HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Police

Galaxy S8 long-term review: Four months later

7034 ratings | 801831 views
Thanks to dbrand for supporting the channel: http://dbrand.com/AP It's been a little over 4 months since the Galaxy S8 has been released. Let's see if it still holds up to the hype. Enjoy! ______________________________________________________ Purchase a Galaxy S8: http://www.samsung.com/us/explore/galaxy-s8/buy/ Galaxy S8 Clear View Standing Cover: http://www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/galaxy-s8/accessories/ ______________________________________________________ Want to sponsor the next Android Police video? Get in touch: videosponsor@androidpolice.com. ▶ Circle us on Google+ https://plus.google.com/+AndroidPolice ▶ Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Like us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Subscribe to the RSS feed at http://www.androidpolice.com/feed
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1066)
Rab carn (2 days ago)
How much ram does this phone have?
Life Goes (9 days ago)
I've never been able to make the heart monitor work...it's utterly useless.
UBERAHA (10 days ago)
Dude are you hungry? Sounds like you are drooling.
Which looks gorgeous s8 or s8plus in all aspects....... .....
Swatee Duval (12 days ago)
someone can tell me about s8 slimness......
Swatee Duval (12 days ago)
mauritius.price 29000rp
Jason Weber (17 days ago)
4 months is not long term, only for rich people and you tubers.
Extreme Nepal (18 days ago)
paris london (18 days ago)
Phone is good!!
vertigo (18 days ago)
I'm going to get this once the s9 is available
Nati Bagi (20 days ago)
My s8 is steel fast
Marie-in-DK (25 days ago)
I have numerous smart phones since my first one in 2011. I've never had any problems with glass breaking until Samsung Galaxy S8 - twice! So I've ditched it and gone for at Samsung A8 2018. It's of course nothing like S8 which I miss already but i hope that the more conventional design will prove to be sturdier and less prone to breaking. If I can contain myself I'll wait for the S9 ;-)
Marie-in-DK (25 days ago)
I meant the S10 :-D
yasayaninsan (1 month ago)
Fck this design shit. Is it robust?
TehAlphabit (1 month ago)
The best part of bixby is the custom chats, such as: "Nobody likes you, bixby." "I know, im useless."
nono *_* (1 month ago)
102 degrees how are you alive?!?!
David Cipriano (1 month ago)
I had been using my iPhone 5s for four years since the release date and I was having issues with the battery and the recent iOS software so I had no other choice but to upgrade. I watched a commercial for the new samsung cellphones and i was amazed! I just got my galaxy s8+ like two weeks ago and i am very happy!
Borys Kopeć (1 month ago)
so how it works now?
J Wohl (1 month ago)
S8 available from boost mobile $549 + 15% off for Valentine's day. Very tempting...
Michael Lim (1 month ago)
Wait until Bixby 2.0 comes out. It will blow your mind.
ABO TOYAB (1 month ago)
Can you give me one samsung s8
Sid Bakshi (1 month ago)
Did you really drop your phone or was that bullshit to plug dbarnd?
Taylor Weins (1 month ago)
Subbed, good review!
Rob Wightman (1 month ago)
Bixby is awesome if you use it properly it is different to ok google
David Vo (1 month ago)
I'm looking for a new phone, should I grab the s8+ now or wait a month for the s9+?
Steven Millar (1 month ago)
turn developer mode on make it faster
Agitated_Porcupine (1 month ago)
Muscle memory kicks in with the finger print reader. After u get used to it u basically do it without even noticing.
caramel coffee (1 month ago)
i adore the look of the phone but I'm a clumsy girl and always have a bumper case+tempered glass screen protector on my s6 that has served me very well...am i gonna be able to find ones for the s8
Jennifer Campos (1 month ago)
I still love this phone, I bought one last year and I'm really happy with it! And yeah the battery lasts me from 6 am to 8pm so it does it's job!
MimKoRn (1 month ago)
Tinder 1:41
iPhone 5s still better than sgs8(SuperGiantSucker8)
iHunterGTX (19 days ago)
D0v4kh11nLP (1 month ago)
Performance held up well? CPUs don't get slower. Never. If your phone is slower ir only means you are using too much shit or that the new OS Update is optimized shittily
Mohammed Ali (1 month ago)
I'm about to upgrade to the s8 from a Sony Xperia z3 0.o I'm literally upgrading by 4 generations of smartphones I don't think I'll be able to handle the speed
vinay babu (1 month ago)
Is s8 worthy at that price ???? Battery back-up, performance..?. S8/op5t ... Plz suggest
Call_Me_Sem • (1 month ago)
My first touch on that cellphone, I was electrified
Tylor Angel (1 month ago)
did anyone notice that its 100 freaking degrees
Bhagirathsinh Zala (2 months ago)
A perfect smartphone!
g6 (2 months ago)
Liked the video, and i think ur seriously wrong about Bixby btw :) Bix is far more capable of doing connected tasks using ur phone apps like no other assistants can, by me it can get better than google assistant in a short time, just look more about tha Bix and learn to use it ull see its becoming ireplacebla, it can locate files, send pictures, edit, remember what u did and when things that google assistant wont even be close to provide ;)
trinity Banawich (2 months ago)
Is it worth upgrading from a J5 2017 to this
ItaiD (2 months ago)
I dont know if I should buy the S8 or A8. What are you think? The A8 is 150 USD cheaper.
Jamir DelaCruz (2 months ago)
i have a s7 edge but i really want that infinity display😖
uawsux (2 months ago)
, BSA filing system and color schemes suck the filing system underneath the settings menu sucks the storage capacity and Camera features might be the best but it's not worth $700If you have the Galaxy j7 lollipop and you upgraded to marshmallow and your screen mirroring functionality was deleted this is a crime you can sue Google Android Samsung and your carrier for conspiring together to delete this function for money Google Android wanted to sell their Chromecast Samsung came out with a new phone j7 Prime and your carrier just wants to sell phones myself has sued I'm in court now with Google Android and Samsung T-Mobile has already paid off and settled to my satisfaction with the piece of shit S8 do not purchase the S8 the filing system the color scheme sucks it is a terrible awful phone the S4 so far in my opinion is the best phone as far as filing systems color schemes contrast
mluu510 (2 months ago)
Good phone but the battery life is terrible, even with power save mode
Dave OG Miles (2 months ago)
just hope they thin out the black bezzles a bit more on the s9
Dave OG Miles (2 months ago)
I just got one its soo much better then my iPhone 7 I sold
4 Square Tech Pro (2 months ago)
Dear D-Brand please reduce your prices and then show up it's ridiculous 20$ for a fucking useless sticker on the back that only provides anti touch marks id rather prefer a 40$ case that provides a better protection and prevents phones from dropping. I own an S8+ and i have to say this that the phone is pretty sturdy.
Anthony Finau (2 months ago)
Sorry but 4 months is NOT long term.. I've only had 1 smartphone in my life (Samsung Note 3) & kept it good condition until the battery no longer decided to work. It lasted approx. 4 years and by the last 2 years, performance slowed down significantly - overall, loved it but really disappointed that it turned to shitake mushrooms. I really don't want to get an iPhone coz I believe their products are for suckers-4-marketing gimmicks.... BUT, I do hear they are better for long term as they have less performance issues with their software.. so in the end, at a loss on whether I should get an iPhone or take a risk and get the Samsung NOTE 8
HIGH LIF3 (2 months ago)
Sooo tempted for the s7 edge but i'll wait till i save the rest for the s8. Woo!!!
Web Line (2 months ago)
Pour acheter ce produit avec remise de 10% click ici? https://goo.gl/7hgVKM
Tei Kioko (2 months ago)
Name of the back Ground Music ??
Pyramid Head (2 months ago)
Bixby is not an alternative for Google Assistant it's a side kick as Bixby can control your phone and do multiple commands. Like telling Bixby to open YouTube, search for say Resident Evil Necroscope86, and play first video or open first playlist and it will do it. My thoughts on Samsung's 2017 flagships to me the best phone of 2017 is the Note 8 second place would be the S8 Plus. I have the S8 Plus reason for picking it up instead of the Note 8 is well it brought my phone bill down and saved me money. Plus even though the Note 8 is better I found that there just wasn't enough extra features to entice me to get it maybe next year I'll go with the Note 9 or maybe I'll just stick with the S line for a while.
Fella With The Brella (2 months ago)
At least it's not $1,000
LFX Gaming (2 months ago)
It's kinda slippy that's my only problem
Gandalfwiz2007 (2 months ago)
4 months? it's a fucking phone, even icecream resists more than that! what kind of retard replaces it's phone after 4 months? or 1 year?
Richard Powell (2 months ago)
How does the performance and speed of the phone last over time ?
Dennis Gorman (2 months ago)
I don't know why people are hating on Bixby. It's amazing tech and completely changes how we can interact with our devices. Its not meant to compete with Ok Google, Siri or Cortana for that matter. You'd be comparing apples to oranges. Learn what something can do before you start knocking it. This is something I've wanted on my phone since my first purchase. It's why i switched from iPhone back to Android. Keep it up Samsung!
Sourav Mahanty (2 months ago)
Got regular s8 for 230 with a discount at verizon
keyul shah (2 months ago)
check out my samsung galaxy s8 short review here : https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=6948675237906009100#editor/target=post;postID=8824431867636328348;onPublishedMenu=allposts;onClosedMenu=allposts;postNum=0;src=postname
keyul shah (2 months ago)
Vicky Jansen (2 months ago)
I want a case that would protect my s8+ phone.... What would you say to protect my phone. Thanks
WBHD Worlanyo Agbakpe (2 months ago)
https://youtu.be/hQc0AS4p9AQ watch my first video on the galaxy s8
vr6200 (2 months ago)
im disappointed about battery autonomy
Shel (2 months ago)
How about now?
Noah 1il (2 months ago)
i bought used 435
Ignacio Nemarich (2 months ago)
Huawei P10+ FTW!!!
mikakami93 (2 months ago)
Lmao note 8 most highest
Chad Carroll (2 months ago)
My S8 stopped working after 17 days!!!
bazump (2 months ago)
Still costs like 1.2k in canada lol
Robin (2 months ago)
Can i buy with bitcoin?
Ryden Ross (2 months ago)
Dbrand skins are ugly and make the phone look weird.
c00t999 (3 months ago)
Don’t bother watching .... it’s just a review with d brand ads
Saife Equate (3 months ago)
I like s8 bocoz single hand use
al rashed arabi (3 months ago)
hello androidpolice. can't we teach me how to create account to bixby. b'cos if im create to bixby they have somethings wrong. just leave me info sir. thanks
マンジュウ (3 months ago)
Have an S8+ since launch. If I can turn back time, I will not buy this again. It's so fragile that I can't use it w/o a case, making it just another big phone with big specs wrapped in a case. Besides, the bezel for the S8+ gives out static charges when it's charging with fast charge. I went to the Samsung service centre and the officer there tested other S8+, to find out that it's not just my phone. So even if I don't use a case, I feel the static whenever I use my phone while charging. Really annoying.
Victor Herrera (3 months ago)
i see so many of these phones with cracked screen i heard this phones are garbage when they fell they broke so easily
Rage 9one (3 months ago)
Don't be like this guy, get a case for your premium phone.
Potenti4lz (3 months ago)
Pixel 2 gets over a day battery life lol. https://twitter.com/DaKoin/status/938920176640249857
Shlomo Shekelstein (3 months ago)
I love this phone, have had it since June and had no regrets at all. No problems either. I highly recommend it.
Cruz Nunez (3 months ago)
Bought it for $440
Fatima Aliyeva (3 months ago)
I have had mine for 4 months now. I have to say overall I am satisfied. However, I dropped my Galaxy S8 once and luckily because I had a cover, its glass didn't break, but since then the rear camera is almost always blurry and I have to knock on the screen to make the blurring go away. Additionally, I have noticed that some apps tend to crash more on Samsung Galaxy S8 than on my previous phone which was an iPhone. But this is something Android related, I guess.
The Buddha Of Providence (2 months ago)
Fatima Aliyeva This is what you get for rushing to buy a phone that hasn't got the time to mature, what's with people these days, they are almost obsessed to buy a new phone every year.
John .Carmack (3 months ago)
Where can i find the wallpaper from 5:50?
TheDizizope (3 months ago)
I got my s8 plus at best buy 2 weeks ago for $19 a month not $35 and I'm only paying a total of $466 for my phone
DeadofWinter321 (3 months ago)
I just got rid of my regular S8 for the Pixel 2 XL and couldn't be happier. :) I'm never getting another Samsung phone again.
Yajremnos 122 (3 months ago)
Once the S10 is released I'll buy S8+ :D
stuart watson (3 months ago)
The s8...considered to be the best smartphone to be released this year....ever so slightly better than the s7 of last year...
Patriq Blind (3 months ago)
Mono speaker. wat?
Manny G (3 months ago)
How did you unlock the phone with fingerprint without pressing the power or home button?
ProtagonistNonTheist (3 months ago)
As an iPhone user I would consider switching to the Samsung, but so many things I find off putting. For example, why the hell is there a Google search bar right smack in the middle? That throws me off completely. Why is it there? Also, when I went to the store to check it out, I find that it’s really light and feels a little cheap and plasticky even though it’s made of glass. The display is nice, but it doesn’t have a pressure sensitive screen, and I found switching between apps to be very cumbersome, like if you open the app switcher instead of just swiping up you have to hit a little x in the corner of the window. It may sound like something minor but it really impedes the flow of things while using it. And again, if feels cheap and you get the feeling that the phone is hallow and not very robust.
jedicounsellor (3 months ago)
My S8+ malfunctions. Apparently, I need to send it away for repairs (which takes several days to be returned), and in the mean time they only provide you with the use of a basic phone. I depend on the smart phone functions for my work every day. I also just found out that Samsung no longer offer this "upgrade" option for exchanging phones with them so I can't obtain a Note 8 replacement, which is the phone I originally wanted but was out of stock in my local Telstra store on the day I needed a new phone (along with the s8 and other phones). What's more, Samsung require me to return to the store of purchase to obtain this basic phone for use while leaving your phone with them, and thereby will require another visit to the store to return their phone, and collect your own one (most likely with a factory reset in my case). My phone makes calls sometimes and doesn't make any sound at my end of the call. I can't hear the phone ringing or anything. It isn't muted by the regular options and the only way I've been able to rectify the problem is by either phone restart or turning it off and then on again. I'm also getting some issues with apps not working while the screen is in landscape mode, such as messenger not allowing me to open messages via the on-screen icon from an incoming message. I don't think this is the fault of the phone; however, my friend uses the Samsang S8 religiously and he doesn't experience this issue what-so-ever. I'm at my wits end about what to do, because I don't want my phone to be reset. It's too much of a pain in the arse to set up my banking and everything with passwords, and identification tags, etc. I'd really like to just straight swap it for the Galaxy Note 8. I have never dropped my phone, and it has been kept in a Samsung Galaxy Clear View Plus Cover which has a strong hard cover front panel which covers the entirety of the phones front face and allows "always on display time/date/ etc" to show through the front / top of your phone at all times by led light up front face feature. This cover also allows the phone to stand up in while on its side for watching videos and movies. I want the Note 8 so I can record pen scribbled notes while on the go without keeping a note pad and pen on me, as I have been, besides this I'm interested in making the switch from laptop to phone with an external keyboard and mouse. Can anyone provide me with a viable option for obtaining a Note 8 without going without a phone for too long? tl;dr/ I have a near new Galaxy S8+ but want the Galaxy Note 8, without going without a phone, what are my options?
Salim Uhuru (3 months ago)
No infa red blaster means i cant use this as a univ remote like my s6 ☹👎
don taylor (3 months ago)
I been having my s8+ day1 Still running smoothly. I realized the only people that have a problem with the s8. People with backyard shitty carriers. It's not the phone it's ur carrier.
Krish Sanj (3 months ago)
the best and honest review. no bias no exaggeration.
Daniel Nelson (3 months ago)
there is burn in issues on these phones now.
Oscar Dannberg (3 months ago)
I picked up my new mobile, Samsung Galaxy S8 yesterday and I couldn't be happier with the currently best mobile phone on the market. :-)) Well done, Samsung!
Thandi M (3 months ago)
I do a lot of voice recording and my current Samsung is really shitty at recording, is the S8 good?
Edis Djerlek (3 months ago)
Watching this on my Note 8... Finally someone saying Bixby voice is great. I use it for automation and it definitely has some cool stuff too, like it can read you a bed time story, which is hilarious, and it raps like a genius. For everthing else I use Google Assistant and they kind of complete each other. As for the s8+, it's a damn good phone but I held my s7e until the note 8 arrives, since I liked what Samsung was doing and I wanted to finally become a Note user, which was taken from me after the Note 7 incident.
Paula Andrea barragan (3 months ago)
I’m planning to change from my iphone 7 plus to the samsung 8s plus , any suggestions? Please
SIT DOWN, SHUT UP (3 months ago)
100 degrees outside? Damn, how do you live without water?
Akshay Garg (3 months ago)
Install pixel launcher on your s8 and boom you are done
Md Imran (3 months ago)
What about skin burn-in ??
Raghuram Kumar (3 months ago)
How the hero I allow the little expand bottom for YouTube? Love my s8, just can't find how to make YouTube videos fullscreen. Any1 know how?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.