HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Acer Predator Helios 300 Review: The Best Gaming Laptop Under $1100!

4301 ratings | 366786 views
The Acer Predator Helios 300 is a powerful, portable and affordable midrange gaming laptop. It manages to offer such good value that the price is in line with budget gaming laptops that are currently on the market. Watch for the full review! Buy Here on Amazon (it's on sale for $1050 right now in the US!!): Acer Predator Helios 300: http://geni.us/MLBC2N Music by: Lakey Inspired: https://soundcloud.com/lakeyinspired DJ Quads: https://soundcloud.com/aka-dj-quads Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1087)
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
So what do you guys think of the Acer Predator Helios 300? $1100 for a gaming laptop with a GTX 1060 is a pretty sweet deal.
Rajath Navas (8 days ago)
Yes no hard drive. Only 256 GB SSD in the variant I bought. But we could add one later.
Rajath Navas (8 days ago)
The laptop is really a great deal at this price range. The performance is great. But there is one major draw back. The laptop heats up a lot while indulging in AAA games. This could hurt you if you are playing it on your lap.
Rajath Navas (8 days ago)
Don't forget the $89 tax.
Josan Somera (9 days ago)
No hard drive?!?!?!?!?!?!
i know u (11 days ago)
Matthew Moniz about alienware
GTorchify (3 days ago)
anyway i could get that LAptop to display to 144hz external screen? heard the display is lock at 60hz in the BIOS
MOE (1 day ago)
GTorchify yes
How is the fan? How many decibels does it get while gaming
Reginald Gustave (4 days ago)
Great laptop, i bought it for christmas and i'm enjoying so far. I play Titanfall 2 with it and a a Graphic Designer it's perfect for my line of work.
Simon Riley (4 days ago)
When you're too dumb to know what budget means
KowBoyJoy (5 days ago)
Can someone please let me know if there is a better gaming laptop than this i dont care about price but for $1100 im sold on this but i just want to know my options first
Wwaaauuu gila bener spec laptopnya tinggi banget kira-kira berapa ya harganya???😀😀😀
i'm not here (7 days ago)
So for graphic design this laptop is a big no?
Germanica Bosniaca (8 days ago)
Shit, in Europe is 1400 euro! But its mine... ;)
Bharath Raj (8 days ago)
I'm hoping after the ces 2018, the price of this laptop drops a bit. If it does I'm definitely buying this one! 😍
Bharath Raj (6 days ago)
Altuane I'm getting it this month.
Altuane (6 days ago)
Bharath Raj - down to 999
Elleiwa (8 days ago)
Thanks for your review, it was great !
Eyes Stay Droopy (10 days ago)
What would you pick for video editing Acer vx 15 or Acer predator hello 300. Is the helio screen brightness a big difference compared to the vx?I like to video edit outside on the beach sometimes. I know graphics card is better on helio
Paris Katsionas (11 days ago)
green motherboards are not good.......
Paris Katsionas (8 days ago)
are low quantity materials..also the capacitors must be silver colored.i think blue or black motherboards and silver capacitors are good
MOE (9 days ago)
Paris Katsionas why
Andrei Chiriac (11 days ago)
Did anybody had problems with the keyboard in game? somehow my S and O Key and numeric keys dont work anymore. Any thoughts?
DELTA (12 days ago)
Hello,Which of these two computers would you recommend? Your Acer predator Helios or Msi GP62MVR 7RFX?( https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XSMW4SC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_TqKuAbADXWNJD)
Fayas Muhammed (12 days ago)
Hi sir. I'm a 3d visualizer i need to buy laptop budget laptop.can you suggest some models please?
SafirHD (12 days ago)
My girlfriend bought this laptop for my birthday, it's amazing, i'm actually typing this message from it. It's been like 2 months of using it, I recommend every bit of it. At first I was dissapointed, the plastic used to built this laptop seems pretty cheap to me, but it's holding really well, mine has AeroBlade 3D Fan, and 128 gb SSD + 16 gb of ram, i7 7700k 3,4 ghz and geforce gtx 1050TI 4gb. Runs league of legends like is nothing, fans are getting louder sometimes, but when I put my hands on the back of it, it's cold as ice, and that make's me feel super comfortable, even with the noise.The backlit keyboard runs 24/24 because i simply love it. If it had lights on the back panel like his big brother was really really nice. My girlfriend took this one since the other predator had only 1060 3gb but with no ssd and only 8gb of ram, it's a waste in my opinion to go for a 1060 instead of 1050ti 4gb, it's not a big of a difference, if you want a big difference you would go for an 1070 or 1080, there you can see full power. As i said, I'm super happy, and I hope to have it for like 2 years from now, if it will run smoothly in the next years I will choose the next gaming laptop from predator again.
SUPER TUIY GAMER (14 days ago)
😭 soo muuch money mmtyyy drreeaam laptop iiss expensive
Mr .Black (14 days ago)
Is better acer predator 15 than helios
칼인오조슈아 (18 days ago)
I'd still get the Lenovo Y720 even with the ugly design. Effing new design is ugly and the y700 is more design and modern looking. Has dolby atmos speakers, thunderbolt 3 port, multi-colored KB, and full metalic build afaik for just a couple more bucks to add.
Buucey (18 days ago)
I'm watching this video on the Helios 300
Timmy Bone (18 days ago)
not to mention almost twice the RAM than most similarly priced laptops
Magesh (19 days ago)
predator helios 300 or hp omen 15(2017)?
Kent Lawrence Maceda (19 days ago)
Why is ryan reynolds reviewing laptops now?
Nehemias Ramirez (20 days ago)
Good for edeting?
T Vu (21 days ago)
How many hours can it last then
Lame game (22 days ago)
I heard this has overheating issues...
Jason DeCamp (18 days ago)
I've had mine for about a month or so, and I did monitor temps while gaming and did notice things were a little high on the temperature side. BIOS updates seem to have cleared that up. CPU maxes out at 81C and GPU is about 75C now. Tho my exhaust ports are very close to a wall, so I'm probably getting blow back into the fans. Overall I have yet to have an overheat issue. My personal opinion is that it's a great machine for the price and really is a bargain for what you pay. I have zero buyer's remorse.
Andy C (23 days ago)
Heat is the problem. Notebookcheck
jeepers creepers (23 days ago)
I can not wait to get my tax return this year because I am planning on buying this with my tax money. My truck is still good and the wires car is good as long as no unexpected bills pop up I should have this laptop by March of 2018 so WISH ME LUCK PEOPLE I hope i can play warframe on high or even ultra
kimtaehyung 101 (25 days ago)
i wanna play the sims 4 but also use it for school and i finally found this. im planning on persuading my mom to buy this for me cuz its cheaper than most macs lol
Eiesto s (25 days ago)
I really don't want to buy a thin laptop that is as flat as a plate. I just hope i can figure a way to find a thick laptop that will last longer and be able to handle all of my animation assignments.
Charan Koyaguri (25 days ago)
Would you prefer this against the Lenovo y720? They are around the same price. I Heard that the build quality on the y720 is Better but the ssd on the Helios is a lot better
Emo Boy (25 days ago)
you keep on making laptops videos and i literally get enjoyed watching it but could you please make video on best laptop shop around usa specially around texsas.....and in predator helois 300 should i add hard disk mandatorley or it runs good enough without hdd
Buff Barnaby (25 days ago)
Good for short spurts 😂
Vibhor Shah (26 days ago)
Matthew did you tried overclocking the screen for more fps?and is it overclockable
Khang Nguyen (27 days ago)
Why did you say the Canadian price is 1 million dollars. WTF
Christopher McDonough (27 days ago)
fucking HOT
N Od (27 days ago)
Just bought this laptop
BenchmarksX (27 days ago)
My lenovo legion y520 came with i7 and 1060 max-q for 1000
F. Rose (28 days ago)
Great video! ✌
Waitijg for gl503
Datavion McDowell (30 days ago)
This or the V 15 Nitro? This is cheaper and has almost the same specs but battery life is rather poor and it has that gamer laptop look that I’m not a big fan of. The V 15 Nitro is a little more expensive, it’s has an HDD as well as an SSD and supports Thunderbolt. The cooling is significantly worse but the battery life is better and doesn’t have that gaming laptop look but is a gaming laptop.
Datavion McDowell (30 days ago)
Matthew Moniz ok! Thanks for the reply
Matthew Moniz (30 days ago)
+Datavion McDowell this the v15 nitro overheats really badly.
Anant Vir (1 month ago)
Can anyone please help. I am CS student and need performance + good battery life What would be the battery life of Helios 300 if I run it only on Integrated graphics and dont use the 1060 ?
Syakir Salahudin (1 month ago)
Hi Matthew,would you mind of sending me this product? as a gift maybe?surprise me please Thank you
tarx (28 days ago)
Syakir Salahudin lmao wow
YANJIE WANG (1 month ago)
This laptop actually performs EXTREMELY good, i bought one last week and its better than i thought
Mohammed Ibrahim (1 month ago)
I’m going to buy a gaming laptop but I undecided between Helios 300 and Asus gl703 with gtx 1050 , which one is better? and which should I buy?
plsbreakup (1 month ago)
How much HHD does this have
Mei Jack (1 month ago)
This or Dell XPS 15 for college? I am a softcore gamer that cares about graphics.
Shpresim Kuçi (1 month ago)
Can anyone tell me how it's like to do video editing in this laptop?
Eric Ruth (1 month ago)
Its an acer, it means they used all the bottom of the barrel parts that are going to crap out on you in less than a year, if it even works out of the box at all.
MOE (9 days ago)
Eric Ruth nope
Dvm Srikant (1 month ago)
2:28 1 million CAD? 😂😂😂
Legiondriver (1 month ago)
I may or may not save up and get this.
Erwin Cruz (1 month ago)
In overwatch i can get a steady 120+fps in Epic quality with 1080 resolution. Such a beast laptop
MOE (9 days ago)
tarx update bios and driver's
tarx (28 days ago)
Erwin Cruz how?? Mine sits at 60 to 90 fps. I hsve no idea what im doing wrong
Knightrider2k43 (1 month ago)
Buying it next summer
Jhin The Virtuoso (1 month ago)
1300 euros in the netherlands woohoo..
Anil Kumar Sahu (1 month ago)
What about msi gv 62
Thawdar zin (1 month ago)
I found out that the temperature rises to 95degeree C while gaming at high settings. Is that true?
MOE (9 days ago)
Thawdar zin not really
reaper0004 (1 month ago)
Screen is dim, but it helps if you adjust the brightness and contrast in the Intel graphics setting.
Aayush jaiswal (1 month ago)
what do I do to reduce the temple as the CPU goes to 97°C and GPU goes to 95°C around in the Predator sense application is it normal working temperature of Helios 300 or it is overheating and what should I do to prevent overheating
MOE (9 days ago)
Update bios and undervolt
tarx (28 days ago)
Aayush jaiswal undervolt
Noah Russell (1 month ago)
@Matt, What do you think is the best model of the Acer Predator 17 in out there? I'm thinking about buying one!
Kry0 (1 month ago)
It's about $1700 in my country. WTF! Guess it's not worth buying in my country.
ILoveJesus123 (1 month ago)
Im sorry $1,100? That's like £800. What a bargain.
88 mango (1 month ago)
Why so cheap mine cost me 1,60p euro this is bullshit I'm really pissed off now
Evan Chabot (1 month ago)
Can you upgrade the battery??
ric william (1 month ago)
I don't think the cooling management is good in this one. MSI GP62MVR is better with cooling with the same specs.
Bora RB (1 month ago)
HI GUIDE COULD I USE THIS ONE FOR 3DS MAX V-RAY RENDERING ????
TrapeLz Apples (1 month ago)
I was looking on Amazon and saw this computer thinking it was cool and now that I watched this I totally want to buy it :D
Angel A. Acevedo (1 month ago)
Awesome and informative review. We found your channel while looking for reviews of this laptop. We want to purchase a powerful laptop for video editing, game dev for my younger bother-in-law to use in College. Any recommendations? Thanks Matthew! Edit: Just subbed! thanks again!
Godz29 (1 month ago)
Is the screen only 60hz???
yugam singh kushwaha (1 month ago)
can u do a review of MSI GP62MVRX Leopard Pro-653 15.6" 9 it is almost like helios
Nice , I ordered this laptop from amazon , it'll arrive to Lisa in 15dec , I can't wait till 15dec !!! There was a discount for only 4h that's for 899$ only !!!
akshat devpura (1 month ago)
There wasn't any microphone jack does that mean I won't be able to connect my microphone??
tarx (28 days ago)
akshat devpura you cant plug just a mic but u can use a headset
tarx (28 days ago)
akshat devpura headphone/mic jack in one
aditya pujari (1 month ago)
Can u review the Acer nitro spin 5?
James Oren (1 month ago)
Currently $899 on amazon. The screen's not great, but it can take the screen from the GL553 if you want to fit a better one :)
Mat Hall (1 month ago)
Just bought 1 for 1000$ on Amazon stoked for it.
1UpPepperMint (1 month ago)
How sturdy is the palmrest area?
Suri Smart (1 month ago)
This laptop is useful to interior design students or not
Synonymous User (2 months ago)
what? why does your laptop not get hot? all the other reviews say this thing is an oven... WEIRD STUFF
Mathias Jouvenat (2 months ago)
Doesn't this thing overheat? What are the CPU and GPU temperatures under heavy gaming?
ItMeKobb (2 months ago)
wow damn under $1100 by 1 cent, totally worth every penny
MYSTERYMOTIONTV (2 months ago)
Just bought one ;)
SafirHD (2 months ago)
Hey Matthew, can you please help me out? I've moved in Germany recently, and I'm looking for a laptop for gaming not very expensive tho. I've found one Acer Predator Helios 300 17.3 inch with GTX 1050TI 4gb, 16 gb of ram, 128 gb, 1tb hdd ,I mainly want this computer for league of legends, some stream, some video editing for YouTube, some browsing, movies and tv shows, the current price tag for that laptop I've told you the specs is 1.100 euros. Tell me what do you think, or if you could show me something similar, I've seen some cool models from MSI aswel .
Mark Kyriakos (2 months ago)
sir what do you advise me with best laptop with budget maximum 1500$ for editing and programing
chickenfkeryay (1 month ago)
Mark Kyriakos If you havent purchased a computet yet, Costco has a acer predator 17 with a gtx 1070 on sale for 1500, normal price is 1800. Sale lasts til christmas, check their website. If you dont have a costco card you may be able to get one on the site.
Squirtle Lover5 (2 months ago)
If only it had a larger battery
Prabhjot Purewal (2 months ago)
1 million cad lol nice joke
BeanMarioCow (2 months ago)
Is this better than the dell 7577? They both have gtx 1060, but I don’t know which is better. Can someone help me?
JanesGames (2 months ago)
I have this laptop in the 17.3 inch version and I’m not sure if the fan noise is too loud or normal when gaming on ultra settings. I can still return it and get a different laptop so I was looking at the ASUS ROG Strix GL702VM. Would that have quieter fan noise? Also I like the screen on this laptop as it’s IPS but I do have some backlight bleed.
pokemo oon (2 months ago)
now i m playing mafia 3 but that laptop hve no 4k screen :( lololol
DyNamix _ (2 months ago)
It's a 1050$ laptop. How do you expect a 4k screen for that price?
Aadil Patel (2 months ago)
Should i buy this laptop right now Please help me...
Akshay Dikundwar (2 months ago)
Turn CPU temp From 95℃ to 78℃ By Just This Easy Process, Here's A Help For All Gaming Laptop Owners - ● Great Processing Power Generate More Heat, So Cooling Needs To Be Done Very Efficiently, But Sometimes That Also is Not Enough, Do This Below Process To Bring 95℃Temp To 78℃ STEP 1- Beside Windows Start Icon There's Cortana Search Box, Type This ( Edit Power Plan ) Then Press Enter STEP 2- Then Go To (Change Power Settings) ,Then Slide Below, And Select (Power Processor Management) STEP 3- In Power Processor Management There Will Be , ( Maximum Processor State ) Option, Select It STEP4- There Will Be 2 Options, 1} On Battery- 100℅ 2} Plugged In- 100℅ STEP 5- (Important Step) Then Change Both 100℅ Setting To ( 99℅ ), Just 99℅ By Doing This Heating Issue Will Drop From 95℃ To 78℃ With (No Performance Drop) STEP6 After Setting Both To 99 ℅ Click Apply And Then Ok, Then Restart Your Laptop, And Enjoy Great Power With Acceptable Heating, Which Will Be Normal, After Doing This You Will See Great Improvement In Performance With No Thermal Throttling!
Kraz Show (2 months ago)
Ok so I need advice. I live in Canada and there is a version of this laptop with a gtx 1050 ti that costs 1,599,99 and a version with the 1060 that costs 1,899,99. Which should I get.
Kraz Show (2 months ago)
DyNamix _ thanks for the advice man
DyNamix _ (2 months ago)
dabbin bros yeah man definitely the GTX 1060 especially for those 2 demanding titles. I don't play pubg but I'm getting constant 80+ fps in bf1 with ultra settings using this laptop.
Kraz Show (2 months ago)
Matthew Moniz thanks for the advice. I'd say I would be playing battlefield 1 And pubg
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
I live in Canada too! = ) The 1060 is definitely the better performer and will last you longer. What games do you mostly play?
mohamed aaish (2 months ago)
is gaming on better than desktop
Ashok Kumar (2 months ago)
i buying this in dec
Christopher Lim (2 months ago)
@Matthew Moniz, would you rather have the helios 300 i5, 4gb ram, 1td hdd, gtx 1060 or the dell 7567 (IPS) i7 8gb ram, 1tb hdd, gtx 1050ti? the acer config is $100 cheaper btw. Thanks!
Ender (2 months ago)
Does it come with windows?
Ender (2 months ago)
Matthew Moniz Yeeeeeee thanks Now is time to save money as hell xd
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
yup!
kTbC Clan (2 months ago)
how did you know it was a million cad
kTbC Clan (2 months ago)
imma get this laptop just cuz of that, if i have a million of course. plus tac and shipping so 4 million 50
kTbC Clan (2 months ago)
ohh yaa lets goo i'm montreal
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
+kTbC Clan I’m Canadian
shockwaveee TV (2 months ago)
I'm thinking about getting the 17.3 inch model
Not GoodyTimei (2 months ago)
I was so speechless when my dad bought this..
Johnny Gat (2 months ago)
Does it come with 1 ram chip or 2
kTbC Clan (2 months ago)
i found a version 100$ more but i notice 1tb hdd on there. is it worth it
elitekiller (2 months ago)
You're better off spending the 90$ on a 2tb sshd

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.