HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Authority

Nokia 1 Review: Best low-end phone ever?

2783 ratings | 118982 views
Full review & ratings: https://bit.ly/2GWcnay | Buy at Ebay: https://fave.co/2GR5UOe Nokia’s naming strategy is simple, but effective. The higher the number the better the device. At the low-end is the Nokia 1. It is the company’s best attempt at an ultra-affordable Android smartphone. The question is, is it usable? Find out in our Nokia 1 review. Download the Android Authority App: https://andauth.co/aa-app Subscribe to our YouTube channel: https://andauth.co/subscribe ---------------------------------------------------- Stay connected to Android Authority: - http://www.androidauthority.com - http://facebook.com/androidauthority/ - http://twitter.com/androidauth/ - http://instagram.com/androidauthority/ - https://snapchat.com/add/androidauth - http://google.com/+androidauthority Follow the Team: Josh Vergara: https://twitter.com/jvtechtea Joe Hindy: https://twitter.com/ThatJoeHindy Lanh Nguyen: https://twitter.com/LanhNguyenFilms Jayce Broda: https://twitter.com/jaycebroda Gary Sims: https://twitter.com/garysims Kris Carlon: https://twitter.com/kriscarlon Nirave Gondhia: https://twitter.com/nirave David Imel: https://twitter.com/durvidimel Bailey Stein: https://twitter.com/baileystein1


Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (672)
Rafiq Ally (8 hours ago)
Excellent review. Ten thumbs up
Shadow Rage (5 days ago)
This thing shouda cost 25$ or 50$ at best. 100$ for this soapbox is a steal.
komunis curi tanah (5 days ago)
Security updates get my eyes on this brand
tech owner (9 days ago)
there is phones way way way better than it there is galaxy j3 2016 it's $150 and have great camera for this price in j320h version it's have 8 miga bixel back and 5 in front and the pictures it's realy good for this price and you can run gta san andreas and pes 2018 without lag so the proformance it's almost perfect for this price and it's have 8 cores processer 1.5 giga hertz but it's perfect to me and have super amoled screeen i use this phone now i write this from galaxy j320h 2016 if you want buy a phone buy it or buy galaxy j3 2017 it's $179 but it's have 13 migapixel camera in the back with f1.9 which is realy realy realy realy perfect and have a front camera 5 migapixel and it's come with android 7.0 and maybe he got oreo and you can see the full specs in samsung website if you need because im realy take a lot time write this
Amarillo Burgess (10 days ago)
this is a review
Random Reviews (12 days ago)
Yet it is twice as much expensive than Alcatel pixi 3 or 4! Why would someone even bother to buy this crap. A moto g3 or 4 play would be 100 times better at similar price point!
João Luís (12 days ago)
Ship this one to Brasil! ❤️🔝
Frank Turtle Luck (12 days ago)
Nokia 3? Hahahahaha that thing is also same shit. Go for Xiaomi Redmi 5A if your budget is below $100
Frank Turtle Luck (12 days ago)
Xiaomi Redmi 5A is a little cheaper, has a 2gb of ram, has a 16gb of internal storage/ around 9gb are usable. Has a 430 Snapdragon Processor, a bigger screen with a higher pixel density, an amazing Xiaomi UI9, Android 7.1.1 but with a full version of Apps unlike Gotoshit apps of Oreo Go on your Nokia 1. A very possible update for Android 8/ Oreo. Dual Sim 4G lte with dedicated sd card slots. A bigger battery. A better back and front camera. Led notification. I can still go on. Your Nokia 1 is a Shit. Android Authority was paid by Nokia.
Frank Turtle Luck (12 days ago)
Watching this on my XIAOMI REDMI 5A and it really feels so god damn good.
Frank Turtle Luck (12 days ago)
Xiaomi Redmi 5A is way way better than this.
Fateh Azim (14 days ago)
bro are you stupid? why do you keep saying it doesnt have the high end features? we know. we don't expect them at this price point. rate it based on it's price point.
Aminur Rahman (15 days ago)
It is my favourite phone I like it so much
syed samad (17 days ago)
👏🖒👌👍#Nokia 1❤ 👏🖒👌👍👏🖒👌👍Can you please reply me when #Nokia X ❤ will launch in #India❤ 👏🖒👌👍👏🖒👌👍👏🖒👌👍
Aiden K (19 days ago)
Some people are saying that the Redmi 5A is better, but it is harder to get in the US than the Nokia 1.
Ehtesham Shahzad (20 days ago)
4GB is not enough for an android phone. Doesn't matter if you can move apps to an external SD card.
K Perttula (20 days ago)
Why the native android is with white background, it would be so much easier for eyes with dark theme. Hopefully one can change this, it would probably effect to battery life too.
Fruitarian (21 days ago)
thick bezel low rez display no nfc, no fps or face id, no usb-c single camera only with no4k ois/eis support 1gb of ram only, mtk sux no ip certification - then no buy! 😫😏😝
Gowtham Sarathy (12 days ago)
U want whatever Apple provides at 1000$ at 85$.
Gowtham Sarathy (12 days ago)
Complete hahaa ur comment was.. are u drunk..
Marian Brandes (21 days ago)
There are a lot of better Phones for 20€ more.
Talha YT (23 days ago)
I would rather get nokia 2, its better for just a little more.
Daniel Haikal (23 days ago)
what is IPS LCD ?
MustHaveChannel (25 days ago)
That is a pretty terrible phone. Wouldn't get it even if it was $80. Such low space, low ram, terrible screen, and that olllllllld look, nah...
JAYMIE'S STORYTIMES (25 days ago)
100$?? I think I'd rather bought a used Galaxy S4 or S5 for mint condition on ebay instead.
XSportSeeker (25 days ago)
rofl... this smartphone is a joke when compared to chinese counterparts, sorry Nokia. If you are really willing to pay as little as possible on a smartphone, forget Nokia. You can go either with a Blackview phone, or even a Xiaomi phone, for 100 bucks or less. Let's see how they compare. Xiaomi Redmi 5A - if you don't care about Android Go, because this one comes with MIUI 9. 100 bucks (bit less), 720p 5" screen (HD), 13Mpx back camera and 5Mpx selfie cam, 3000mAh battery (non-removable), aluminum back, dual sim, Snapdragon 425 SoC, 4G (gotta check if your carrier support the proper bands), 2Gb ram, 16Gb internal storage, microSD expansion with two SIMs. The Android version is 7.1 if I'm not mistaken. Blackview A20 - if you really want the Android Go experience. 60 bucks (yes, really), 960x480 5.45" screen (VHS res - also IPS), dual 5Mpx back camera (probably as crappy as Nokia 1) and 2Mpx selfie cam, 3000mAh battery (removable), plastic back, dual sim, Mediatek MTK 6580A SoC, 3G only (again, check the bands), probably the same crappy speakers, 1Gb ram, 8Gb storage. As it's the native Android Go OS, it's also on Oreo. This one is probably closer to the Nokia 1, but almost half the price. Usual trappings, which probably also applies to the Nokia 1 - no support for OtG, the GPS is aGPS, Bluetooth is usually some older version like 4.0 (no high quality audio), slow microUSB charger, weaker SoCs (though the chinese options are all quadcore). Nokia has me interested in their Android One phone... I think it was the Nokia 5 or 7. But that's mostly because of Android One. Because I learned that the Xiaomi Mi A1 Android One updates still goes through Xiaomi instead of coming directly from Google.
Daniel Handika (26 days ago)
the funny thing is, removable back is considered as a feature now
M1 R1 (27 days ago)
how much can it possibly cost to add 1 more GB of ram ??????
Robert Kubrick (28 days ago)
In a word, Xiaomi. You can get more for your money.
Syazwan Wan (29 days ago)
1gb ram is too small
Myrmeko Me (29 days ago)
Blackview A20 costs only 50$ and has Android 8.0 GO, dual 5MP+0.3MP cameras on the back, 2MP on the front, 480P 18:9 display and a 3000mAh battery. The downsides are: lower end 32-bit SoC and the lack of IP52 dust and rain resistance. So... Higher specs/price and no 18:9, or lower specs/price and 18:9?
Felipe (29 days ago)
Great video I have a question wondered if you could test and let me know. So with normal google assistant of normal google app u can scan to identify songs or music can you still do this with assistant go and Google go app or has googles sound identifier been removed ?
Kyle White (29 days ago)
With how much bezel there is they coulda put off screen buttons
Unknown Blogger (29 days ago)
So, is this or Redmi 5A. That's a no-brainer.
Đăng Pattrick (1 month ago)
*Brilliant*
PizzaHunter _24 (1 month ago)
THICC BEZELS!!
loendsti (1 month ago)
i can assure you, it wont sell well in SE asia. we can get HD display and a SD 430 phone if we add a little more money
DooMMasteR (1 month ago)
But it is not made by Nokia, it is HMD, a Chinese company, though very nice phones so far.
Ivo Max (1 month ago)
Redmi Note 5a, cost 95USD. And is 2gb/16gb, Aluminium, Great Camera. 5,5".
Czardaster TM (1 month ago)
3:31 In My Opinion Why U Should Read In Strong Sunlight If This Phone Has Low Resolution??
Deep (1 month ago)
You can better than this. At least in India. Look around plenty of Chinese phone to choose from.
Jude Lopez (1 month ago)
This guy looks like Lew’s dad or an older version 😂
Ranadeep Kundu (1 month ago)
Watching this video on my secondary phone Redmi 4 which costs US$ 105.71. Still has a 720p screen, SD 435 (not some SD 200 series SoC), 4000mah battery, very tactile buttons, fingerprint scanner, a decent camera etc etc. Only con is it runs on Android Nougat and not on Oreo, but still MIUI 9 is quite smooth. IMO 100 dollars can buy you a really decent smartphone, which can be usable in 2018.
Normal Person (1 month ago)
Lol in mah country it's like 60--80$
Bishal karn (1 month ago)
Kinda reminded me of my Samsung galaxy y but with front camera and new os.
Kevin The Dork Slayer (1 month ago)
The editing is pissing me off
mental_ (1 month ago)
Used is the only way to go at this price. you can get many times more phone for your money if you can find a good deal.
Sean Beasley (1 month ago)
Reviewer is cute af
InSight Show (1 month ago)
100 bucks.. not impressed. i remember the lumia 435 which was available for 30-50$ with a 720p screen.
gtx (1 month ago)
This phone would have been worth it 3years ago
Parsi Pax (1 month ago)
I bought a Mi 4 for $100 USD and with a custom rom, it's running Oreo 8.1 with no bugs and is waaaay better in specs! (let aside the steel frame)
mahmoud ahmed (1 month ago)
Which is better dir Nokia 1 or Nokia 2
Toby Rens (1 month ago)
The headphone jack is a middlefinger to apple.
Paul Bennett (1 month ago)
2011!!! Old!!! Even phones from this year still have removable backs, batteries etc. And not just budget phones. Besides it's the best design in my opinion. Especially with the likes of iphones where you have to pay a premium to some so called engineer to change a bloody battery! ... rant over :)
energyideas (1 month ago)
Doesn't seem available in USA, ebay link doesn't show for sale, google search doesn't show vendors.
The Shadow Man (1 month ago)
Well since it's android it's already overpriced
aLeX (1 month ago)
It has Android Go
Ken Mendoza (1 month ago)
What the hell is a *Nock-ya* Its *No-kee-ah*
username (1 month ago)
Where is the benefit of these comapred with the Nokia 2 which is also $100? It seems much worse.
Dhruv Mahajan (1 month ago)
This phone should be around 40 dollars to be competitive in market
Husain's Channel (1 month ago)
i like thick bezels
GamerTechnico (1 month ago)
Oh WOW.....this Gary sims guy reminds me of lew from unbox therapy (Are they brothers or what ??!!)
Sunil Band (1 month ago)
he sucks so bad at Subway Surfer😂
MrJohn Gaming (1 month ago)
Don't waste money buy Nokia 1, buy redmi 5A also 100 dollar
Valentin (1 month ago)
and then I remember I bought Lenovo K5 new and found good 8.1 Rom on the XDA Forum for less than 100$(60 euro as it was on sale) and 2 hours of my life... This phone is a waste of money. I loved Nokia, I''m still using Nokia Lumia 735(you can get one second hand for 30$ in perfect condition and it would be better than this) as back up phone, but this is sh*t. Or Ulefone S8 Pro, or Xiaomi redmi 5A, or samsung galaxy J3...
karthikeyan M.V (1 month ago)
Just keep a redmi device side by side for this price range .
Andres Perez (1 month ago)
I opened the video thinking he is Lew from unbox therapy! I guess I need new glasses
amnottabs (1 month ago)
I think the Samsung J1 Ace is a better value for your money, a lot snappier than this one a gorgeous amoled display with that exact same resolution and that same camera but a lot faster the only downside will be that said phone only runs Android 5.1 at best so yeah there's a bit of tradeoff
SkriuxasGaming (1 month ago)
My phone costs 40 dollars more and is much better. This is not best value budget smartphone and I will not recommend it for anyone.
richarddr1234 (1 month ago)
Its the Lumia resurrected!
avi007bondster (1 month ago)
no shit... i thought it was UNBOX therapy ...
Oscar Contreras Avila (1 month ago)
Redmi 4A
anurag dhyani (1 month ago)
Hey ! You should start Tech News for increase in number of subscriber.
Jason Booth (1 month ago)
Four hour charge time? Yikes...
ItsLucasYap (1 month ago)
Ended up disappointed after hearing it have 8GB internal storage. 1GB RAM is a bit weak. Xiaomi might have advantage in term of specs, the only con might be the heavy Android skin on Xiaomi.
A. Hussain (1 month ago)
I don't mind bezels...
Sabbir Khan (1 month ago)
Nokia has made a bullcrap.
Branko (1 month ago)
The guy is speaking about bezels... Keep it short and reasonable.
random things (1 month ago)
Thats actually a very bad value for money get a redmi 5 with snapdragon 425 5 inch display 1080/720p video recording Aluminium body 16/32 gigs of internal storage
Captain Izad75 (1 month ago)
How about Samsung Galaxy J2 pro ? Is it worse than Nokia 1 ? ;)
SR FIFA (1 month ago)
It’s a very bad phone for the price the redmi 5 is better with metal construction and 18:9 display for 12 dollars more
med mado266 (1 month ago)
is it support otg ? flash usb
Nikola Jankovic (1 month ago)
Conclusion Don't buy cheap phones if you want a phone for calls only buy those basic phones with keyboards. . If you buy these cheap extremely low-end devices you would probably be frustrated every time you use it because it will lag like hell.. Speaking from experience Now IDK if this applies to Nokia 1 because it uses android go, but I heard that go apps are almost unusable
Mike Smith (1 month ago)
Android Authority really shouldn't push crap like that, there are far far better phones for around the same price coming out of China which only a couple of years back would have been flagship contenders. For around the same money you can get a Cubot X18 with 5.7 inch 18:9 HD display, 3gbs RAM 32gbs internal memory plus a removable back with all the advantages that has. If you're not worried about the back then the Cubot X18 plus is a great buy and beats any of the budget and midrange Nokia's by miles. Don't endorse crap like that, it will give smartphones a bad name.
Warped (1 month ago)
Uhhhh, how much is it? I must have missed it.
Jeong-hun Sin (1 month ago)
For god's sake, do not buy cheap smartphones. Cheap smartphones will never get software updates. That means, you will soon be exposed to all sorts of security threats.
Shaunak Basu (1 month ago)
Xiaomi is following Samsung's way it seems... Every time there is something about any phone revnew - Xiaomi fanboys would jum in to compare while demeaning the phone in review... Reminds me of what Samsung used to do with hTC back when hTC was the king... But I dont know why people just dont get it that for at least 50% of Android users - MiUI simply sucks. If I liked the iPhone UI - I would get an iPhone...
Panino Manino (1 month ago)
Best low-end ever? For what you showed, hell no.This would be the original Moto G, or Moto E.
Georgian Musat (1 month ago)
Are the photos taken in Romania?
Big Boar (1 month ago)
bleh. just add 40 dollars and you get significant better phone like xiaomi redmi 5, huawei honor 7c, and lenovo s5
Bobbyabdi (1 month ago)
REDMI 5A is better than this
heygem (1 month ago)
Hi, does this have an LED notification light?
Saurav Dhandaria (1 month ago)
Get your facts right. It is not cheapest android phone. Maybe in UK but not in India. We have here phone priced as low as 50$
Garganzuul (1 month ago)
Some of those pictures are perfectly decent, compared to the MOAR JPEG stuff posted around the net.
Aditya Sanap (1 month ago)
Have you tried Xiaomi Redmi 5 Gary, If not then please do and make a review
Siddhesh Padhye (1 month ago)
For $100 you can get Xiaomi redmi 5 or redmi 4 , and those are way better than Nokia 1
Konsta Kiviluoma (1 month ago)
Nokia 7 plus review pls
Ian Sosa (1 month ago)
stage mom hypothesis counselor place conversation use attempt million
Rakesh Raja (1 month ago)
Xiaomi redmi 5a costs 100 dollars and it's better than this
ADITHYAN P N (1 month ago)
Compare it with Redmi 5a(spolier :5a>Nokia 1)
MHK iatb (1 month ago)
*A clone phone is faster than it. So,go for XIOMI 4A(SD430) or SAMSUNG J1 ACE (Display, Camera, Sound)* (4A and J1 ACE will have the same price though but is better to make your budget a little bit more to grab Xiomi Note 4/5)
Joel Joseph Reji (1 month ago)
There are cheaper phones with much better specs

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.