HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Police

LG G6 long-term review: Five months later

2462 ratings | 172131 views
The LG G6 is considered by most to be a great, lower-cost alternative to the Galaxy S8, but how well do it hold up five months later? Find out in this video! _____________________________________________________ Want to sponsor the next Android Police video? Get in touch: videosponsor@androidpolice.com. ▶ Circle us on Google+ https://plus.google.com/+AndroidPolice ▶ Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Like us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Subscribe to the RSS feed at http://www.androidpolice.com/feed
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (515)
Cypress Thunder (3 days ago)
He lied i have a canadian lg g6 and it has wireless charging
Darcy Lewis (10 days ago)
You’ve sold me on the g6. Compared this to the s8 and pixel 2, both very tempting but with identical contracts the g6 is 0$ and the s8/pixel 2 are around 600$.
Sammy Salman (11 days ago)
May I ask, which launcher are you using?
Lynda Smith Rippolone (16 days ago)
the phone is a NITEMARE, DO NOT BUY IT, hunk of JUNK !!!!!!!!!!!!
Jonathan reid (18 days ago)
I've just went from v20 to g6 had around 5 days now and tbh i dont see too much difference except for waterproofing but lose removable battery and not as wide as v20 also miss my 2nd screen on v20 still not sure about g6 but hopefully more i use it it will turn me to favour it over my old v20
Tanya Kucey (20 days ago)
Anyone done FB live with the front facing camera? hows the quality if you're not within 1" of the lens?
Isaak Mascorro (22 days ago)
if you really know where to look it can be really cheap and worth it i got it for 240
Chad Mauger (26 days ago)
Double-tap the screen to check notifications without unlocking the phone
Miguel W (27 days ago)
Hey millennial narrator, can you guys find some thesaurus for flagship and nutshell, you all sound like dorks repeting the same phrases.
Sniper Thief (27 days ago)
Would you recommend this phone over the OnePlus 5t
Raj Reddy (28 days ago)
Did he say this is not the best looking smartphone ? Dude it bloody well IS the best looking smartphone. Even better looking than the v30.
Jason Wilde (23 days ago)
Raj Reddy ever heard of an opinion
Jerose Pellejo (29 days ago)
I've got my lg g6 with 64 gb with quad dac...
Jerose Pellejo (20 days ago)
Here at saudi arabia
Tanya Kucey (20 days ago)
where?
Kayoh Silva (30 days ago)
Aparelho lindo ... Porém a câmera é uma nós tá.... Tinha o Nexus 5x troquei... M arrependi ....de longe o 5x é infinitamente superior no quesito câmera
Cihan Erkli (1 month ago)
'Long term review' of a whopping 5 months. Honestly people, who are these guys? Regular people don't switch or buy new phones a few months in and implying that the G6 is an 'old' model now is absolutely a first world problem (with an unhealthy degree of spoiledness)
Phatfatman (1 month ago)
Sprint has the G6 for $270. Is this phone good enough to last a couple of years? Or should I spend a lot more money on a newer android phone?
josh heredia (1 month ago)
The original lg skin on this phone looks too similar to iOS and especially that spotlight search function
Evan Ganske (1 month ago)
My G6 stopped vibrating and fails vibration tests on phone diagnostics apps. Anyone else have this problem?
Francesco Barbieri (1 month ago)
I just got a g6 for 315€, unbelievable how the price has fallen on this thing. Sad for LG, good for me. Most online retailers sell the g6 at ~390-410€ in Italy now.
Francesco Barbieri (21 days ago)
Davide Ghelfi got very lucky on ebay
Davide Ghelfi (23 days ago)
Francesco where did you buy it?
Th3_LoNl3y 1 (1 month ago)
4:56 lol shots fired at apple
clouds5 (1 month ago)
For me personally, best phone of 2017, especially if you're looking for something with good value. What you get for your money is amazing.
Chase Englisbee (2 months ago)
I still love my G6! Wideangel lens has always been a favorite. Some of the camera features are a gimmick however I do find their 360 photo technology works very fast very fluid and produces an excellent 360 image. This phone still impresses with battery life, wireless charging and its durability. Hands down for the price compared to other devices this LG flagship is just that, a flagship and with that said I am happy with my purchase. No regrets.
Hadi Amjad (2 months ago)
Just bought mine for 250. Too bad for those who spent 700+ LOL
Slot1 (24 days ago)
Where did you get it that cheap? Was it used? Cheapest I can find is 400
PrimeMuscle (2 months ago)
This is by far the best smartphone I ever had !!!!!
6yteware .command (2 months ago)
lmao i just upgraded today from a lg g3 to g6 over the v30 cuz of price i like it so far 😊
Gamer 2 (2 months ago)
6yteware .command I am planning to buy one too. But the front facing camera might be a deal breaker for me
Hunter Waswick (2 months ago)
Does it have raise to wake and tap to wake?
Bruno. M (2 months ago)
I'm pretty new to LG phones, but does the G6 have the bootloop problem?
Hitesh Gavini (2 months ago)
Its 18:9,not 8 by 9 at 0.9
theone 43 (2 months ago)
You don't need to press the button to check notifications just double tap the screen
Gal (2 months ago)
One of the best phones I've ever had! Love it
Mambutu O'Malley (2 months ago)
5 months = long-term?! Ok... Also, stop pretending that you actually used this phone for 5 months. You would know about "double tap to wake" if you actually would have used it for one week.
mady bali (3 months ago)
nice phone but i dont like skin phone :)
Jamar Jackson (3 months ago)
how u get that Google tab to the left
Jose (3 months ago)
Mate, you waste time mentioning the not perfectly round corners, but fail to mention the CRAPPIEST selfie camera since at least 2004!!! Get a grip.
Valey (3 months ago)
3hours screen on time?! Bye bye lg g6!
LoadGamePL (3 months ago)
Another half a year and we'll finally gonna see if it's gonna bootloop or they finally fixed it.
naresh ramesh (3 months ago)
I don't think lg ui is similar to stock android..In heavy usage with only mobile data and location turned on im getting nearly 6hrs usage time..Overall its a great phone
random user (3 months ago)
does this phone get image retention? because after erasing my notification bar you could still see the icons in a gray background, i had that issue in the g5 and i don't want it to happen again in my g6
Marion Chito (3 months ago)
I regret buying the G6. Camera performance is not as great compared to S8. Battery performance is not as great from what I heard..
Wrath C (3 months ago)
There are many mixed reviews on it, wait till you have it. Don't let others discourage you by their reviews lol. Plus it looks like he did not use it for that long, since he does not know that double tap turns on lockscreeen to check notification without unlocking the phone XD. Look up LG G6 months latter review from : Booredatwork . com youtube channel. He most likely has used the LG G6 lol.
astigmatik (3 months ago)
Can you explain more? I'm almost buying this phone.
Badal Bora (3 months ago)
Me likes lg g6 a lot!! I feel it is very underrated.. so I'm gonna buy it soon.
Harish VFX (3 months ago)
this guy forget to mention about selfie cam of this mob !!
Rymon Rules (3 months ago)
Guys I wanna buy it so is battery life good?
Wrath C (3 months ago)
Look up LG G6 months latter review from : Booredatwork . com youtube channel. He most likely has used the LG G6 lol. He says it's good.
EmCol (3 months ago)
Dude you could go to the effort of knowing what you're talking about BEFORE doing this video. You can tap the screen to check notifications without using power button. If you dont like the default home screen, LG has THREE built in home screen layout options that you totally ignored, and you just told people to charge the phone overnight which is the WORST advice I've seen in a long time. People, the phone takes maximum 1.5hrs to charge from empty with the stock charger.. DO NOT charge it overnight, you'll only wreck your phone. Lastly, the screen corners are not "sloppy", the LCD itself is manufactured to that shape, which makes it more robust in the event of a drop - this can be seen in the G6 teardown by JerryRigEverything. The corners are curved on a pixel level, not simply cut off by the front glass. If your phone is unlocking slowly, I'm guessing maybe Nova Launcher is having problems? My G6 unlocks every bit as fast as my partners Pixel and the shop demo S8s etc.
XRaptor JESUS (3 months ago)
i love how a heaphone jack is now a feature xD
sukamal sen (3 months ago)
Could you advice me among 3 phones Samsung Galaxy S7 edge, Lg g6, Nokia 8 which is more compact in hand,I mean smaller in Size . ??
PotatoCS (3 months ago)
I'm thinking about it too but since the G6 was released in 2016 I'm worried about it aging badly so I'm going for the s8 or maybe even The mate9. Might even wait for the 10 series coming 16th October not sure. Comments and thoughts are welcome.
roKr55 (3 months ago)
Got this phone for $385 on ebay. Also got 2 year warranty from LG. For that price this phone is a steal. Just upset about how slow the updates are from LG. Was happy with the support for Oneplus One before I got this.
Joel Lee (3 months ago)
Why can't they just wait a couple months before releasing a flagship with SD835? It's the same every year. Very strange...
Larry Smith (3 months ago)
Why in the hell does a reviewer working for Android Police pronounce Android Andrew? Andrew 7.0! Seriously, I want more Andrew content.
Jason Weber (3 months ago)
Long term? I'm still using my 2014 Iphone 6 Plus...
Sophie Shinning (3 months ago)
what about the front cam??
lee zimby (3 months ago)
I just got the lg g6 after smashing my note 5 . the note 5 was the best phone i personally ever owned. And now this g6 and to be honest i just cant like it. I smashed the camera on the back in the first week in my pocket somehow seriously !!!. I have two options as i have insurance with a 200 deductable i can get a brand new lg and trade that phone for an s7 or iphone 6s plus . or just get a new lg g6 and ride it out . any thoughts ????
Ronald Sutherland (3 months ago)
I had the G6 for a week. I love it so far. For the price it a great phone.
Mehul Parekh (3 months ago)
Wallpaper
Bill Sanderson (3 months ago)
you don't have to use the power button to check notifications on the lock screen. 2 knock on the screen to see them. 2 knock again to turn off the display. how can you not be aware of this feature?
Oliver Roberts (3 months ago)
how long will the batter last if I'm a heavy user? I use my Phone a lot in one day ( 15h) I watch a lot of videos, surfs instagram and snapchat a lot, plus I use the phone quite a lot too meaning a lot of screen on time. any g6 users that can tell me what I'll get? I'd love to buy it and battery life is my only concern.
marko milicevic (3 months ago)
Im looking to buy a phone so that i can use it in the next 2-3 yrs (my htc m8 is slowly but surely dying ) , as in my country i cannot get op or pixel, im left with a choice of s8 and g6 (v30 seems too big but idk), so does anyone have any recommendation, which will last me longer and have fewer crashes/lags over time :D thanks
marko milicevic (3 months ago)
Aleksandar Đorđević fala buraz 😁
Aleksandar Đorđević (3 months ago)
marko milicevic Ako kupiš samsung mozes da imas problem sa burn in- om i sa softverom posto je jako nestabilan. lg radi stabilnije sto se softvera tice a nema ni zakrivljeni ekran koji moze da se lako polomi. Ja sam vlasnik lg g5 telefona i vec 14 meseci radi odlicno.
majkofsweden (4 months ago)
How did you get the video to fill the entire display? Thinking about getting this phone but think the black borders around video might bug me, but maybe they are not a problem?
John Lesler Antonio (4 months ago)
Link of the wallpaper pls!
Vales Valet (4 months ago)
I was about to buy it on ebay, but then I remembered the bootloop that occured on my nexus 6p and lg g4, so i got the samsung s7 instead.
André Fagnan (3 months ago)
nexus 6p is Huawei
ricardo gerapusco (4 months ago)
..one of the best smart phone..im using LG..& im gonna upgrade to G6..thanks LG..
Matt N (4 months ago)
double tap screen to see notifications problem solved????
Lucas Nakata (4 months ago)
*wallpaper??*
Luke C. Kim (4 months ago)
Long-term is 5 months? i'm still using my galaxy s5 for 3.5 years
Bryan Dube (4 months ago)
Still regretting i bought a G6 the camera completely sucks but the entire phone functions well.I was using a S7 and you can see the difference btwn the two.#Disappointed
Tanya Kucey (20 days ago)
in what way?
Apache Warrior (4 months ago)
This guy is full of shit lol. The finger print works fast af
Tech Time (2 months ago)
Its not as fast and I issues when the phone is plugged into charger... I had the same issue with my v20
naresh ramesh (3 months ago)
Apache Warrior I'm also g6 user .. Fingerprint is not as fast as competitor
Glenn S (4 months ago)
+Android Police what are you using there for the Google "Pill" widget?
ahmed essam (4 months ago)
S7 edge or lg g6 ?
Jessica (4 months ago)
g6
ahmed essam (4 months ago)
John Pretty but display is better in s7 ??!
John Pretty (4 months ago)
lg
Rob Taylor (4 months ago)
Still very happy with the LG G6 after 3 months! I like the shape of the phone and the large screen size. It's very comfortable to hold (unlike the S8)
Derreck Caldwell (4 months ago)
I'm thinking about getting the LG G6 nice review
HK Leon (4 months ago)
SICK! wallpaper
Chromatic Progress (4 months ago)
This is probably an entirely too random / unrelated question, but...what notebooks are those at 1:04 ? They look really nice.
RAHMAN _ (4 months ago)
Buy iPhone 6s or LG G6
dinesh gupta (2 months ago)
RAHMAN _ LG G6
TheTechPerson (4 months ago)
0:33 LAG
Robert Dabob (4 months ago)
Settings>general>fingerprint and security>usage access deny access to google play services. Seemed to drastically improve my battery life. Phone idle drain specifically. Anyone confirm this?
Ornas Raditya (4 months ago)
i'm considering this phone or S8 for my S6's successor, the G6 is at sweet price spot in my country (around $550 retail, compared to $700 on S8). how about quad DAC?, it seems the review doesn't cover any part on that thing.
Hi im Ish (4 months ago)
US models don't have quad dac....
Pb31218 lyfe (4 months ago)
tutorial for Android skin on G6 pleaseee
Eric Poaps (4 months ago)
How do u 'extend videos to fit display!?'
Marc Montellano (4 months ago)
You're not a heavy user if you only have 3 hours of screen on time guy.
Jonny MacGinty (4 months ago)
I bought my LG G6 2 weeks ago and i love it but has anyone noticed that when writing a text or WhatsApp message and you write the wrong word and when you go to delete the word in one foul swoop (like i was able to do on my crappy S4) it only deletes letter by letter ? which is a pain in the arse
Jonny MacGinty (1 month ago)
Hi, only back from holidays and seeing your message now, thanks I will install it and see how i get on, I'm bored with the stock keyboard now, Cheers !!
Heathaze _ (2 months ago)
Jonny MacGinty I prefer SwiftKey over the LG stock keyboard. The Gboard from Google is also better than the LG.
Oliver Lam (4 months ago)
I enjoy using Lg g6 but the front camera is absolutely disappointing as it works horribly when when the light is weak. :( But I love making Vlog. So, I find the dual camera is pretty useful especially for travel. If you wanna know how I use my LG G6. You can check the video I uploaded on youtube.
NickLAUZ95 (4 months ago)
The snapchat camera is absolute TRASH on the LG G6, especially in low light. My LG G3 snapchat camera was better, for f*ck sakes. Great phone, but such disappointing performance on snapchat, one of the apps I use the most. :/
Isaac Robles (4 months ago)
NickLAUZ95 yes! Snapchat on this phone is horrible!
pr0jectSkyneT (4 months ago)
Bought an international version G6 H870DS for my sister. It suddenly froze on her so she did a restart. It took forever to boot so she tried to restart it again. Would no longer boot. Because of international version, LG would not honor warranty. She's now stuck with a dead phone. This is an international version though so I can't speak for the US versions. Still left a sour taste in my mouth and would never buy LG smart phones again.
Uziah Bhatti (4 months ago)
The best thing is its ergonomic design and has lcd instead of oled.
Bob Brodie (4 months ago)
If you like the LG G6 so much, why aren't you talking about the newest model, the LG G6+? I got mine for $600 US on eBay from a US based re seller, who imports the phones from Hong Kong. No wireless charging, but 128gb of storage and a 32-bit quad hi-fi dac. I put a 128gb micro sd card in mine for an extra $50. The models of the G6+ seem to vary a bit, country to country. I'm using mine on T-Mobile in the US. Because it's not a network locked phone, I do not get wifi calling, or VoLTE. But T-Mobile has fabulous coverage where I live, so those are non issues for me.
Bob Brodie (4 months ago)
That's fine, everyone has their own set of priorities. I ruled out a US version of the phone because to me, 32gb of storage is inadequate. The Hong Kong version of the LG G6+ has 128gb of storage, and a 32-bit quad hifi dac. The US LG G6 does not, and those were deciding factors for me. The sound of of this phone with my Bose ear buds is amazing! T-Mobile's coverage where I live is so good, I do not need to have VoLTE or VoWiFi.
gcd23 (4 months ago)
Bob Brodie FYI, the unlocked US model works flawlessly on TMO with VoLTE and VoWifi both working. If the Imported version worked with TMO fully I would consider it but it doesn't.
Majid Khalid (4 months ago)
Dude I am not going to watch this entire video. All I can say after watching an LG G6 video after a long time is, this phone DOES look better than S8. However, I don't have one right now. Will see how it feels in the hand when I hold it.
xEury19 (4 months ago)
I have this phone. The front facing camera sucks. Other than that, everything else's good. Battery life too. I think the aesthetic of the LG G6 is better than the S8, especially because everything is flushed (no protruding parts).
reid chandler (4 months ago)
Double tap to check notifications without unlocking your home screen. This has been an LG feature since at least the G3
MrJohnjohnToot (4 months ago)
What skin/Launcher are you using
Abdurrahman Ansari (4 months ago)
How did you make non-fitting video fit the entire screen?
Dr. Furter (4 months ago)
G6 is the best phone overall. It should be phone of the year. You will argue that S8 should be number one. However, if you check the price tag, G6 is bang for the buck.
Amber (4 months ago)
"8:9" uhh
erik daddo (4 months ago)
HTC is garbage 😂
Arthur Zakaryan (4 months ago)
For those that can't wait, the G6 is easily one of the best flagships (albeit doesn't have 2017 flagship SoC, the SD835) you can buy right now. Biggest downfall for me with this phone and still is with many Android flagships is battery life. 3 hrs of SoT is unacceptable and won't work for me as a heavy user. For the light to medium user this is a great phone. It's a shame LG doesn't sell an official unlocked US model that will get updates faster than carrier models. IIRC Samsung does sell an official US unlocked S8/S8+.
The Legend34 (4 months ago)
Who uses their phone while it's laying on a table? Lol wtf just pick it up and it's more comfortable!
nips9901 (4 months ago)
Hi. I do. Many do. Don't assume what you find uncomfortable is also uncomfortable for everyone else.
Azim Ayman (4 months ago)
Best phone for its price now maybe hehe
Gregory Myers (4 months ago)
To check notifications without unlocking just double tap the off screen.
Andrew Eaton (4 months ago)
Did he just say near stock experience?? Lol
Death Starts With You (23 days ago)
Not even close to stock but I don't care I don't really like stock android anyway
Andrew Eaton yeah, lg skin over android sucks. Just root it and dump lineage. Its a better combo if u ask me
707Gian (4 months ago)
he probably only used this phone for a couple of days. not 5 months smh
Koon Jay (4 months ago)
got my g6 when ma carrier offered $5 for 2 years which is $120 im happy with it
Koon Jay (4 months ago)
it was for only 2 days like mother's or father's day dun remember which one but just few months back in U.S
Prem Chandrasekhar (4 months ago)
Which one?
Ravi Kumar (4 months ago)
LG's software is the most stable I heard so far. And hope it continues to do so and an added advantage of features
Sam Robinson (4 months ago)
How did you get that search feature to come up when swiping down? Trying on my V20 with stock launcher without success.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.