsung would not falsely advertise their products. Because while there may be 4GB of storage only 1-2GB is available to use because the other 2 or so is taken up by apps. And that goes for other brands that advertise their products.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks Jordan! ya, it's the same thing with phones or any product with an operating system on it.. It sucks but nothing they can really do it about it.
jti107 (1 year ago)
great review matt! love your channel!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+jti107 Thanks man : )
Muhammed ali (1 year ago)
wo0o0ow
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
WooooOOOoowwwwwwww
Limitless Tech UK (1 year ago)
Hey Matt, great review as always, but are you okay? You seem to be losing it a bit 😂. Picking fights with doors and shouting at watches... not good signs. The Gear s3 seems solid though, juts not a huge fan of its design.
Limitless Tech UK (1 year ago)
+Matthew Moniz anytime:)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Weston D haha yup I'm losing my mind lol thanks man
DocJ (1 year ago)
whatsoever....smart watches are failure...i do have a moto smart watch...i failed..i found they are not useful..its not as useful as the narural watch we are wearing day to day 24 /7...longer lasting batteries in tow three years..not like rhe smart watches you need to charge..
Ibrahim Ahmed (1 year ago)
The watch is very ugly
J Herczog (1 year ago)
You are ugly. The watch looks better than you do.
Dylan Peterson (1 year ago)
Gear S3 or Huawei Watch???
Fatih Özcelik (1 year ago)
Dylan Peterson Gear S3
Ryedogg31 (1 year ago)
Love my Gear S3!
Tech And you (1 year ago)
Are you apple fan or android fan Mathew
Tech And you (1 year ago)
Super review and the best
qsk 97 (1 year ago)
is there any review coming about the zenbook 3?
devastador80 (1 year ago)
exellent review, matthew moniz is the deal i like his videos goog good, keep going bro, do you think this smarth watch will work whit iphone 7? thank you so much.
Ngakak Guling (1 year ago)
you're getting smooth with that funny acting there matt
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
haha trying to add some humour to the videos = )Thanks!
I had the Gear S2 and I upgraded to the Gear S3 and I love both of them. I gave my wife my Gear S2 for the exact same reason you mentioned, the size. I love being able to exercise and being able to leave my phone at home and being able to still not miss calls because I have a different phone number for my watch and I use my Samsung Gear Iconx Earbuds for answering my talking and listing to music. thanks, good review
Ice bjorn (3 months ago)
Dont you neee wifi?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Ya it's pretty sweet! I wish we had the LTE model here in Canada /=
TheDarkGuardian (1 year ago)
I'm actually surprised smartwatches aren't doing so good. They're so helpful. Great review Matthew! :D
rohag735 (7 months ago)
cyborgchimpy c
cyborgchimpy (1 year ago)
+kyle I also didnt think they'd be very useful a while ago. then I suddenly had a lot of money on my hand, and I thought the S3 classic looked nice...and as a kid I always watched james bond movies and that was certainly a gadget that I always wanted to have. so I just went ahead and got it...and honestly, its more useful than I thought it would be. the notifications thing sounds really trivial, but its really incredibly handy. it helps to not look at my phone(may look rude), reminds me to stand up and have a walk since I work in an office, control my music played while i'm in the subway, can quickly see the weather forecast. and I might be single now, but I can see the alarm be useful trying to not wake up your GF/wife in the morning with its haptic feedback.
Omar Ortiz (1 year ago)
You're not asking the right question. You don't need a watch to replace your phone; that's why you have a premium device. The watch is supposed to enhance the experience and make reading your notifications easier and more convenient, as well as controlling music and replying to messages. It saves a bunch of time if you don't like holding your phone in your hand everywhere you go.
TheDarkGuardian (1 year ago)
+Kyle It's more accessible. You don't have to pull it in and out of your pocket and it's just plain nice to have it on your wrist. :)
Kyle (1 year ago)
What can it do that my S7 Edge can't?
Rohit Dhyani (1 year ago)
Look wise not so happening
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
You don't like? I think it looks nice
The Golden Nugget (1 year ago)
For some reason I thought you already had a hundred-thousand subs already
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
haha, not yet! Soon one day, thanks for sticking around!
Qwazyd0gg (1 year ago)
I love this watch. The absence of a "flat tire" and that digital shimmer you get on the device are nice little touches too
Rick Liang (1 year ago)
1:18 lol I love those clips and also props to samsung
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
haha thanks Rick!
fluxx (1 year ago)
I went for Android Wear over Gear S2 last year because of the apps and they are very disappointing. The pure number doesn't tell the whole story, should have went for the S2 instead.
martyjanderson (1 year ago)
what apps are you possibly going to be using on a watch ...? 99 percent of apps on a watch are pretty worthless and nothing more than a novelty ...
Michael Castillo (1 year ago)
currently waiting for price of Moto 360 2nd gen. to drop even more....
IbanezPlayer124 (1 year ago)
You can get a certified refurbished black with black leather model for $179 on Amazon!
David Orrego (1 year ago)
Samsung pay is available whit CIBC
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Damn too bad I'm with RBC
NothingButTech88 (1 year ago)
:)
kripssy (1 year ago)
Liking the comedy elements. Still not sold on a smartwatch tho lol. Give me an automatic movt one and then we'll talk..
kripssy (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz needing to charge every single thing on you is ridiculous. there are some hybrid analogue smart watches that make more sense imo. Nonetheless. Great channel. Keep the funny coming
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
haha thanks! Ya, smartwatches are not for everyone and they're definitely not a neccessity!
ReekaMusic (1 year ago)
Hey man! Great video. Keep up the good work
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks! = )
De Wet Van Niekerk (1 year ago)
Love the vid as always 👌👌
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks as always ! = )
Emile Vereecken (1 year ago)
Nice vid!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks Emile!
Coop Tech (1 year ago)
Great and funny video!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
hah thanks!
Coop Tech (1 year ago)
It's the best smart watch so far
Kush Ravariya (1 year ago)
can you do the tic watch review plzz
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I'll check it out = )
itsnotfair games (1 year ago)
ordered mine a month ago still haven't recieved it yet :(
TechCilium (1 year ago)
i love that shirt tho!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+TechCilium lol it's a great shirt!
iAhmedTech (1 year ago)
When the gear s3 app available on App Store for iphone ????
Fatih Özcelik (1 year ago)
A7med46669 the Beta Version is available now
iAhmedTech (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz thank you so much
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+A7med46669 most likely sometimes next year probably before summer
sandarsh sunny (1 year ago)
Nice place you got there Matt 😬
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+sandarsh sunny Thanks man
Fraz (1 year ago)
amazing video as always 👍👍
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+UrGamer - Fraz Thanks : )
EZoX Nova (1 year ago)
I've been here a while and it still legitimately shocks and annoys me that you don't have many many more subscribers... Love your videos and you'll go far, I know it!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+EZoX Nova thanks man I appreciate it. It's kind words like this that keep me going !
Igor Sagaydak (1 year ago)
hight quality content at you chanell, (as krystal key by the way) thanks a lot)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Igor Sagaydak Thanks Igor! Krystal rocks : )
ABOE (1 year ago)
1:25 😂😂😂
Yiannis Spanos (3 days ago)
when americans cant handle the metric system
LAKSHAY SHARMA (1 year ago)
amazing watch 😍 btw nice video mate 👍
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+LAKSHAY SHARMA thanks man
eric golden (1 year ago)
Matthew ever heard of the TIC watch?
eric golden (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz great review. bought the frontier. love it
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+eric golden yup! I have but I've never used it before.
eric golden (1 year ago)
love your elf shirt
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+eric golden my elf shirt loves you
swishpronoob (1 year ago)
Doors....I hate them so much!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+swishpronoob lol
can you use with lg v20
oh nice, so all the features work? can you use all the fitness features
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Thomas Bonn yup I'm using it with the v20 right nowv
Josh Samuel (1 year ago)
Jesus loves you
toke hater samne pele pode bas dhukie dhorson kore debo leora choda. bara kete mukhe dhukie debo bokachoda khankir bachha sala.
bokachoda khankir bachha chudir bhai chomchom. tor ma ke chude tor bhai bar kore debo sala leora choda gudmaranir baccha.
Stavros Zogas (1 year ago)
Excellent review!!!!i own the gear s2 and the review is so close to my thoughts!!!!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Stavros Zogas Thanks Stavros! Gear S2 is still great
Canoopsy (1 year ago)
Awesome work Matt!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Canoopsy Thanks Homie!
Andre Harvey (1 year ago)
thanks. this or the Huawei watch?
Fatih Özcelik (1 year ago)
Andre Harvey this, the Gear S3 is the best Smartwatch 👍 With a Metal Band it looks like a Standard Men's Watch
Nick Rajaie (1 year ago)
Huawei definitely. Personally, I think it looks a lot better.
Fabian Persson (1 year ago)
Do you know if the watch is available in eu? Or is it specifically for US/Canada since of the "samsung pay" option?
How do Chinese people name their babies? They throw them down the stairs to see what noise they make.
Jerad Johnson (1 year ago)
I'm still rocking my 1st gen Moto 360 haha.
Michael Mignogna (1 year ago)
Jerad Johnson I where my motto 360 sport
Daakkon (1 year ago)
You should sue that door.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Daakkon it's going in the fire place!!!
ADAM LEE (1 year ago)
Thanks for the help
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+ADAM LEE my pleasure and thanks for watching !
Marques Bland (1 year ago)
mine is sitting in the UPS distribution center in my city. come to me my dear watch!
Marques Bland (1 year ago)
Got it on right now! It's pretty nice! It's the LTE model from T-Mobile. I had an epic failure in using Samsung Pay at Panera Bread this evening, but I know it was my error and not the watch. I pulled it out of the box at 4pm with 81 percent battery. I haven't charged it, but I installed and uninstalled watch faces, apps, changed settings, made calls, etc., and the batter is now at 60% (it's now 12:22am). The vibration is plenty strong (you can set the strength). I'm loving it so far. I did have to turn off the phone audio control for bluetooth on my phone since it would prevent my car's bluetooth audio from connecting. Other than that, I haven't run into any issues yet.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Marques Bland haha damn well you'll get it soon let me know how you like it.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.