HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Authority

Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact Review: Good phone, Bad Deal

1533 ratings | 56303 views
Read the full post http://andauth.co/xperiaxz2 | The Sony Xperia XZ2 Compact takes everything that's great from the standard Xperia XZ2 and puts it in a small form factor. But it also suffers from a very familiar Sony flaw that could be make or break for you. Find out what we think of it in our full review! Download the Android Authority App: https://andauth.co/aa-app Subscribe to our YouTube channel: https://andauth.co/subscribe ---------------------------------------------------- Stay connected to Android Authority: - http://www.androidauthority.com - http://facebook.com/androidauthority/ - http://twitter.com/androidauth/ - http://instagram.com/androidauthority/ - https://snapchat.com/add/androidauth - http://google.com/+androidauthority Follow the Team: Joe Hindy: https://twitter.com/ThatJoeHindy Lanh Nguyen: https://twitter.com/LanhNguyenFilms Jayce Broda: https://twitter.com/jaycebroda Gary Sims: https://twitter.com/garysims Kris Carlon: https://twitter.com/kriscarlon Nirave Gondhia: https://twitter.com/nirave David Imel: https://twitter.com/durvidimel Bailey Stein: https://twitter.com/baileystein1
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (451)
Android Authority (13 days ago)
Sony's Compact recipe is what a lot of people (in theory) want: flagship specs in a smaller form factor. Are you one of them? Or is Sony trying to charge too much of a premium to ever make the Compact series truly popular?
Shaun McCarthy (2 days ago)
Absolutely. I got one after having an S8 for a month not realizing beforehand that it is a GIANT phone that's a pain to use. And no, it's not overpriced. Phones should be cheaper the bigger they get, factoring in jumps in screen resolution.
Mitokens (2 days ago)
Yeah it's kinda pricey, but them specs. "Compact" is a misnomer here at 5 inches. If it were 4.5 inches I'd by three of them yesterday. Otherwise it's everything I'd want in a new phone, and it's top of my list for when my current phone dies.
lazybones1985ful (3 days ago)
They should call themselves Samsung Apple Authority. :D
G. C. (4 days ago)
This phone is 130 mm tall... THAT is what the world of Smartphones is missing!!! We want more SMALL phones... but not for CDN$850. Really, try and front-pocket your 150+ mm tall phone in your jeans... it is very uncomfortable. Even a mid-range phone in this size would sell well - and, if Sony made it - may have a reasonable price if it were not a flagship phone.
TalesOfGod (5 days ago)
P GR It also adds all of the great Sony software, is pretty decent in design and is good for music.
Andrew G (2 days ago)
I don't really understand why you did a "compare" video when it's supposed to be a review? I don't give af about what the xz2 can do compared to this, obviously I'm here because I want a smaller size phone, and I want to know how this one holds up. Somewhat informative vid but honestly I learned more from the comment section, too much chatter about a phone I don't care about
Chengyao Zheng (3 days ago)
Gonna wait for xz3, or my hope on Sony is abandoned.
Luckas Karlson (4 days ago)
Man it's ugly😂
Poypoy Germinal (4 days ago)
If you don't like the phone, please keep it to yourself and don't make the phone look bad for others. Actions speak louder than words, gestures tell a lot more than what is being said. i have XZ1 and it's awesome for me. And i get my money's worth than what others may think.
Soul (4 days ago)
I used to like Xperia, but the new design with still huge bezels, and lack of headphone jack, is a total deal breaker for many of us. Sony needs to get with the times.
Jay Mac (5 days ago)
Lanh I hate to say it bro but you lack enthusiasm when doing your videos. Lately it seems like you are just dragging your self to do videos. I get it, it's the same old stuff or just more of the same. Mobile tech has reached a plateau and there is not much to say no in days. Hang in there do some soul searching and make a move if u have to.
Zion (5 days ago)
Sony smartphones are pretty outdated designwise
Martin marty (5 days ago)
👍🔥
Nick Motsarsky (6 days ago)
No OIS? Welcome to 2012.
Nabith Shahid (6 days ago)
It is so expensive because it's the only phone of this size released in this year. Since nobody else has made a phone like this Sony is currently unopposed and can charge as much as they would like. It's simply supply and demand and Sony is the only brand supplying.
Stephen Rees (7 days ago)
Sony should start selling their phones at better prices
Nishant Sharma (7 days ago)
I can't say much but I love Sony.. No Notch, Premium Design and Flagship. I have so much respect for this company because they are not Copying iPhone like OnePlus
Niki Herl (7 days ago)
I bought this phone precisely because of its form factor, and I am very happy with it. There is simply no other high-end android phone that allows me to get to every point of the screen one-handed without strain.
Harminder Singh (8 days ago)
Same here want flagship specs with the smaller form factor, think I will wait to get this one once the price gets lower than $500.
Liam Dean (8 days ago)
Assembly clinic man subject stare painful somewhere air odd
braddeicide (8 days ago)
No headphone jack? I'm out
Olivio Dubois (8 days ago)
Eww, it has large bezels 😂 This is 2018, no thanks
Daniel Betancourt (9 days ago)
Great phone, loving mine!
ScrattleGG (9 days ago)
I cannot decide between this or the oneplus 6. I can purchase both for 550 dollars / 460 euro, but don't know what the best buy would be.
YG S (9 days ago)
I am getting to wonder if Sony is really keeping android be android or they are just getting lazy and lazy to add their color of course they are doing something to the UI and experience but speaking from a Sony user from Xperia ARC (currently using XZ2), I cannot help but to say Sony is ditching many of their original apps and services which definitely added a unique color showing "This is SONY" "I am XPERIA" kind of thing. to name a few examples, the Sony clock app, messaging app, calendar app, contacts app, SenseMe, small apps now some of these aren't a big deal perhaps, and to some people they might appreciate the original android experience just like Lahn here. but to back up my statement suspecting them getting lazy is that they are not improving that much. Xperia customers have been complaining about camera app interface ever since, customers have been requesting for the music app to support lyrics, ghost touch problem (lasted for several generations due to grounding, currently seems to be solved) just to name a few again. I'm a Sony fan deep in my veins. I have a sony TV, wireless speaker, earphones, Playstation, Xperia, Smartband, Alpha camera I still do love Xperia but everytime new things come out, it seems like Xperia is losing its color and its sad. they recently announced they will no longer support Xperia Weather app. another cutback. i wonder what next. after since Lolipop update, even the equalizer isnt working in 3rd party apps anymore a huge drawback. just hoping sony will get better... just an after thought... why did i write all these in here? lol
David Lawman (9 days ago)
So my question is...when are you leaving Android Authority?
Tom Lee (9 days ago)
这设计让我回到了5年前。
YamiYukiSenpai (9 days ago)
I really wanted to go for this phone, but the omission of the headphone jack + ugly hardware design are a big turn off for me.
Dhanil ks (9 days ago)
Damn hell the dumbest designed phone ever!!!!!.... I bet the sony phone sales 2018 is gonna have bombing negative sales... I hate to see this phone nothing is changed since 2012!!!!!
kaSZa (10 days ago)
Bring Back John Velasco for reviews !
Donos Luskis (10 days ago)
What do you think about camera distortion
youdarkraver (10 days ago)
Moronic review.. There IS NO Better Compact flagship deal than this out there, for that price.
Timothy Chang (10 days ago)
yes yes yes yesss, sony is the only company that understands me. I want decent specs in a small compact form (snapdragon 845 is wayyy more than I'm even asking for). I want a phone that doesn't shoot into my hip when I sit down (I don't even wear skinny jeans!), and that I can hold in one hand. If the XZ3 is going to be bezel-less, then I can not wait to see what the XZ3 compact will look like.
Luis Ortiz (10 days ago)
Bru that border facial hair 😕
Aditya T.S. (10 days ago)
Awesome Video Lanh.
Yazan Sakran (10 days ago)
Sony made a bad move on that pricing.......
Glenrics Anderson (11 days ago)
😭😭😭😭💪
highlordfurer (11 days ago)
agree with the review about good phone , but about the bad deal part i disagree because in terms of software support only Google has a better record than Sony. Security updates are regular and quick , and when upgrading to newer android versions Sony is pretty much almost always 2nd after Google. That is worth the extra cost .
idpro83 (11 days ago)
It's 18:9. Every phone with a 18:9 screen is automatically bs.
Arekkusu The Great (11 days ago)
I have a Sony XZ2 compact and a Samsung S9 both unlocked. I prefer the XZ2 compact. It's so damn fast.
Rs Rs (11 days ago)
I don't agree with the conclusion. It is a compact and if we limit the width to 70mm, it only has two high end competitors, the iphone 8 and the samsung s9. The xz2 is the cheapest and thus is a good deal for a high end compact. For people using the phone on the go (with one hand), I would say this is the best phone.
abu269 (11 days ago)
Is there a better compact phone on the market so far? I find big phones annoying as they feel uncomfortable in my pocket and hard to navigate with one hand. However, I would like a smaller phone to pack a punch like the flagship devices. If not Sony, are there any phones anyone can recommend?
Senson Pan (11 days ago)
OnePlus 6 has a better design? Excuse me?You called that notched design a better design? They copy the worst design from Apple while not completely eliminating the chin, then what is the point to have a notch there? And what about that crappy 1080p PenTile diamnond AMOLED display from Samsung? Because IMO a quality IPS LCD is waaaaaaay better than a 1080p crappy PenTile AMOLED display
SpaceRock (11 days ago)
Compact, high specs, ip68, but no hp jack. If the jack was there then this would be a perfect phone, imo. And i don't think its camera is subpar. I mean, this is Sony were talking about! The battery is so-so but it really depends on the user.
Game Start (11 days ago)
in 3 months it will be super cheap.. I may get one but I always get put off by the doo doo camera
efraim asoy (11 days ago)
still searchin for my luck to win an giveaway :(
Logan Rosenthal (11 days ago)
I want to see Sony fork out an Android One phone. Just imagine having a stock Android handheld PS Vita
Akif Norsh (11 days ago)
sony xperia....what a boring design!!!
Dan klm (12 days ago)
Hi I can you do a review on the Samsung S10 by any chance thank you
Xylem (10 days ago)
Cmon man s9 just came out
Xylem (10 days ago)
Dan klm your dad invented it?
irfan ali (12 days ago)
5MP selfie camera? Is it 2009?Really? Its funny.
anthony williams (12 days ago)
I love mine!! I bought it solely based on the fact it's compact. Need one handed use. XZ2 compact for the win!!
Chosen Architect (12 days ago)
Someone should have gotten a good night's rest before reviewing a product this good. btw what's the name of that drink at 2:52?
Yousef Abu Jabal (12 days ago)
Who cares about sony ..... dude get the results out for the speaker blind test dont sleep !!!!
Mario Ray Mahardhika (12 days ago)
around $200 too expensive.
txmoney (12 days ago)
I’m not thrilled with the redesign. I preferred the original squared off design. Now it resembles many of the other Android phones.
CerealForProtein (12 days ago)
Your facial hair is too much, for better reviewer, ill go somewhere else
Infidel Gastro (12 days ago)
I like it although it's not a device I'd seriously consider buying but hey, that could change. I don't care about 3.5 mm jacks or plastic backs anymore, it's 2018 and Bluetooth earphones and phone cases do exist.
NewEsc (12 days ago)
Honey, is expensive because of all the hardware it incorporates. Besides, is compact, something you don’t see this days. Honestly, i don’t think is expensive. Is neither cheap, but have you seen any flagship being cheap? Besides Xiaomi of course....
MyOwnWay (12 days ago)
$600 for this?? No wonder sony is loosing its place in the smartphone market.. !!!!
jamardoogle2 jones (12 days ago)
Sony needs a design refresh that phone looks 2014.
Jerry Berglund (12 days ago)
In a sense I dont think this review wasnt so bad. But to be honest. Sony is a premiumbrand and thats what making the pricetag. It definately a deal.... the phone he do take up as a referrence isnt really a good referrence phone. He should rather use a Samsung Galaxy Mini or another brands mini-version who wold be more equivallent. So if you lookt to those type of hones. It really is a good buy. And if you like a smaller form factor of a phone, This is definately a good buy because One Plus 6 is a bigger phone.
Wari Le Hustler (12 days ago)
What's wrong with you ? You have something against sony ?
Wari Le Hustler (12 days ago)
Waiting price drop with sony their price drop fast
Vibhansh Gupta (12 days ago)
Give us some sort of list of best compact phones!!
cris 101 (12 days ago)
It is really interesting how all these phones coming out are being compared with the oneplus6. Free advertising right there. One plus will continue to make its phones cheap because it doesn't need to shell out so much for advertising like so many other companies. The word of mouth from tech youtubers will do just that.
Cask Strength (12 days ago)
My best deal 👌
Arash (12 days ago)
Why you don't review moto g6 , plus and play ??
RD Z (12 days ago)
It's really a very bad review.
sullivan james (12 days ago)
12.9 mm in 2018. Are you kidding me?
Stranger_in_black (12 days ago)
Android Authority again totally lost it. Why would you compare a 6+ " inch phone with a 5" compact phone? Obviously both phones have their uniqueness. For instance op6 has a very average bottom firing speaker, while sony has front facing stereo. Xz2 compact has a better camera. Hands down. Op6 is not bad either. One of the other reviewer from aa blatant said xz2 camera is bad, while you are saying camera is one of the best. Seriously, get it together aa. Your reviews becoming more unprofessional, biased and bad recently.
karthy siva (12 days ago)
Pictures from the camera looks superb. Better than many other smartphones.
Isaiah Scott (12 days ago)
If this phone has a headphone jack and was a bit thinner, it would be perfect. So close Sony, so close.
Henry Ho (12 days ago)
great review, but how about some hand lotion?
Hank Hill (12 days ago)
At the end of the day 600 for this phone is objectively overpriced and it's outperformed by others in the price segment. Better phones for the money without a doubt.
Ihsan Husandi (12 days ago)
Hank Hill “outperformed” LMAO
Castiel Leem (12 days ago)
have a clean shave for viewers sake, you looks like a clown.
Edin Sabic (12 days ago)
This review is really flawed. Instead of comparing it's value to the OnePlus, how about you compare it to other devices with a small form factor? It also does have automatic HDR. You could've critiqued it for not having Qi charging despite having a chassis that allows for it. Maybe you chose to upload a controversial statement to get engagement in the comments though. #sellout
Cons Mercado (12 days ago)
i wonder what happened to sony. they were the king of cameras in the 90's to the 2000.
Cons Mercado (12 days ago)
Lanh is still my fav 😍😘
Bagas Eka Pratama (12 days ago)
Halo mase Lanh Nguyen
Padid AZG. (12 days ago)
This phone is not compact. It has a body of 5.5" with a 5" screen. Other phones have a 6" screen in 5.5" body with smaller bezels. That bottom chin is for what? at least they could put navigation keys in it! they could leave headphone jack intact in its place with that chin. $600!! Go f... yourself Sony. Sony's phones are just trash.
Kevin Davis (13 days ago)
Nice review, but at the end of it, you highlighted it's obvious used case for those who prefer a compact phone and then named its competition as a phone with a 6. 2 inch display, how in the hell do you think that makes any sense? That was just an ignorant comparison. Hey, at least this time you're not setting with your back to an extremely brightly-lit window, SMH.
shemar dixon (13 days ago)
Plastic back hell No
Cory G (13 days ago)
I live in China and Sony phones are the only phones that you can buy without all of the Chinese bloatware. There's some but not nearly as much as every other phone. Recently purchased a XA2 Ultra for roughly $420.00 USD and the Sony tech support installed the HK firmware, free of charge. I only mention this as that was the easiest way to get all of the blocked apps like Google play, facebook and all the other google support apps. Sony phones are definitely worth considering, especially if you live in Mainland China.
Cory G (12 days ago)
Chinese brands like Xiaomi, Huawei, Oppo, One Plus, etc. are the most popular brands here. Apple obviously has a large share of the market as well but reports have shown that Apple products are not a popular as they were a few years ago. Samsung is also not that popular here. Sony is perhaps the least popular of the non-Chinese phones. None of the Android phones sold in Mainland China come pre-installed with Google apps. Some phones you can add it on and other phones you need to root. My last phone was a Huawei P8 and I was able to add Google Play to it. It also had a TON of Chinese apps that I couldn't delete which the Sony phone doesn't have. I bought the Sony phone due to how easy it was to convert the firmware and the fact their version of Android 8.0 is so uncluttered.
Ihsan Husandi (12 days ago)
Cory G I thought people only buy local products in China due to heavy restriction such as Google services itself
Sarfaraz Shaikh (13 days ago)
One plus 6 has modern design..... That's something new for my ears to hear for..... at least it didn't copy I 🐑 phone x n the rest of the Chinese phones design...... notch is not a modern design.... It's just they wanted to make it besel less phone but don't have the technology right now to for the camera to hide behind the screen..... But Android world took it seriously n it's shows that no matter what you do they'll always keep following behind the Apple products.... Except sony, htc n Samsung till. now.....
CasualTech (13 days ago)
Please watch my first video! Mrwhosetheboss commented! 😍
Kuchay Hilal (13 days ago)
Price is higher, why would anyone prefer it over OnePlus or Pixel 2.
Nawaz Waseem (13 days ago)
Lul
mzamroni (13 days ago)
I will go back to Sony is they use oled screen. Their software is the best android software which is even better than pixel or nexus
Sean Burns (13 days ago)
Your audio sounds muffled
Sunny (13 days ago)
Why does it have fingerprint scanner on the back? It had plenty of bezels to house on front
Rohan Tolani (13 days ago)
This guy is an ignorant idiot who can't understand the fact that this phone is targeted towards a different market. It's a *"compact"*, that's the only thing small phone lovers will care. And top of the line performance just makes it a Great deal. Stop bringing OnePlus in every video, It appears really dumb and idiotic. OP is cheaper but both are *COMPLETELY* different. People pay more to buy top tier, or "Branded" phones not just for the specs or numbers they offer, but the other factors that make that phone or product a "branded" product. For example, the build, some proprietary feature, service network, long term software support and the likes. My Sony xperia Z2 got 3 android version updates and some security updates after that. Had water-resistance way before it was "cool", had dual speakers, had AR Way before it became mainstream. Had glass design way before it was mainstream. I didn't even bother to look at the spec sheet back then. It was a great device, I knew that and I bought it. It's still holding up well except some battery draining issues which is very minor and expected considering it's 4 years old now. I use it daily still and 40% of my work is done on that phone. I bet any of these tier 2/tier 3 Chinese brands won't be able to do that. So, just stop bullshitting about Sony and LG. They make GREAT phones, just their target audience is different.
Mega Boy (13 days ago)
The plastic build, & smaller battery killed this for me, but glad it kept most of the specs intact. Nice that there is a metal frame around the device sort of recalling the Note 4 & others.
Rohan Tolani (13 days ago)
Look all these 9 year olds crying about bezels in the comments.
Balázs Decsi (13 days ago)
Why do you compare it to the Oneplus 6? Who needs a small android flagship, won't buy that. It is 1 cm wider and 2 cm taller. For a small handed user it is a big difference. I don't see any other Android flagship, that is comparable to it. It's closest competitor is the iPhone 8. If you want to recommend a phone, then do it right.
xerxes876 (13 days ago)
Dang 5.0" is "compact" now? There went my favorite phone line
misio87 (13 days ago)
Sony makes the sensors that most, if not all, smartphones use and they make the worst software for themselves.
Alfin Madamba (13 days ago)
thumbnail was a bad idea
Kaius P (13 days ago)
Its literally the best compact phone you can get :)
Didier Hernandez (13 days ago)
For a review this late on the XZ2 compact, I was expecting a bit more in-depth look. This is a phone that appeals to those of us who are still looking for a smaller-form factor with strong specs. It almost felt like Lanh needed to rush this review out and/or this device has a low priority for AndAuth. I do agree Sony needs to price this better, though. 600 is still a bit high. Just a matter of waiting for a good deal.
Chaitanya Kalavakunta (13 days ago)
Will the Asus Zenfone 5 and mi8 SE make their way to india
moksh36 (13 days ago)
Umm.... Everyone's gonna ignore the amount of time spent on Clash Royale!? @5:07
Rahul Jayanth Diddi (13 days ago)
RIP XZ2
dranzerbeast0308 (13 days ago)
This phone shouldn't be more than $400
Jet Black (13 days ago)
YOUR HAND MOVEMENTS ARE SO ERRATIC

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.