HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Authority

Raspberry Pi 3 review

5736 ratings | 368686 views
Full review: http://goo.gl/y70SCC | Buy at Ebay: http://fave.co/1TOAsUk The Pi 3 has a better CPU plus built-in Wi-Fi & Bluetooth. Is it a worthwhile upgrade? Is the now the best time to buy your first Pi board? Let's find out. Talk about Android in our forums: http://www.androidauthority.com/community Subscribe to our YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=androidauthority ---------------------------------------------------- Stay connected to Android Authority: - http://www.androidauthority.com - http://google.com/+androidauthority - http://facebook.com/androidauthority/ - http://twitter.com/androidauth/ - http://instagram.com/androidauthority/ Follow the Team: Josh Vergara: https://plus.google.com/+JoshuaVergara Joe Hindy: https://plus.google.com/+JosephHindy Lanh Nguyen: https://plus.google.com/+LanhNguyenFilms Jayce Broda: https://plus.google.com/+JayceBroda Gary Sims: https://plus.google.com/+GarySims Ash Tailor: https://plus.google.com/+AshTailor
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (538)
Tyler Maves (3 days ago)
who else is watching this on a raspberry pi 3b?
Syed Mustafa (1 month ago)
Not vulnerable to meltdown and spectre from what I've heard 👊👊👊
TricK i Know (1 month ago)
New Complete Tutorial for Raspberry Pi 3 : ▶▶ https://youtu.be/0084bZfQG3k
Ghibin Kim (1 month ago)
Can't wait to get my hands on one!
Hugiehun Gaming (3 months ago)
Does this have a micro sd card slot? Or do i need to buy an external storage device?
u need a sd card for the os
Andrei (2 months ago)
It does have a MicroSD slot.
GridIronSquad (4 months ago)
If anyone needs a case for their rasberry pi I bought a clear one from this link and it looks really clean! http://www.ebay.com/itm/112584046160?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1558.l2649
busy_ g (5 months ago)
Couldn't find the section you discussed at the end of this video on http://www.androidauthority.com/. Did search "Ask Dave Raspberry Pi" to no avail. Can you give me a specific link or at least respond to this comment? Asked question on another Raspberry Pi vid from 2016 (another channel) and still no response after two days. What the heck, I'll paste those questions here. I guess the answer to the second question (will vga work with vga to hdmi cable converter) should work due to Pi 3 having a HDMI plug: What's the largest capacity MicroSD Card that Raspberry Pi 3 can handle? I see 16GB included with all kits, but surmise it will handle lots more. Then again, is it recommended to just use MicroSD Card for OS and utilize thumb drive or hard drive for auxiliary storage? Also, has anyone tried a vga to hdmi adapter to see if old monitors work on Raspberry Pi 3?
90AlmostFamous (7 months ago)
can i use this to make my dumb tv into a smart tv ?? using mobile as a remote ?
Rajiv Punkraj Aryal (1 month ago)
90AlmostFamous yes u can..
Edwin Davidson (7 months ago)
just learning about the Raspberry Pi
JustOneOfTheSheep (7 months ago)
http://www.gearbest.com/raspberry-pi/pp_488334.html?vip=1971604
UCanDo Cartoon (7 months ago)
I am considering buying one to us as an emulator for retro games, and/or for recording videos.
DILSARA NADUN (8 months ago)
I want a pi 3 in my hand awesome thechonology and when I see some thing new with new technology is want that that's my rule
Baljeet Singh (9 months ago)
better than iphone 7....
Squirel Tooth (9 months ago)
But can it run crysis ?
Chill Shark (9 months ago)
35 25 or 35 dollars
dong9 (10 months ago)
we need an i7 and gtx 1080 on those
haus05 (10 months ago)
cant wait to get mine
groundzero_0506 (10 months ago)
More I/O than the new MacBook pro. lol. no offense to Mac users
TheB29Bomber (10 months ago)
I just bought my Raspberry Pi 3 a month ago and I'm employing it as a classic games emulator. It's a very nice device.
Andrew Byi (10 months ago)
raspberry pi company should really make a raspberry pi pro where its a tiny bit bigger and more expensive but also a killer in performance and have more advance later ports of all the other raspberry pies.
Crazy Flo (11 months ago)
So did i heard it correct?! You can learn Java on this thing?
Andrei (2 months ago)
You can learn Python, too.
Shoeb Khan (11 months ago)
This concept would be much better with Snapdragon 820 or 835
Gunjan Sarkar (3 months ago)
Even it did work the price will be unreasonable
Phoenixian Mark (8 months ago)
835 and 820 are soc not motherboard
Alex Gerlach (11 months ago)
Can this run any games in the lowest settings?
Tanay kedia (11 months ago)
Can I run any non high end software using this???
Hai Sun (11 months ago)
great way to edit videos
therealsomalove (11 months ago)
what program?
nAmE jEfF? (1 year ago)
Can it run Kali Linux
Maggie Noffke (1 year ago)
Instead of purchasing a set at a $150 price, what - besides Pi - is necessary to include as start-up for a gift? Thank you.
Andrei (2 months ago)
SD Card, Charger and HDMI cable.
im not a geek , So is there a place to buy rassberry pi 3 fully built with case and emulators/games
its probably easier to do it yourself than to ask someone else to do it for you
APrettyCoolCat (11 months ago)
John Smith no unless you pay someone to do it for you
Hallowed Be Thy Name (1 year ago)
Hello Gary Sims! I thought that Pi 3 was a 64 bit. :-(
Perrin Bussière (1 year ago)
Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Just 33.99 dollars with coupon code: JDGRASP3B http://www.gearbest.com/raspberry-pi/pp_354347.html?wid=21&lkid=10328493 I bought one!
Jaied Sabid (1 year ago)
Is there any builtin wifi in raspberry pi 3 ?
devod (1 year ago)
yes
you have a video platform. why wouldn't you show how it runs? specs are already on the internetbtw. your commercial before the video is not skipable. that makes the time waste even greater
Israel Anderson (1 year ago)
dude i am watching this on a raspberry pi 3. who else?
welisio (1 year ago)
background music is disturbing xD.
goodkill1 (1 year ago)
hmm I'm thinking of hardwiring a pi3 into my non-smart HD tv. just wondering if I'll be able to build a small media housing for my hard drives to sit comfortably next to my tv for all my content.
Anthony Moore (1 year ago)
Can it run Crysis?
latengocomoburro (1 year ago)
Why would you want a 64bit processor with so little memory?
A M (3 months ago)
latengocomoburro These days CPUs are 64bit otherwise it doesn't make any sense. You are right 👉
ProBro_NL (11 months ago)
Ayyyy
ProBro (11 months ago)
Just a ProBro saying hi to ProBro!
latengocomoburro (1 year ago)
+ProBro_NL ok
eaglefan 1 (1 year ago)
my cousin made 1 himself and I'm gonna get it for Christmas yay 😁😁😁😀😀😀
Jeff Kaplan (1 year ago)
jgfjgfify I got mine for Christmas setting it up tomorrow
jgfjgfify (1 year ago)
The Raspberry Pi 3 was my first Pi as well. The earlier releases were so-so but, the Pi 3 finally brings legit power and versatility. It's pretty awesome! I recommend C4 Lab's Zebra cases also. Very slick looking.
Skyfx (1 year ago)
Will it handle a 1440p screen? Even a 4k?
Andrei (2 months ago)
It does AFAIK. My 1440 works well with the RPi3B
Robert Wagner (1 year ago)
Skyfx I doubt it
Michelin Man (1 year ago)
That's really cool I've seen other video that further expands the user interface. I'm going to get one of the 3s
particle mars (1 year ago)
Win Matrix Creator HAT. Better than Raspberry Pi. Click here. https://wn.nr/p8X7zT
Rikaz Sheriff (1 year ago)
Hi. Can anyone tell me how easy/difficult is it to connect a pi 3 to Google Cloud print? Could not do it with Pi 1+ with Canon printer.
Dakerryus Bradford (1 year ago)
Is it able to edit YouTube videos?
Andrei (2 months ago)
Yes, with the appropriate package.
Gaming Authority (1 year ago)
Dakerryus Bradford no
Cankicker Films (1 year ago)
A Pi 3 will be excellent for a laptop replacement, at least in terms of mobility, when it has a battery. I don't imagine that it would use a lot of power either. However a desktop or laptop will overpower it in terms of gaming. But I don't expect a tiny quad core processor to do gaming as its obviously not meant to.
Christian Balka (1 year ago)
why cant I find as review that goes over wifi performance? Thanks for the review.
Dubstep America (1 year ago)
Im Only A Tech Savvy Kid Looking For A Cheap Way TO Start In Tech Age So I Am 100% What's Gonna Be On My Christmas List This Year
ITALIAN GUY (1 year ago)
The best way to start is by learning how to type correctly. You don't capitalize the first letter of every work in a sentence.
Tozilen (1 year ago)
Here are the best deal. http://www.banggood.com/Raspberry-Pi-3-Model-B-ARM-Cortex-A53-CPU-1_2GHz-64-Bit-Quad-Core-1GB-RAM-10-Times-B-p-1041862.html?p=Y811004983026201606P
Shadow Lurker (1 year ago)
Pretty shit deal unless you have everything else already.
Illasera (1 year ago)
Linux is not an operating system...
SSI's Panzer General (1 year ago)
I love it! I have so much fun with it and it is true RPi3 can replace desktop PC. I use kweb for WWW and Omxplayer GUI to play media files. I tried Firefox Iceweasel but it is slow and had problem with audio on Youtube. I would recommend RPi3 to everbody!
Jawwad Kazi (1 year ago)
can i edit video on it
Thomas Hobbs (1 year ago)
noticed that your osmc instilation has the date set to 1970. If only we had these things then :)
FancySassy80 (1 year ago)
I'm getting a pi 3.. so I can play with it.. i love computers and never heard of them until recently.. can't wait to get my hands on one.
Nathan Sleight (9 months ago)
FancySassy80 ❤️
Storm (10 months ago)
Amendzz SlazTic I think he means raspberry pis
Squidwrad Thomas (11 months ago)
FancySassy80 I feel schools should all switch to raspberry pi as there main school computer/cheaper/easier and better
Damian Novak (11 months ago)
Touch LCD Display With Case For Raspberry Pi http://www.ielectronicparts.com/shop/do-it-youself/3-5-inch-touch-lcd-display-with-case-for-raspberry-pi-2-pi-3-model-b/
Gary Burch (1 year ago)
Amendzz SlazTic haha, i thought this too!
Major Calibere (1 year ago)
You have to love the irony of Android Authority reviewing one of the few SBCs that does NOT run 'droid... The whole Odroid line, Banana Pi, Lemaker, Orange Pi xx, all run Android 4.4 or higher... but the much-hyped RPi Foundation, seems to be on a 4-year campaign to AVOID Android at all costs... WTHey?
Ashley Johansson (1 year ago)
Rasberry pis are pointless because of smartphones. I have a rasberry pi and it is far slower than a cheap smart phone, even for video streaming. Only use the rasberry pi for text documents and programming. Anything else like emulators, videos, music is better on a smartphone or a full computer.
Ashley Johansson (1 year ago)
+DevlFIG everyone I know who uses it, uses it for emulating and videos and its literally the worst device to use it on
DevlFIG (1 year ago)
It's just not for you. https://www.raspberrypi.org/help/videos/#what-is-a-raspberry-pi
Peter Lyu (1 year ago)
This is clearly not something for the main stream consumer market. Why buy lego?
Ashley Johansson (1 year ago)
+Styllo of course rasberry pi forums would have fanboys who think its something special lol
RTard48JRod (1 year ago)
Check out the Up Board and the Dragon-board 410c also Mediatek released an x20 board!!
Enthusiastic Techie (1 year ago)
awesome .. piece of hardware .. thanks for sharing
umakanta angom (1 year ago)
what are the os we can use on raspberry pi 3?
Andrei (2 months ago)
Raspbian, RetroPie, Windows 10 IoT, Pixel and many many more, just google search "linux for raspberry pi 3"
RichardDJLilD (1 year ago)
Google Linux distro.
Abinash Pal (1 year ago)
Long live Mr. Garry Sims...
Nathan Bardazon (1 year ago)
definitely not a pie
x Ballsack (1 year ago)
Could this possibly play low graphic games for example League of Legends on lowest graphics or a 2D platformer? It'd be interesting
Evren Lopez (1 year ago)
Daniel_doge, They made a Minecraft: Raspberry Pi Edition, although it runs a _very_ early version of mcpe
ShrecksSwamp (1 year ago)
Why would minecraft work?
ShrecksSwamp (1 year ago)
No it can't lmao
Dean C (1 year ago)
Well it can play Minecraft at full hd
Drastic (1 year ago)
Firstly, how do you get LoL on it?
Goodcat007 (1 year ago)
Sorry for the noobish question, but: is the pi3 just supposed to always be "on"? I don't see a physical switch button, so is there no way to turn it off? Are you even supposed to?
Andrei (2 months ago)
It's always on, but you can add a power switch to it.
Nick cb (1 year ago)
when you plug it in its on , you could have a switch using maybe a power bank or something
TechnIsImo (1 year ago)
Awesome Vid! I'll be building a dual purpose Pi these upcoming week's; VPN Server and KODI media centre. Subscribe to keep updated!
Luke Nallen (1 year ago)
theoretically you could run Android on this right? a less resource hungry version of non GPL 32bit Android 4.4
Luke Nallen (1 year ago)
+Shoham Chakraborty but if I run an older version such as 32bit 4.4kk? , Or I could always emulate my hardware (degrading crucial performance however at least it'll run!)
Shoham Chakraborty (1 year ago)
Luke Nallen not any more. They've switched to x86 for a while now
Luke Nallen (1 year ago)
Shoham Chakraborty so do android devices
Shoham Chakraborty (1 year ago)
Luke Nallen no. It uses a arm processor
Luke Nallen (1 year ago)
+Robert great!
Millennial Being (1 year ago)
Raspberry Pi 3 is fucking shit ...... Why am I watching this on iPhone? It's because my raspberry Pi can't play this YouTube video!!!!!
Andrei (2 months ago)
Indeed, it can, but you're too much of a tech smartass.
Harry Cartwright (1 year ago)
Millennial Being Yes it can, smartarse.
TeamRespawn (1 year ago)
They announced this like 2 months after purchasing the pi 2 :/ oh well lol
hellhole (6 months ago)
TeamRespawn haha noob!! Suckshit
Walker’s pc games (1 year ago)
dont thinik i will buy Raspberry Pi 3
Theo Valentino (1 year ago)
ok, why
bondovwvw (1 year ago)
can you use it to check email?
Zach Huff (11 months ago)
What???? Of course you can lol
Iancsik Oswald (1 year ago)
This article states that you can use it almost as a desktop, therefor to check mail also-> http://www.techrepublic.com/article/can-you-use-the-raspberry-pi-3-as-your-work-pc/
Paul Lowe (1 year ago)
no
Ernest Lane (1 year ago)
Don't have one yet, but it seems like a nice toy that may be useful. Does this device run Java?
Andrei (2 months ago)
It's not a toy. You can run Python, i don't know about Java
Hassan Khalid (1 year ago)
i got this device for 34.99 $ *46%off* http://www.banggood.com/Raspberry-Pi-3-Model-B-ARM-Cortex-A53-CPU-1_2GHz-64-Bit-Quad-Core-1GB-RAM-10-Times-B-p-1041862.html?p=3V21064390997201604K
Leland Green (1 year ago)
You can get them at Newark for $35 everyday price, now: http://www.newark.com/raspberry-pi/raspberrypi3-modb-1gb/sbc-raspberry-pi-3-mod-b-1gb-ram/dp/77Y6520?ost=77Y6520&selectedCategoryId=&iscrfnonsku=false
RESPECT MY AUTHORITAH
Trev DoubleU (1 year ago)
Absolutely Horrible to get it to run on a LG TV through HDMI,so much so i gave up on TV idea....
Andrei (2 months ago)
Why? My LGTV works PERFECTLY with the Pi.
Trev DoubleU (1 year ago)
+jakhamma not really other than I have used it as something else now on a monitor my original intention was to use it for XBMC setup on the TV
jakhamma (1 year ago)
care to expound?
GAMERSnDEMONS (1 year ago)
Could it run pcsx2 ps2 emulator if yes it would be super awsm!
pcorlis (1 year ago)
Never had any Raspberry Pi, my son got me a RP3 for Father's Day. I am looking forward to the learning curve.
Stephanie Cardenas (1 year ago)
I don't think I would buy 1 again
DR Paquette (1 year ago)
These might be good for home automation / home security. Since i believe that there is a camera add on board for this. This is just a fantastic little item.
Dylan Ellis (1 year ago)
+DR Paquette true haha the connotations
DR Paquette (1 year ago)
I think the term is inexpensive. The word cheap really sends a different message. :-)
Dylan Ellis (1 year ago)
You can do ANYTHING with these I love them, so cheap too
MCskwindle (1 year ago)
wow, wow, wow. the real question is .. can it run crysis at 60 fps? ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Ghibin Kim (1 month ago)
MCskwindle how do you make that face? I never knew...
Leland Green (1 year ago)
The real question is can you convince it that it wants to? :-)
Four Legged Duck (1 year ago)
It can probably run crisis better than mine
Bill Shito (1 year ago)
I would watch the whole video but the description summed it up thanks
Binod Thakur (1 year ago)
can i used it for replacement of computer of my school-does it support qbasic program and other program like Microsoft office package,codeblocks and other basic application as in windows
Hulda Leon (1 year ago)
amazing video just what I was looking for
Matthew Parrish (1 year ago)
Getting one for a custom arcade machine to run on Retro Pi
Timothy Latham (1 year ago)
Please do. I might think of doing something like that with my Pi.
Matthew Parrish (1 year ago)
I could make one
Timothy Latham (1 year ago)
Have a video showcasing it? I'd love to see it!
Matthew Parrish (1 year ago)
It went amazingly
Controversy Owl (1 year ago)
Getting one of these to learn assembly language with the ARM ISA.
Prav ee (1 year ago)
can we play games on it?
Luke Nallen (1 year ago)
+Steve Capone well Android devices can currently run ps2 games, all be it not anywhere close to full speed, however with more resources available due to a lighter os, maybe the pi3 would be powerful enough if it had a little more ram. ie: the pi4 will be able to run a playable ps2 game if the ram is sufficient enough of a jump.
Bill Shito (1 year ago)
+Steve Capone well probably no but it might be very choppy and slow ps2 usually takes a beast of a computer
Steve Capone (1 year ago)
+Carlwithak The Pi 2 can allready do this. Maybe less games but it can run Crash Bandicoot and stuff. BUT know I am interested in Ps2 titles ^^
Bill Shito (1 year ago)
+Steve Capone it can run ps1 pretty good with little difficulty
AnalKanal (1 year ago)
+Steve Capone i dont think its powerful enough for that :(
Prolific (1 year ago)
Where can I buy these for $35? Do tell. Stop quoting $35. This is a wholesale price?
ryanizer11 (1 year ago)
Just search it on amazon and go down for a bit will find it for $36
Leland Green (1 year ago)
They also now have these at Newark for $35, now. http://www.newark.com/raspberry-pi/raspberrypi3-modb-1gb/sbc-raspberry-pi-3-mod-b-1gb-ram/dp/77Y6520?ost=77Y6520&selectedCategoryId=&iscrfnonsku=false
Hassan Khalid (1 year ago)
http://www.banggood.com/Raspberry-Pi-3-Model-B-ARM-Cortex-A53-CPU-1_2GHz-64-Bit-Quad-Core-1GB-RAM-10-Times-B-p-1041862.html?p=3V21064390997201604K
Leland Green (1 year ago)
I think it's the exchange rates. As of right now, Newark.com has the Raspberry Pi three listed at US$35! I admit it is the first time I have seen that – being a customer in the USA, myself. "Good news!" :-)
Prolific (1 year ago)
Maybe in the US of A. I have been corrected. It is possible to buy a Pi 3 if you don't get ripped by the many middle men out there. Thanks for your recommendation. I hope you are having a great day. p
Marcell Varga (1 year ago)
i want a raspberry pi 3b!
Casey S (1 year ago)
just got mine!
Zach hacZ (1 year ago)
Is there any upgrade with the audio output? It's pretty bad with the the Pi 2 and I am curious if it was improved in this version.
Victor Fiori (1 year ago)
Hey its faster than my netbook with a intel atom and 32x ubuntu linux. You can actually successful launch and use firefox. On the netbook its always freezing.
Evanz111 (1 year ago)
I still don't even know what the hell it does.
Teo Sivanich (1 month ago)
ITS A PC BRUH
Fals3Agent (1 year ago)
It is basically a smartphone-ish computer, but a very basic one. The programmable PIN connectors allow for lots of applications which is what made it take off with hobbyists, who otherwise would have to design their own embedded systems (like the processor in your washing machine) to do what they want.
Phannindra Reddy (1 year ago)
for programming u can install any linux distro and start coding in terminal
Mohammad Haider (1 year ago)
how can we do programming and how connect it with the Wi-Fi?
hows its at livestreaming live streaming to youtube
Your Must Not Know (1 year ago)
Song name at 2:25 please
honzasestak (1 year ago)
+Your Must Not Know (xXBorn2GameXx) darude - sandstorm
Christian Oggel (1 year ago)
3:58 ILLUMINATI CONFIRMED
XParkourNinjaX (1 year ago)
The pie 3 is one of the best pies of all
blindpcguy (1 year ago)
emulators will b an interesting thing with the spec bump
Miru Mir (11 months ago)
Touch monitor for Raspberry Pi Orange Pi http://www.ielectronicparts.com/shop/do-it-youself/7-inch-hdmi-hd-touch-screen-module-kit-for-raspberry-pi/
Dylan Ellis (1 year ago)
Ps1 here I come
MrTNT6000 (1 year ago)
I just ordered a pi 3, cant wait for it to arrive.
Patrick Nielsen (1 year ago)
+Patrick Nielsen its free to send lol 😁
Patrick Nielsen (1 year ago)
me to B-) and its my first one :p cant wait but it can takr up to 30 days before i get it beacuse its sending via china post on that way its free :)
Dirt Seeker (1 year ago)
What happens when you over clock and what does it mean
Dirt Seeker (1 year ago)
+juan carlos zavala well at least I'm not as rude as you you dick
pepe the frog (1 year ago)
you are asking a really easy question to get the answer. How about you google search it so you dont waste anyones time
Bendgate Guy 666 (1 year ago)
can it run Mac OS X(any)? i wanna buy the Supercomputer!! :D
Andrei (2 months ago)
It cannot, but it can run Raspbian!
Games and Stuff 101 (1 year ago)
can you swap a pi 2 for a pi 3
Terrell Hand (1 year ago)
I have a few ipads that are cloud locked and wonder if I could use the display with a Raspberry pi?
Epic Master (1 year ago)
I am getting it

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.