HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Pixel 2 & Pixel 2 XL Review - 60 Days Later!

3192 ratings | 101161 views
Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL Review after 2 months of being used. I love these phones even though they're not perfect. I feel they provide one of the best experiences on a smartphone. Watch for the full video! Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (572)
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
Love these phones even with their imperfections. The camera and software experience are the best you can get on Android. What are your thoughts?
Haritha D (3 months ago)
The screen burn! The screen burn !! How bad was it for you?
Incog NeatOh (3 months ago)
Smartest smartphone I've used.
Khan S (3 months ago)
i love this phone so far. Switched from ios to android for the first time
JERZEELOON (3 months ago)
Christopher Lee Murray too bad they're best isn't good enough
JERZEELOON (3 months ago)
Your the best around, and nothing going to ever keep you down
Heather V. Crutchley (26 days ago)
Thank you for acknowledging the screen complaint as a first world problem and mentioning average consumers. It seems like a lot of tech youtubers forget about the minimum wage, average consumer.
Rehman Khan (1 month ago)
iphone x does not "does it" its the most accurate screen i have ever used
Andrew Burton (1 month ago)
"First world problem" ! Good point Well done !!! Great review .
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Thanks Andrew!
Raian Levy (1 month ago)
Upgraded to the 2 XL from my Nexus 6P. It is truly worth it, getting 10 hours SOT, charging once every 2 days!
Joshua Dave Degamo (1 month ago)
I guess people measure greatness on who makes the least mistakes. People go crazy over that display since its the only problem that phone has
P31Royalty (2 months ago)
😂😂@ "First world problems..." So true!
D. Page (2 months ago)
4:28 oh so you admit your Google bias? I guess.
Pep Sus (2 months ago)
He will see on the next video
John silva (2 months ago)
This dude look spanish
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
Close Portuguese
Battle Hero (2 months ago)
I would buy this but I am going to wait for their 2018 flagship
Vihan Subramaniam (2 months ago)
I have the Pixel 2 and I couldn’t be more happy with it.
cubbz5 (1 month ago)
Bearemiah Johnson yes I’m getting the smaller version gotta have it
Brandon (1 month ago)
I wish I would have purchased the Pixel 2 rather than the XL just for pocketability
cubbz5 (1 month ago)
How is the video recording on there?
ben owen (2 months ago)
Hey Matt, nice review, I’m definitely getting this phone soon and it’s the phone that’s made me want to come back to Android and with it being pure Android which I enjoyed when I had my Nexus 6, I’m not that worried about the display on the XL (the one I’m looking to get) as it doesn’t distract from the phone and it’s a lot better than the display on the Nexus 6, and I’ m looking forward to Android Oreo and the timely updates and the phenomenal camera. Again great review and keep up the good work.
2spooky • 4yiu (2 months ago)
2700 mAh? C'mon google you could do better than this! We're livin in the present the era of 3000+ mAh battery life! Cmon man!
Edgar Sihues (2 months ago)
Watching on my iPhone X... idk why I’m not happy with it. I’m paying a lot for this phone but I am curious about the Pixel 2 XL I moved from a Samsung s7 edge to an iPhone X
cubbz5 (1 month ago)
Edgar Sihues I have the iPhone X but I’m want the pixel 2 myself the camera is amazing
Tommy Degreorio (2 months ago)
Have a pixel 2 and it’s bad ass, smother then my iPhone X and a heck of a lot lighter. Beat phone I have ever owned and I have 61 of them
cubbz5 (1 month ago)
I have the iPhone X myself I wanted the pixel 2 but I’m waiting to see what the iPhone X has to offer
Salad potatogoat (3 months ago)
Did anyone else notice when he squeezed the phone one of the searches was "will I die a virgin?", No you will not 😂.
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
lol good catch you found the easter egg!
Mark Flores (3 months ago)
Any screen burn in on the XL after 60 days?
Amruta Mohanty (3 months ago)
I got my pixel 2 todayyyyyyyyyyy....... yieeeeeeee
Leo (3 months ago)
Seriously the blue tint isnt even that bad when you shift it haha. Matter of fact that Pixel 2 from sammy is still showing that same warm hue like s8 displayed when shifted...ugh.
Erdal Coban (3 months ago)
You’re the phone man bro!
Arturo Atherly (3 months ago)
You sir said nothing different from the rest..Thank you
Tubiva (3 months ago)
He doesn't like the front facing camera because it makes him look old....... Rly?
bouqdir abdessamad (3 months ago)
just don't root it hhhh, i did it and it was a disaster XD
Kellen Gullion (3 months ago)
Do u still get the most out of ur gear s3 when connected to the pixel 2?
Battle Hero (3 months ago)
You need more subscribers
Battle Hero (3 months ago)
Matthew Moniz no problem
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Thanks 🙏
Fetuss John (3 months ago)
I have an LG g5 currently and would like to upgrade. would you say the pixel 2 is worth the money
Sean Z (3 months ago)
I'm a technical enthuoast. And the blue shift BS is exactly that. This is an amazing phone.
Sean Z (3 months ago)
If I hear one more spastic complain about expandable storage I will puke. this is a 64 gigabyte phone. that you can plug directly into an external hard drive that holds terabytes of information.
Rick N (3 months ago)
i love my pixel 2, pure android is awesome
adel ashnaei (3 months ago)
So the screen on the xl is not as bad as people are saying. Like the grainy issues and the burn-in.. I'm debating between the pixel 2 xl and the note 8
Johnny Krup (3 months ago)
adel ashnaei I was worrying as well.. I decided to cancel my order while my Friend kept his order for the phone, in short all the problems were fixed with updates. Ordered my phone and should arrive in a couple of days.
Arpan Paul (3 months ago)
Amazing review Matthew. Keep up.
Mitch Galloway (3 months ago)
"I want the best camera" *complains about the camera being too sharp
Jacob Hamblen (3 months ago)
Got the iPhone 7 Plus.... looking to upgrade, should I get the pixel 2 xl if i can get paid with the 2 year upgrade?
Yang (3 months ago)
the screen on the pixel2 only shows the sRGB, the photo you edited and posted might be totally different between your screen and the others.
Mr RC (3 months ago)
Here's the thing, I see that you're reviewing the black model. Try the 2 XL black and where model - I've noticed the blue shift is virtually non-existent (many who reviewed this particular model/color say the same). It's a beautiful screen.
Chris Coakley (3 months ago)
Have had my pixel 2 xl for about a month now and can full heartedly say this is the best phone I've ever had
Kevin Ramos (2 months ago)
Chris Coakley I don't blame you ^_^. I'm just happy you're enjoying your phone :). I had my phone since it released (because I don't like buying phones every year lol). When the pixel phone comes out this year, that's that phone I'm keeping forever, until it craps out haha xD.
Chris Coakley (2 months ago)
Kevin Ramos yeah I heard about it too! I'm not an early adopter but rumors are making me think about it lol, kinda wish I had gone with the first pixel so I could justify getting the third one (I'm sure I'd still have it if I had gotten it), but I guess I'll wait until this one craps out on me, it's been great though, it's just so smooth man
Kevin Ramos (2 months ago)
Chris Coakley wow, that’s some great battery life :)! I have the note 4 right now, but I’m going to wait until they release the pixel 3 xl this year. I heard (rumors of course lol) that the next pixel is going to have a big redesign :-o. I’m excited for that that, so I’ll be waiting patiently lol. My note 4 is still going strong, but it’s beginning to lag horribly-_- haha.
Chris Coakley (2 months ago)
Kevin Ramos amazing man, you can get through a day and a half with light use and a full day with heavy usage, I love it, it was a pretty Stark contrast to the galaxy S7 edge I had, and standby time is ridiculous
Kevin Ramos (2 months ago)
Chris Coakley how’s the battery life :-0? I need full details please :D!!!
Rahul Tiwari (3 months ago)
Y pixel is screen dull
Get over the freaking headphone jack. Buy a god damn Bluetooth headphone. You sound like a nagging old gramma.
Daeveren (4 months ago)
You're in error, the Visual Core is not going to make the HDR photos better than they are now (as you say) - what it does is offloading the processing from the main processor and making HDR+ available (for the first time ever!) to 3rd party apps.
Tundra Guy (4 months ago)
Didn't care for the screen on the XL. Is the smaller one even worth buying? The bezels look huge on it.
#Note8Is Boss (4 months ago)
Truthfully Google is the biggest joke perpetrating this making phones business. They need to stop embarrassing themselves nothing beats Samsung they are Android and technology everything is is obsolete.
John Moon (4 months ago)
love the look of xl and it's bazel but sticking with the small one with Samsung AMOLED instead of LG.
Marcus Chung (4 months ago)
HEY MATTHEW! What camera did you use to record this video? it looks like a movie.
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
Sony A6500 = )
Ronn Legaspi (4 months ago)
This is not a first world problem. You are just being pedantic.
Red Hood (4 months ago)
What’s your daily driver?
oisharya banerjee (4 months ago)
When will the pixel camera core processor be turned on exactly? Can you please elaborate a bit on this issue? There is a steal deal today on Flipkart India for the Pixel 2XL devices... So i can decide whether to splurge on this or not?
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
It’s on right now with android 8.1
Noah Gomez (4 months ago)
Great video bro
Chris Campbell (4 months ago)
Always liked your reviews because you have your own style but this "Lewis style" imitation is cringy at best.
Adrian Bengescu (4 months ago)
He’s so attractive 🤪
bond2k3 (4 months ago)
Can you make a comparison between Pixel 2 XL and Huawei Mate 10 Pro?
avatariors12345 (4 months ago)
“ I just find the front facing camera a little bit sharp and makes the subject looks older than they really are.... or maybe I’m just getting old in general “ Lmfao 😄
james mace (4 months ago)
Will I die a virgin? pahahhaha Cheeky little Easter egg. 4.34
Lyablossom21 (4 months ago)
Definitely the best review I have watched on the pixels. I'm getting the pixel 2 soon, after having 2 iphones I'm trying android. Apple deceived me.
Tristan Pope (4 months ago)
I would prefer to just click the like button. I save my smashing for... nevermind I'm a virgin.
Anang Kusumo (4 months ago)
4:34 don't be so hard with yourself dude haha
mickyeverton (4 months ago)
Great Review, Many Thanks. Peace from London. 👍👍
Carlos Diaz (4 months ago)
I disagree with the whole concept of waiting for a phones bugs to get ironed out to provide a review. Would you do that with a Galaxy or the Essential phone or any iPhone? Nope. This kind of thing just seems like you aren’t playing fair across the board. Review a phone as is at launch. Revisit if worthwhile but don’t bias yourself by giving leeway.
Potenti4lz (4 months ago)
Earphone jack whhhyyy
Ricky Marasigan (4 months ago)
I hope phone manufacturers put a USB c outlet on the top and bottom then users can decide how to use their plugs. Of course there needs to be more USB c headphones.
Tyrone Thomas (4 months ago)
Great unbiased and balanced review! The issues with the phone do not overshadow the stellar battery life, performance and the camera!
Bernard Poindexter (4 months ago)
*WIDER IS BETTER* HATE THESE FAGGOT SKINNY PHONES, MAKES TYPING SUPER ANNOYING
verify510 (4 months ago)
This guy is annoying
Solomon's Tech (3 months ago)
verify510 Then don't watch
Veton Jenuzi (4 months ago)
Will u gift any of them tho ☺✌
JustDontGetIt (4 months ago)
Fantastic Review.
James Russo (4 months ago)
I see a lot of talk about wireless charging, but if you have a wireless charger on your office desk or something (like one that stands the phone up) it's super cool to just be able to top your phone up throughout the day.
McRibs (4 months ago)
I own the Pixel 2 non-XL. This is my first week with it and I would say that it is an amazing phone. I came from the LG G4 and it is a major upgrade. Ergonomics are really nice, feels great in the hand, though may lack some palm rejection. I would admit, however, that there is at least a few hiccups (not sure if it helps, but I'm on 8.0, not 8.1) and the fingerprint sensor can lag from time to time. Maybe, it is just me being very paranoid about the fingerprint sensor and I expect it to be *faster* faster. Overall camera is great, the UI is clean and fluid, the battery (of course not XL) is not as great, but it can lead me through the day with a small charge. Though this shouldn't discourage from buying it. I am impressed with my Pixel 2, and would recommend!
Kah Wee (4 months ago)
or maybe im just gettin old in general " hahahahaha
Boundless Atilier (4 months ago)
I just want to grab a minute of all of you guys who see OLED as a deal breaker; LCD is just great and is not too bad and not all LCDs are washed out; the retina displays have great colours and many qhd displays like the mate 10, LG G6 look stunning; you can always change the color mode to vibrant and saturated; you won't notice a huge pain with LCDs and oleds; my deal breaker is no 3.5mm jack! Bluetooth headphones are expensive and don't derive the real dac audio output, battery draining, and some extra privieliges like when I plugged my headphone the music app instantly opens; and you don't need to go through extra steps to connect you device; and we should go and change the settings in the phone whereas we have the volume rockers and mic on the earphones; you can get airpods and pixel buds but 159$ seriously?
Freddy Barnes (4 months ago)
Should I upgrade to the pixel 2 xl or keep my S8
Freddy Barnes (4 months ago)
Right on thanks
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
I'd wait, your phone is still good!
Yvonne Ritter (4 months ago)
Hi Matt! I love your reviews and agree with you about the Pixel 2. I think it's a great phone but I was wondering if you have had any problems with it randomly shutting off? Mine has started doing it over the last couple of days and I have no idea why.
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Yvonne Ritter Thanks man! That's really strange. I haven't had that issue at all. If it's happening a lot definitely return it. I know the smaller pixel 2 has some reboot issues that are going to be resolved with Android 8.1
O Gordon (4 months ago)
That blue wallpaper on the XL, Matthew.... Pretty please.
Rajath Pawaskar (4 months ago)
Mathew I agree with you front camera is too sharp looks old I myself tested and find the same.
Red Hood (4 months ago)
Do you recommend buying it over Note 8 or V30?
Adhi Suryana (4 months ago)
4:35 "Will I die a Virgin" Isee what you did there :O)
pterotactical (4 months ago)
Unfortunately there is no wireless charging. And the best way to show this is by tapping it on a wireless charger?
Kyle Rebman (4 months ago)
That cliffhanger add was so fucking cringey
Shaarujon Vijayakumar (4 months ago)
Great review Matthew
Naveed Naeem (4 months ago)
The DAC isn't in the dongle, the DAC is inside the phone and it outputs the audio signal to the USB C Port which the dongle then remaps so that it can be used by a 3.5mm audio input
Bill Buffet (4 months ago)
You can't edit your pictures with a bad display (white point, color accuracy, etc)
Royal Boyle14 (4 months ago)
Hey Matt, I'm going to buy one this week but I'm torn right now, I want XL but I really like the smaller one better right now. With the bezels, does the Pixel 2 still look good?
cerissa brown (4 months ago)
Royal Boyle14 I had the xl traded it for the regular 2. The bezels aren't a problem. Came down to the size for me. I constantly had the xl in my back pocket and it was too big. The 2 is a good fit for my hands and pockets.
Royal Boyle14 (4 months ago)
Regarding the screens, who in world Tilts there screen anyway.
Vivek Prakhar (4 months ago)
Great review.I love myPixel 2 Xl Panda.Just got it yesterday :)) Phone of the year
Renu Rai (4 months ago)
Dude why are you being so hypocritical ? You said you don't like squeeze feature on HTC flagship but you like it on Pixel line-up because it can be used to bring up Google assistant. I definitely think you have not used a HTC flagship as the squeeze feature can be assigned for any action 🤦‍♂️ The squeeze feature on Pixel is basically a invisible Bixby key💁‍♂️
Renu Rai (4 months ago)
Why no videos on the Huawei Mate 10 Pro dude ?
twent10 (4 months ago)
Loved the honesty & objectivity!
Azdrawee (4 months ago)
"Hey Google"? :-D
yuki iida (4 months ago)
What wall paper are you using?
Darnell H (4 months ago)
I remember seeing so many people walking around NYC with severely over priced Beats Bluetooth headphones. Then Apple acquires Beats, removes the 3.5mm headphone jack that seemed to be trending it's way into extinction, and everyone got all offended. Personally I appreciate the removal of the 3.5mm headphone jack by Apple and now Google. I think it played a significant part in the emergence of quality, affordable bluetooth headphones. Great review by the way. 👍🏾👍🏾
Kenyon Stevens (4 months ago)
Pixel 2 or XL?? I currently have a iPhone 6s Plus but I prefer a smaller phone. Is the XL as big as the iPhone plus lineup?
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Kenyon Stevens it's about the same or slightly bigger than the Plus. Get the Pixel 2
Buddha k (4 months ago)
1:34 took a piss on a $800 phone.
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Buddha k lol
Sosodeflol (4 months ago)
..
Jose Gomez (4 months ago)
If only this phone could charge as fast as the op5... And had its face unlock. That's all that's keeping me from buying it
RITESH PATIL (4 months ago)
should i buy pixel 2 for 620$ or oneplus 5t
RITESH PATIL (4 months ago)
s8 is expensive though i have made my decision going for oneplus5t
Lantus (4 months ago)
RITESH PATIL I have the same problem. I'm thinking of the s8 too.
Aiden Vu (4 months ago)
This honest review just got you 1 more subscriber :) Keep up the good work!
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Aiden Vu Thanks Aiden : )
David Joshua Hernandez (4 months ago)
My standby sucks up my battery!
Does the dongle really have a DAC? Can you confirm this with a link or statement? I have been having problems with the dongle and my B&W P7s. Ugh
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Xander Legaspi Photography yes it does just do a Google search : ) the dac is not as good as the one in the LG v30 but better than the normal dacs they put in most phones
Brian West (4 months ago)
Color shift is normal on OLED but it's not normal on the Pixel 2 XL. It's a very extreme color shift on the 2 XL. My Pixel XL doesn't do that. My 6p doesn't do that. My Axon 7 doesn't do that and so on and so on. It is normal but not to that extreme and that's the reason that the 2 XL isn't worth the money. The display is the MAIN thing about a phone. If it's bad then the whole thing is ruined in my opinion. I may pick up the Pixel 2 when I find it at a price it's really worth, $400, but I won't be getting the 2 XL.
eazibaby eaZI (4 months ago)
Lol the blues shift is on all OLED! iPhone does it as much as the xl2. It's not a problem, it's the technology. The problem is reviewers that don't know the technology as they say! I compared devices side by side in the store. Which was a good idea because these reviewers would have had me ordering a note 8, v30 or something. I left with the xl2
mnguyea (4 months ago)
Frankly, wireless charging is nice to have but I've learned to live without it now since the Nexus phone ditched it awhile ago and the constant complain of no SD blah blah blah....I got the 128 gb is more than enough storage. The Pixel 2 XL is the best solid phone running pure Android and has one of the best camera around. Yeah, I guess the screen could be better but with the new fixes the screen is perfectly fine. Only time it might matter is sharing something but then as it sits flat on my desk and check notifications, there is barely a tint on it when I look.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.