HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Moto G5 Review: Is It Still the Best Budget Phone!?

522 ratings | 26858 views
The Moto G5 is thin, light, has a good display and one of the cheaper smartphones you can buy today. It offers good battery life, a good camera all for an affordable price point. Watch for the full review! Check it out here on Amazon: Moto G5: http://geni.us/d0A1 Moto G5 Plus: http://geni.us/kVJScIu Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (94)
Niki P Vaghela (6 days ago)
My G4 has been having issues, so I'll get it replaced - probably will end up being the G5 😥 Loved this video!!
Wild Heart (8 days ago)
Ta for the review, always interesting and informative. One quibble. Micro USB may well be "archaic," but you could, at least, with a workaround, sync the phone to iTunes and a Car Stereo controlling it via the Head Unit. I could do the first but not the latter with 2 USB type C phones I tried. I'm sure there is some answer to this, but I've yet to find it, which is one of the (few) reasons I've stuck with iOS..
Eye Open (1 month ago)
Great phone. I have the 3gb ram version and it's smooth to use with a great camera. Only downside I found was removing the back, found it awkward due to biting my nails. Had to use a blunt knife and so it got scratched which annoyed me.
AMRITA SAHA THAKUR (1 month ago)
Back cover is good for smartphones,please tell me
Kataru Chitraketh (2 months ago)
There is only 1 version available 3GB RAM and 16GB ROM and it does have gorilla glass
newfnshow031 (2 months ago)
Only thing that's trash is moto only supports 1 major os update for each device
Ather (2 months ago)
Does the MOTO G5 work on Freedom mobile?
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
Yup!
Jack Mac (2 months ago)
Good review cutie!
A Far (3 months ago)
isn't this made by Lenovo though...since they bought the Moto brand?
Tamás Nagy (4 months ago)
Who gives a shit about the type c USB really....
Deathstroke 87 (1 month ago)
Tamás Nagy everybody
Social Work (4 months ago)
Which is the best this or xiaomi 4x
Rick Hawkins (4 months ago)
I have this phone while not the best phone it meets my needs and according to the Lenovo web site will get the update to Oreo unlike many Samsung phones that never seem to get any updates
SpectralMind (4 months ago)
No gorilla glass, just wait for a better offer on another phone
DrummerDude5645 (5 months ago)
In my opinion, the Lg g5 is by far the best budget phone right now. I just bought one used in perfect condition for $150. Best money i spent on a phone in a long time.
ady ady (5 months ago)
very nice review, thank you!
Noah Infinity (5 months ago)
Lol, I'm Watching This On A G5
Frankly Franklyn (5 months ago)
I love mine
Ahmed Sultan (5 months ago)
It's not good no good apps as Lenovo Voice not hi as lenovo I don't advice any one to Bay it
Gravity (5 months ago)
Bought it for my mom, costed 133€. Should be perfect :)
seydah - Minecraft (4 months ago)
Lol in lithuania it costed 203 Euros
ZeeGaming (5 months ago)
i'm planing on maybe getting a G5 (non plus) and in my store that's not selling it for the contract, it sells for about 180-190 euros, dunno how much that is in dollars but is that a good price/should i get it, since i want to upgrade from my Nokia Lumia 532, if it's not a great deal, i'm aiming for under 200 euros maybe somewhere around 150 euros to get somewhat close to stock android experience, since i don't really like to see some skins over stock android, but have some good performance too, like play some games have good sound and such, thanks i advance
ZeeGaming (5 months ago)
I just looked up the price from the store, the exact number what it sells for Euros is 181.74, and for Dollars it is 209.30, so i maybe that helps :D
Sid Osmond (6 months ago)
I thoroughly enjoy your videos and your honesty on the budget devices. Been in the sales end of the industry and it's awesome to hear the good things and not techy jargon comparing them to flag ships. Huge fan of Moto, and love your channel good stuff 👍
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Sid Osmond Thanks Sid!!
Kalash Handoo (6 months ago)
Moto g5 plus is a solid phone
Sam B (6 months ago)
The moto e4 is cheaper and better.
Denis Alessio (4 months ago)
Matthew Moniz What about the E4 Plus?
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Sam B its definitely cheaper but it's not better
dipak pradhan (6 months ago)
any call recording app is not working perfectly how I will record call
gasplut (6 months ago)
The phone will not open -  suddenly it says it doesnot recognise fingerprints and then ask for code to activate fingerprints ( ? ) - i donot know of any code ???. Bought it only two weeks ago and now i cant use it ! - Dont buy it - its crap ! - too cheap hardware perhaps
Anthony Turner (6 months ago)
I'm watching this video on my Moto G 5Plus and this phone is amazing. Amazing battery life, comparable performance to Flagships, good display. I'm starting to wonder why I brought $700 Flagships
Zenos Magha (7 months ago)
It never was the best budget phone, change the title
TechGoat (6 months ago)
yes it was, and still is ... consistently across a large number of different review sites
Pauladin Won (7 months ago)
Hey Matt, firstly great videos. I have a question: I'm also on a Canadian carrier and​ I'm looking to upgrade to a mid-range phone. what would you suggest between the Moto G5, Samsung Galaxy A5, Alcatel Idol 4 or ZTE Axon 7 mini?
Rhialto (7 months ago)
Great review, but I have a question. You said no Gorilla Glass (2:37) while I'm pretty sure this one have Corning Gorilla Glass 3, just like my old G LTE. Can you verify that? CGG3 would be better than ordinary glass. Thanks!
Rhialto (7 months ago)
Well, it turns out it's not Corning Glass even if website currently show this information. Moto_USA replied to me: We understand there may be some contradictory information online and we apologize for the confusion. To set it straight, the Moto G5 has a standard LCD display. We are working to have the website reflect this information as soon as possible. -JM
Nikos Bays (7 months ago)
g5 plus? or Xperia XA1? which one and why?
marina i (7 months ago)
Moto G5 only comes with 16GB internal storage, even the one with 3GB RAM. The Plus model only has 32 GB internal storage. These different options were available at the Moto G4.
Frankly Franklyn (5 months ago)
marina i just by a fast SD card and use it as internal storage.
Roshan R2104 (7 months ago)
can u make a g5 plus video , bro
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
+Roshan R2104 the G5 plus isn't available here in Canada so I doubt I'll be able to grab one
Ron (7 months ago)
Dude you have GOT to review the gigabyte aero 15. Your way of reviewing will be perfect for such a great and new laptop, and it will bring a ton of views. I just really want a quality review of that beautiful thing
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks man! Im really honoured and I'm glad you found my channel = ) More videos on the way!
Ron (7 months ago)
That's awesome man, every new product that comes out I immediately go to your channel to see if you have reviewed it. Your videos and attitude are super awesome and I now watch them mostly for entertainment and less for the tech review :P Thanks a lot for the awesome content!
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks man! = ) I've tried reaching out to Gigabyte but I haven't heard back from them /= I'll keep trying though!
Draven Main xd (7 months ago)
When is the update video of the Acer Aspire V Nitro coming out?
CAP5 (7 months ago)
Hey I'm a gamer that plays in a quiet room in my house and I would like to know which headphones are better, the sennheiser pc 373d or the sennheiser game one headphones, thank you!!!
Randy Sutherland (7 months ago)
Will you review the Acer Helios 300? It's surprisingly cheap for a laptop with a 1060 and it's my choice over the Acer VX 15, at only $100 USD extra for the GTX 1060 instead of only a 1050ti.
Knox Leonard (7 months ago)
I think the Best Budget Dual Cameras Phone is Blackview A9 Pro.
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
+Knox Leonard I've never even heard of it. I will have to look it up
0fUnkn0wn0rigin (7 months ago)
I bought the 16gb model, and it has 3gb of ram. This is the only version of this phone available, besides the plus model in The Netherlands. Upgraded from a moto G (2013). Using it now for two months and absolutely love this phone!
Digital ETech (7 months ago)
Very Nice video the inverted shot of the phone standing made me turn my phone upside down 😂😂😂 awesome one
Mo Dabbas (7 months ago)
at around 300 CAD it's a solid device, but definitely not alone there. Bunch of phones like the Asus Zenfone 3 laser and Blackberry DTEK50 are similarly priced and speced. Motorola make good budget phones. great review as always
cpthornman (7 months ago)
Have the g5 plus. I fucking love this phone. The chop chop for the flashlight is one of the most useful things ever on a smartphone. Every phone should have it.
Fluffy Fuyumi (7 months ago)
It looks like complete shit. The Alcatel Idol One Touch 3 is much better than this garbage, especially in design. Get the fuck out of here with this garbage.
Ryan Tucker (7 months ago)
it's 2g/32g and 4g/64g
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
You're thinking of the Moto G5 Plus. This is just the regular Moto G5. It comes in 2g/16 or 3g/32
Gibran ibang (7 months ago)
zuk z2 is the best budget phone
Russell Bagley (7 months ago)
I've heard problems without overheating with the g4 plus. so I'm happy to have the more efficient chip in it, even if it's slower. Plus I have the GEAR S2 paired so mobile payments is still good! Just got my moto g5 plus today woop!
Aakash Chandra (7 months ago)
0:42 Again, CRAZY GOOD!
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks Aakash!!
Sna (7 months ago)
that upside down b-roll is trippy LOL
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
haha
Nathan Cline (7 months ago)
I've had two G5 Plus and call quality is terrible (and I'm less than 100 ft from Verizon's cell tower). I love everything else about the phone, but I can't have a phone that I can't use as a phone.
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Damn sorry to hear that! This is the regular G5 call quality seems to be fine. Now I'm curious to try the G5 Plus!
ashish dhandharia (7 months ago)
do more reviews.. u r Amazing
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks Ashish! = ) More reviews coming!
Rishabh Patel (7 months ago)
Like MKBHD said, good phones are getting cheap and cheap phones are getting good. This is a solid budget phone!
AliMYB Playz (7 months ago)
Matthew Moniz agreed
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
+Rishabh Patel yup totally! It pretty much now comes down to camera differences!
Ryan Barclay (7 months ago)
still a great phone for battery life but I would have preferred a 3GB Ram across all variants and perhaps better software tweaks as I don't really care too much about the processor at this price
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Same!
ApplepieFTW (7 months ago)
I'm still of the opinion that it's a shame they didn't continue the moto x and g 1st gen. They were insanely succesful, and really all their current phones have competition from all the other cheap, great price/quality brands, which they didn't really have before. But eh, this was a good video nonetheless :D
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks Mr Pie!
Sahil Kumar (7 months ago)
In India we get Redmi 4 (4Gb+64Gb) with Snapdragon 435, and it costs less than Moto G5 3Gb variant. So no longer the best here.
AliMYB Playz (7 months ago)
Matthew Moniz don't they ship products to Canada?
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Ya there's no Xiaomi in North America unfortunately
Brosefv (7 months ago)
how's outdoor visibility
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
It's fine! Obviously not as good as a really bright IPS display or amoled but good enough
Chris Toft (7 months ago)
awsome video!! tho i have never liked Any sorts of moto phones! :) and would it be worth to for the samsung note 8 that comes in september or october?? i have a samsung galaxy a3 2015 model so i am pretty sad...<3
cusai sadaqa (7 months ago)
moto g5 plus vs honor 6x ?? which one plzz answer!!!
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Ya, totally the Note 8 is probably going to be a beast!
Rodrigo Acosta (7 months ago)
This phone is great especially for people who don't care about having the latest and expensive phone. There are people who don't want to sign up for a two year contract or pay much for a new phone.
Mole (6 months ago)
Yes, that is my point and that is reason I still have my Xperia Z3 :)
Mole (6 months ago)
Specs of this phone are as flagship 2-3 years ago...
ShadowHD GamerYT (7 months ago)
I like this phone
Tom Davies (7 months ago)
another great video !
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
Thanks Tom!!
ShadowHD GamerYT (7 months ago)
thank you for the awesome video I never have seen a phone like that I will have to try it you think it's worth it?
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
You're welcome ! = ) If you're on a budget for sure. What are you using now?
Hastr0 Aldner (7 months ago)
Aye 1st comment

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.