HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Alienware 13 R3 Review: The Tiny Gaming Monster!

1840 ratings | 128807 views
The Dell Alienware 13 R3 (GTX 1060) is a small, portable, powerful gaming laptop that can handle VR. It can play all the latest games comfortable at 1080p and comes packed with a beautiful OLED Display. Watch for the full review! My Gear: http://kit.com/monizma/my-gear Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (417)
francis g mendoza (1 month ago)
Hi matthew i know how awesome the oled of this aw 13 however im considering fhd ver because of budget ive been searching in the net for a review but i dont find any how good is the ips 1080p panel any idea
Lord Voldemort (1 month ago)
13 r3 with 7th gen i7 7700 hq quad core 3.8 ghz with boost, 16 GB ddr4 ram, 512 Gb ssd and a Gtx 1060 for $2600 or a 15 r3 with the same processor and ram (currently a deal with 32 Gb ddr4 ram RN), 256 Geb ssd + q tb hdd and a Gtx 1070 for $3100?
Lord Voldemort (1 month ago)
I live in Australia so it's way more expensive here.
fazeel ashraf (1 month ago)
does the display have 120hz refresh rate?
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
No
A Penguin & A Panda (2 months ago)
i know this may sound stupid but can you play games when its plugged in? because my current laptop has an issue where it can't
Yvan Herrera (3 months ago)
I want a 1070 on this 13 alienware
Minh Tri Doan (3 months ago)
Wait....I dont think this laptop is 2kg. I think you got it wrong dude
dazzz887 (4 months ago)
So freddie prinze jr is now doing notebook reviews?
Mr L (4 months ago)
"and it doesn't look like it's gonna murder you while you're sleeping unlike other gaming laptops on the market." 👍
MartiniGasolini (5 months ago)
Why no display port
Randomnutjuice (5 months ago)
Awesome content man , earned a Sub man!
ProFess (5 months ago)
Should i get this or the MSI Ge63VR 7rfe 1060(6gb) i7700HQ? I'm only being indecisive cause of the build quality and weight.
Justin E (5 months ago)
I'm buying it. Hands down this is the little tank I've been looking for.
Renee Frydryk (5 months ago)
EXCELLENT REVIEW
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thank you Renee!!
Drum Beats (6 months ago)
I like the reviews on this...yeah sure, obviously there are other series that have better capacity and drive, but for the price and what it can do...I'm hoping to get this for Xmas..I need a laptop that I can take to work...and feel confident taking it out...but I am kinda torn between the Alienware and the Predator...
Feng Xiao (7 months ago)
Apparently you don't have a solid understanding of the word 'tiny'
An Nguyen (7 months ago)
Great review and quality video editing!
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks man!
King Jae (7 months ago)
I enjoyed it! Feel its real good! Wish it had a 1080 GTX in it though :(
moayd mhd (7 months ago)
Thanks for this amazing review. Do you have any idea about the date that Alienware will release new laptops in? I like the 13" version just because of its Oled screen but I hope it can be available on the 15" version so do advise me to wait might oled screen will be available on 15"or buy this machine ?
LucaRGY (7 months ago)
You should have a lot more subscribers, your content is the shit
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
+LucaRGY thanks man! Working on it : )
Sajjad Aly (7 months ago)
great video.. do you know if i get the 1080 screen variant, will it have gsync and how many hertz refresh rate will the hd screen have
Piyaphum Khawsumlee (7 months ago)
Nice Job Matthew!Hope im see you again next reviews.fans from Thailand!
kuso121 (7 months ago)
what is the model number for this laptop I'm trying to find the exact one and how much does it cost
Hemanth Guptha (7 months ago)
Is it Touchscreen
Peter Pan (8 months ago)
I got the 13r3 with a gtx 1060 and i5...is that bad?
Luke et (7 months ago)
Peter Pan why did you get the i5 lmao
Jesse Espinoza (8 months ago)
I just bought a this lab top just the other day how long will it be expected to last me
bhavnish sharma (8 months ago)
+Mathew moniz I am really confused between buying this laptop or predator Helios 300. Any suggestions?
Nukswager1 (8 months ago)
For the Alienware 13 r3 upgradeable from 7th gen i5-7300hq to 7th gen i7-7700hq ?
CybpnK (8 months ago)
What kind of shirt is that
Joseph S-D (9 months ago)
My HP Stream is getting hot just by running this video.
Dustin w (9 months ago)
Which would you recommend someone to buy this or the acer predator Helios 300?
Unique (4 months ago)
Ty Vasquez How much does this alienware laptop cost? And for a gaming laptop who plays with the laptop unplugged it slashes game preformance in half and also for basic internet browsing and youtube its fine
Ty Vasquez (4 months ago)
ComicBookGamer45 wait till it overheats my dude
Ty Vasquez (4 months ago)
Dustin w this easy because the predator get really hot and has not great battery life as well as build quality
Unique (4 months ago)
Ty Vasquez why is the Acer Predator Helios 300 a piece of junk I got mine yesterday and Im loving it
Ty Vasquez (4 months ago)
ComicBookGamer45 what
Kyle Chou (9 months ago)
Conor Maynard fan! Mathews...
Francis June (9 months ago)
is there any issues on burn-Ins since its OLED?
Francis June (9 months ago)
Matthew Moniz tnx! that is the only thing that is bugging me for getting this setup.
Matthew Moniz (9 months ago)
+Francis June nope none that I experienced
WOWCRITS (9 months ago)
How's the battery life for regular usage like surfing nets, youtube....etc and no gaming..? And what are the options of storing game since it doesn't have an HDD.
TheIQstorm (9 months ago)
He means, "what storage options are there?" There is 4 options, there is 512 gb PCIe ssd (Windows will be stored here) or 1 tb PCIe (Windows will be stored here) or a 512 PCIe SSD (Windows will be stored here) togheter with a 256gb PCIe SSD or a 1tb PCIe SSD (Windows will be stored here) togheter with another 1 tb PCIe SSD.
Raptinator 98 (9 months ago)
WOWCRITS the battery life for standard usage is 3-5 hours. If you game, it will last 1-2 hours. Not sure what you mean by storing games
epic tri bros (9 months ago)
WOWCRITS prob like 6 hours
Zynth (9 months ago)
Them bezelssss!!!
Definitely Original (9 months ago)
I have a question do these come in different colors or can you change the color of the LEDs because I want to buy a LED wireless mouse that doesn't change colors.just a question Edit:never mind thanks for telling me:)
Definitely Original (9 months ago)
"Tiny gaming monster" It's half the length of my leg.. But I'm also 4,6
VASH (10 months ago)
great review man
Duncan (10 months ago)
I just bought the 13 R3 but with the 1050ti, got it for like 950 shipped
Duncan (10 months ago)
From dell, with 100$ off and free shipping
Kitty (10 months ago)
Where did u bought yours from?
Duncan (10 months ago)
Still waiting on it to arrive, but I think its probably going to be one of the best budget laptops. Especially from alien-ware
Matthew Moniz (10 months ago)
Nice! how are you liking it?
The Merovingian (10 months ago)
That shirt has got to go
VASH (11 months ago)
what do u think is beter alpha r2 or alienware 13
Manny Diaz (11 months ago)
Vote: Alienware or MSI 🤔😩
Amani Graham (11 months ago)
I'm torn between this one or the 15 r3. I like the 13 inch because of the OLED but it's smaller. Such a hard decision. Anyone have any choices
C.T. Productions (5 months ago)
The 15 has more and better storage options to store all your games and movies as well as some professional programs on the SSD, has the option to get a 7820HK and a GTX 1070 as well as the 120hz, the 13 has a more colour accurate display option and (obviously) better portability.
kevinarguellop (11 months ago)
Was on the same boat. Ordered and canceled my 15r3 because of that... Ended up ordering the 13r3 because of mobility, oled and good gaming capabilities. Im a gamer but not a hardcore one, so the screen and the 1060 do it for me.... cant wait to receive it!
Muzaffer Ozen (11 months ago)
Amani Graham Same exact problem 😂
Oddly D. (11 months ago)
like the gears of war gaming and the 4k display
Jason C. (11 months ago)
Very well done Review/Overview.
Jason C. (11 months ago)
Your welcome Sir.
Matthew Moniz (11 months ago)
thanks Jason!
Jake Taff (11 months ago)
Did you buy this from Amazon?
Matthew Moniz (11 months ago)
+Jake Fox no I didn't buy it it's a review unit from dell
Asif Ali (11 months ago)
Hey Mattew I'm looking for a gaming lapotp of alienware 17 can you show us the review plz
Asif Ali (11 months ago)
bcuz I'm going to purchase that alienware 17 r4 tobii eye tracking (2017) what you suggest
Matthew Moniz (11 months ago)
Damn I'd love to but I dont have one to review. If I do end up getting one, I'll for sure review it!
Meme God (1 year ago)
Can it run h1z1
Captn RedBeard (1 year ago)
I cannot find this laptop with the exact specs you are reviewing. I want this exact laptop with the i7 6700HQ GTX 1060 OLED Screen 16gb of ram and a 512ssd if you can find me a link it would be awesome
Amani Graham (1 year ago)
Do the sides of the computer light up, or is it just the 15 r3 and the 17 r4 that do that?
Tbox (11 months ago)
Amani Graham From what I've seen, I think this model doesn't light up.
Cody Konior (1 year ago)
The trackpad is the main detractor for me. It looks pretty out of date compared to modern glass surface ones like on the XPS 13/15.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
This one is actually not bad, but to be honest 90% of gaming laptops don't have good trackpads.
comic fanatic (1 year ago)
does anyone know why the OLED screen looks really pixelated on my screen is it because of the laptop or is it something wrong with my screen but i don't see the pixels any other time.
Leaping Doggeh (1 year ago)
Hey Matt! I recently bought the 15 inch version of this and I cannot wait to get it. Would you say that you prefer a 15 inch version of this (oled screen) or is this fine?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Leaping Doggeh I personally prefer 15 to game on I found the 13 too small
cheeto (1 year ago)
i get around 50c idle cpu temps and around 70-75c load cpu temps on my 13 r3. should i be concerned about these values? this is after undervolting
Lifang zhao (9 days ago)
how's the sounds noisy when you play big 3d games ? thanks for reply
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+mae dudu nope those are good : ) Skylake/kaby lake run a bit hotter but as long as your below 80 you're fine
Leon King (1 year ago)
in terms of fps, the predator 15 is a bit better
Daniel Pierce (1 year ago)
I love that laser cutter style port outliner graphic!!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
lol thanks Daniel!
Idrees Mohad (1 year ago)
I am just a click away from ordering aw15 kaby lake core i7 , just that the 6700 suffered from serious throttling issues is what's stopping me, I mean are those issues still existing in kaby lake processors ?? and how bad is thermal throttling if there is any still...
BigPaco213 (1 year ago)
Is there room for a normal 2.5 hard drive or SSD???
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
no room for a 2.5". Just 2 slots for 2 M.2 drives. So SSD or NVME SSD
MagnusMusic (1 year ago)
Does this 13 inch model have the colored strips on the edges that light up to match the colors of the track pad and the alien head on the front? The larger 15 and 17 inch models have these strips, but it looks like from the video this smaller model does not. Thanks for your review!
John Hanson (1 year ago)
idk if anyone's mention this to you but your width seems to be for the 15 inch not the 13 inch
Radomír Benda (1 year ago)
so when i buy monitor with gsync and connect to notebook , gsync not work? Please answer
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
It will work yes
Mark Grago (1 year ago)
Are you kidding me! No SD card slot? No sale!
mrobertson188 (10 months ago)
Mark Grago you can buy a usb sd card reader for like $5
xXbghytXx (1 year ago)
perfect for me untill i realised i can't put a HDD in it :(
Marco Ponce (1 year ago)
Do you use the G7 to record video?
Marco Ponce (1 year ago)
what kind of lens and lighting did you use? good quality stuff!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Yup!
Drinkyoghurt (1 year ago)
Hey, just a quick question. I'm doubting between getting the i5 or the i7 version. Both have 256GB PCIe SSD's, GTX 1060, 16GB of RAM and a FHD screen (no oled unfortunately :( ). Price difference is 100 euros. I already wanted to go for a cheap inspiron 7567 but after all the upgrades it needs I can just as well buy the alienware and have a better, faster laptop with more ports and better build quality. Still doubting which to get. I can also get the 15" model with i7 for the same price as the but it only has a 1TB HDD. Though decisions to make, but I want something that will last me for some years and can replace my desktop.
Yahtadi Shidiq (1 year ago)
Why there are many poeple who rather 15inch and 17inch laptop?? i think 12-14inch is the maximum comfortable screen size.. No smaller than that no bigger than that
Yahtadi Shidiq (1 year ago)
So thats why no such a thing as good compact&light gaming laptop because nobody likes it? Yeah good thinking
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
It's comfortable for getting work done, but gaming on a 13" laptop is WAY to small. At least for me.
Funnygamer22 (1 year ago)
hmm g-cync, core i7, gtx 1060 and 40 degree? BOUGTH!!!!!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
nice! Let me know how you like it!
NERDBOITAMA oOo (1 year ago)
I have the Dell Inspiron 15 7 thousand and something I forgot but it works like a charm I'm happy it has a GTX 1050 so I think it can handle VR
Dylandmk (1 year ago)
I really want one of these. I just purchased an Asus Rog to game on the go. But this is just so much more attractive :(
SuperdanTech (1 year ago)
No SD card slot???
SuperdanTech (9 months ago)
It beats me that in a laptop of this price they do not put an SD card reader. Huge mistake!!! Just like Dell putting a crappy TN panel in their new Inspiron 7000 (or 7567 in the US I think). Who is designing laptops at Dell these days???
Spooky Hollows (9 months ago)
Exactly what I thought LOL I use SD cards a lot, so looks like I'll have to pick up an SD reader as well whenever I get one of these laptops.
321GAMEOVER (11 months ago)
Daniel Levesque Oh yeah really good point! The USB will stick out of it while the SD card reader kinda goes all the way in.
SuperdanTech (11 months ago)
I know we have a few of these at home. But you still need to carry the gizmo in your pocket or your bag when you go out.  And when you are at home, you often need to be looking around for the little thing... Much more practical to have a reader built right in the laptop!
321GAMEOVER (11 months ago)
Daniel Levesque It's not a deal breaker for me because you can buy a USB SD readers.
Stranger24 (1 year ago)
random question, if you were to drop the resolution on the laptop to 1080p (with the oled display) would battery life improve? and would it look any good?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
No it wouldn't make a difference.
Lisa Plevey (1 year ago)
I bought my son one of these. One amazing machine. Battery life isn't great, maybe 2hrs max - depends on settings - but not an issue - it's a gaming laptop. Aaccurate review :)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Lisa Plevey nice lucky son! He must be super happy with it. That's true gaming laptops never have good battery life! Thanks Lisa and for watching !
how many storage units are allowed on this laptop? There's space for 2 SSD and 1 HDD, right?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Two M.2 slots, no HDD.
Paulo (1 year ago)
i wish someone would review the cheapest non oled display
Zimba's Doom Corner (1 year ago)
I've decided on Alienware because I LOVE the build quality. Do you feel the OLED is worth it over the IPS screen?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I prefer teh OLED everything just pops! Make sure to calibrate it though or colours are a bit off
SwedishGamer322 (1 year ago)
I don't understand... Dave Lee said around 4.5 hrs of battery life, Matt said 3, and in a review from LaptopMag I read 7hrs of battery life... How can everyone get such different results?!
SwedishGamer322 (1 year ago)
Cool, thanks Matthew!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
you're welcome! Take a look at the dell xps 15. The new one came out has a GTX 1050 inside. You'll get good battery life, decent gaming and a slim portable form factor.
SwedishGamer322 (1 year ago)
Thanks for the reply! And yeah I know gaming laptops tend to have awful battery life, but I'm looking for something a bit more powerful than an ultrabook.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
haha, ya battery life is tough to measure! Everyones results are going to be different. Laptopmag basis there tests around non real world use. So for example, just streaming a video for 7 hours. Myself and I'm pretty sure Dave Lee too, just use the laptop normally and measure based on what we do with the laptop. It's a very subjective test. With that being said, gaming laptops generally never have good battery life, especially with a 1060 inside.
8Bit-Arn (1 year ago)
nice work man! :)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks! = )
jassim mohd (1 year ago)
When will this laptop with oled display be available on amazon?
Antphoneigh (1 year ago)
Can you review the Gigabyte Aero 14 with Kaby Lake?
Antphoneigh (1 year ago)
Can't wait for your review!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Trying to get my hands on one = )
Antphoneigh (1 year ago)
Can you review the Gigabyte Aero 14 with Kaby Lake?
LeRoy G (1 year ago)
Great video and thanks you sold me on this laptop. Just ordered it with the oled screen and this is my first gaming laptop. Been a console player and this is actually my first step into the pc/laptop gaming world. Also subbed!
BandzzMan (1 year ago)
LeRoy G how is the laptop ?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+LeRoy G awesome thanks LeRoy! Welcome to the channel : )
Zimba's Doom Corner (1 year ago)
do you feel that alienware has the most sturdy built laptops on the market?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
For gaming laptops, they're great, but I'd probably put Razer first.
Elijah (1 year ago)
Wait so this laptop can run bf1?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Donald Trump yup!
LCD4K (1 year ago)
Does anyone know what the screen response time is on the 1440p models?
Gaming Legend 246 (1 year ago)
*Hiding Bunch of tabs open* Hellllloooooooooo...........
Hussain AL-Derazi (1 year ago)
subbed because he got an Alienware ;)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
haha nice, welcome to the channel!
Nicola Spada (1 year ago)
I loved the 13 r1... this will be my next portable steam machine!... How do you think about the new touchpad? It seems like the xps13? The mine (on r1) works very bad, it's seems too chip...
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
It's much better!! It's not as good as the xps 13 or 15, but pretty close. Probably one of the better gaming laptop trackpads I've used.
Hello World (1 year ago)
i would have bought one but the morons wont come back with the HDMI IN.
Pat Shala (1 year ago)
Still my favorite Laptop of 2016 . But can't get 1800 euros to buy it which for me are a lot.
Sean Esla (1 year ago)
666 likes
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
lol evil!
Eric Estevez (1 year ago)
This is one of the best reviews on any laptop that I've seen in a while! Great job and keep it up! Definitely subscribed.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Eric Estevez thanks Eric! I appreciate it and welcome to the channel : )
ripperx444 (1 year ago)
I don't understand why the battery is so bad? Doesn't it use integrated graphics for normal tasks like sending email And browsing web or watching YouTube? Everything should be at idle with almost no CPU usage. I don't see why it drains so bad.. is it the OLED screen?
Jordan Mak (1 year ago)
ripperx444 Yes because of OLED.
Paulo (1 year ago)
anyone got the cheapest version with 1366 x 768 ? was it ok ? im thinking of buying the cheapest config
Ryle Noval (1 year ago)
Paulo I'm waiting for the dell 7567 or acer vx15, base model comes with a kabylake i5 and a desktop grade 1050. baka 60k yun haha
Paulo (1 year ago)
thanks for suggesting but nope. 940m won't be enough for my 3d rendering... my budget is up to 45k up to 60k(if needed) php. i think i will wait for a while
Ryle Noval (1 year ago)
Paulo if by Ph u mean philippines, u can get an acer e15 with a 940m for like 25-30k, decent for gaming.
Evenmixer (1 year ago)
Try to find a laptop with a geforce 920mx or the 940mx, they are enough to run HD games.
Paulo (1 year ago)
yeah but, here in my country the "cheaper" msi, acer hp gaming laptop is almost priced same or higher than the alienware 13.. the pricing in PH is horrible.... the 500$ in US is almost at 900$ when they sell here but yeah i guess i will wait a little more
Kevin Sugrue (1 year ago)
Bought this model with the IPS screen for my son for Christmas. It covers all his gaming and school work needs and shouldn't need upgrading for years.
Zimba's Doom Corner (1 year ago)
dang what is it like gaming on a 13" laptop. Seems too tiny
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Zimba's Doom Corner I don't like it I find it too tiny I prefer 17 but can deal with 15
Akmal Damit (1 year ago)
Are you worried about the burn-in issues with OLED display?
Xanlander (1 year ago)
Good video. Nice
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks man!
TechDoctorUK (1 year ago)
I'm torn between this and the MSI GS43VR ... .Thoughts?
Siege (2 months ago)
Thank you sir. Yes i believe I'm going for the 13r3. Not yet though maybe next month.
Abhik Gupta (2 months ago)
Alienware 13 R3.. Trust me, you won't regret it
Siege (4 months ago)
I'm torn between this and the aourus little 13 inch machine. anybody got any insight. Super torn right now and ready to fire.
AMA (6 months ago)
What about gs63vr?
Jun (7 months ago)
TechDoctorUK The GS43 has horrible build quality, this one is way better.
Deej Sub-zero (1 year ago)
Great video brother, Keep up the good work.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+nick subject Thanks Nick!
polaris911 (1 year ago)
Your "review" is so completely misleading people. I own this laptop and the trackpad is awful, it can barely scroll. The speakers are NOTHING to brag about. I hate these kind of reviews where the company sends you the product for a week for free, and you "test" it for a couple days and can't say anything bad about it or you'll lose subs.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
What are you talking about it? The trackpad is good for a gaming laptop. It's not as good as the XPS 15 or 13, but good. It's quite possible you have a defective unit? Also, for a 13-inch laptop the speakers are good. As for subs, more are always great, but I have 0 issues ripping into a product. I can happily show you tons of reviews where I feel the product is not worth it at all. My integrity is more valuable and in the long run gets more subs than quick positive reviews.
Hector L Hernandez Jr (1 year ago)
I play a lot of Insurgency and my new R13 does not disappoint. Love the premium feel, lighting and especially the OLED display. Opted for the i5 CPU and 8 gb ram, which I upgraded to 16 gb. Figure I'd save me a little money since I don't do a lot of multitasking, nor have tons of tabs open and processes running in the background. Had to buy a 7 port hub though since there's only 2 USB ports; which is the only con. Every game I have thrown at it has played at 2K with everything on high. No hiccups. Love it.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Nice! Glad you're liking it = ) It's an awesome laptop for gaming and the size is good.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.