HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Microsoft Surface 3 Review: Over 3 Months Later and Windows 10!

909 ratings | 82313 views
The Microsoft Surface 3 is somewhere between a tablet and an Ultrabook. Perfect for those who travel and go to school. Here is my review on the Surface 3 running Windows 10. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (202)
Barry CW (22 days ago)
how to upgrade to windows 10
Cathy Carroll (3 months ago)
I have activated my windows 10 from #plus.google.com/u/0/collection/wWL_IE, it helped me a lot and hope can help you with your windows too.
Someone recomend the Surface 3 2 years later?
SaltyStoinkyDoinky (10 months ago)
mine gets pretty warm
kirrithan sathan (10 months ago)
Can I edit basic video on it
Matthew Moniz (10 months ago)
ya you can probably get away with 1080p footage
Molotov MX (10 months ago)
I love my surface 3 however the type covers DO get very dusty, only issue with mine. The Bluetooth kind of sucks too  4 stars for the surface
ROGERTECK (10 months ago)
Finally an Honest Review, Thank you!
Matthew Moniz (10 months ago)
You're welcome! = )
Steve Michael (11 months ago)
I've had the 4 gig ram version for about 4 months now. very happy with it I must say. perfect device for me. I use it for working from home regularly. I also use it as a tablet in tablet mode equally regularly. best of both worlds. performance is very good with full Windows under the hood. battery life is OK. depends on what you are doing. overall very good purchase. I got a great deal for it too - from eBay - boxed (128 gig) and type cover included for under £400.
Awkn Star (1 year ago)
For $365 I bought a used mint condition Microsoft Surface Pro 3 (i5 cpu) with Windows 10. Love it, but you need to watch a dozen videos to learn Windows 10 tips, tricks, gestures, etc. It's a zillion times better than anything apple has or android, assuming you know the Windows 10 gestures etc. Apple is like being handcuffed-- limited options. Android is limited & slower. Older Windows used to get people in trouble with all the options, but finally Windows 10 still has all the options but is safe as well. Love Windows. :) I've been a software engineer since the beginning of time.
Patricia Fernandez (1 year ago)
Surface 3, iPad Air 2, or yoga book
Apple Juice - (1 year ago)
I got one 2GB 60GBHD & Love It Other Than Ram I Paid $250 for Everything
PyroProtocol (1 year ago)
has anyone that has owned and used one of these for quite a while noticed any issues with charging?
PyroProtocol (1 year ago)
let's begin gaming I don't have one. but I am planning on purchasing one and am researching out potential issues.
let's begin gaming (1 year ago)
PyroProtocol did you factory reset it
PyroProtocol (1 year ago)
but nothing with it refusing to charge when it is plugged in? I am fine with slow charging as long as it actually charges.
let's begin gaming (1 year ago)
PyroProtocol yeah it charges very slowly but that is a known issue in the tech world
Luke (1 year ago)
Can you install programs on this? Such as Chrome etc.
Luke (1 year ago)
Thanks!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+LNM AK Yup! It's running a full version of Windows 10
Shadelife Plays (1 year ago)
I'm totally an apple user, but I bought this machine in addition to my iPad last week because it's just an awesome product. Very handy to have a tablet with full os support.
Susan Bainbridge (1 year ago)
I ordered one this morning and I will probably receive it either tomorrow or Friday. I am a university student and need to use Microsoft Office a lot, which is why I ordered this one instead of another Samsung Galaxy tablet. I have also ordered the Surface Pen. From the reviews I have read (both on Microsoft's website and Littlewoods website) and this video, it looks as though I have made the right choice. I haven't ordered the typecover though. I will mainly use it for quick notes and checking emails and social media. Would it be worth ordering the typecover?
Fikremariam Melkeneh (1 year ago)
can i install any .exe files like a lap top on this? pls help Matthew
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Yup! It's running a full version of Windows 10!
Just Jimmy (1 year ago)
i just got one for my birthday
geekboy321 (1 year ago)
Kool Kidz Vidz so how do you like it
Just Jimmy (1 year ago)
I actually haven’t got it yet, my granddad doesn't want to put it in the mail for me so I have to go pick it up. unfortunately he lives overseas though, so I have to pick it up in august.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Nice! Congrats, how do you like it?
Stephanie Emmiline (1 year ago)
Love mne and you can use any Bluetooth keyboard. It doesn't have to be the one made for the device. I use a second hand apple Bluetooth KB and it works perfectly (only paid $40 for it!). Love my surface 3 and that's from an apple user!
Hayrii Kaya (1 year ago)
Another feature that is unique for Surface 3 over other Surface versions, is Micro USB charging port. That makes it a real portable device. You don't have to find wall plug to charge it, just you can use a Powerbank.
Neil Armstrong (1 year ago)
What annoys me most about reviews of the surface 3 is the price comparisons to an iPad. The S3 is pretty much the same price but every reviewer always adds in the cost of the kb and pen and compares the 4GB model to the base iPad. These are additional accessories. I've had the S3 for a few months now without either add on and am more than happy with it. I use a cheap Bluetooth kb and mouse with it every day. You are getting a fully functional OS in a compact form factor with this tablet instead of a hampered mobile OS that forces you rely on the Apple ecosystem. While I have no issues with iPad for consumption, if someone is looking for a device that allows content creation and consumption for the same price as an iPad, they can't go wrong with the Surface 3.
Hayrii Kaya (1 year ago)
+ Neil Armstrong You are absolutely right, I bought just Surface 3 recently, and using my wireless keyboard with it. And also I am not an artist therefore I don't need a pen currently, the pen is needed if you need so much sketching or handwriting. I just need a really portable mini full Windows device and Surface 3 is the best option. It's the most portable full windows because it can be charged with a Micro USB cable connected to a powerbank or any USB port.
BigChap J (1 year ago)
"The third position is pretty much useless." I take it you don't use the Surface Pen much... That third position is best used for drawing.
arthurhjorth (1 year ago)
Thanks for a sharing this review. So many reviews here just focus on all the super awesome features and never talk about the trade offs. This was genuinely useful and informative.
sixstringsh00ter (1 year ago)
This is the third Surface 3 review that I've seen and again the review misses a crucial point - is the Surface 3 a tablet, or is it a laptop that looks like a tablet? Does it have an on screen keyboard? Does it work well without the Type Cover? Why do I want to buy this as opposed to a cheap light weight laptop? How does it function as a tablet comparing to an iPad?
Bruce Edwards (1 year ago)
it's designed to replace the laptop and tablet
bizmonkey007 (1 year ago)
You're right. Reviewers don't really address any of those issues. Tech reviews tend to be a vanilla explanation of features with concerns about the price with a qualifier and a caveat to wrap it up: "If you like this, this would be for you but..."
Crusherbad64 (1 year ago)
I'm in the US but I got mine at Costco for $549. Its the 4GB 128GB model with the pen and type cover.
Serena (7 months ago)
What? Really? I NEED TO GO TO COSTCO
sublimeprincebw (1 year ago)
This is the best tablet I have ever owned!
sublimeprincebw (1 year ago)
+Milo Dixon I think it is great especially for getting work done on the go. Office suite is great and you get 365 for one year free. I have the lte version so I also have the option of wireless connection without Wifi which makes conferencing or any other task that requires connectivity possible. This device will fit in your bag without added weight. it is a great investment full windows for the price of an ipad.
Milo Dixon (1 year ago)
+sublimeprincebw I'm considering buy the S3 as a new laptop so that when I commute via train/plane every other week for work I can get work done on the go. Also, notetaking. Would you recommend?
John Ireland (1 year ago)
I like the type covers, but usually I just use it as a tablet and keep a small keyboard in my bag. I have a BT MS Wedge keyboard and BT MS Sculpt mouse, for the heavy productivity.
John Ireland (1 year ago)
can't resist, "most brightest"
Jovane Blagrove (1 year ago)
lol
BigChap J (1 year ago)
Also, SSD Drive. Solid-State Drive Drive.
BigChap J (1 year ago)
Most much brightestest brightly.
Josef Bailey (1 year ago)
Great video .. I'm contemplating on getting the surface 3
Josef Bailey (1 year ago)
Got it thanks
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Josef Bailey thanks Josef! If you an try and get the pro model of it. It will last you longer and it's more powerful.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Josef Bailey thanks Josef! If you an try and get the pro model of it. It will last you longer and it's more powerful.
John Maki (1 year ago)
It has dropped in price, You can now get the Surface 3 (128GB & 4GB Ram Model) with keyboard for $575 ish new. Not bad pricing.
RSG (1 year ago)
does it support data via micro usb using otg cable? i read it used to both charge and data transfer but recent upgrade they removed the data and made charge only to fix charging issue?
markkuit (1 year ago)
Hey, did the ethernet port work?
Hayrii Kaya (1 year ago)
Yes it supports, you can use a OTG adapter and attach a USB disk to Micro USB input. But I think better option is buying a USB 3.0 multiplier, I have just ordered Anker USB 3.0 multiplier with Gigabit Ethernet port, I hope it works with Surface 3.
Gil Morales (1 year ago)
I purchased the 128 GB Model with 4GB of RAM and Windows 10 pre-installed from amazon for only $472!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
That's awesome! How are you liking it so far ?
BlueWolf_CA (1 year ago)
Do you guys know when the Surface 4 is going to come out?
glasssOfOJ (1 year ago)
one of the most brightest?
Jennifer Colquhoun (1 year ago)
I am so happy I got my 2GB Ram/64 GB Storage Surface 3 for $499 today! :) I love how it feels like a an actual PC and not a tablet... so far lol :)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Nice that's awesome! I'm glad you're enjoying it and thanks for watching!
j v (1 year ago)
I really want to like this thing... but I keep hearing about display problems, charging problems, crashing and freezing problems. Is this really all that reliable?
Tiffany Martinez (1 year ago)
Best Buy has a bundle right now, you get the 128 GB version with 4gb ram for $499 and the Type cover for $79 or the 64 Gb for $399 and type cover for $79 not sure for how long. I bought the 128 GB version and love it. I have the iPad Air 2 also but I can't access different websites for work due to Java being needed.
Jennifer Colquhoun (1 year ago)
+Tiffany Martinez that's so lucky! Good Job!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Tiffany Martinez Nice! Sounds like you got a good deal. How are you liking it so far?
Tiffany Martinez (1 year ago)
Also, I need to use the function keys and the keyboard works flawlessly for that.
Chathuranga Rajapaksha (2 years ago)
Are you sure about battery life? Windows 10 battery life is not that good
Princess Luna (1 year ago)
he is shure. I used to own a Surface Pro 2 untill December. In august i switched from 8.1 to 10. And if even Surface Pro 2 got a buff of 1.5 hours, i just can't imagine how better the Surface 3 became in terms of power saving.
Raian Levy (2 years ago)
I own one and it really is great, I got it from eBay with a new type cover and no pen, it was all 585 us dollars so I'm pretty happy with the purchase
nastythomashobbs (2 years ago)
Surface pro 3 is the better purchase than the surface 3. Both are great though.
mohamad qara ali (2 years ago)
Take action guys: use this link ...before they runs out !! Links Here!! --- https://www.facebook.com/School-Of-Dragons-Unlimited-Gems-Coins-Cheat-1717369661826289/?pidid=c1f4348c-0292-49f6-8025-49f5046f16de === !! Guides placed right here commonly working. Just got that 9999999 Credits Microsoft Surface 3 Review: Over 3 Months Later and Windows 10!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
I agree it is but obviously costs more.
Crss Dav (2 years ago)
Hi! few months ago I bought a Surface pro 3, everything was just perfect until 2 hours ago. I tried to turn it on but the screen froze at the Surface logo... it's still like that!!!! please HELP!!!!!!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Crss Dav Sorry to hear that! Try holding the power button for a long time until it turns off. Let me know if that works.
Vanu Infiltrator (2 years ago)
It's 1920 x 1080, not 1920 x 1280.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Infiltrator Hey no worries = ) I would question it too! Thanks again for watching!
Vanu Infiltrator (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz Huh, looks like you're right lol My bad. 
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Hey thanks for watching but The Surface 3 has a 1920 X 1280 screen. Not 1080. I had to look at the spec sheet twice to make sure when I did the review lol. Here's the specs from the Microsoft site: 10.8” display Resolution: 1920 x 1280 (214 PPI) Aspect Ratio: 3:2 Touch: 10 point multi-touch
Mahadi Hasan (2 years ago)
the device is awesome but not availeable for all for its expencive cost
Mahadi Hasan (2 years ago)
the device is awesome but not availeable for all for its expencive cost
TSK0106 (2 years ago)
Thanks for the video! I wanna ask if i can use it like the iPad that i do not need to turn off. I mean can i just cover the mon with keyboard pad and dont turn it off?(does the mon turn off automatically when covered with the keyboard pad?) Will it hurt the sutface 3? Thank you!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Yup you can just cover it up with the type cover and it will go into sleep mode. It won't damage it
gyice (2 years ago)
I find it interesting that Windows had to basically revise the Hardware side of it Product delivery by bringing some models inhouse in order to stay competitive. They were late to the game like so many Big corporations are lately but with Windows 10 and the new Surface they may of just saved their Brand from extinction.
salish ps (2 years ago)
Very nice and honest review
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Thank You!
Buntalan Lucu (2 years ago)
so is this a good replacement for my ipad 4th gen ? if i bought surface 3 , i wont be buying the crappy overpriced keyboard.. the pen maybe , but certainly not that keyboard..
Andre Lubke (2 years ago)
+Buntalan Lucu: You can think the keyboard is overprized, but it is certainly not crappy. The keyboard with trackpad gets very good reviews. Also it is backlit.It is also much cheaper than the keyboard(cover?) with the IPad Pro (which is not backlit and has no trackpad).
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
If you're buying it to use it as just a tablet then stick with an iPad. If you're buying it with a keyboard to get some work done then by the surface
Dee Heyrosa (2 years ago)
i love my surface 3 with windows 10 but i am suffering a headaches now can u please help me sir? my surface 3 is not charging ,well this is exactly what happened: if i plugged in the charger the battery will run 3 to 4times but after that it will say Not charging,now my surface 3 is battery empty.and still not chrging please help me! please! thank you!.
Dee Heyrosa (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz i think so sir, my friend bought this last May 2015 in US i am here In Philippines :(
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Is it sill under warranty ?
JakeJLF (2 years ago)
How is your battery life better on 10? Mine isn't
Gavin Vales (2 years ago)
you're probably the only tech reviewer I've liked, nice vid :) subscribed.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Thanks Gavin! I really appreciate the awesome compliment. That means a lot. Welcome to the channel! :)
Ryan Landvatter (2 years ago)
Nice Video.  I got the standard surface 3 with 2 gigs of ram and 64 gig harddrive.  I got my through at&t.  My question is what cases and screen protectors you recommend?
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Ryan Landvatter Thanks Ryan! = ) I don't really use a case to be honest. The Type Cover protects the front and If I travel with it, I put it in my laptop bag. Maybe someone in the comments can suggestion a good one for you. Thanks for watching = )
MrElectrifyer (1 year ago)
Why do you criticize the price of the Surface keyboard? Can you point out ANY cheaper competing tablet's keyboard accessory with built-in trackpad (with gesture support), back-lit keys AND ability to integrate with the tablet (instead of being a separate battery to worry about), which can act like a cover for the tablet's screen or a base for supporting the tablet (in presentation mode)? At the same time, weighing under 1lb. So far, the closest one I've come across is the ZAGG PROfolio+ (bit. ly/1ptdrqp) for the iPad; which lacks a trackpad ('cause iOS doesn't support mouse input), is yet another battery to worry about AND costs the same as the Surface's Type Cover ($130 USD). Regarding including it in the package, if that had happened, you'd start reading tons of comments/headlines saying it should have been $130 USD cheaper 'cause they don't need the keyboard, or Microsoft doesn't believe in the tablet functionality, so they included a keyboard. People will always find something to whine about. Microsoft's decision to keep it separate is less damaging to the image of the Surface IMO. That's not even taking into consideration the fact that other competing tablets don't come with a keyboard. If you need it to come with the keyboard, simply add the Surface to your shopping cart, add the keyboard, complete the transaction, and bingo! The Surface comes with the keyboard...it's no rocket science. Regarding recommending it, given the facts that it's a complete and practical 3-in-1 device (Tablet, Digitizer Drawing Board, and Laptop in 1), it's priced similar to an iPad, it's a complete Tablet offering both the consumption and productive aspects of the tablet form-factor (with it's digitizer pen support, bit. ly/1Hruf8o), and can easily gain access to the millions of applications made for Android via emulators (bit. ly/1M7ypqh), it's easy to recommend it over any bastardized tablet like the iPad...
sixstringsh00ter (1 year ago)
+MrElectrifyer The review makes it look like the $130USD keyboard is a necessary purchase and it functions like a "hidden charge" like check baggage fee or rental car insurance. It should have made a case for with or without the keyboard and let the views decide whether the keyboard is a needed purchase before criticizing the added cost.
Novashadow115 (2 years ago)
It makes sense to not include the keyboard. It allows the user to choose the color they want without Microsoft having to waste cash marketing the different colors im different packaging
Novashadow115 (2 years ago)
It makes sense to not include the keyboard. It allows the user to choose the color they want without Microsoft having to waste cash marketing the different colors im different packaging
Paul Ekwere (2 years ago)
Btw, This is the link to my Windows10 review. Hope you find it insightful http://techforthetechie.blogspot.co.uk/2015/08/windows-10-first-look-surface-pro.html
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Paul Ekwere Great review thanks for sharing!
Paul Ekwere (2 years ago)
Hey man, Really good review. I'm quite intrigued that you mentioned that you're getting better battery utility on Windows10. I've done quite an in depth review of Windows10 and that aside, the primary issue I have with it is that it keeps waking my SurfacePro from sleep. Only way around this is to hibernate. Have you found this to be an issue?
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Paul Ekwere Thanks Paul!! That's interesting, I only had the laptop for a couple of weeks so it's hard for me to say if there was anything keeping it awake, but the tests I did run with Windows 10 provided better battery life. Perhaps, check what services are running and see if there are any that's keeping it awake.
Haiyang Hu (2 years ago)
Totally happy about my SF3, great device))
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Frank Hu It's definitely sweet! Thanks Frank for watching!
Jun-Ray Macairan (2 years ago)
This is just what I needed ! Subscribed !
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Jun-Ray Macairan Nice!!! I'm glad you found it helpful! Welcome to the channel Jun-Ray! = )
TeamRespawn (2 years ago)
I purchased the 4gb ram model for college, and I love this thing! It is great to use for class and taking notes, and the battery lasts literally all day on win 10.
TeamRespawn (2 years ago)
+Nick Meng It's not too bad because I let it charge overnight. But it does take a while due to the micro USB port.
Nick Meng (2 years ago)
+TeamRespawn how is it when you charge the Surface 3. I heard that it's quite slow when you have to charge it.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+TeamRespawn Ya, it's a pretty sweet tablet and perfect for school!
Diogo (2 years ago)
The Surface is a good purchase when the keyboard cover is included for the same price. You can easily get that in back to school bundles. Otherwise I think this tablet is a bit overpriced.
6644pmr (2 years ago)
you have a good point. I just bought it on cyber Monday for $100 off and the type cover included.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Diogo Ferreira I agree! Bundled together it's worth it.
Omega Syndicate (2 years ago)
Great review as always dude. The device is a tad pricy though. But it'd be epic for drawing on.
Omega Syndicate (2 years ago)
Guess so.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Thanks! I agree it's a bit pricey but it's worth it if you need the stylus or prefer something a little lighter than an Ultrabook.
Pinworm X (2 years ago)
Awesome review. Awesome looking family. I'd go pro.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Thanks! I appreciate the comment. I'm with you. I prefer the pro as well.
NOSfusion (2 years ago)
When you put the Surface screen side down on the wood railing I cringed. Great review though! You're on your way up, I can feel it! Subbed.
USE THIS--> https://www.facebook.com/Galaxy-Online-3-Unlimited-Coins-Gems-Energy-Cheat-540685156091612/?pidid=50c5cc57-a724-4e4f-b9bd-8f99bfeeb920 IT IS THE WORKING Galaxy Online 3 Hack TOOL THAT WORKS! ENJOY! Microsoft Surface 3 Review: Over 3 Months Later and Windows 10!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+NOSfusion Thanks!! = ) I really appreciate that. Don't worry im a licensed tech reviewer, don't try these stunts at home! Joking aside, thanks for subbing and taking the time to watch!
TheRealHachiKomatsu (2 years ago)
I'm thinking about getting one of these later on. Thanks for the review!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
You're welcome! Let me know how you like it!
TheMoZone (2 years ago)
Very surprised your don't have more subscribers haha, great review
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+TheMoZone® Thanks! = ) I'm working on it. Hopefully one day!
cartierjoe (2 years ago)
Why wouldn't Microsoft use Nokia's clear black anti glare technology or the Carl Zeiss lens for the camera 😞
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+cartierjoe On a tablet? I don't think it's that important. Most people don't really use the camera on the back of their tablet. In fact the front-facing camera probably gets a lot more use.
john Sherman (2 years ago)
Good review!  Thanks.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
John, my pleasure! Thanks for watching!
Tapha BA (2 years ago)
the only issue i have with this device is the tiny trackpad on the typecover. unless this i actually enjoy it, and now with windows10
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
I agree the track pad is way to small!
Stefan van t Ooster (2 years ago)
How is performance with multiply programs like: edge, 2x word, excel, onenote, pdf files? I'm a student and rater buy the pro but money is the problem at the moment. I can use my laptop for the big work but i rather have everything in one package.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
It's perfect for productivity. You'll have no issues with word, Excel, one note and pdfs
Aizen Sousuke (2 years ago)
Still feels heavy...
Aizen Sousuke (2 years ago)
I thought it was going to feel light like a notebook (as in a real paper notebook). Oh well, it is definitely lighter than a real laptop...
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Aizen Sousuke really!? It's pretty light. In between a tablet and ultrabook.
randy marshole (2 years ago)
What's with every reviewer saying the keyboard should be included, I wonder if they realise the base price would go up and for people who own the keyboard already they would have to buy a new one every time MS brought out a new Surface.
mzxa9988 (2 years ago)
+randy marshole Yeah it's a TABLET, and a tablet basically don't need a keyboaard
Gazziza29 (2 years ago)
I agree, it is too expensive for what's under the hood.  However, with some smart shopping you can get it down to where the price should be.  I was able to get the 4/128gb for $549 at Best Buy in stores.  Add the keyboard cover and pen for $130 and $50.  Best buy has a .EDU coupon for $80 off if you bundle all three.  Combined with recent tax free weekend here in the US, I was able to get the Surface 3, Type Cover, and Pen all for $662 out the door.  I think that is where the Surface 3 bundle should be at price wise, ~$650.
MrElectrifyer (2 years ago)
+Gazziza29 That's where it is in the US (for the 64GB version), blame Canada's degrading currency for the higher price here.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Gazziza29 That's a pretty sweet deal and most definitely worth it at that price. I'm glad you found some sweet deals. Thanks for watching by the way!
Rikardo (2 years ago)
I have a Surface 3 and its really good. Does anyone know how to use fingerprint?? Please let me know.
MrElectrifyer (2 years ago)
+Rikardo There's no fingerprint reader built-in, but remember, it's a non-bastardized OS, Windows 8.1.1/10. You could easily buy and utilize a USB Fingerprint reader, it sure won't be as convenient as a built-in one though. Hopefully Microsoft releases a Type Cover with a built-in fingerprint reader for previous generation Surfaces. The 4th generation is probably going to have an Iris scanner and infrared camera buil-into the webcam, and that methodology sure is much faster for log-in than even a fingerprint, check it out in action with a stand-alone infrared camera (bit. ly/1ISI5hf).
Ricy Bob (2 years ago)
microsoft is probably gonna put it on the surface 4.
Rikardo (2 years ago)
damm.but thanks
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Rikardo The Surface 3 doesn't have a fingerprint reader.
Anthony Hernandez (2 years ago)
not worth the money
Anthony Hernandez (2 years ago)
I almost took what you wrote the wrong way lol I think it should be around 600-700
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Tony H It is a little expensive. Too bad!
yahya salem (2 years ago)
i want to ask about the time of charging , how long does it take to complete charging of surface 3 ? and what is the ability to use powr bank ?
yahya salem (2 years ago)
what is the best power bank is suitable for microsoft surface  ? 
yahya salem (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz thanks for your reply . your video is Great and your answer is so good .
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+yahya salem Thats Yahya for watching and subscribing. To answer questions, the surface 3 takes about 3 hours to charge from 0-100%. You can use a power bank, just make sure to use the surface cable and that the Powerbank supports 5V 2.1A. Most new powerbanks come with 2 ports and 1 of them is usually 2.1A. Let me know if you have any other questions! = )
Presley Purcell (2 years ago)
awesome review mate, the others are like 20+ mins so yours was much more appealing and covered it all.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Thanks Presley! Damn 20 mins that's just insane!
NothingButTech88 (2 years ago)
Definitely good for students who need a note taker and a machine to write papers on. Awesome review.
NothingButTech88 (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz I agree. If they lowered the cost more people would definitely buy it.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Most definitely! Just wish it was a little cheaper. Thanks for watching J.
capsven (2 years ago)
this was really helpful. thanks for the effort.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+capsven Awesome! I'm glad it was helpful! Thanks for watching = )
T. Frank (2 years ago)
Nice work!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Thanks :)
Turulcky (2 years ago)
I really enjoy your videos and thanks for the content. Also, I would honestly recommend that you change the noisy audio from your intros (logo)  No hate. Thanks :)
Turulcky (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz jejeje. Well I'd like EDM. (You can put an other genre if you like) as long as it's smooth I'm cool. Try to make sure everyone will like it or at least doesn't bothers. Thanks :)
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
Omg that's my grandmother and grandfather's wedding song! I'm joking. I hate it too. I need to find good audio. Any suggestions?
The19LAUNCH (2 years ago)
another good video. keep it up
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+The19LAUNCH Thanks!! And thanks for taking the time to watch it!
For $900+ dollars one could get the asus zenbook or other similar ultrabooks, If the price came down yea it would be nice but right now I doubt I'd buy one. Great review as always Matt
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+ThisIsAPrettyLongUserNameWhyTheFuckWouldHeDoThatSoThatEveryoneWouldThumbsUpIt Thanks ! I appreciate it!
Jakelegofilms (2 years ago)
Great video. So glad to hear the battery life is better!
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Jakelegofilms Thanks Jake! The battery life is better on most devices that run Windows 10. Have you had a chance to try it out?
Rick Liang (2 years ago)
Pretty much for students/business/travel use, period.
Nsmwhacaap Nppdpufbr (1 year ago)
A few days ago, i got a windows 10 key from one page: # http://www.instructables.com/id/100-Windows-10-Activator-Here/. it provide 100% working after i used.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Rick Liang Yup, pretty much = )
Tomer Koren (2 years ago)
Greate review! We don't get enough Surface reviews on other tech channels. Your videos are great, not too long and to the point. Keep it up.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Tomer Koren Thanks Tomer!
Please do an update video on Windows on 10 on the XPS 13. I would really appreciate it as I'm planning to buy it soon.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Nicholas Luca Ricciardi Hi Nicholas, I don't have the XPS 13 on me anymore, but I've heard that the battery life has gotten even better with the upgrade to Windows 10
M Afaq (2 years ago)
Your videos are amazing and they have the best quality. Good job.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Mohammad Afaq Thanks Mohammad! I appreciate you're continued support = )
Mexx (2 years ago)
I own the pro 3 since the release, and I love it. I think this is a good step down for people that are not power users.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Mexx de zeeuw I love the Pro 3! Awesome design, runs well and I'd take one over a MacBook Air any day. I agree it's a good option if you're looking for an Ultrabook. Thanks for the support as always = )
Sithhy (2 years ago)
I found you yesterday & I'm happy that I subscribed to you *:D*
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Skitty Cool! Well welcome to the channel = ) Thanks for watching and the support!
keddy louise (2 years ago)
I dont know why but you are my favorite youtuber
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+TheTechnoNerd Probably because I can pull off wearing a pink shirt. Joking aside, Thanks man, I'm glad you enjoy my videos! = ) I still make tons of mistakes but I'm getting there slowly!
Mr Rishi The Cookie (2 years ago)
I like those new cushions with the circles on them in the back and they are evenly in frame this time.  :D
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Mr Rishi The Cookie Lol, the funny thing is because of your comment in the previous video, I actually made sure they were evenly aligned! haha.. Thanks for watching = )
Canoopsy (2 years ago)
Awesome video! Whereabouts where the outdoor shots filmed?
USE THIS--> https://www.facebook.com/Galaxy-Online-3-Unlimited-Coins-Gems-Energy-Cheat-540685156091612/?pidid=50c5cc57-a724-4e4f-b9bd-8f99bfeeb920 IT IS THE WORKING Galaxy Online 3 Hack TOOL THAT WORKS! ENJOY! Microsoft Surface 3 Review: Over 3 Months Later and Windows 10!
David Jarrett (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz hi matthew nice review I have the surface 3 now for about two weeks I just updated to windows 10 an I love it its fast no lag and the Microsoft office comes in handy I get a lot of work done on it its a  perfect pc tablet I highly recommended it for anyone looking for a new pc but also wanting a tablet
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Christerfa Akuse Nice!! It's a great device. Let me know if you end up getting it. Thanks for watching!
Christerfa Akuse (2 years ago)
+Matthew Moniz you have a beautiful home.loved the review.im thinking of getting this device myself as im in my final year of med school.
Matthew Moniz (2 years ago)
+Canoopsy Thanks !! The outdoor shots were done at my cottage, which is on Lake Manitouwabing (Mckellar)

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.