HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Pixel 2 & Pixel 2 XL Review - 60 Days Later!

2888 ratings | 83963 views
Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL Review after 2 months of being used. I love these phones even though they're not perfect. I feel they provide one of the best experiences on a smartphone. Watch for the full video! Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (505)
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Love these phones even with their imperfections. The camera and software experience are the best you can get on Android. What are your thoughts?
Haritha D (12 days ago)
The screen burn! The screen burn !! How bad was it for you?
Incog NeatOh (15 days ago)
Smartest smartphone I've used.
Khan S (24 days ago)
i love this phone so far. Switched from ios to android for the first time
JERZEELOON (28 days ago)
Christopher Lee Murray too bad they're best isn't good enough
JERZEELOON (28 days ago)
Your the best around, and nothing going to ever keep you down
Mark Flores (1 day ago)
Any screen burn in on the XL after 60 days?
Amruta Mohanty (14 days ago)
I got my pixel 2 todayyyyyyyyyyy....... yieeeeeeee
Leo (15 days ago)
Seriously the blue tint isnt even that bad when you shift it haha. Matter of fact that Pixel 2 from sammy is still showing that same warm hue like s8 displayed when shifted...ugh.
Erdal Coban (15 days ago)
You’re the phone man bro!
Arturo Atherly (16 days ago)
You sir said nothing different from the rest..Thank you
Tubiva (16 days ago)
He doesn't like the front facing camera because it makes him look old....... Rly?
bouqdir abdessamad (16 days ago)
just don't root it hhhh, i did it and it was a disaster XD
Kellen Gullion (17 days ago)
Do u still get the most out of ur gear s3 when connected to the pixel 2?
You need more subscribers
Matthew Moniz no problem
Matthew Moniz (17 days ago)
Thanks 🙏
Fetuss John (21 days ago)
I have an LG g5 currently and would like to upgrade. would you say the pixel 2 is worth the money
Sean Z (22 days ago)
I'm a technical enthuoast. And the blue shift BS is exactly that. This is an amazing phone.
Sean Z (22 days ago)
If I hear one more spastic complain about expandable storage I will puke. this is a 64 gigabyte phone. that you can plug directly into an external hard drive that holds terabytes of information.
Rick N (22 days ago)
i love my pixel 2, pure android is awesome
adel ashnaei (23 days ago)
So the screen on the xl is not as bad as people are saying. Like the grainy issues and the burn-in.. I'm debating between the pixel 2 xl and the note 8
Johnny Krup (22 days ago)
adel ashnaei I was worrying as well.. I decided to cancel my order while my Friend kept his order for the phone, in short all the problems were fixed with updates. Ordered my phone and should arrive in a couple of days.
Arpan Paul (23 days ago)
Amazing review Matthew. Keep up.
Mitch Galloway (24 days ago)
"I want the best camera" *complains about the camera being too sharp
Jacob Hamblen (24 days ago)
Got the iPhone 7 Plus.... looking to upgrade, should I get the pixel 2 xl if i can get paid with the 2 year upgrade?
Yang (25 days ago)
the screen on the pixel2 only shows the sRGB, the photo you edited and posted might be totally different between your screen and the others.
Mr RC (26 days ago)
Here's the thing, I see that you're reviewing the black model. Try the 2 XL black and where model - I've noticed the blue shift is virtually non-existent (many who reviewed this particular model/color say the same). It's a beautiful screen.
Chris Coakley (28 days ago)
Have had my pixel 2 xl for about a month now and can full heartedly say this is the best phone I've ever had
Rahul Tiwari (28 days ago)
Y pixel is screen dull
Get over the freaking headphone jack. Buy a god damn Bluetooth headphone. You sound like a nagging old gramma.
Daeveren (1 month ago)
You're in error, the Visual Core is not going to make the HDR photos better than they are now (as you say) - what it does is offloading the processing from the main processor and making HDR+ available (for the first time ever!) to 3rd party apps.
Tundra Guy (1 month ago)
Didn't care for the screen on the XL. Is the smaller one even worth buying? The bezels look huge on it.
#Note8Is Boss (1 month ago)
Truthfully Google is the biggest joke perpetrating this making phones business. They need to stop embarrassing themselves nothing beats Samsung they are Android and technology everything is is obsolete.
John Moon (1 month ago)
love the look of xl and it's bazel but sticking with the small one with Samsung AMOLED instead of LG.
Marcus Chung (1 month ago)
HEY MATTHEW! What camera did you use to record this video? it looks like a movie.
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Sony A6500 = )
Ronn Legaspi (1 month ago)
This is not a first world problem. You are just being pedantic.
Red Hood (1 month ago)
What’s your daily driver?
oisharya banerjee (1 month ago)
When will the pixel camera core processor be turned on exactly? Can you please elaborate a bit on this issue? There is a steal deal today on Flipkart India for the Pixel 2XL devices... So i can decide whether to splurge on this or not?
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
It’s on right now with android 8.1
Noah Gomez (1 month ago)
Great video bro
Chris Campbell (1 month ago)
Always liked your reviews because you have your own style but this "Lewis style" imitation is cringy at best.
Adrian Bengescu (1 month ago)
He’s so attractive 🤪
bond2k3 (1 month ago)
Can you make a comparison between Pixel 2 XL and Huawei Mate 10 Pro?
avatariors12345 (1 month ago)
“ I just find the front facing camera a little bit sharp and makes the subject looks older than they really are.... or maybe I’m just getting old in general “ Lmfao 😄
james mace (1 month ago)
Will I die a virgin? pahahhaha Cheeky little Easter egg. 4.34
Lyablossom21 (1 month ago)
Definitely the best review I have watched on the pixels. I'm getting the pixel 2 soon, after having 2 iphones I'm trying android. Apple deceived me.
Tristan Pope (1 month ago)
I would prefer to just click the like button. I save my smashing for... nevermind I'm a virgin.
Anang Kusumo (1 month ago)
4:34 don't be so hard with yourself dude haha
mickyeverton (1 month ago)
Great Review, Many Thanks. Peace from London. 👍👍
Carlos Diaz (1 month ago)
I disagree with the whole concept of waiting for a phones bugs to get ironed out to provide a review. Would you do that with a Galaxy or the Essential phone or any iPhone? Nope. This kind of thing just seems like you aren’t playing fair across the board. Review a phone as is at launch. Revisit if worthwhile but don’t bias yourself by giving leeway.
Potenti4lz (1 month ago)
Earphone jack whhhyyy
Ricky Marasigan (1 month ago)
I hope phone manufacturers put a USB c outlet on the top and bottom then users can decide how to use their plugs. Of course there needs to be more USB c headphones.
Tyrone Thomas (1 month ago)
Great unbiased and balanced review! The issues with the phone do not overshadow the stellar battery life, performance and the camera!
Bernard Poindexter (1 month ago)
*WIDER IS BETTER* HATE THESE FAGGOT SKINNY PHONES, MAKES TYPING SUPER ANNOYING
verify510 (1 month ago)
This guy is annoying
Solomon's Tech (23 days ago)
verify510 Then don't watch
Veton Jenuzi (1 month ago)
Will u gift any of them tho ☺✌
JustDontGetIt (1 month ago)
Fantastic Review.
James Russo (1 month ago)
I see a lot of talk about wireless charging, but if you have a wireless charger on your office desk or something (like one that stands the phone up) it's super cool to just be able to top your phone up throughout the day.
McRibs (1 month ago)
I own the Pixel 2 non-XL. This is my first week with it and I would say that it is an amazing phone. I came from the LG G4 and it is a major upgrade. Ergonomics are really nice, feels great in the hand, though may lack some palm rejection. I would admit, however, that there is at least a few hiccups (not sure if it helps, but I'm on 8.0, not 8.1) and the fingerprint sensor can lag from time to time. Maybe, it is just me being very paranoid about the fingerprint sensor and I expect it to be *faster* faster. Overall camera is great, the UI is clean and fluid, the battery (of course not XL) is not as great, but it can lead me through the day with a small charge. Though this shouldn't discourage from buying it. I am impressed with my Pixel 2, and would recommend!
Kah Wee (1 month ago)
or maybe im just gettin old in general " hahahahaha
Boundless Atilier (1 month ago)
I just want to grab a minute of all of you guys who see OLED as a deal breaker; LCD is just great and is not too bad and not all LCDs are washed out; the retina displays have great colours and many qhd displays like the mate 10, LG G6 look stunning; you can always change the color mode to vibrant and saturated; you won't notice a huge pain with LCDs and oleds; my deal breaker is no 3.5mm jack! Bluetooth headphones are expensive and don't derive the real dac audio output, battery draining, and some extra privieliges like when I plugged my headphone the music app instantly opens; and you don't need to go through extra steps to connect you device; and we should go and change the settings in the phone whereas we have the volume rockers and mic on the earphones; you can get airpods and pixel buds but 159$ seriously?
Freddy Barnes (1 month ago)
Should I upgrade to the pixel 2 xl or keep my S8
Freddy Barnes (1 month ago)
Right on thanks
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
I'd wait, your phone is still good!
Yvonne Ritter (1 month ago)
Hi Matt! I love your reviews and agree with you about the Pixel 2. I think it's a great phone but I was wondering if you have had any problems with it randomly shutting off? Mine has started doing it over the last couple of days and I have no idea why.
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Yvonne Ritter Thanks man! That's really strange. I haven't had that issue at all. If it's happening a lot definitely return it. I know the smaller pixel 2 has some reboot issues that are going to be resolved with Android 8.1
O Gordon (1 month ago)
That blue wallpaper on the XL, Matthew.... Pretty please.
Rajath Pawaskar (1 month ago)
Mathew I agree with you front camera is too sharp looks old I myself tested and find the same.
Red Hood (1 month ago)
Do you recommend buying it over Note 8 or V30?
Adhi Suryana (1 month ago)
4:35 "Will I die a Virgin" Isee what you did there :O)
pterotactical (1 month ago)
Unfortunately there is no wireless charging. And the best way to show this is by tapping it on a wireless charger?
Kyle Rebman (1 month ago)
That cliffhanger add was so fucking cringey
Shaarujon Vijayakumar (1 month ago)
Great review Matthew
Naveed Naeem (1 month ago)
The DAC isn't in the dongle, the DAC is inside the phone and it outputs the audio signal to the USB C Port which the dongle then remaps so that it can be used by a 3.5mm audio input
Bill Buffet (1 month ago)
You can't edit your pictures with a bad display (white point, color accuracy, etc)
Royal Boyle14 (1 month ago)
Hey Matt, I'm going to buy one this week but I'm torn right now, I want XL but I really like the smaller one better right now. With the bezels, does the Pixel 2 still look good?
cerissa brown (1 month ago)
Royal Boyle14 I had the xl traded it for the regular 2. The bezels aren't a problem. Came down to the size for me. I constantly had the xl in my back pocket and it was too big. The 2 is a good fit for my hands and pockets.
Royal Boyle14 (1 month ago)
Regarding the screens, who in world Tilts there screen anyway.
Vivek Prakhar (1 month ago)
Great review.I love myPixel 2 Xl Panda.Just got it yesterday :)) Phone of the year
Renu Rai (1 month ago)
Dude why are you being so hypocritical ? You said you don't like squeeze feature on HTC flagship but you like it on Pixel line-up because it can be used to bring up Google assistant. I definitely think you have not used a HTC flagship as the squeeze feature can be assigned for any action 🤦‍♂️ The squeeze feature on Pixel is basically a invisible Bixby key💁‍♂️
Renu Rai (1 month ago)
Why no videos on the Huawei Mate 10 Pro dude ?
twent10 (1 month ago)
Loved the honesty & objectivity!
Azdrawee (1 month ago)
"Hey Google"? :-D
yuki iida (1 month ago)
What wall paper are you using?
Darnell H (1 month ago)
I remember seeing so many people walking around NYC with severely over priced Beats Bluetooth headphones. Then Apple acquires Beats, removes the 3.5mm headphone jack that seemed to be trending it's way into extinction, and everyone got all offended. Personally I appreciate the removal of the 3.5mm headphone jack by Apple and now Google. I think it played a significant part in the emergence of quality, affordable bluetooth headphones. Great review by the way. 👍🏾👍🏾
Kenyon Stevens (1 month ago)
Pixel 2 or XL?? I currently have a iPhone 6s Plus but I prefer a smaller phone. Is the XL as big as the iPhone plus lineup?
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Kenyon Stevens it's about the same or slightly bigger than the Plus. Get the Pixel 2
Buddha k (1 month ago)
1:34 took a piss on a $800 phone.
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Buddha k lol
Sosodeflol (1 month ago)
..
If only this phone could charge as fast as the op5... And had its face unlock. That's all that's keeping me from buying it
RITESH PATIL (1 month ago)
should i buy pixel 2 for 620$ or oneplus 5t
RITESH PATIL (30 days ago)
s8 is expensive though i have made my decision going for oneplus5t
Lantus (30 days ago)
RITESH PATIL I have the same problem. I'm thinking of the s8 too.
Aiden Vu (1 month ago)
This honest review just got you 1 more subscriber :) Keep up the good work!
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Aiden Vu Thanks Aiden : )
David Joshua Hernandez (1 month ago)
My standby sucks up my battery!
Does the dongle really have a DAC? Can you confirm this with a link or statement? I have been having problems with the dongle and my B&W P7s. Ugh
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Xander Legaspi Photography yes it does just do a Google search : ) the dac is not as good as the one in the LG v30 but better than the normal dacs they put in most phones
Brian West (1 month ago)
Color shift is normal on OLED but it's not normal on the Pixel 2 XL. It's a very extreme color shift on the 2 XL. My Pixel XL doesn't do that. My 6p doesn't do that. My Axon 7 doesn't do that and so on and so on. It is normal but not to that extreme and that's the reason that the 2 XL isn't worth the money. The display is the MAIN thing about a phone. If it's bad then the whole thing is ruined in my opinion. I may pick up the Pixel 2 when I find it at a price it's really worth, $400, but I won't be getting the 2 XL.
eazibaby eaZI (1 month ago)
Lol the blues shift is on all OLED! iPhone does it as much as the xl2. It's not a problem, it's the technology. The problem is reviewers that don't know the technology as they say! I compared devices side by side in the store. Which was a good idea because these reviewers would have had me ordering a note 8, v30 or something. I left with the xl2
mnguyea (1 month ago)
Frankly, wireless charging is nice to have but I've learned to live without it now since the Nexus phone ditched it awhile ago and the constant complain of no SD blah blah blah....I got the 128 gb is more than enough storage. The Pixel 2 XL is the best solid phone running pure Android and has one of the best camera around. Yeah, I guess the screen could be better but with the new fixes the screen is perfectly fine. Only time it might matter is sharing something but then as it sits flat on my desk and check notifications, there is barely a tint on it when I look.
Sumukha Namchoom (1 month ago)
no you did not set up all our phones its okay google not hey google .. duh lphone user
Sumukha Namchoom (1 month ago)
Kevin M. hey google is not available in my country but yeah it works
Kevin M. (1 month ago)
Sumukha Namchoom Well hopefully you learned something new... that "Hey Google" also activates the Assistant on all Pixels, Google homes, and and just about all google Assistant devices with updated software
Sumukha Namchoom (1 month ago)
Kevin M. its okay google. I never heard anybody saying hey google
Kevin M. (1 month ago)
Sumukha Namchoom you tried to correct him yet your actually wrong... It's both "Hey Google" or "OK Google"
Cristiano Di Marco (1 month ago)
I love very much my pixel 2 XL. Its the best Android experience that i've ever had. No Samsung microlag, no cheap battery, and a incredible camera. I dont care for the wireless charging because with my last Samsung s7 Edge i've never use that. I'm very Happy for my choice, also because i think this is the best choice for who is coming from iOs.
Chaos Theory (1 month ago)
The camera is the USP of this phone ❤
Venkatesh K (1 month ago)
The video all indians needed right now... Amazing offers coming up for pixel 2... Thanks man fr such on point video
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Venkatesh K you're very welcome Venkatesh!
Madeline Gee (1 month ago)
I just found you on YouTube and I love you... Well your videos!!! Lol Great review!! I purchase the iPhone X and I'm going to return it... because of all the reasons your returning it lol
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Madeline Gee Thanks Madeline : ) I'm glad you enjoyed it !
Shawn G (1 month ago)
I've had my Pixel 2 for over a month now and it's the best device/experience I've had on a smartphone. Stupid fast, phenomenal camera, intelligent software, Google AI is fucking fantastic. Not missing the iOS experience AT ALL. Came from a 6S Plus and have no regrets! Love this device and look forward to updates as they come!😁
Carlos Flores (1 month ago)
That's how a review should be. After 60 days not after 2 hours or two weeks!! Pixel XL 2 is a pretty sweet ass phone
Dru 1 (1 month ago)
The price that they’re selling it at, there should be zero display issues
J Fike (17 days ago)
had it not be for the techno geek reviews, and the haters....there would not be a display issue. there are settings in display-advanced change to how you like it. simple
Allison Jack (1 month ago)
same goes for the iphone x
avatariors12345 (1 month ago)
Dru 1 the HtC u11+ would’ve been the Pixel 2 XL if google didn’t change it’s mind. shame...
Bill Buffet (1 month ago)
True
Mega Boy (1 month ago)
Another awesome review Matt!! Both of these are great smartphones. I'm glad these phone specifically the 2 XL & it's display issues have been corrected. I've been checking them out back and forth in person, even my older cousin just upgraded to the 2 XL & the blue shift doesn't really both us that much. Love that both have front facing speakers, which I hope next year on the 3rd generations, they keep the speakers while trying to minimize the besels more which maybe one day, other big brands would adopt. The design to me (the back), I really like since it does differentiate itself from the rest of the crowd that now have the usual all glass or aluminum slab. Who know's maybe next time, they'll try by reducing the textured metal & use ceramic. I'd be great if the metal frame was chamfered to give an easier grip. Thanks Matt. =)
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
+Joseph Canals thanks man! And you're very welcome !
Abdo Daccache (1 month ago)
U said that mate 10 pro is ur daily driver so why wasn't the pixel 2 xl? How much is ur SOT with that mate 10 pro? And how do u compare the camera quality between those 2? Thanks and great video 👍👍👍
255 Sol (1 month ago)
Getting old in general. It's nothing wrong with that.
255 Sol (1 month ago)
60 days later, but you haven't said anything that could of be reviewed after a week. 2 months and not anything I didn't know already from any other review from "a week" with reviews. Thanks for the opinions.
bilal sajid (1 month ago)
Your studio looks amazing color choice 👍🏻 while your video are really good.
Brianna Marie (1 month ago)
just a side note: all OLED displays have a tint when shifting the display; s8 plus shifts to a warmer tone, which is far less noticeable than the blue shift on the pixel 2 xl. regardless, that, and burn-in are characteristics of OLED displays, P-OLED is new so I am sure we will see improvements from LG in years to come. great video Matt, and it's true the display does not, at least for me interfere with the overall use of the phone. i have yet to give my s8 plus a second look since getting my 2 xl.
Leo (15 days ago)
I fucking hated that warmer tone shift on the s8. I’ll take the blue shift any day
Tyler Weigand (20 days ago)
Mr RC I know, that's a huge reason why I bought it. However, I don't think they're gonna give you replacements because of burn in unless it's really severe. I was only pointing out it can't be disputed that the LG poled display is inferior to amoled screens.
Mr RC (20 days ago)
Tyler Weigand but guess what??? Google handed out a two year warranty on the phone which includes screen issues. Again, the screen problems seem to be centered around perhaps a certain crop. That said, the additional year in warranty is a win win.
Tyler Weigand (21 days ago)
Your points are correct but it's worth noting the display on the 2 XL is simply inferior to modern AMOLED panels. Burn in probably will happen quicker. Viewing angles are worse. Mine has graininess. I'm not saying they're deal breakers, because for me they aren't. It's just... bugging.
Mr RC (25 days ago)
mikldude as already pointed out, this had been blown way out of proportion. I have the panda model (black/white with orange button) and the screen is absolutely beautiful. Mine exhibits no blue shift as early reported and I find that many with this model have reported the same. Of special note, I ordered mine in 10/5 but didn't receive it until 11/24, compared to 2 of my friends who received theirs within 2 short weeks - the black model. They have the blue shift in theirs. Could it be that it was a bad batch? I went to another friend's house yesterday and one of his cousins had the Note 8 and commented on how beautiful my screen looked. There's something to the click bait hype train that a lot of reviewers stirred up.
Jack Barton (1 month ago)
The blue thing is overhyped
Jack Barton (1 month ago)
Watching this on the pixel 2 XL

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.