HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Lenovo Y720 Review: This Gaming Laptop has Amazing Sound!

1115 ratings | 62824 views
The Lenovo Legion Y720 is a gaming laptop with a GTX 1060 and really good sound. It's fast, fairly affordable and comes with a built-in xbox wireless controller! Watch for the full review! Buy here on Amazon: Lenovo Legion Y720: http://geni.us/7BdBcud * If you're from the US it's cheaper on Lenovos website. Music By: DJ Grumble https://soundcloud.com/gbeats Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (262)
DasTomTom (5 days ago)
Is the y720 With the i5 7300hq and 8gb ram recommed too for gaming?
Alex (17 days ago)
Lenovo is good if you want a laptop with built in malware that will physically fall apart after a couple of months.
Android Gamer (13 days ago)
Alex thanks for your opinion
Alex (13 days ago)
If you want to buy a laptop go with the new Dell XPS 15 or the new Surface Book 2. Stay away from Lenovo unless you like buying a new laptop every 6 months.
Alex (13 days ago)
Because I had the lenovo Y50 and it was riddled with malware from the start and then couple of months passed and the whole laptop physically starting breaking. I thought I was the only one and my friend had a Y70 and same problem. And the malware pops right back up if you ever factory reset the laptop. And now with more pressure from China Lenovo going to increase their malware.
Android Gamer (13 days ago)
I was planing to buy this laptop
Android Gamer (13 days ago)
Alex how do u know that
Jure Matković (1 month ago)
Just want to give you tip guys. If some models (y720) have problems with temperatures it is because of poor thermal paste. Reapply thermal paste and u will solve problem. Also for those who expirienced bad peformance change Power settings from power saver to high peformance. Sry for bad eng, i hope it helped.
Adam Jezewski (1 month ago)
how do you get that chart system with the heat signatures at 5:08 im very curious.
Jeremy H. (1 month ago)
I just got one of these straight from Lenovo for $1049. So at THAT price point, you can not go wrong.
Yordan Grigorov (1 month ago)
do you guys have screen bleeding on the y720?
OneMANarmY (1 month ago)
Amazing sound . But now over 60%volume right ?
Jørgen Nordli (1 month ago)
Just bought this computer with only one 256gb ssd, thinking I wouldn’t need more storage. Now I wanna add a second HDD, but find little information about compatible hard drives. Any1 knows what HDDs are compatible?
totefernando (1 month ago)
does the fps on solitaire keep on 100+ even when you win the game? you know when the cards start flying all over the place
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Crashes once those cards go flying! Need a powerful system with dual 1080ti gpus to handle that!
ronald chambless (1 month ago)
The y720 is 999.99$ now on lenovos website
rcc1111 (1 month ago)
It’s on sale on Black Friday folks, just bought it for 999.99.
bracket Scrap (1 month ago)
Im gonna slap my grandma's face with this video she bought me a damn INTEL CELERON for gaming jesus christ!
Ayyy Lmao (2 days ago)
bracket Scrap privileged cunt
mrhiguy (2 months ago)
I have this 4k Y720 and the colors get much better when you remove the anti-glare film.
Adol Christin (2 months ago)
Ok im gonna ask a stupid question or noob question soon im planning to buy this coming december is this laptop has a possibility to encounter stuttering or freeze game? because alienware 17 R4 has stuttering issues my cousin has it so is this laptop is good for gaming and school stuff? thank you I Have budget BTW
eric matthews (2 months ago)
Need a laptop for 3d architectural design (chief architect) to design kitchens and bathrooms with clients. Would this be the way to go?
PantiesGoneWild (2 months ago)
how are you getting 70-75 fps on high on bf1??? iv been owning this laptop for 3 months now, 35-42 fps on low quality
Jure Matković (1 month ago)
PantiesGoneWild thats weird. With 1060m 6gb, u should get 3x more fps.
PantiesGoneWild (1 month ago)
Jure Matković yes,1tb,16gb ram, 125(i think ssd, for 1,200$
Jure Matković (1 month ago)
PantiesGoneWild are you sure that u own y720?
PantiesGoneWild (1 month ago)
Jure Matković i just use it for basic things now, but dont use it much since i got tablets/phone tv/xbox for internet, laptop is quite heavy, only problem i see is when i turn on the laptop, takes few minutes before i can use it, if i put it on sleep mode and turn it bak on, screen looks all distored and stops working
Jure Matković (1 month ago)
PantiesGoneWild why dont you ask for replacement?
ali hasan (2 months ago)
You said no G-sync Is that important ? What the deffrince with G-sync
Filipe Alves (2 months ago)
Great Review! I had a Lenovo Y50, and i'm looking forward to buy a y720. I hope it's worth the price.
Beatz Cracker (2 months ago)
Filipe Alves how is your experience with lenovo?
daniel vieira (2 months ago)
hi matt, could you do the asus g703? thanks in advance
Jason Yaputra (2 months ago)
can you do a lenovo legion y920 laptop please ;))
Ahmad Tarek (2 months ago)
Can this laptop last for about 5 years without decreasing settings below medium(60 fps) please answer matthew ??
kimirs16 (2 months ago)
Ahmad Tarek same, though I can't afford any kind of laptop...
99999drake (2 months ago)
2:18 can translate that part? I am speak spanish (english good, but not much) and I am planing (I am not 100% sure) buy that notebook to play games, and I dont undertand too much that part, that's why I want a transcriptionI am planing but the  y720-15ikb
Alberto Castellanos (2 months ago)
99999drake que si solo lo quieres para jugar te compres el que tiene la pantalla full hd, no el 4k, que la grafica es perfecta para 1080 pero en 4k no va a ser tan buena
Techno Kreep (2 months ago)
Pls what Laptop should I buy with a gtx1060 under 1300$plssssssss helpppppp
Sai Nivedh Vallala (2 months ago)
Assassin Killer Dell 7577
Abu Encontrado (2 months ago)
Can anyone mention how horrible the fan sounds , because I own a Lenovo and and fan noise is horrible. Planning to buy this so I don't want to risk again buying a laptop which sounds like road construction inside my room. Please confirm the fan sound?
ja df (3 months ago)
hi matthew pls review dell 7577. thanks
ja df (3 months ago)
Matthew Moniz looking forward for the review :)
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Plan too! Waiting for review unit = )
FearLess (3 months ago)
I'm really confused, do you get 5-6 hours of battery life on the 4k model, how much does the fhd have then? Also other reviews mentioned that it has 4 hours on the fhd and also 4 on the 4k how does that work out, surely fhd should have more. Also would you recommend this at 1030 usd with only a 256 gb ssd and 8gb ram. Also others have reported much better thermals and less fan noise
Theresa Curnow (3 months ago)
I’m wondering how much performance would suffer gaming going with the 8GB version? All reviews seem to be for 16GB.
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
+Theresa Curnow you’re welcome Theresa!
Theresa Curnow (3 months ago)
Perfect!! That’s exactly what I needed to know. I have to buy 2 for avid teenage gamers so I don’t want to spend anymore than necessary. They are used to desktops but gaming laptops have come a long way and they’ll need portability for college soon. Thanks very much for fast reply!! :)
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Very little ! If it's for gaming you won't notice much of a difference. However, if you're someone with a lot of tabs open and doing photoshop work, you'll want 16.
Comersal Severus (3 months ago)
So expansive in Brazil I like this laptop
hoda keshta (3 months ago)
please review dell 7577 with GTX 1060 Max-Q
Mohammad Natsheh (3 months ago)
Great review as always, I bought this laptop based on your recommendation. But after just 20 days or so of using, I have this problem with the screen, if I close the lid while it's on and open it back again, the screen turns gray and becomes unusable so I have to restart my laptop again to use it. I updated the bios version, all the drivers but still nothing happened, am I the only one who has this problem guys? I would appreciate some help.
Mohammad Natsheh (2 months ago)
Matthew Moniz thank you for your reply Matthew, I solved it by rolling back the display driver.
Mohammad Natsheh (2 months ago)
Random Human thanks a bunch, it worked!
Random Human (3 months ago)
i had this issue after i updated the intel graphics driver, here is how to fix it: Control panel > Hardware and sound > Device manager > Display adapter > double click on intel graphics card > go driver tab > press on "roll back driver" option. your problem should be solved, good luck.
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Sounds like a defect! I'd send it in for a replacment
BulletsBacon Beer (3 months ago)
Gaming laptops are not supposed to be lightweight
Porkchop Dog (3 months ago)
Can we make it clear that NOBODY wants the stupid red/black theme on laptops? I am a "young thugga kid" and even I think it just looks stupid. Really cuts down the options for laptops in the 1060 range.
Omega Hoplite (25 days ago)
I would really dig a white instead of red
CO country (2 months ago)
Yes you speak for the rest off us. Go STFU and fuck off you tiny wanker! On the 2nd hand, if you are just talking about color then I agree. I would like a deep cyan or neon green color instead.
Porkchop Dog (3 months ago)
Gabe Merritt Yeah. The marketing teams are probably just talking to the kids who wear flame shirts and sunglasses inside lol. Just simple color themes would be a great variety.
Gabe Merritt (3 months ago)
Porkchop Dog they should make different colors, idk why that is not a no brainer
Parth Desai (3 months ago)
4:51 i cannot play solitare on my i7 7700k and a 1080Ti ... halp
Mohammed Salah (3 months ago)
Lenovo y720 vs Dell Inspiron 7567 Which one you will choose ?
Yasmin Gonzaga (2 months ago)
Lenovo Y720
Dato Aliff Alex (3 months ago)
I cant fuking find the 4K version Its so confusing! Some seller said its only has 1080p screen while u said it has 4K display while lenovo site said it can play 4K video but never tell the actual screen reso? Some other reviewers said the screen only score 45% NTSC colour accuracy..and the link u provided to buy this laptop is the 1080p version What the actual fuk?
deepsudeep (3 months ago)
boo for heavy
Black Tiger (3 months ago)
It has extremely low quality screen. Pixels die very quickly.
CO country (2 months ago)
Can't one just buy more pixel dust?
kimirs16 (2 months ago)
Black Tiger really!?
Krishnakumar Raghu (3 months ago)
Hi Matthew! Thank you for the review. I was planning on this until I read about the Dell 7577 a couple of days ago which also has GTX 1060 and Thunderbolt3 now. Would you be reviewing it anytime soon and also a comparison if possible? Thank you!
Krishnakumar Raghu (2 months ago)
I decided to get dell 7577. It's got a better build and also in my location, i didn't get the RGB lighting with Legion Y720. It was too much red for me.
Sai Nivedh Vallala (2 months ago)
Which one did u buy?
Krishnakumar Raghu (3 months ago)
Sahil Chandhok Sure. But it's a lot .7 kg lighter. That's the reason I'm thinking about it.
Sahil Chandhok (3 months ago)
Krishnakumar Raghu The Dell 7577 has the gtx 1060 max q which is a weaker version of a gtx 1060 found in this model. The main purpose of the max q is to save power. It prefers saving power over performance.
가화만사성 _ (3 months ago)
한국어가 없네.. 또르르..
Aleksandr The Great V (3 months ago)
i drop cafe on this less then month after buying it for 1700eur. now one month most wait for new keyboard lol
Harry Poter (3 months ago)
Hey Matt will it thermal throttle if I'm just playing a game on it using a combination of high and ultra settings? Thanks.
Ruhi Kck (3 months ago)
This one or Hellios 300 ?
Will Montiel (3 months ago)
This one is so pretty and Acer Helios hasn't thunderbolt (Is the future)
Chip Kelly (3 months ago)
This obe
eL Fuaisz (3 months ago)
Great review Matt👍
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Thanks man!
JUSTIN JANZ (3 months ago)
Matthew...can you please review HP pavilion power 15 gaming laptop...
Nico Bellic (3 months ago)
oie ben afflic
YK L (3 months ago)
Lenovo sells this model as R720 in China. the keyboard quality is super bad. I got 2 R720s, both had bad keys after couple of days usage
Beatz Cracker (2 months ago)
Yuankun Luo what happened to the keys?
Bálint Csiszár (3 months ago)
90-95 C on the cpu is not "typical" On crappy new laptops it shouldnt hit 90..
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
The kaby lake quad-core i7 processors run REALLY hot. I find laptops have a tough time keeping them cool.
Hafis km (3 months ago)
Predator helios 300 or Legion 720 ???? Which is ur pic if u dont mind the prices of both ?
Hasan Najaa (3 months ago)
One of the best review channels. thanks to you, I did purchase the Acer helios 300 a month ago and so far no regrets. Keep the good work!
Jaswanth And Bros (3 months ago)
Sir plz say best laptop at 2600 dollars plz help me
Erina Snow (3 months ago)
:( the thing on lenova build quality poor
Wai Chau Yin (3 months ago)
just build a desktop better,its powerful than laptop and cheaper
SourceReaper (3 months ago)
One battery? There are 2 separate batteries. Also, the sound of mine is fantastic, noice is high, but mine is overclocked so uses the ctrl, shift zero for better cooling.
Stupid Gamer (3 months ago)
why arent you in your violet room?
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
+Stupid Gamer lol no more violet room working on a new space : )
Sirazul Islam (3 months ago)
4k and u say not bad😁😂😃😃😃😂😁😀 do u spend millions on laptops??
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
+Sirazul Islam not bad for a 4K display . Colour accuracy, brightness and contrast is very important for content creators
keep up thewool work matthew i just noticed you are working on a new room and presnt your content on it it looks great its bright and cool and your content is enjoyable and informative to watch what are your thoughts about new google pixel?
Mike90321111 (3 months ago)
How is the hinge ? I had the Lenovo y50-70 and the screen fully came off cause the hinge
Paul Wolfer (3 months ago)
I've been looking at gaming laptops for work (as well as play), doing CAD and 3d Modeling. Would you suggest 4k monitor in this circumstance. I've been leaning towards the Dell 7567 w/ i7, 16gb ram, 512 SSD and 4k Monitor.
Turdbo Mitch (4 months ago)
Hi Matt,I really enjoy your channel!I am planning to buy either the Acer preditor Helios 300 or the Lenovo Y720. The Acer is currently $1049 and the Lenovo $1055. Is there any major deciding factor between the two? They are both almost identical in price, but are they identical in stats at this price point? I'd love to see a comparison video between the two. Or maybe just a verdict from you and a reason why. Regards Mitch.
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
It depends if you need a more colour accurate display than the Lenovo Y720 makes more sense since you can buy it in 4k. If you don't the helios 300 is just as good and cheaper
Paul Sanchez (4 months ago)
So how well does this PC handle video editing? or running multiple programs at once like Recording software?
Manoj Manoj (4 months ago)
Do a review on HP omen laptop 2017
Christian Borromeo (4 months ago)
Which is better, this or Asus ROG GL702VM? Thanks.
Kryo Stazis (4 months ago)
why did they call it y720 and its 15 inches, need a better code number
Olivier Héroux (4 months ago)
Xbox contrôles dont use Bluetooth??
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Olivier Héroux there's a wireless Xbox controller built in
D.Carlos Fernado (4 months ago)
Is it better than acer helios 300
WW Quang (2 months ago)
Not the same spec. 7577 has GTX1060 MAXQ, while Y720 has the GTX1060.
Bobby Derran (2 months ago)
My Dell Inspirion 17R N7110 weighs 10 pounds And I took that thing everywhere The only thing a PC has to have IMO is Performance.
Krash #42 (3 months ago)
Thunderbolt 3 is more or less a "future ready" version of USB-C, it can output both video (2X 4k 60Hz screens) and data, has enough speed to handle things like an external graphics card or an external dock with many usbs and display connections on it, so its importance really depends on whether you will need it. For example I have a drawing tablet with 4k screen, if I want to connect it to my laptop, I can choose to use either one mini displayport cable (that can only output 2k resolution) plus one usb cable for pen & touch, or just one thunderbolt cable for 4k and pen & touch
Krash #42 (3 months ago)
Really depending on if you want to spend $100 to $200 for better speaker, better built with metal top+bottom and TB3. Y720 is a bit heavy compared with Helios 300 (similar size), the keyboard is comfortable though the layout needs a little time to get used to (helios has full keyboard), the standard 1080P screen is probably the weakest part, it's IPS but color and brightness are just mediocre. Overall I'm very happy with my Y720, does everything I want it to, though a bit heavy, it feels safe to carry around.
Bruno Erick Gomez (3 months ago)
SandeepPlayz oh i just recently got into this pc stuff to play and move on from console wats the pros with that thunderbolt 3 ?
RumcajsRozbojnik88 (4 months ago)
And what about PWM? I've read that it uses the flickering when dimming the display...
Melvin Jr. (4 months ago)
I don't know should I get dell Inspiron 15 7577 or Lenovo legion y720...
E U P H O R I A (4 months ago)
This is like the best purchase I have ever had. And I got the 1080 panel.
E U P H O R I A (4 months ago)
I bought it. And I love it.
corvus917 (4 months ago)
Please review the Dell 7577. I'm eager to see how the GTX 1060 Max-Q compares to the regular 1060, and how you think it compares to the Acer Predator Helios 300.
Didit Martadi (4 months ago)
I heard usually max q design has 5-10% performance decrease from the original, I really want to see it compares to 1050ti.
Parkis Deuri (4 months ago)
Solitaire.. Lmao
Bull66 (4 months ago)
Design wise i prefer the Y520 more then the Y720
Joseph Mcqueen (4 months ago)
I hate the design. But love it over all , just waiting for some dell 7577 review to see which one to get
Bhavin Shah (4 months ago)
The 1080p display panel is ABSOLUTE trash.
Michael Aranda (4 months ago)
Lenovo is an awesome brand. I am not a fan of the pattern on the laptop. The finger prints on the laptop is ridiculous.
Sujiro Hitto (4 months ago)
Dell 7577 please
Abhishek Gupta (4 months ago)
Waiting for Dell Inspiron 7577 review
Brye (4 months ago)
Got the Alienware 15 over this , issa fuckin tank !!!
Anon Ymously (4 months ago)
Can you review the Asus ROG GL503 laptops whenever you get a chance? Specifically the Scar and Hero editions. Thanks and keep up the good work.
Fabian Firman (4 months ago)
you do know you put solitaire on the gaming bench?
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Fabian Firman I did as a joke but I failed making it funny
Nikhilesh Isukapatla (4 months ago)
Matt waiting for Dell Inspiron 7577 review
A.D.Dudes (4 months ago)
After having a 4k screen laptop for the last year and a half - can't see myself ever going back. Sure scaling is a bit off in Windows 10, but it's a game changer when editing in Premiere or creating content in After Effects, PS, etc...this is especially huge when on the road (or when I want to edit on the road...or couch). Also, in addition - close friend has the previous years Y-series, and it's been a mess. Plastic breaking, keyboard issues. Does run well though. Sounds like they addressed the keyboard (mushy) issues and the build issues in this iteration. Great review though Matt!
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
totally agree for scaling and content creation 4k is sweet! = ) Thanks man
exposez (4 months ago)
solitare!? wtf does he mean the card game? :D
exposez (4 months ago)
Matthew Moniz i bet it gave a lot of people a good laugh :) and the stuff about the looks on the computer to :)
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
haha yes, i put it in there as a joke..
Tim Sigler (4 months ago)
which is targeted for senior citizens im dying!
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
lol
niheer thakur (4 months ago)
Matthew can u please review dell inspiron 7577 with gtx1060
niheer thakur (3 months ago)
jamie050585 yes exactly.. Everyone is asking for it..i hope someone uploads it in this month
jamie050585 (3 months ago)
There are literally no reviews on the 7577 :(
Solfen The Dragon (3 months ago)
Connor Blair apologies, I thought u were refering to me.
Solfen The Dragon (3 months ago)
Connor Blair but yes, every one in a while the screen would shut off, and Id have to take the bezel off and unscrew the screen and reset the display port.
Solfen The Dragon (3 months ago)
Connor Blair i didnt have a pred. i had a nitro v15, the 59ne version.
Chris Toft (4 months ago)
nice video matt!! just sad you didn't make this video before, cause its my b-day in 4 days.... (the 21'st) and now its too late to wish for it
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Chris Toft thanks Chris! Happy pre-birthday!
ShadoWB4MV (4 months ago)
Those temps sounds crazy. I think it's better to stick with helios 300
Behizy (4 months ago)
I had my eye on the predator 17 on newegg for 1100 then it ran out of stock
Sasi Dhar (4 months ago)
Compare budget gaming laptop
Gabriel Umoh (4 months ago)
4:51 yeah I play solitaire at over 100 fps on ultra on my system too.
JPkoncept (1 month ago)
Gabriel Umoh i
Nathan Chesshir (1 month ago)
OMG XD
Fluffy Fuyumi (4 months ago)
Aaaand of course, it looks like shit.
Aadarsha Ghimire (4 months ago)
Review Dell 7577 please
TUSHAR BASRA (4 months ago)
"Your grandfather on an end life crisis. I 😂d
TRoll you (4 months ago)
i like that laptop
Farhan G (4 months ago)
I like how you put solitaire in there,a very high demanding game I must say!
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
the most high demanding of them all!
Gumball Amazingworld (4 months ago)
Nice review I hope u gonna make a review for Lenovo legion Y 920 😊
Rishabh Patel (4 months ago)
will you review the Xiaomi Mi Notebook Pro?
Optimistic 007 (4 months ago)
Rishabh Patel I don't think he will cuz xiaomi (or Chinese companies in general) don't have that much reach in US / CA and we need to import their stuff which sucks :(
Ms95 Al (4 months ago)
Acer predator heilios 300 or lenovo y720 or hp omen which one better 😑
Leon King (4 months ago)
Price hp omen Optimal performance for less: helios 300 Don't waist your time with the y720 Its a good laptop but a bit on the expensive side
Ms95 Al (4 months ago)
Normie AF Why choose y720 ?
Jayachandra Reddy (4 months ago)
Mohammed Alkharusi y720
L3g8nd (4 months ago)
Yeahhhh imma stick to my helios 300
L3g8nd (3 months ago)
Marshall Chandra The wasd keys can get warm but not hot but the metal part above it conducrs a lot of heat but you don't normally touch it. Temps internally don't get too hot I recommend a laptop cooler for long gaming sessions. Heating overall is handled bicely and if you really need it you ca. crank up the fans yourself. Recommended that coolboost is enabled tho keeps it cooled well.
Marshall Chandra (4 months ago)
L3g8nd Gaming Hi i'm really interested in that laptop how hot is the temp? And how hot is your ambient temp?
Leon King (4 months ago)
L3g8nd Gaming iws
Dominick D'Ottavio (4 months ago)
Any clue what the battery life would be like with a 1080p instead of the 4k screen?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.