HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Marques Brownlee

HTC U12+ Review: A Phone With No Buttons!

36170 ratings | 1065364 views
HTC U12+ has no notch, flagships specs and a peculiar lack of real buttons. Worth the money? Wallpaper from the backdrops app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.backdrops.wallpapers&hl=en_US MKBHD Merch: http://shop.MKBHD.com Video Gear I use: http://kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959 Tech I'm using right now: https://www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD Intro Track: You Know by 20syl ~ http://twitter.com/MKBHD http://snapchat.com/add/MKBHD http://google.com/+MarquesBrownlee http://instagram.com/MKBHD http://facebook.com/MKBHD Phone provided by HTC for review.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (4007)
bahhaziz (49 minutes ago)
Oh! I forgot, you growing up fast bro 😎
bahhaziz (54 minutes ago)
HTC is history
GuuzakaTube (1 hour ago)
I could not use a phone without buttons. That's too weird and spells problems down the road. 😒
Shivazi Sadhak (3 hours ago)
Thats it. I was hoping for a metal phone this but noo... and i have been using htc since m8
Ronnie len Roberts (6 hours ago)
What about the power button if it locks up?
Matthew Ward (6 hours ago)
Strange branch first hidden perhaps leather inmate quietly reserve thanks possibility computer
Shaon Bhuiyan (7 hours ago)
It looks older, not gonna pay more than $400 for this phone.
Mani Kandan (11 hours ago)
No notch
Josh Pearce (13 hours ago)
Killer gray relate mechanical frozen never council creature.
LovingAtlanta (14 hours ago)
👍🤔🧐🤓😁Just wanted to say I’ve noticed how you’re using the “Spike Lee technique” in your videos. 😉 Cool.👍
Pyrion1 (1 day ago)
I loved my HTC One m8 and I want to love the new HTC phones but all the negatives you bring up with this phone really matters to me. I think I will go with the OP6, because just as you I feel that the features they have sacrificed are not deal breakers for me.
Rishabh dev Tyagi (1 day ago)
Remove the branding replace it by Samsung or apple.Everything will be innovation
Baku Bhogle (1 day ago)
Better dont watch this review and watch flossy carters review!
iiElysium x (1 day ago)
As cool as the fake buttons are...what was every wrong with a real button???
Justin Louis Y. (1 day ago)
Looks like lg v20
Rishabh dev Tyagi (1 day ago)
Justin Louis Y. Lot better than that
Law (1 day ago)
that's sh*ts! no Headphone Jack
Rishabh dev Tyagi (1 day ago)
Law because HTC gives unique type c usonic earphones
Harshit Jain (1 day ago)
Why won't you show how the face unlock works on this ??
Harshit Jain (1 day ago)
The phone is full of unnecessary shit like they could have given same cool stuff but hey lets give some useless vibrating unclicky buttons and also ask the consumers to squeeze the shit out of the phone... Nicely done htc now plzz sell iff already
Muhammad Yasir (1 day ago)
HTC is the best.!!!!
The WNK (1 day ago)
Why don't you test the video camera and low light shots?. I don't think you could have accurately judged its performance without it.
ebrwheam (1 day ago)
Please, where can I buy that T?
Michael 53 (1 day ago)
it's been 10 years and still there's no revolution since the original Iphone
UnderWaterFilms (2 days ago)
This phone is so boring it makes me want to switch to Apple.
Ronal Yulius (2 days ago)
What if it gets wet, do the buttons still work fine?
Luis ValentinZeno (2 days ago)
Would you consider a follow-up review? I don't know if you had done this or not. However word around online forums now that the phone is arriving to consumers has some insight. The button sensitivity is apparently tied to the short squeeze. Some users are reporting that once a proper calibration of the side squeeze is done. A lot of the "lag" is gone. Your videos are great. And by far your review of the u12 is my favorite. It seems like you actually thought thru every aspect of the phone and gave it not just a personal opinion but logic behind it. Unlike most of the other reviewers who where quick to toss the phone without much of a detailed explanation.
Dave Su (2 days ago)
why having a big bazzel with no front firing speakers? lol
Dave Su (2 days ago)
why this looks like a phone from 5 years ago
Mark Schwacofer (2 days ago)
Does it have Alexa built in like U11?
Mehmet Şen (2 days ago)
sorry htc...you r the most depreciated brand whole market
Jason Aditya (3 days ago)
LCD instead of LED? Bye
Sepa Rate (3 days ago)
Hey Marques! Could you plz make a review of HTC 10 in 2018? We have had a feeling that the phone will get better with the updates and wanna see your professional opinion about that!
amaan siddiqui (3 days ago)
That damn intro 🔥
Nitin Basarikatti (3 days ago)
Mi 8 explorer
Gabrijel Destani (3 days ago)
p20 pro ftw
zachio decanini (3 days ago)
How do you power the phone off/on?
Josh H (3 days ago)
glass isn't slippery dude
keron lyttle (4 days ago)
Need a Oppo Find X review
Hollywood FilmWorld (4 days ago)
Oppo find X Review ....😍😘..we are eagerly waiting...
Eattsie (4 days ago)
all this no headphone jack nonsense going on is the main reason im just sticking with my htc 10 ... stop it phone makers :(
1默然回首 (4 days ago)
噫.....好丑的手机😒
Jake Rheault (4 days ago)
My experience with software updates is Google phones, HTC, LG, MOTO, THEN SAMSUNG.
Jake Rheault (4 days ago)
DXO rating 103 😁😁
Jake Rheault (4 days ago)
TAKE MY $$$ HTC 😁😁. I went from a Google pixel XL 2016 to a Google pixel 2 "2017" love these spreakers but miss the battery life.
Jason Wilde (4 days ago)
I'm starting to wonder if the sd845 just isn't as efficient as the 835.....seems like all the flagships this year with that processor has had either eh or just barely cutting it battery life.... Weird as hell considering the u11 had amazing battery life with a smaller power pack...
Taylor Wednesday (4 days ago)
Subscribe? SC: TaylorWednesday IG: Taylor_Wednesday Follow The Leader
RationalLllama (4 days ago)
Watching this on my Galaxy s3. Goddamn I need an upgrade! Any suggestions?
Ze Max (4 days ago)
o o o o oooo...
Dave Sumner (4 days ago)
The correct grammar would be 'A phone without buttons'. There was a tv show advertised recently in Austraia where an american guy could stick things to his skin and in the advert he made the statement "and I don't need no glue" which means literally that he needs to use glue.
Lelisevis (4 days ago)
Very briefly mentioned but when that shit goes wrong and it will you can't just take it back to the store you bought it from as its online only, you are left to deal with HTC customer service and its at that point you'll wish you'd have bought anything but HTC. My U11+ is still away for repair after it was delivered faulty in February, I received a email this week saying it had been moved to escalation. The U11+ screen was awful, it had vertical lines, was hard to see in daylight, the touch and tap gestures are useless when the phone is as smooth and slippery as a bar of wet soap. It also has no headphone jack and the included noise-cancelling dongle just added lots of hiss. If this thing doesnt sell in numbers I can't see there being another HTC flagship.
adrain quan (4 days ago)
3930 mah reduce to 3500 mah battery.... There will be huge diff...
RCoper81 (4 days ago)
Didn't HTC also upgrade some video features? They kept that audio zoom focus feature too. Does volume increase/decrease with a long "press" of the volume "button?"
Chase Smith (4 days ago)
I miss the HTC One M7
Gal (4 days ago)
Also, there no reason to buy this with the current V30 price. Get V30, install Google Camera and you have an improved Pixel 2 XL for half the price.
Gal (4 days ago)
Xiaomi Mi8 Explorer Edition is see through
Ed Salna (5 days ago)
"Slippererer"
Scopalo (5 days ago)
HTC leading sensible innovations as usual. Love the U11+ and this one looks rock solid too. I think HTC doesn't get the accolades they deserve and they need to up their marketing game.
Michael Cui (5 days ago)
check out Xiaomi Mi 8, awesome phone
vassie66 (5 days ago)
You can just use the "squeeze" function to quickly launch the camera, take a screenshot or take a selfie, highly customisable, unlike other stupid AI button. FYI, S9+ and P20 pro overexpose more than HTC U12+ does when shooting photos and use the power saving mode for God's sake.
how to shut down it and turn it on
The Liddler (5 days ago)
I've never been a fan of HTC since the Desire back in the day. However, this phone looks not bad at all. The only issues for me are all of the overkill with shortcuts and there being no headphone jack.
Harsh Waghela (5 days ago)
Rated second in dxomark.. Above pixel and iphone X
weisgamererz (5 days ago)
Does anyone know where I can get any of the shirts Marques wears in this video?
Ashraful Insan (5 days ago)
actually I thought you did forgot!
dejan110782 (5 days ago)
NO, YOU FORGET ON SONY XZ2 :(
Shafayat (5 days ago)
Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition
Martin McLaughlin (5 days ago)
I use to be an HTC fan boy, but after the One M9, I lost my drive for them. I went to iPhone, then to the Pixel 2 XL, and I'm planning on sticking with the Pixel line.
Rich Max13 (5 days ago)
No notch on Sony to buddy
Alex Alex (5 days ago)
Why NOONE of the reviewers says that it is very expensive and it doesn't worth but everyone says that G7 which is cheaper and better than this should be priced even lower???????????
Jack Drayton (5 days ago)
Roadster spec in the background? ;P
Saswat Sarangi (5 days ago)
you said squeeze , again u said pressure sensitivity up to sides of the phone , preciously up to which region it was there
mckmas (5 days ago)
Tired of these reviews with demo units , I've never had an HTC that was fully optimized out of the box, as well people trying to review a phone after a week or less of use but thanks for the review, I have 14 HTC phones .
sid_ m (6 days ago)
after 1 year u will regret buying htc
Sammy Sam (6 days ago)
Poppin' Pockets! That song is so good!
DT B (6 days ago)
is the Nokia 6 worth $180 New at 2018? (please need help), Xiaomi not available where I live.
181088 Says (6 days ago)
Htc, Sony,blackberry, lg, Motorola are dying
top5 mysterious (6 days ago)
Lol Huawei p20 pro is the best camera right now lmao
yashty100 (6 days ago)
That auto rotate needs to be used on more devices.
It will be hard to go to recovery mode when the phone is off then
Rishabh dev Tyagi (6 days ago)
Wow.999k views, very close to 1m views
Man Syah (6 days ago)
mi 8 explorer edition please
Portgas D. Ace (6 days ago)
Too bad, i like buttons
Osiris (6 days ago)
Review for Blackberry Key2!
Mynul Karim Mahim (6 days ago)
Turn off edge sense & you'll get much better battery life. Worked for my U11 plus
Gary Thyne (6 days ago)
I thought you forgot about it 😊 . Thanks for the review!
mark li (6 days ago)
Poor HTC. its been 5 days. this video has reached 1 million views
Ayodele Ojuroye (6 days ago)
Just got my iPhone 6s Plus and now I’m sure I’m not ready for life without the headphone jack. I need another year.
Ayodele Ojuroye (6 days ago)
“It’s preTTY good”. Anyone else catch that?
James Charbonneau (6 days ago)
If their is an Android One version I am sold
franz kirsch (6 days ago)
90% of the time I first download the intro song, then watch the video, thanks bro.
Hardik Gajra (6 days ago)
U can squeeze to launch something. Nothing happens.
J.C.B. Games (6 days ago)
I used to love HTC. I was a huge fanboy as soon as I saw the M8. However, in my experience, they just aren't reliable. My m8, of which I had 3, all had battery and awful lag issues after about 6 months of use. I then went away from them, and didn't come back until the HTC 10 (HTC M9 was ass, everybody agrees on that). To this day, the 10 was the best HTC I ever owned. It was fast, the battery was pretty good, and it was the first phone I owned that was "quick charge" enabled. Fast forward about a year and it started shutting off and going into a boot loop once the battery hit 20%. Battery issues again. Needless to say I quit buying. I don't trust them anymore.
In my opinion, SENSE is the best costumization by far.
I already buy it, and I fucking love it
One1k (7 days ago)
DXO Camera Scores: 1.) Huawei P20 Pro 109 2.) HTC U12+ 103 3.) Huawei P20 102
Dave Romanyshyn (7 days ago)
I wish they'd get the important things right (battery life, real buttons, headphone jack) before adding so many gimmicky features no one wants. My first few Android phones were HTC, and I loved them. Now, I wouldn't consider buying any of their phones.
Olya Samat (7 days ago)
Still proud with HTC with no headphone jack but still rated IP68
Gopi Kandregula (7 days ago)
MKBHD Please upload video that how to make website please..
Adem Sofilić (7 days ago)
I wish that all phones would get the no real button trend. It's nice. Easier. No damage.
Allan Kipper (7 days ago)
Transparent back? Xiaomi Mi 8 Explorer Edition. And i think, Xiaomi phone is better than HTC.
brylle namuag (7 days ago)
vivo nex is a real bezel less with no notch, yeah no notch

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.