HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

iPad Pro vs Surface Pro 2017 Review: Can They Truly Replace Your Laptop?

3080 ratings | 134636 views
Is the new 2017 iPad Pro ready to take on the Microsoft Surface Pro as the ultimate laptop replacement? They're both light, portable and powerful enough. But which one makes the most sense for you? Watch as Me and my twin help break it down for you. Buy Here on Amazon: iPad Pro 2017 (10.5") - http://geni.us/VJwjKxS Microsoft Surface Pro - http://geni.us/4Li0q8i Other Videos: 5 AMAZING iPad Pro Accessories You'll Love! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3Sz9sgGGuA Surface Pro 2017 Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQ1AWSu004U&t=137s Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (680)
Stephen Powder (1 day ago)
All points pro and cons each device are well taken. Still, decisions are hard when they are pretty evenly matched. Wonder which one is selling best. It is also relevant to bring in a 13" 2-in-1 as it is only a little heavier yet probably more for the money. The next iPad will change the game but no one knows when that will be, or how much.
!! Nice Job !!. I do really choose Windows. Ipad is just a Tablet.
preston richards (13 days ago)
If the iPad pro 10.5 ran a custom version of Mac OS I would think of getting it. Like how the surface pro runs FULL DESKTOP OS, so it's not a laptop replacement: the iPad pro is a media machine, not laptop replacement and if you only used your previous laptop for basic tasks like emailing and media consumption good for you wasted potential. That's not even a real file explorer, it's kind of just apples version of Google drive, also wtf why can't I view mp4 files. -they are still the best of both worlds. I love the surface for basically every reason and the iPad pro is the best tablet. Just don't call it a laptop replacement until it runs full desktop programs
Ryan Saplan (18 days ago)
Super entertaining review lol
akhil nichenametla (18 days ago)
Stop It already, don't compare iPad Pro with any laptop
carlos beatty (21 days ago)
Cringed.
Finlay Mitchell (21 days ago)
Neither of these are laptops, and the iPad will never be able to be anything like a laptop.
Malkhut hinds-bernard (21 days ago)
Nice thumbnail!
Surface is the winner, because...... it's windows
Don't care you got under 30fps, but you can still play the witcher 3 on surface
Nemesio Artaiz (26 days ago)
Such a joy to watch haha. Thanks for this bro
Matthew Moniz (26 days ago)
My pleasure man !
Aj Pat (27 days ago)
Ah! the female version is here. Verge seems to have gotten inspired. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rm_zQP9JIJI&index=6&list=PL39u5ZEfYDENwzO_gS1HqfD4PZKOidA6G
Andy Mai (28 days ago)
Tinder on a Ipad?! lol
JB Vertudazo (30 days ago)
I have the iPad Pro but I'm thinking of getting a Surface Pro. I use the iPad for video editing since the touch interface of Lumafusion is way too easy than the so technical Adobe Premier. The only thing I gripe about the iPad is that it lacks a full-blown web browser. Sometimes webpages on Safari or Chrome on an iPad doesn't display things properly than that of a desktop web browser. *sigh* Even the "Request Desktop Site" on Safari option doesn't help.
andrew dias (1 month ago)
So unless the surface book does not exist then the surface pro is the best 2in1 surface
1stfloorguy (1 month ago)
Subbed great editing
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Thanks man! Welcome to the channel!
M Davis Clarke (1 month ago)
Lol...awesome :)
Svenja (1 month ago)
That was such a cool and helpful video! Thank you!
- TechEngine (1 month ago)
surface sucks apple rocks i regret the surface i will buy ipad back
Paul Ng (1 month ago)
im very impressed and entertained! content is very informative. thank you
ihonestytruthful (1 month ago)
Outstanding video, not boring to watch.. Netflix and chill with that pencil on top xD
melodyofailingheart (2 months ago)
How in the world was this video even made !!!!!!!!!
Some Person (2 months ago)
Where can I get that case at 0:40???
Finlay Mitchell (2 months ago)
I don't care how quick the iPad pro is, can it run x86 programs?
Baa Humbug (2 months ago)
In summary if your an artist. iPad is for sketching ideas and surface pro is for doing real artwork :D
Ahmed Farrag (2 months ago)
I am thinking about taking the ipad pro 12.9'' NEXT WEEK. basically for college to take notes with the apple pencil, especially by using Notability that it's only for apple products. and I think it will be cool for the recording function so I can sync what the teachers say with what I write on the ipad since they talk very very fast and i can't understand everything they say haha! and Also with the smart keyboard I THINK that it will be exactly like a computer, because if i will use the ipad (and the keyboard) it will be for college ( word/excel/note apps). So do you think that these reasons could be enough? or the ipad have other limits which weren't mentioned in the video? this is my opinion, let me know yours. If I will buy an ipad/surface pro, i will do it next week. so let me know what do you think because you can save a life (money) here 😂😂😂😂 PS: I am an engineering student and i have an hp laptop with windows (processor i7, 12gb Ram etc.) so i can run Photoshop, Autodesk softwares etc. but since these two devices allow taking notes with the pens (Ipad pro/surface). which one can be better for what i want to do?
Ahmed Farrag (2 months ago)
Patricio Aceves soooo useful! Thank you so much! I will buy the ipad pro then!
Patricio Aceves (2 months ago)
Ahmed Farrag Since you already have a powerful laptop, get the iPad Pro. I had the Surface Pro 4 and Surface Pro 3 before that, until I made the switch last year to the 10.5 iPad Pro 256gb + pencil + apple keyboard. Although I agree that the Surface Pro’s do a lot more, my iPad is amazing. I am in love with it and would never go back to the Surface unless I needed specific software. I used to only use my Surface Pro for school work and work tasks and then put it away the rest of the day. The iPad Pro however, I use most of the day. 1. The battery is amazing 2. It is a great work and play device 3. It is so light and fast Oh did I mention I was extremely anti-apple before I bought my iPad Pro. Anyway, I hope you found this useful!
Liam O'Hara (2 months ago)
Ive always seen iPad as a ‘play’ tablet get distracted
norwegian m8 (2 months ago)
A tablet with a a10x cpu thats a 6 core 2,9 ghz
HA R (2 months ago)
I have the iPad Pro and it is really a huge iPod. Surface all the way
Core Gaming (2 months ago)
Surface pro
- TechEngine (2 months ago)
took surface pro 5 i7 it is the best laptop for me as i am a student i can do more than ipad pro love the surface pro
- TechEngine (2 months ago)
i took ipad pro and sold it in 15days
- TechEngine (2 months ago)
ipad pro sucks
- TechEngine (2 months ago)
i have commented ann this vid that i took ipad pro
Costain Oaitse Kebatlege (2 months ago)
Hey guys, I have a Surface Pro 2017 model, its showing the UEFI screen, it wont go anywhere beyond that point. any advice?
Papa Smurf (3 months ago)
go get a chuwy surface book.
LeagueOfNations94 (3 months ago)
One is a tablet trying to be a laptop One is a laptop trying to be a tablet
Screaming-Muffin (3 months ago)
The verge format ?
BlueTNT_ 11 (3 months ago)
“Iprad pro” i think you made a mistake 2:49
Nicolas T. (3 months ago)
iPad Pro si better Than the Microsoft surface and it will allways be.
Nicolas T. (3 months ago)
*is
Jack Wong (4 months ago)
What sup with the MS Equipment sticker at 1:38? Is this a Microsoft equipment? Did you get paid to make this video by Microsoft?
Darren Gilbert (4 months ago)
What is best ? looking to buy for kid he has ipad 3rd Gen need to upgrade for school . I got him a solo drone with GoPro need video editing , plus a lot of devices like swann security plus other items only use windows compatible for updates. Thx for any helpful info.
Thomas Ch. (4 months ago)
That acting job
ItzWolffz (4 months ago)
Ive used iPads at school (Schools had a deal or whatever starting back in 2012/2013 to be using apple products in catholic board schools) and I own an iPad mini but just wasnt what I needed for my highschool classes once I entered highschool. I had the Surface RT for about almost two years loved it for school, I was able to do stuff in my classes a lot more efficiently (word docs and presentation and even browser photo editing because well it was Windows RT) before it got glitchy and gave it away. I loved everything about surface products and recently my mother ordered me a Surface 3 because its initially what I wanted in 2015 but she couldnt afford it then just waiting for it to arrive but you know how canadian mailing works. Would upmost keep choosing Microsofts Surface line of products because they really hit it out of the park and do now compete with Apple head on.
- TechEngine (4 months ago)
And I design my channel arts and logos
- TechEngine (4 months ago)
Hi I am a new YouTube I am going with a iPad for editing and for recording games and for gaming I am also buying Apple Pencil and Keyboard so which one should I buy and my budget 1200dollars please help me
- TechEngine (4 months ago)
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai u mean Microsoft is better and can I play gta 5 on Microsoft surface pro
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai (4 months ago)
Yes, that's what I want to say
- TechEngine (4 months ago)
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai so you mean it sucks for gaming
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai (4 months ago)
I was talking about gaming, not recording or editing videos..
- TechEngine (4 months ago)
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai no like mc5 etc and for recorfpding videos for YouTube screen recording not recording
UltraKryptonian (4 months ago)
I own the 10.5 iPad Pro and a Surface Pro 4. My iPad Pro is mainly used as a media consumption device and I plan on trying video editing in the future. My Surface Pro 4 has all kinds of uses - video editing, gaming, media consumption, productivity, and more. But, I like them both.
Camman6972 (5 months ago)
The iPad is a tablet trying to be a laptop and the surface is a laptop trying to be a tablet!
Jaturapit Boonpratuchai (4 months ago)
Your comment isn't original
Rehan Poonawalla (5 months ago)
3 : 35 "in IOS 11 you can do splitscreen" Honey. Samsung has been doing that since the S6. Took you a full year just to figure out splitscreen.
Polio Popio (5 months ago)
Guys which one should I buy? If I go with IPad Pro then do you think I need to wait till the iPad Pro 3 Plus I'm gonna use for school
DookB (5 months ago)
I have the iPad Pro 10.5 and I love it, but I also have a MacBook Air. If I had to pick one for multitasking I’d get the Surface Pro.
Roberto Casalegno (5 months ago)
One honest and not fanboy Mac user. Greets from an honest and not fanboy win user.
Pikster (5 months ago)
This video deserves WAAY more views
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
+Pikster thanks man
Amin Moghim (5 months ago)
Dude you're video was awesome.. so creative.. thanks
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
+Amin Moghim thank you ! And thanks for taking the time to watch !
Sameera Kasun (5 months ago)
Where's the surface pen dude??
Marty Despot (6 months ago)
I would pick neither of them... There are a lot of other manufacturers that offer better tablet and laptop experiences.
Damari Canty (6 months ago)
This is my first video from this guy, and he just earned a new subscriber
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Damari Canty awesome ! Thanks man welcome to the channel !
Zaselim Gaming Videos (6 months ago)
Well Ipad is just a tablet, it can't be a full type system if it doesn't have Mac OS instead of IOS (mobile version) which is limited and surface pro uses a full blown windows like any other pc or laptop so in short Surface pro is 2 in 1 while the iPad pro is well an Ipad. There is no competition period.
watisitoyu (6 months ago)
first time here i thought they were twins...wait...are they?
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+trenta0935919386 no : )
T. O. (6 months ago)
You Sir are a great Youtuber and tech reviewer. Unbiased, creative and very entertaining. That's pretty rare. Respect. :)
krazykillerklown (6 months ago)
Brilliant video
AlexStealsMemes (6 months ago)
Kinda unfair to compare a tablet to a computer
pranking 101 (6 months ago)
2:50 Iprad pro
buffalo1700 (6 months ago)
Damn. Super original idea ! Great comparison
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Thanks man!
Suleman Nasir (6 months ago)
Honestly speaking, Although Microsoft and Apple are clearly pushing their pro tablets as laptop replacement, they both fail at it. No wonder Microsoft came up with the idea of Surface laptop, look at the irony, its really funny ( Surface pro " a laptop replacement" then creation of surface laptop). Both of the respective "pro" devices are not really laptop replacements at all, eventually, you're gonna end up buying a laptop or a desktop. Its impossible to type on both of these devices. Maybe for a short time you can type but sooner or later its not fun anymore to type on these devices. Believe it or not, think of these two as tablets for fun/play computing. There's no use to argue which one is the laptop replacement, having one of these tabs and not buying a laptop as needed, is inevitable.
Alex Kim (6 months ago)
I prefer the iPad, because I don‘t like to use a computer software on a tablet when I am relaxing on the couch and just want to watch some videos etc. It feels weird to tap and not to klick on a software that has been developed for computers
Ron Roman (6 months ago)
Great video bro!
Bug Account (6 months ago)
wow, i love how you compare it... definitely not-biased unlike the others, sorry for my grammar, i cant speak in english fluently.. i hope.. i wish that i can have a tablet/laptop like that so i can mentain my GPA 90, hoho.. coz having a tablet or laptop is everything in highschool
Richel Suriaga (6 months ago)
I have iPad air 2 and when i do two things in one screen it froze WTH Apple
CaliRepublic77 (7 months ago)
I have experienced with both of them. The surface pro can be very unreliable at times.
Misgiving (6 months ago)
i am thinking of buying it but how bad is the pen lag?
Mدք ֆاֆծղ (7 months ago)
Let's just let everyone choose what ever they want
wujiyudi (7 months ago)
Restore an iPad with a surface using iTunes
Mitchell Janek (7 months ago)
Love my iPad 12.9 with Logitech keyboard, didn’t want to get another windows machine and was surprised to see all my MacBook programs here for college!
MidniteBlues (7 months ago)
I've had both, if you use it for drawing, DEFINITELY go for the ipad pro. It's amazing!.
Misgiving (6 months ago)
what about animation?
Glenn Billings (7 months ago)
Over my dead body will I ever ever do a windows machine again.
Britain Wells (7 months ago)
I have to stick with the Surface 3 for now but also have the iPad pro 10.5. I can tell you right now that the iPad won't replace a laptop until iOS 11 comes out. And still, it'll be iffy then. It def can't replace my surface 3. But it is close. However, most of the stuff he listed about the iPad was all pointless b.s. that doesn't assist with productivity. 😂
Scott Pleasants (7 months ago)
Surface pro battery still sucks. If it is anything like the SP4, the battery will get dramatically worse over time. Get the HP x360 spectre. Better specs, you get the stylus and it is significantly cheaper.
Carlos Rojas (7 months ago)
Surface is a beatiful devices that has only one downside in my opinion, it has Windows operating system which is the most annoying OS of all.
Anto Toni (7 months ago)
The verge made exactly the same video 🤔
Mark Fauntleroy (7 months ago)
Have you been able to get a first look at the new Acer Switch Black Edition? With a dedicated GPU, SSD and fanless tech in the Acer at a lower price point, I think this Acer is a legitimate competitive option vs. the MS Surface Pro. Thoughts?
Sai Penagamuri (7 months ago)
Can you run Visio on iPad??? nope.. so Surface wins...but iPad aint no slouch either.
igloo productions (7 months ago)
Im about to throw down almost 2k Canadian for the 12.9" 500gb with pencil and case. Looks cool but fuck you Apple.
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Ya Canadian pricing sucks!
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (7 months ago)
Subscribed!!!
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (7 months ago)
Matthew Moniz welcome
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (7 months ago)
Matthew Moniz welcome
Shaik mohammed Abdullah (7 months ago)
Matthew Moniz welcome
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
+Shaik mohammed Abdullah woohoo! Thanks and welcome to the channel !
Mason Mcardle (8 months ago)
ipad ftw
Tetrahedral (8 months ago)
I totally regret buying an iPad Pro 9.7 for art, and that is a $900 regret
Alex K (3 months ago)
Tetrahedral why
Artificialo Stylexd (8 months ago)
"can they truly replace your laptop?" Sure if it's packing anything better than a GTX1050ti, 8gigs of ram
psysword (8 months ago)
As a musician and graphics designer, no competition. Ipad 12.9 inch 2017 all the way. Video editing is faster than most overclocked destops. Ipad all the way for my needs.
MisterKraky (8 months ago)
This is the first video I've seen of yours and it was great! Subscribed.
ReachCarter (8 months ago)
Its rlly not comparable. The surface is so much better of a "laptop". For example u can install python, and actual games from steam. The ipad is so limited in that regard.
Sergi Paja (8 months ago)
I like the Ipad Pro better i think i will buy it because i need it for studying 📚
Salsabila Muti'ah (8 months ago)
I really confused to choose? Can i use iPad for my college? I just doing Presentation and Social media. has iPad a microsoft word or other like a laptop?
so funny (8 months ago)
stop comparing a laptop and a tablet xd
Ricardo Martinez (4 months ago)
asdfghjkl k his comparison was fair. In the end surface won but I pad beat it at something else.
Whoa, entertaining ant informing at the same time. Great!
JoobyNooby GD (8 months ago)
Surface Pro is just a laptop with a touchscreen...
Arry (8 months ago)
One is a tablet and laptop One is just a tablet
DPhoto (8 months ago)
Dude....no
Jose Hernandez (8 months ago)
I had both... Traded my Surface Pro 4 for the Ipad. Day 1 of surface the wifi blows out on me and I have to restart the driver. Day 2 I buy the Pin and it responds to clicks but cant drag it around the screen to draw.... Day 1 of Ipad Pro and everything works flawlessly. Ipad FTW
Specter (8 months ago)
The Surface Pro is a multi-digital-tool. I personally prefer the Surface because it is a full laptop running (essentially) full Windows 10.
Scott Laking (8 months ago)
'Don't you have a virus to catch or something?' ROTF
Bryce McNabb (8 months ago)
awesome way to compare
Matthew Moniz (8 months ago)
Thanks Bryce!
Lukas Murmann (8 months ago)
Notice how the "iPad Matthew" is arrogant, and the "surface Matthew" is polite...
Matthew Moniz (8 months ago)
lol
OAAC Médias (8 months ago)
so tiny eyes, its disturbing
OAAC Médias (8 months ago)
wronggg cuz my dad used to say '" a hole is a hole and the dick got no eyes"
Matthew Moniz (8 months ago)
+Johan the ladies must say the same thing about your dick trolololololol

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.