HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Police

Galaxy S8 long-term review: Four months later

6410 ratings | 712381 views
Thanks to dbrand for supporting the channel: http://dbrand.com/AP It's been a little over 4 months since the Galaxy S8 has been released. Let's see if it still holds up to the hype. Enjoy! ______________________________________________________ Purchase a Galaxy S8: http://www.samsung.com/us/explore/galaxy-s8/buy/ Galaxy S8 Clear View Standing Cover: http://www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/galaxy-s8/accessories/ ______________________________________________________ Want to sponsor the next Android Police video? Get in touch: videosponsor@androidpolice.com. ▶ Circle us on Google+ https://plus.google.com/+AndroidPolice ▶ Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Like us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Subscribe to the RSS feed at http://www.androidpolice.com/feed
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1009)
Bhagirathsinh Zala (1 day ago)
A perfect smartphone!
g6 (1 day ago)
Liked the video, and i think ur seriously wrong about Bixby btw :) Bix is far more capable of doing connected tasks using ur phone apps like no other assistants can, by me it can get better than google assistant in a short time, just look more about tha Bix and learn to use it ull see its becoming ireplacebla, it can locate files, send pictures, edit, remember what u did and when things that google assistant wont even be close to provide ;)
trinity Banawich (2 days ago)
Is it worth upgrading from a J5 2017 to this
ItaiD (2 days ago)
I dont know if I should buy the S8 or A8. What are you think? The A8 is 150 USD cheaper.
Jamir DelaCruz (5 days ago)
i have a s7 edge but i really want that infinity display😖
uawsux (5 days ago)
, BSA filing system and color schemes suck the filing system underneath the settings menu sucks the storage capacity and Camera features might be the best but it's not worth $700If you have the Galaxy j7 lollipop and you upgraded to marshmallow and your screen mirroring functionality was deleted this is a crime you can sue Google Android Samsung and your carrier for conspiring together to delete this function for money Google Android wanted to sell their Chromecast Samsung came out with a new phone j7 Prime and your carrier just wants to sell phones myself has sued I'm in court now with Google Android and Samsung T-Mobile has already paid off and settled to my satisfaction with the piece of shit S8 do not purchase the S8 the filing system the color scheme sucks it is a terrible awful phone the S4 so far in my opinion is the best phone as far as filing systems color schemes contrast
mluu510 (6 days ago)
Good phone but the battery life is terrible, even with power save mode
Dave OG Miles (6 days ago)
just hope they thin out the black bezzles a bit more on the s9
Dave OG Miles (6 days ago)
I just got one its soo much better then my iPhone 7 I sold
IOS and Android Pro (7 days ago)
Dear D-Brand please reduce your prices and then show up it's ridiculous 20$ for a fucking useless sticker on the back that only provides anti touch marks id rather prefer a 40$ case that provides a better protection and prevents phones from dropping. I own an S8+ and i have to say this that the phone is pretty sturdy.
Anthony Finau (7 days ago)
Sorry but 4 months is NOT long term.. I've only had 1 smartphone in my life (Samsung Note 3) & kept it good condition until the battery no longer decided to work. It lasted approx. 4 years and by the last 2 years, performance slowed down significantly - overall, loved it but really disappointed that it turned to shitake mushrooms. I really don't want to get an iPhone coz I believe their products are for suckers-4-marketing gimmicks.... BUT, I do hear they are better for long term as they have less performance issues with their software.. so in the end, at a loss on whether I should get an iPhone or take a risk and get the Samsung NOTE 8
MR. Vevo (7 days ago)
Sooo tempted for the s7 edge but i'll wait till i save the rest for the s8. Woo!!!
POWER TECHNOLOGIE (8 days ago)
Pour acheter ce produit avec remise de 10% click ici? https://goo.gl/7hgVKM
Tei Kioko (9 days ago)
Name of the back Ground Music ??
Pyramid Head (9 days ago)
Bixby is not an alternative for Google Assistant it's a side kick as Bixby can control your phone and do multiple commands. Like telling Bixby to open YouTube, search for say Resident Evil Necroscope86, and play first video or open first playlist and it will do it. My thoughts on Samsung's 2017 flagships to me the best phone of 2017 is the Note 8 second place would be the S8 Plus. I have the S8 Plus reason for picking it up instead of the Note 8 is well it brought my phone bill down and saved me money. Plus even though the Note 8 is better I found that there just wasn't enough extra features to entice me to get it maybe next year I'll go with the Note 9 or maybe I'll just stick with the S line for a while.
Fella With The Brella (10 days ago)
At least it's not $1,000
LFX Gaming (12 days ago)
It's kinda slippy that's my only problem
Gandalfwiz2007 (13 days ago)
4 months? it's a fucking phone, even icecream resists more than that! what kind of retard replaces it's phone after 4 months? or 1 year?
Richard Powell (13 days ago)
How does the performance and speed of the phone last over time ?
Dennis Gorman (16 days ago)
I don't know why people are hating on Bixby. It's amazing tech and completely changes how we can interact with our devices. Its not meant to compete with Ok Google, Siri or Cortana for that matter. You'd be comparing apples to oranges. Learn what something can do before you start knocking it. This is something I've wanted on my phone since my first purchase. It's why i switched from iPhone back to Android. Keep it up Samsung!
Sourav Mahanty (17 days ago)
Got regular s8 for 230 with a discount at verizon
keyul shah (18 days ago)
check out my samsung galaxy s8 short review here : https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=6948675237906009100#editor/target=post;postID=8824431867636328348;onPublishedMenu=allposts;onClosedMenu=allposts;postNum=0;src=postname
keyul shah (18 days ago)
https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=6948675237906009100#editor/target=post;postID=8824431867636328348;onPublishedMenu=allposts;onClosedMenu=allposts;postNum=0;src=postname
Vicky Jansen (20 days ago)
I want a case that would protect my s8+ phone.... What would you say to protect my phone. Thanks
WBHD Worlanyo Agbakpe (21 days ago)
https://youtu.be/hQc0AS4p9AQ watch my first video on the galaxy s8
vr6200 (22 days ago)
im disappointed about battery autonomy
Shel (23 days ago)
How about now?
The killer Bunny (24 days ago)
it costed me 600 dollars
Noah 1il (25 days ago)
i bought used 435
Ignacio Nemarich (26 days ago)
Huawei P10+ FTW!!!
mikakami93 (29 days ago)
Lmao note 8 most highest
Chad Carroll (30 days ago)
My S8 stopped working after 17 days!!!
Dooty doot doot (30 days ago)
Still costs like 1.2k in canada lol
Robin (30 days ago)
Can i buy with bitcoin?
Derp_Doge (1 month ago)
Dbrand skins are ugly and make the phone look weird.
c00t999 (1 month ago)
Don’t bother watching .... it’s just a review with d brand ads
Saife Equate (1 month ago)
I like s8 bocoz single hand use
al rashed arabi (1 month ago)
hello androidpolice. can't we teach me how to create account to bixby. b'cos if im create to bixby they have somethings wrong. just leave me info sir. thanks
マンジュウ (1 month ago)
Have an S8+ since launch. If I can turn back time, I will not buy this again. It's so fragile that I can't use it w/o a case, making it just another big phone with big specs wrapped in a case. Besides, the bezel for the S8+ gives out static charges when it's charging with fast charge. I went to the Samsung service centre and the officer there tested other S8+, to find out that it's not just my phone. So even if I don't use a case, I feel the static whenever I use my phone while charging. Really annoying.
Victor Herrera (1 month ago)
i see so many of these phones with cracked screen i heard this phones are garbage when they fell they broke so easily
Rage 9one (1 month ago)
Don't be like this guy, get a case for your premium phone.
Potenti4lz (1 month ago)
Pixel 2 gets over a day battery life lol. https://twitter.com/DaKoin/status/938920176640249857
Shlomo Shekelstein (1 month ago)
I love this phone, have had it since June and had no regrets at all. No problems either. I highly recommend it.
Cruz Nunez (1 month ago)
Bought it for $440
Fatima Aliyeva (1 month ago)
I have had mine for 4 months now. I have to say overall I am satisfied. However, I dropped my Galaxy S8 once and luckily because I had a cover, its glass didn't break, but since then the rear camera is almost always blurry and I have to knock on the screen to make the blurring go away. Additionally, I have noticed that some apps tend to crash more on Samsung Galaxy S8 than on my previous phone which was an iPhone. But this is something Android related, I guess.
Fatima Aliyeva This is what you get for rushing to buy a phone that hasn't got the time to mature, what's with people these days, they are almost obsessed to buy a new phone every year.
John .Carmack (1 month ago)
Where can i find the wallpaper from 5:50?
TheDizizope (1 month ago)
I got my s8 plus at best buy 2 weeks ago for $19 a month not $35 and I'm only paying a total of $466 for my phone
DeadofWinter321 (1 month ago)
I just got rid of my regular S8 for the Pixel 2 XL and couldn't be happier. :) I'm never getting another Samsung phone again.
J192819 122 (1 month ago)
Once the S10 is released I'll buy S8+ :D
stuart watson (1 month ago)
The s8...considered to be the best smartphone to be released this year....ever so slightly better than the s7 of last year...
Patriq Blind (1 month ago)
Mono speaker. wat?
Manny G (1 month ago)
How did you unlock the phone with fingerprint without pressing the power or home button?
ProtagonistNonTheist (1 month ago)
As an iPhone user I would consider switching to the Samsung, but so many things I find off putting. For example, why the hell is there a Google search bar right smack in the middle? That throws me off completely. Why is it there? Also, when I went to the store to check it out, I find that it’s really light and feels a little cheap and plasticky even though it’s made of glass. The display is nice, but it doesn’t have a pressure sensitive screen, and I found switching between apps to be very cumbersome, like if you open the app switcher instead of just swiping up you have to hit a little x in the corner of the window. It may sound like something minor but it really impedes the flow of things while using it. And again, if feels cheap and you get the feeling that the phone is hallow and not very robust.
jedicounsellor (1 month ago)
My S8+ malfunctions. Apparently, I need to send it away for repairs (which takes several days to be returned), and in the mean time they only provide you with the use of a basic phone. I depend on the smart phone functions for my work every day. I also just found out that Samsung no longer offer this "upgrade" option for exchanging phones with them so I can't obtain a Note 8 replacement, which is the phone I originally wanted but was out of stock in my local Telstra store on the day I needed a new phone (along with the s8 and other phones). What's more, Samsung require me to return to the store of purchase to obtain this basic phone for use while leaving your phone with them, and thereby will require another visit to the store to return their phone, and collect your own one (most likely with a factory reset in my case). My phone makes calls sometimes and doesn't make any sound at my end of the call. I can't hear the phone ringing or anything. It isn't muted by the regular options and the only way I've been able to rectify the problem is by either phone restart or turning it off and then on again. I'm also getting some issues with apps not working while the screen is in landscape mode, such as messenger not allowing me to open messages via the on-screen icon from an incoming message. I don't think this is the fault of the phone; however, my friend uses the Samsang S8 religiously and he doesn't experience this issue what-so-ever. I'm at my wits end about what to do, because I don't want my phone to be reset. It's too much of a pain in the arse to set up my banking and everything with passwords, and identification tags, etc. I'd really like to just straight swap it for the Galaxy Note 8. I have never dropped my phone, and it has been kept in a Samsung Galaxy Clear View Plus Cover which has a strong hard cover front panel which covers the entirety of the phones front face and allows "always on display time/date/ etc" to show through the front / top of your phone at all times by led light up front face feature. This cover also allows the phone to stand up in while on its side for watching videos and movies. I want the Note 8 so I can record pen scribbled notes while on the go without keeping a note pad and pen on me, as I have been, besides this I'm interested in making the switch from laptop to phone with an external keyboard and mouse. Can anyone provide me with a viable option for obtaining a Note 8 without going without a phone for too long? tl;dr/ I have a near new Galaxy S8+ but want the Galaxy Note 8, without going without a phone, what are my options?
Salim Uhuru (1 month ago)
No infa red blaster means i cant use this as a univ remote like my s6 ☹👎
don taylor (1 month ago)
I been having my s8+ day1 Still running smoothly. I realized the only people that have a problem with the s8. People with backyard shitty carriers. It's not the phone it's ur carrier.
Krish Sanj (1 month ago)
the best and honest review. no bias no exaggeration.
Daniel Nelson (1 month ago)
there is burn in issues on these phones now.
Oscar Dannberg (1 month ago)
I picked up my new mobile, Samsung Galaxy S8 yesterday and I couldn't be happier with the currently best mobile phone on the market. :-)) Well done, Samsung!
Thandi M (1 month ago)
I do a lot of voice recording and my current Samsung is really shitty at recording, is the S8 good?
Edis Djerlek (1 month ago)
Watching this on my Note 8... Finally someone saying Bixby voice is great. I use it for automation and it definitely has some cool stuff too, like it can read you a bed time story, which is hilarious, and it raps like a genius. For everthing else I use Google Assistant and they kind of complete each other. As for the s8+, it's a damn good phone but I held my s7e until the note 8 arrives, since I liked what Samsung was doing and I wanted to finally become a Note user, which was taken from me after the Note 7 incident.
Paula Andrea barragan (1 month ago)
I’m planning to change from my iphone 7 plus to the samsung 8s plus , any suggestions? Please
SIT DOWN, SHUT UP (1 month ago)
100 degrees outside? Damn, how do you live without water?
Akshay Garg (1 month ago)
Install pixel launcher on your s8 and boom you are done
Md Imran (1 month ago)
What about skin burn-in ??
Raghuram Kumar (1 month ago)
How the hero I allow the little expand bottom for YouTube? Love my s8, just can't find how to make YouTube videos fullscreen. Any1 know how?
NSPLG (1 month ago)
Sounds like you need you wipe your mouth or spit
jacob rogers (1 month ago)
It's honestly a great phone with just a few minor design flaws. After seeing one disassembled I understand why they put the finger print scanner where they did if they would put it under the camera it would be directly over the battery where is I don't see a problem with this there probably is the other thing is the iris scanner I would have much rather had a small flash so when you take selfies it would let up your face to raise your phone up to eye level just unlock it seems redundant and stupid. Overall it's one of the coolest running Android phones I've ever had I haven't had to go above 90 degrees Fahrenheit and the battery life is great the only downside is Samsung having their own side features such as messaging and home screens it would have been better if they would just integrated it ito andriod more
Brandon Lyon (1 month ago)
Does your case protect your phone well and the front
Shadow Dreams (1 month ago)
Do people really think a phone is going to go to shit in 4 months?
kage mulling (1 month ago)
Did anyone else notice the 100-102 degrees on the home screen
dec (1 month ago)
In the UK, got through Vodafone for £27 a month, 6gb data and unlimited calls, free European roaming. Another networks looking for 45 to 50 a month
Edward Lim (1 month ago)
0:00 haha. When I saw the temp (102°) I was like wtf that's so hot, the i realised it was in °F not °C. But then I realised it was 38°C which is hot.
Lolu lou (1 month ago)
I really want this phone.
Potatoe Man (2 months ago)
Lol he plays coc
Thank The Moon (2 months ago)
Bixby reads me the news when I wake up to an alarm... which is GREAT.
Kettle Sketches (2 months ago)
this was made on my bday
Milo Tsang (2 months ago)
Idk about you guys but for me as much as I love the phone, the battery experience with it was terrible. Like I admit I use my phone quite often but I need to charge my phone every 4~5hrs, leave me charging twice a day when I'm out all day. Three times including at home
Mahoney Bajwa (2 months ago)
Anyone know a good tempered glass screen protector to buy?
Luis Alvarado (2 months ago)
I have a S6 for 2 years now. Thinking about upgrating to the S8+.
Ferry Ansony (2 months ago)
Still, i cannot gather enough money to be able to afford this phone.
Sean (2 months ago)
I love my S8Plus but now it's screen is cracked at one corner. I am trying my best to still love her and to over look the imperfection
Magnum (2 months ago)
I like this guy videos but YouTubers don't seem to know what the word completely and literally mean. Sure he made two deep cracks on the back of the phone but it was not completely broken...
Iuri N. (2 months ago)
Do I buy the Samsung S8 or the OnePlus 5T?
Apple Seed (2 months ago)
My samsung galaxy S5 is like 3,5 years and still alive works great :)
Apple Seed (2 months ago)
Might going buy S9 next :D
russell perez (2 months ago)
Wow,another video with a A Dbrand fucking endorsement,I'm out a here
HotRod2933 (2 months ago)
Love my S8. Love the battery optimization feature. Hate Bixby. I received a wireless charger with my phone but after 5 months it doesn't work. Any suggestions? Thanks
Paul Drew (2 months ago)
Still the best Android phone of 2017.
TheWiseWhite (2 months ago)
Damn it's hot out there!
Karl Man (2 months ago)
does anyone else experiencing slowness/lag after a while? been using S8 plus since it first launch and after 3 months its getting slow like my previous samsung devices
Kevin Ramos (26 days ago)
Karl Man you should be using device maintenance on your s8. It removes unnecessary thing’s.
A Dream (2 months ago)
I'll prob rock my s7 edge until Galaxy X in 2019.
Esther Ogoti (2 months ago)
3:30 You can remap the bixby button and change what it does.. so since I use Instagram a lot.. I remapped it so that when I click it, it opens Instagram
Giancarmine Grande (2 months ago)
What is the search bar at 1:55 ? It's awesome
B M (2 months ago)
I can't find the fucking crop to fit
TheChamp 101 (2 months ago)
I got the S8 and on it right now writing this post, in my opinion this phone is not worth the £680 I paid, it's fiddly to use and it's very gimmicky. Disappointing to say the least.
littlesometin (26 days ago)
how is it gimmicky?
Pro gamer 10 (2 months ago)
I want a Samsung Galaxys s8+
jatin gurnani (2 months ago)
Hey How to play full screen videos on YouTube and other internet browser videos
Deng Tong (2 months ago)
give me one
gpunique (2 months ago)
How do you like the dbrand skin? Have you dropped it since having the skin on and did that prevent it from shattering the back? Thanks for a great follow up video.
maximus (2 months ago)
Galaxy ese?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.