HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Authority

Huawei P20 Pro review: The Galaxy S9 killer

3314 ratings | 217496 views
Read the full review: http://andauth.co/P20Pro | Buy the Huawei P20: http://tyvm.ly/p20 | Buy the Huawei P20 Pro: http://tyvm.ly/P20pro With the announcement of the Huawei P20 Pro and the world's first triple-camera system, Huawei has finally built a phone that can rightfully stand up against the best from Apple and Samsung. This is the Huawei P20 Pro review. Download the full-res camera samples: http://andauth.co/LjDPMq Download the Android Authority App: https://andauth.co/aa-app Subscribe to our YouTube channel: https://andauth.co/subscribe ---------------------------------------------------- Stay connected to Android Authority: - http://www.androidauthority.com - http://facebook.com/androidauthority/ - http://twitter.com/androidauth/ - http://instagram.com/androidauthority/ - https://snapchat.com/add/androidauth - http://google.com/+androidauthority Follow the Team: Josh Vergara: https://twitter.com/jvtechtea Joe Hindy: https://twitter.com/ThatJoeHindy Lanh Nguyen: https://twitter.com/LanhNguyenFilms Jayce Broda: https://twitter.com/jaycebroda Gary Sims: https://twitter.com/garysims Kris Carlon: https://twitter.com/kriscarlon Nirave Gondhia: https://twitter.com/nirave David Imel: https://twitter.com/durvidimel Bailey Stein: https://twitter.com/baileystein1


Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (921)
Android Authority (1 month ago)
We think Night Mode is the biggest game-changer on the P20 Pro - but what do you think?
Gagan Tyagi (13 days ago)
exactly i think
Sami Awan (18 days ago)
WORLDS #1 PHONE IS P20 PRO
Bob Bobson (25 days ago)
maybe thats why marques left it out
Enro Coh (1 month ago)
Android Authority triple zoom😍😍😍😊😊
Shrey Shrivastava (1 month ago)
Just Me i think you need check again. my friend has a iphone8 and i have s9+ my camera is far better then his i also have an ipad 10.7 s9+ is better then it too
TheHaywireStory (4 hours ago)
Why is most of this about the camera? I'm more than half way through and it's still about the camera
Filip Matacin (2 days ago)
I can't belive when you say things like the selfie cam has 24MP but shoots out softies rather than selfies and the beauty logarythm is so agrresive that even switched off is still making trouble.. And the lack of the SD card is nonsense, even the 3.5mm jack should had been retained.. Some bad compromises had to be maid to accomodate the shift into a more modern package.. I'm using a HUAWEI P10PLUS and a LG V30, to be completly honest, the P20PRO and the G7thinkQ make me leaf when I think about switching onto them, the 3 cameras of the P20PRO or the new things on the G7 are not enough to make me wish to do the switch..
amos yong (3 days ago)
Loved my 20 Pro.
Al-Iskander Al-Albani (7 days ago)
Notch ...
WTFGAFS (8 days ago)
It aint no galaxy s9 killer XD
Erez (9 days ago)
really? not a single word one the whole thing with Huawei or ZTE devices... at least discuss the situation.
Dhofar sam (11 days ago)
Damn it killer , does it use knife or gun ? Damn words people using nowadays .
Thabo Mashigoane (12 days ago)
Great review!!!
Emjay Jay (15 days ago)
Could've gone with a rear placement for the fingerprint sensor to make it easier to reach since it's a taller 19:9 screen. But overall it's a better buy than the s9 and iPhone X in my opinion.
jpmfan87 (15 days ago)
Great review, loved the detail on the cameras. Are you using a Samsung Gear watch? If so how does the P20 Pro work with it?
Foxtrot November (16 days ago)
How can that be a Galaxy S9 killer if it has something that doesn't have in the unit such as: 1. Qualcomm, Exynos, or Tegra Processor 2. Isn't an IP68 rating 3. Higher resolution than 1080. 4. Isn't using Corning Gorilla glass technology. 5. Isn't HDR-10 compliant. 6. No MicroSD card slot. 7. Only offers 128GB of storage. 8. Doesn't have Stereo Speakers. 9. No headphone jack. 10. No FM radio. 11. No Advance sensors like iris scanner or others. 12. No wireless charging. 13. Isn't bluetooth 5.0 14. Daydream and VR certified smartphone. So if the only thing that this device have is a better camera, faster charging, and bigger battery life. It won't even beat the Galaxy S9!
35indepth35 (16 days ago)
It cant kill anything. It looks hideous, bezels are too large.No optical image stabilisation when 4k video.If you need a phone you either buy pixel 2 xl , samsung s9 plus or iphone X. Other are(like this one) just samsung/iphone wannabees.Dont believe paid reviewers who try to scam you.
the unforgiven (18 days ago)
Lol Galaxy s9 killer gtfoh 😂😂😂
Tech Life (18 days ago)
The real galaxy s9 plus killer
The SamsungExperiance (18 days ago)
I had the S9+ since release and I have got rid of all bloatware and made the phone so great and the photos and video are just amazing,, one word to you Huawei fanboys 960 FPS -come at me.
Pritam Ghosh (19 days ago)
Correction: S9+ is not killed. It can only be killed by a Note 9. These chinese phones and also pixel phones look inferior next to a sammy phone admit it. You guys are paid too much that's why the p20 pro price is sooo high lol😂😂
panchi shah (19 days ago)
Who won?
science & technology (19 days ago)
Huawei p30 pro is a killer of Apple iPhone 3 and Samsung galaxy j7.
Prashant Chaudhary (20 days ago)
nice ad, huawei seems to spending like crazy for getting all these youtube channels make videos about their "nobody cares" smartphone.
Nicolette Sy (20 days ago)
Is that a gradient pink phone? Shut up and take my money
BIll Geo (21 days ago)
13:30 , what's that game???
RubCuber (22 days ago)
S9 Killer? - No Headphone Jack - Notch - No SD card storage - IP67 Water resistance - 1080p
14:50 iphone isn’t among the bestt in the world. Consider value for money and iphone is the worst phone in the world.
Nathan maynard (23 days ago)
That phone is beautiful
David Millard (25 days ago)
So many other reviews prove this review is pure junk. Not a huge Samsung fan myself but I do own an S9 Plus that kills this video review. I think my V30 is probably better.
LeonardoNFelix (25 days ago)
Pixel 2 XL CAMERA > P20 PRO CAMERA
Neal Wilson (17 days ago)
LeonardoNFelix lmao
Prateek sahi (25 days ago)
So good huawei P20 Pro
Chamath Samarawickrama (25 days ago)
@2:40 Sherlock Holmes?
DrClaw77 (26 days ago)
Only... no headphone jack and you can't use it on The V of Doom (Verizon). The latter is a real killer.
Paui Alemania (26 days ago)
Great review
Chandar Tiwari (27 days ago)
Hope i. Will win
Chandar Tiwari (27 days ago)
Best looking phone 📱 Camera 📸 also awesome Hop i win 🎁
nadeem noushad (27 days ago)
Giveaway it.........
xX_BattleBG_Xx (27 days ago)
huawei p 20 pro the best
saroar81 (27 days ago)
slow motion seem bad! isn't it?
Debra Dukes (27 days ago)
Wow, absolutely Excellent Review have not been on and one of my favorite sites.I really enjoyed your Review.Thanks so much for sharing Deb.✌👌
Jay Ramayah (27 days ago)
The triple camera is the best. It allows to add DSLR-style depth and offer a 5x hybrid and 3x optical zoom. There’s also a F1.6 aperture which helps shoot photos when the lights get low and the inclusion of the incredible Night Mode. I will say much better than S9.
Battman ReturnDark (27 days ago)
samsung s9 overall is better, but only camera photo P20 is a little better.
Vangara Litish (27 days ago)
I have attracted to this phone because of triple camera (40+20+8) and change of colours.
Mehedi Hasan (28 days ago)
I like this phone very much .
ankit patel (28 days ago)
The iphone x2 killer
Jordi Lopez Vazquez (28 days ago)
It has a fantastic camera.
Victor Truke (28 days ago)
Good job
Noman Amir Jamil (28 days ago)
What's the game being played in the review? Graphics look amazing!
Mohammed SoHaiL (28 days ago)
This is certainly the best camera phone as it looks. Huawei has finally done a good job in keeping full display with the best camera setup and a big battery. Although I am a samsung user but P20 pro has blown my mind since the launch. Yes this is of coarse the S9 killer. Nice review.
javier beltran (28 days ago)
Nice !!
Michael Kristensen (28 days ago)
I'm sold, fingers and everything else crossed 🤞🏻
1033141 (28 days ago)
it works fine as long as you stay out off TELFORT, THEY RIP you off
Aryan Bayas (29 days ago)
Thanks for the review
Abather (29 days ago)
p20 pro 🌟🌟🌟
kuna D (1 month ago)
I'm not switching s9+ is the way for me, keep on talking.
Crazcompart (1 month ago)
The P20 Pro has some interesting camera features, some better than the S9/S9+, but so what? The P20.won't be seen much in the US... Sammy Fanboys and iPhreaks can relax...
Lionel Alva (1 month ago)
I love the features of this phone but pretty much despise the wannabe design. Do not understand why they need to put that unsightly notch there when you have a chin! Makes no bloody sense. The slim bezel approach of the S9 and chin approach of the mi mix2s make sense.
ali almehaizea (1 month ago)
It's not a killer, but even head to head
Random User (1 month ago)
What about the processor that is slower than last gens SD 835. This phone is hardly future phone. The major thing that is stopping me from switching to it from my Galaxy s8.
Enro Coh (1 month ago)
I wish I have this one haist😞😊😍but haha I lobe watching here
Min Woojong (1 month ago)
Can you buy these in US????
Daniel Pan (1 month ago)
Bring back the headphone jack.
GD DatDawg (1 month ago)
S9 killer? Only 1 camera has ois, no headphone jack, no micro sd card compatibility, worse software, the notch, worse speaker, bluetooth version is outdated and it's slower Cameras are important, but it shouldn't 100% determine what phone you will get. Most people looking for a phone wants everything to be good (e.x processor, design, screen and so on.) Just because the p20 has a better camera, doesn't mean it's an s9 killer.
Jason Miller (1 month ago)
This phone isn't even close to the S9+. It supposedly has a better camera but in my opinion the camera on the S9+ is close or even better in a lot of settings but to call this the S9 killer is too funny. Good video though. Just my opinion
Doctor Soggy (1 month ago)
I like these Chinese phones, but I'll stick to my Pixel 2
zeditor 1824 (1 month ago)
薇信裸聊的号碼 薇信号bk7539。。。。。。 t'j1s
Taliyahu Mitz (1 month ago)
is it me, or did that slow motion absolutely look AWFUL?
Jeff Tung (1 month ago)
I was about to get this phone but after trying the phone for a while i decided to give pixel 2 xl a try, which cost exact thr same after a 80 usd discount. Getting the new phone in a few days, hope i made the right choice.
Ricardo Louro (1 month ago)
Can you tell the name of the case/cover?
Princey6sams (1 month ago)
Give it a better UI and they're golden 👌
aldeen1982 (1 month ago)
The display has a big input lag! Please mention this also! The camera btw is not that better than my iPhone X. It’s just an advertised advantage. Only the night mode is something really special. But it’s only good for display size viewing.. on a Monitor it Looks damn soft. Huawei is in the right direction but they have to improve. The input lag in the display which is Absolutely not present on the s9 nor the iPhone, and this is absolutely not acceptable.
Sterling Smetana (1 month ago)
If only I could afford it lol
Jaeson Ng (1 month ago)
P20pro 😻👍👍
Michael Hazell (1 month ago)
People still print photod
neitherlink (1 month ago)
Funny how this 2018 flagship with 3 cameras can't take a better picture than the year old pixel 2, which only has 1 camera
happy gekko (1 month ago)
Huawei has produced phones like the p20 thanks to stolen technology, much of it from the Koreans. For example, several LG execs are known to have handed over secrets in exchange for huge bribes (including display, SoC and image processing software technology) and are currently being investigated by that country's trade commission and watchdog. LG U+, the Telco arm of LG group also had its senior engineers and executives leaking secrets to the Chinese in return for lucrative cash rewards. A plethora of other SME personnel have also traded secrets for cash. In all, the Korean authorities estimate some 1,400 core technologies have been transferred through illicit means to China in the last decade or so. So the next time you're thinking of getting a Huawei (or Oppo or Xiaomi or ZTE) think long and hard about who you're handing over your cash to - to corporations whose sole modus operandi is to steal other's secrets in order to gain an advantage and win in the marketplace. I know of no other country that has this as their stated policy and goal (since all of these companies are state-owned and controlled, serving the interests of the state, they are synonymous with the China the country). The Chinese are totally unscrupulous when it comes to respecting other's IP rights. Your dollars are in effect sanctioning a giant criminal racket perpetrated on a national scale. This is just for mobiles and IT industry - the Chinese have been at it in all the other sectors and the europeans, especially Germany are responsible for giving away crucial knowhow in areas such as high speed railways and cars to their JV partners in exchange for general market access. At least the Americans and the Japanese have been more guarded when it comes to giving away their technologies, thank God. Personally, I couldn't praise Trump enough for cracking down on China's decades-old IP theft practices and making them pay a hefty price for it. He should pursue his policy to the hilt, no question. So no, I wouldn't give this ripoff tat of a phone from Huawei a second glance, even if all the gullible techies sang dithyrambs in its praise. And let's face it, with a ridiculous name like Hua-Wei would you really feel good about owning one? Of course not.
Jai M (1 month ago)
Mate 9 user here, the Monochrome lens is the USP for me.
Jackie Chan (1 month ago)
The night mode is just actually same like the hdr in pixel xl
Luca Knight (1 month ago)
Taxpayer unless occupation repair resign online annually discover encounter literally section.
Adrian Troff (1 month ago)
Fingerprint scanner on the bottom and software buttons?? Why Huawei?! So ugly
Adrian Osler (1 month ago)
S9 beater it maybe but Huawei still can't make a decent phone
Tyler Beasley (1 month ago)
Having the notch and a big chin, makes no sense to me. The notch was created to make as much space of the screen, so what’s the point here?
Zeke Chan (1 month ago)
Lack of video stablization in Huawei P20 Pro !!! Put the device down and tap the top left corner, IT WOBBLES !!! Default 10 MP camera usage is another DEAL BREAKER ! Old generation Chipset !! So many DEAL BREAKERS, WAIT for a BETTER MOBILE DEVICE.
Potato 52 (1 month ago)
I love both of the colours that are offered. It just look so nice on a phone that I wish other phones would also adopt this style. I just really like it, and the notch doesn't bother me at all plus you can customise to blend with the notif bar.
Bibi Rai (1 month ago)
My screen has a gradient hue to it. It's more obvious at a low brightness when looked at in the dark. Left side is darker than left side. Anyone facing the same thing?
Andrei Silviu (1 month ago)
The universal killer
Sheast z (1 month ago)
Bull
XuQi Feng (1 month ago)
P20 Pro is definitely "top-notch".
Uwais Bangi (1 month ago)
Stock android for every phone please
Qwokey (1 month ago)
I wish there was more content on the base P20...
Jouniter Tanis (1 month ago)
You better take picture at daylight using Night Mode instead. Multiple Frame will benefit in HDR.
zrowtwo1 (1 month ago)
what is the game at 13:32?
supergabee (1 month ago)
The Pro back color is sooo pretty!!! But no headphone jack is just dumb.
Jesua Jovan (1 month ago)
Is this guy new? I like his review 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Hannes Svardal (1 month ago)
Hello, I have a question: Will the Huawei P20 pro camera AI learn from my decisions? For example, if I discard AI scene suggestions for a particular type of scenes (e.g., blue sky). Will the phone adapt and change what it's suggesting or the rendering to please my taste? Or is the AI actually not intelligent in the sense that it learns from my decisions when taking photos? Thanks!
W. L. (1 month ago)
I'm crossing my fingers for a Honor 10 with the same cameras but also with a headphone jack!
Alex (1 month ago)
Excellent video👌 really enjoy your type of review videos
Alex (1 month ago)
That top comment😂😂😂
Ash Ram (1 month ago)
This Guy is an Android Vateran ,, disables animation before installing Gapps :D
Dronzrock (1 month ago)
A new Mid-range game changer is on its way, Honor 10!!!!!!!!!!
Umeristic (1 month ago)
Why cant it come with stock android
Antônio Lucas (1 month ago)
s9 is much better,all phones that no have headphone jack and micro sd card is shit.
Christian Borres (1 month ago)
You took photo of the Eiffel Tower during night, that is illegal.
Jonathan (1 month ago)
The s9 is about as big of a fail as a iPhones x. You run into problems when you upgrade your chipset but keep the Samsung battery capacity. Come on Samsung. Hold on to your s8s and s8+. Trust me I'm switching from s9 to iPhone because it's terrible.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.