HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

iPad Pro vs Surface Pro 2017 Review: Can They Truly Replace Your Laptop?

2706 ratings | 113586 views
Is the new 2017 iPad Pro ready to take on the Microsoft Surface Pro as the ultimate laptop replacement? They're both light, portable and powerful enough. But which one makes the most sense for you? Watch as Me and my twin help break it down for you. Buy Here on Amazon: iPad Pro 2017 (10.5") - http://geni.us/VJwjKxS Microsoft Surface Pro - http://geni.us/4Li0q8i Other Videos: 5 AMAZING iPad Pro Accessories You'll Love! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3Sz9sgGGuA Surface Pro 2017 Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQ1AWSu004U&t=137s Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (635)
LeagueOfNations94 (4 days ago)
One is a tablet trying to be a laptop One is a laptop trying to be a tablet
Screaming-Muffin (7 days ago)
The verge format ?
BlueTNT_ 11 (18 days ago)
“Iprad pro” i think you made a mistake 2:49
Nicolas T. (21 days ago)
iPad Pro si better Than the Microsoft surface and it will allways be.
Nicolas T. (21 days ago)
*is
Jack Wong (25 days ago)
What sup with the MS Equipment sticker at 1:38? Is this a Microsoft equipment? Did you get paid to make this video by Microsoft?
Darren Gilbert (26 days ago)
What is best ? looking to buy for kid he has ipad 3rd Gen need to upgrade for school . I got him a solo drone with GoPro need video editing , plus a lot of devices like swann security plus other items only use windows compatible for updates. Thx for any helpful info.
Thomas Ch. (1 month ago)
That acting job
ItzWolffz (1 month ago)
Ive used iPads at school (Schools had a deal or whatever starting back in 2012/2013 to be using apple products in catholic board schools) and I own an iPad mini but just wasnt what I needed for my highschool classes once I entered highschool. I had the Surface RT for about almost two years loved it for school, I was able to do stuff in my classes a lot more efficiently (word docs and presentation and even browser photo editing because well it was Windows RT) before it got glitchy and gave it away. I loved everything about surface products and recently my mother ordered me a Surface 3 because its initially what I wanted in 2015 but she couldnt afford it then just waiting for it to arrive but you know how canadian mailing works. Would upmost keep choosing Microsofts Surface line of products because they really hit it out of the park and do now compete with Apple head on.
- TechEngine (1 month ago)
And I design my channel arts and logos
- TechEngine (1 month ago)
Hi I am a new YouTube I am going with a iPad for editing and for recording games and for gaming I am also buying Apple Pencil and Keyboard so which one should I buy and my budget 1200dollars please help me
- TechEngine (1 month ago)
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai u mean Microsoft is better and can I play gta 5 on Microsoft surface pro
Yes, that's what I want to say
- TechEngine (1 month ago)
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai so you mean it sucks for gaming
I was talking about gaming, not recording or editing videos..
- TechEngine (1 month ago)
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai no like mc5 etc and for recorfpding videos for YouTube screen recording not recording
UltraKryptonian (1 month ago)
I own the 10.5 iPad Pro and a Surface Pro 4. My iPad Pro is mainly used as a media consumption device and I plan on trying video editing in the future. My Surface Pro 4 has all kinds of uses - video editing, gaming, media consumption, productivity, and more. But, I like them both.
Camman6972 (1 month ago)
The iPad is a tablet trying to be a laptop and the surface is a laptop trying to be a tablet!
Your comment isn't original
Rehan Poonawalla (2 months ago)
3 : 35 "in IOS 11 you can do splitscreen" Honey. Samsung has been doing that since the S6. Took you a full year just to figure out splitscreen.
Polio Popio (2 months ago)
Guys which one should I buy? If I go with IPad Pro then do you think I need to wait till the iPad Pro 3 Plus I'm gonna use for school
DookB (2 months ago)
I have the iPad Pro 10.5 and I love it, but I also have a MacBook Air. If I had to pick one for multitasking I’d get the Surface Pro.
Roberto Casalegno (1 month ago)
One honest and not fanboy Mac user. Greets from an honest and not fanboy win user.
Pikster (2 months ago)
This video deserves WAAY more views
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
+Pikster thanks man
Amin Moghim (2 months ago)
Dude you're video was awesome.. so creative.. thanks
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
+Amin Moghim thank you ! And thanks for taking the time to watch !
Sameera Kasun (2 months ago)
Where's the surface pen dude??
Marty Despot (2 months ago)
I would pick neither of them... There are a lot of other manufacturers that offer better tablet and laptop experiences.
Damari Canty (2 months ago)
This is my first video from this guy, and he just earned a new subscriber
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
+Damari Canty awesome ! Thanks man welcome to the channel !
Zaselim Gaming Videos (3 months ago)
Well Ipad is just a tablet, it can't be a full type system if it doesn't have Mac OS instead of IOS (mobile version) which is limited and surface pro uses a full blown windows like any other pc or laptop so in short Surface pro is 2 in 1 while the iPad pro is well an Ipad. There is no competition period.
trenta0935919386 (3 months ago)
first time here i thought they were twins...wait...are they?
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
+trenta0935919386 no : )
T. O. (3 months ago)
You Sir are a great Youtuber and tech reviewer. Unbiased, creative and very entertaining. That's pretty rare. Respect. :)
krazykillerklown (3 months ago)
Brilliant video
AlexStealsMemes (3 months ago)
Kinda unfair to compare a tablet to a computer
pranking 101 (3 months ago)
2:50 Iprad pro
buffalo1700 (3 months ago)
Damn. Super original idea ! Great comparison
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Thanks man!
How about another review with the IOS 11.0.1
Suleman Nasir (3 months ago)
Honestly speaking, Although Microsoft and Apple are clearly pushing their pro tablets as laptop replacement, they both fail at it. No wonder Microsoft came up with the idea of Surface laptop, look at the irony, its really funny ( Surface pro " a laptop replacement" then creation of surface laptop). Both of the respective "pro" devices are not really laptop replacements at all, eventually, you're gonna end up buying a laptop or a desktop. Its impossible to type on both of these devices. Maybe for a short time you can type but sooner or later its not fun anymore to type on these devices. Believe it or not, think of these two as tablets for fun/play computing. There's no use to argue which one is the laptop replacement, having one of these tabs and not buying a laptop as needed, is inevitable.
Alex Kim (3 months ago)
I prefer the iPad, because I don‘t like to use a computer software on a tablet when I am relaxing on the couch and just want to watch some videos etc. It feels weird to tap and not to klick on a software that has been developed for computers
Ron Roman (3 months ago)
Great video bro!
Bug Account (3 months ago)
wow, i love how you compare it... definitely not-biased unlike the others, sorry for my grammar, i cant speak in english fluently.. i hope.. i wish that i can have a tablet/laptop like that so i can mentain my GPA 90, hoho.. coz having a tablet or laptop is everything in highschool
Richel Suriaga (3 months ago)
I have iPad air 2 and when i do two things in one screen it froze WTH Apple
CaliRepublic77 (3 months ago)
I have experienced with both of them. The surface pro can be very unreliable at times.
Misgiving (3 months ago)
i am thinking of buying it but how bad is the pen lag?
Let's just let everyone choose what ever they want
wujiyudi (4 months ago)
Restore an iPad with a surface using iTunes
Mitchell Janek (4 months ago)
Love my iPad 12.9 with Logitech keyboard, didn’t want to get another windows machine and was surprised to see all my MacBook programs here for college!
MidniteBlues (4 months ago)
I've had both, if you use it for drawing, DEFINITELY go for the ipad pro. It's amazing!.
Misgiving (3 months ago)
what about animation?
Glenn Billings (4 months ago)
Over my dead body will I ever ever do a windows machine again.
Britain Wells (4 months ago)
I have to stick with the Surface 3 for now but also have the iPad pro 10.5. I can tell you right now that the iPad won't replace a laptop until iOS 11 comes out. And still, it'll be iffy then. It def can't replace my surface 3. But it is close. However, most of the stuff he listed about the iPad was all pointless b.s. that doesn't assist with productivity. 😂
Scott Pleasants (4 months ago)
Surface pro battery still sucks. If it is anything like the SP4, the battery will get dramatically worse over time. Get the HP x360 spectre. Better specs, you get the stylus and it is significantly cheaper.
Carlos Rojas (4 months ago)
Surface is a beatiful devices that has only one downside in my opinion, it has Windows operating system which is the most annoying OS of all.
Anto Toni (4 months ago)
The verge made exactly the same video 🤔
Mark Fauntleroy (4 months ago)
Have you been able to get a first look at the new Acer Switch Black Edition? With a dedicated GPU, SSD and fanless tech in the Acer at a lower price point, I think this Acer is a legitimate competitive option vs. the MS Surface Pro. Thoughts?
Sai Penagamuri (4 months ago)
Can you run Visio on iPad??? nope.. so Surface wins...but iPad aint no slouch either.
igloo productions (4 months ago)
Im about to throw down almost 2k Canadian for the 12.9" 500gb with pencil and case. Looks cool but fuck you Apple.
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
Ya Canadian pricing sucks!
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (4 months ago)
Subscribed!!!
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (4 months ago)
Matthew Moniz welcome
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (4 months ago)
Matthew Moniz welcome
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (4 months ago)
Matthew Moniz welcome
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Shaik mohammed Abdullah woohoo! Thanks and welcome to the channel !
Mason Mcardle (4 months ago)
ipad ftw
Tetrahedral (4 months ago)
I totally regret buying an iPad Pro 9.7 for art, and that is a $900 regret
Alex K (11 days ago)
Tetrahedral why
Artificialo Stylexd (4 months ago)
"can they truly replace your laptop?" Sure if it's packing anything better than a GTX1050ti, 8gigs of ram
psysword (4 months ago)
As a musician and graphics designer, no competition. Ipad 12.9 inch 2017 all the way. Video editing is faster than most overclocked destops. Ipad all the way for my needs.
MisterKraky (4 months ago)
This is the first video I've seen of yours and it was great! Subscribed.
ReachCarter (5 months ago)
Its rlly not comparable. The surface is so much better of a "laptop". For example u can install python, and actual games from steam. The ipad is so limited in that regard.
Sergi Paja (5 months ago)
I like the Ipad Pro better i think i will buy it because i need it for studying 📚
Salsabila Muti'ah (5 months ago)
I really confused to choose? Can i use iPad for my college? I just doing Presentation and Social media. has iPad a microsoft word or other like a laptop?
asdfghjkl k (5 months ago)
stop comparing a laptop and a tablet xd
Ricardo Martinez (30 days ago)
asdfghjkl k his comparison was fair. In the end surface won but I pad beat it at something else.
Whoa, entertaining ant informing at the same time. Great!
JoobyNooby GD (5 months ago)
Surface Pro is just a laptop with a touchscreen...
Arry (5 months ago)
One is a tablet and laptop One is just a tablet
DPhoto (5 months ago)
Dude....no
Jose Hernandez (5 months ago)
I had both... Traded my Surface Pro 4 for the Ipad. Day 1 of surface the wifi blows out on me and I have to restart the driver. Day 2 I buy the Pin and it responds to clicks but cant drag it around the screen to draw.... Day 1 of Ipad Pro and everything works flawlessly. Ipad FTW
Specter (5 months ago)
The Surface Pro is a multi-digital-tool. I personally prefer the Surface because it is a full laptop running (essentially) full Windows 10.
Scott Laking (5 months ago)
'Don't you have a virus to catch or something?' ROTF
Bryce McNabb (5 months ago)
awesome way to compare
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thanks Bryce!
Lukas Murmann (5 months ago)
Notice how the "iPad Matthew" is arrogant, and the "surface Matthew" is polite...
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
lol
OAAC Médias (5 months ago)
so tiny eyes, its disturbing
OAAC Médias (5 months ago)
wronggg cuz my dad used to say '" a hole is a hole and the dick got no eyes"
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
+Johan the ladies must say the same thing about your dick trolololololol
Applelover800 (5 months ago)
Lumafusion, lots of drawing apps, Microsoft office and Apple iCloud and airdrop and the surface pro can download stuff online and files... ipad is better...
Alexander Lee (5 months ago)
Luke Williams can't necessarily say it's better, the surface can run full fledge desktop apps, something the iPad can't do (it can run apps similar, yes) not saying one is flat out better than the other, just more of a preference.
Applelover800 (5 months ago)
Surface pro... using it as a tablet is a jok and waste!!!!!
Mike Crabtree (5 months ago)
I am no Apple head, but I can tell you the one HUGE problem with the SP. Ready? WINDOWS! Windows is universally known to be the most unstable, unsecure buggy POS operating system known to man. Is the iPad perfect? No, not by a long shot, but is it safer, more stable and more secure than windows any day, any year.
AppleGuy80 Gaming (5 months ago)
Apple rocks
Kevin Gulbrandsen (5 months ago)
Omg date i really please this {ork !"hallway
Drini Murga (5 months ago)
A well put video, entertaining and informative. What are your thoughts on the 2017 IPad?
Ashish Awasthi (5 months ago)
That's a clever review.. Hatsoff
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thanks Ashish! = )
Dark Sword (5 months ago)
Ipad pro is beater
Joseph Mcqueen (5 months ago)
Nice video man , really the acing for the surface pro was on point, no offence but that is how I see all the PC master race react to consoles or Apple products
Joseph Mcqueen (5 months ago)
Haha chills XD !!!
Joseph Mcqueen (5 months ago)
Used both , loved none ! Will stick to my 15-17 inch gtx 1060 gong laptop, with phone as external touch display
jk (5 months ago)
I love surface pro
jk (5 months ago)
Which software you use for editing videos I need to know
delbroox (5 months ago)
There wasn't any doubt about the surface being better than the ipad Lol
Tevin G. (5 months ago)
Excellently done!
Anthony Vallejo (5 months ago)
Best video ever!!!
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thanks Anthony = )
Jay Bugatti (5 months ago)
The ending though 😂😂😂
That Chris Music (5 months ago)
OMG BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH IM DEAD
Hari Kumar (5 months ago)
You are so good at this.. Keep going
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thanks Hari = )
Ricki Marjuki (5 months ago)
No matter how high your spec is, windows always have lags more than macos. I use both os
Mzaphod Bibl (5 months ago)
So? Can they replace a laptop or not?
MoviesAndTech (5 months ago)
Great Video Matthew but I think you took a bit of inspiration from Lauren Goode’s Verge Videos
Samsungrocks10 (5 months ago)
Man, you did a great job on this video! I'm subbing
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thanks man! Welcome to the channel = )
gyman978 (5 months ago)
iPad can never replace the laptop , even with pro in it. meanwhile, surface IS a laptop.
kv laldika (5 months ago)
I just want to know how you do these comparisons videos.
David Smith (5 months ago)
i really hate mp4
Dib0n (5 months ago)
I almost bought iPad Pro 12'. Thank god somehow I changed my mind and got Surface 4 Pro. I've been using iPad mini for last 4 years. I think you can't compare iPad Pro and Surface Pro. The easiest reason why to buy Surface. Well open youtube in a web browser on iPad Pro and Surface. On Surface you will get normal desktop version, however on iPad Pro you will get stuck with mobile version. This small test only shows that both devices can't be compared. I'm Apple fan, however Surface Pro is just better option. Even for games... I'm playing LOTR Battle for middle earth! This game beats for me every game in app store, but it is my personal opinion since I have sentiment to all those strategy games. Anyway if you are like me and you were considering buying iPad Pro or Surface Pro, get the Surface Pro (you need to be patient with those Windows update though!).
Boom.Bitch. (5 months ago)
iPad Pro 10.5 👌🏽💪🏽
Preben Richter (5 months ago)
My single most used device is the iPad. I use it more than anything else. That's why I've ordered the iPad Pro 10.5. Easy.
domifab101 (5 months ago)
The important question is can they replace each other? Because one is a laptop and the other is a tablet. The answer is no. They are different but with some areas of overlap.
Khoyr (5 months ago)
I want iPad pro even more 😂
Christoph Bieg (5 months ago)
One thing I dont get is why every review is mentioning the way of charging of the Apple pencil. When I bought my pencil (Right in the beginning with my Ipad Pro 12.9 first gen) there was an adapter in the package to charge the pencil with your normal lightning cable. I never stick that thing into my Ipad for charging. wondering if people just miss that when not looking through all the paper stuff regarding warranty, etc. coming in the box.
Yukito Atari (5 months ago)
My surface pro 3 run skyrim, not something an ipad could do.
Stained Knight (5 months ago)
If you are an artist iPad Pro is a much better choice because of pen accuracy and the beautiful display. And there are really great apps for art like procreate or affinity photo which have amazing tools. And also iPad costs less than surface but can do some things better like speakers are better, super display and drawing with apple pencil is a lot better, on surface you have a not so good tilt support and wabbling is annoying. iPad pro 12.9 with apple pencil-1000$ Surface pro with 8gb( cuz 4gb is not enough for programs) and pen - 1400$

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.