HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Alienware 17 R4 (2017) Review: The Best Big Gaming Laptop?

3096 ratings | 270518 views
Review of the Alienware 17 R4 2017 Gaming laptop. Powerful, fast, great for VR and packed with the latest i7-7820HQ processor and GTX 1080. Watch for the full review! Check it out here on Amazon: Alienware 17 R4 - http://geni.us/5in3 Music by Lakey Inspired: https://soundcloud.com/lakeyinspired Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (487)
G-İ-L Ahmet Kutup (4 days ago)
benchmarks is 4k?
Stephen M (9 days ago)
What about this compared to the Aorus x7 v7?
Skull Breaker (14 days ago)
I like how Alienware chose their design. It looks like alien hardware. It’s cool!
ISY (17 days ago)
5:25 - Voice Crack
117 Infinity (19 days ago)
Don't say anything before when I got this machine then we activate the trade war's
Alex Bisram (23 days ago)
Does all the alienware 17 r4 come with tobii eye tracking?
richard gold (29 days ago)
I bought this laptop with gtx 1080 and TN panel 1440p Monitor. I hated it and sent it back. Thankfully Alienware have a 2 weeks no questions asked returns policy. I didn't like it because it was so heavy that carrying it with one hand was PAINFUL.... sometimes you need to carry with one hand when moving around the house. Also the TN panel screen the colours were SO bad. It was dull and washed out.... I got a 15 inch alienware laptop instead and much happier with it. I got IPS screen so colours much better. Now I got gtx1070 instead but that is OK.
Vijay Sahani (29 days ago)
Which app you use to see temperature tell us
ConsiderablyCancerous (1 month ago)
My dick is HARD
Abdul King (1 month ago)
@MatthewMoniz which one will u recommened alienware 15 r3 or acer predator 15 G9-593???
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
I prefer the Alienware
Gipsy CreeperHD (1 month ago)
The Acer Predator Is The Heaviest Gaming Laptop Ever
Kim Townsel (1 month ago)
Thank you! I am researching for a laptop to use for my YouTube channel. Your information was helpful. :)
Aditya Pattnaik (1 month ago)
Can it replace MacBook pro 15 inch
SheikPlayz (1 month ago)
I just ordered a fucking Alienware like this and in the chat I’m hearing 1070 something stuff anddndjdhdhr I just give up
Pierre Andersson (1 month ago)
Why isn't AW 18 better speced than AW 17 and AW15 etc? Annoys me it only has 4th gen intel core CPU and aging gpu's.
Doompenguin 06 (1 month ago)
In your opinion what are the best gaming laptops ranked from favorite to good ones
V is for Void (1 month ago)
Alienware: We made our palmrests less greasy. Asus Zephyrus: Can't get greasy, if you have no palmrests. /guy pointing at head meme.
curits (1 month ago)
i dont like the new keyboard light, the old one is better.
soso zezo (1 month ago)
can you tell please which better laptop between alianwere 15 or Acer Predator Helios 300 for design , game depolment and programming
MusicFerLife12 (2 months ago)
He has a very upgraded model. This would run you (right now, in Feb 2018!) around $3500 (!!) on Dell.ca. Also, frustratingly the cost has not gone down, in a year. The starting price of them is now 50-100 more.
MusicFerLife12 (2 months ago)
Thanks for the comments, actually one question for you - do you have an idea what month/quarter the new model (so 2018 in this case) typically releases?
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
Ya it's still expensive. It's to do with the dollar and the rising cost of GPUs due to cryptocurrency miners. Im sure when the 2018 model is released you'll see a price drop on the 2017 version.
Eric Draven (2 months ago)
I have the 15’ model and it’s complete trash. Looking to get rid of it. Won’t be buying another AW product again after 3 failures in a row. What a joke.
jonathan diaz (2 months ago)
This is helpful! Thank you very much!
Murtaza Nazham (2 months ago)
Hello Mr. Moniz. Good and honest review. Please review the new HP Omen X 17 with GTX 1080. Many thanks.
ghost (2 months ago)
MacBook Pros are even pricier
Jeannette Arc (2 months ago)
I've had two Alienware 17's , the latest bought in 2016 & cost over $2k. Not just software trouble, but hardware problems as well. Disappointed both times.
Agostina Vesco (2 months ago)
Hello! Thanks for your review! What do you think about this laptop to work editing movies and motion graphics?
Agostina Vesco (2 months ago)
Im thinking about this one because of the cooling options and it has better features than Macbook for a lower price. And also I have always work with Dell and I cant help it!
Yourven Parianen (2 months ago)
i dont see how 10 pounds is heavy for me xD i fucking carried school bags more than 15 pounds all the time lmao
Sid X Official (2 months ago)
That track pad colour is unreal!
José Luis Diez (2 months ago)
Beware that this model has a lot of cooling problems making it impossible to play any games for more that 15 to 30 minutes... temperatures go so high and you begin to experience screen stuttering as a result of thermal throttling. Do some research in google and you will find out that there is a lot of people with this problem. I bought one of this in december 2017 and had to return it and ask for a refund, cause all of the fixes i found involved opening the laptop and doing a repaste and add thermal pads everywhere... and if you are like me, you don't pay 2.5k to 3k on a laptop to have to do this kind of work to be able to use for gaming.
Pawel Sili (1 month ago)
what happen if u re out of guaranty? I had my Alienware 18 2x 880 sli notebook not even 3 years. After one year gpu made grounding to motherboard. After 2 years mosfets on motherboard get burn. The price it cost me was almost 3k $...
José Luis Diez (2 months ago)
Rodney Young i don't question that... I'm saying that if you are going to pay premium you expect a flawless product, not something they need to fix or charge. Just do a quick search on reddit or gouge and you will find a lot of customers with the same problem.
Rodney Young (2 months ago)
José Luis Diez Alienware has one of the best warranties and will fix it at your house. If that doesn't work they replace the unit and usually give you a free upgraded unit.
Jan Stanekzai (2 months ago)
Dear All, i have plan to buy Alienware 17 R4 but as per below comments now i am in doubt. Please someone tell me which Laptop should i buy then if not Alienware 17 R4 then which one you suggest? Some says this model is over-heating, is it true?
Stashmaniac (2 months ago)
Jan Stanekzai No problem and good luck.
Jan Stanekzai (2 months ago)
+Stashmaniac thanks
Stashmaniac (2 months ago)
It's a beast gaming laptop. One of the best and if you get a bad one you can just make them fix it.
Stashmaniac (2 months ago)
It's kind of split. Some got a good ones and some got bad ones. I think I got a bad one. It rips through benchmarks but my processor is thermal throttling for some reason and the temperatures are definetly higher than what the guy had.
HIMANSHU ATHYA (2 months ago)
In India Dell is selling this particular configuration for 4899/- USD can you guys believe it😢😢😢
Jim Bob (2 months ago)
Rip horse ;-;
damn daniel (2 months ago)
shouldn't have killed the horse.
Sir'Restless Senpai (2 months ago)
1 advice guys stay away from alienware ... i got it 17 R3 and it's problems never ends. Cheap quality keyboard , killer network is the worst with infinite net cutting and many other things. Go for asus or even acer predator i regretted getting alienware.
Sonal Amarasinghe (3 months ago)
can u smile????? :0
Vincent L. (3 months ago)
Quality review. 👌
demir zafer (3 months ago)
i think there is 10 programable button
gabriele fett (3 months ago)
How is that VS the 17 in origin gaming laptop
Avinesh Shankar (3 months ago)
Can it be use for workstation(3D modelling,3ds max)
TheDarkLancer (3 months ago)
Avinesh Shankar dude.... yes.
Avinesh Shankar (3 months ago)
I know but still can it
TheDarkLancer (3 months ago)
Umm its a gaming laptop. YEAH.
Real thug beats (3 months ago)
Wich one should i buy? 1:Razer blade pro 2:MSI GT83VR 3:Alienware 17 R4
phung tran (2 months ago)
Trrrol Why I brought an Alienware in a shellnutted nutshell.
phung tran (2 months ago)
Real thug beats Alienware with GTX 1080 and I7 core
Trrroll (2 months ago)
Alienware, Razers are awesome but overpriced af
Bob Smith (2 months ago)
AlienWare 17R4
Real thug beats (3 months ago)
😕
Penguin Islands (3 months ago)
I’m looking for gaming laptops to get is this one worth? Or is there a better one?
Dommi Davros (3 months ago)
I've heard there are some real issues with the razer blade especially with overheating
TheDarkLancer (3 months ago)
Many say a RAZER Blade pro. I’d recommend this though
Steven Hartshorn (3 months ago)
Dude don't let your beard grow into your eyebrows
phung tran (2 months ago)
Matthew Moniz You have to be a Neanderthal, You beard and eyebrow will never connect. (Blame your DNA)
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
I want them to connect
hansel tan (3 months ago)
well made review videos.
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Thank you !
F Elix (4 months ago)
Thank You
Flávio Rafael Brito (4 months ago)
I have one and it's absolutely fantastic! Cool temperatures, solid chassis, and great for long gaming sessions. In UK the refubished store have a lot of great offers everyday.
VoltGe (4 months ago)
I got the 13" with the GTC 1060, it's awesome.
It's Dell so it's garbage.
phung tran (2 months ago)
Hi It's Me Mind Your Own Business Is that a joke. Best laptop I ever owned. Asus laptop sucks (or should I say asses)
Dommi Davros (3 months ago)
I wouldn't know, I've never "Dell"t with them (hahaha see what I did there???)!
Aqua Fina (4 months ago)
SHould i get this Alienware 17 or the MSI GT73VR? I really need some help. The cooling system on the GT73 is so cool compare to Alienware,idk,maybe because the 17r4's fans look smaller and all the pipes.I never use any of them. On the other hand,i love 17r4 design. What should i get?guys,help me out. Sorry im not speak english very well..:)
Syed Ali (4 months ago)
Dont buy alienware r4 i have one its giving alot of problems i am not happy with it.. i am using it from last 4 months it was too expensive but not worth it..
Deaz3yGames (3 months ago)
I had the same problem and they came to my house and fixed haven't had a problem for 6-7 months now
Syed Ali (4 months ago)
Anis Ahmed the touch pad dosent work as alot of other people are having this issue and it juts keeps shuting down after spending $1700 i wouldn't want my laptop to do all these things... its not worthit
Anas Ahmed (4 months ago)
Could you please explain more in depth. I'm considering buying this very soon for school and etc.
Raymond 6 (4 months ago)
whats the exact box dimensions and shipping weight for this laptop..?
Alexander B. (4 months ago)
I must say I was treated like crap by Alienware last year and have had a MSI since BUT I have the opportunity to upgrade again and I'm going back to Alienware, truthfully my MSI is sh*t for the money I spent on it. $2400 and MSI has had it more in the past year than me so back to Alienware I willing go!
Mahefa Reboza (4 months ago)
Hi guys, I am doing 3D modelling and 3D rendering(using Vray and Corona) maybe trying VR and everything afterward and I have planned to buy this computer. Do you guys think it is a good idea or do you have any other laptop to recommand? Your opinions are really important. Thanks
Akash ghosh (4 months ago)
Its not 7820hq its 7820hk
HighTech RavenGamingTips (4 months ago)
just boy Msi Gs63vr
SirChamelot (4 months ago)
First!!
Andrew Adams (4 months ago)
I dont always game, but when i do...its at “the cottage”.
Dax Frost (2 months ago)
wtf is he referring to
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
+Andrew Adams ya that definitely sounded a little pretentious lol
Noel Carvajal (5 months ago)
Take it to the cottage lol 😆 what a butt nut.
Daniel Edwardsen (5 months ago)
Might buy 1 after i come back from bangkok for my studies
ryan ralph (5 months ago)
i prefer razer
Nikhil P Naik (5 months ago)
Hi, is it made up of plastic or aluminum?
Abdu (5 months ago)
Plays EVERYTHING at UHD confirmed
fndrn8 (5 months ago)
Might order this. can it run minecraft
0321SHOOTER (5 months ago)
Thanks for the video, just ordered the Alienware 17 R4 1070 with the FHD IPS, do you know if there is anyway to overclock the panel?  I plan on hooking this up to an external G-sync monitor when I am home but the monitor is 144hz.  Does it support 120hz externally? Thanks man.
Cory C. (5 months ago)
"Only one with G-Sync". That is not true. Both the default UHD and one of the two QHD panel options have G-Sync. Albeit, the UHD Panel is the only option for both G-Sync and Tobii Eye Tracking. If you want a QHD panel, you will have to choose either having G-Sync or Tobii Eye Tracking. ANYONE looking to purchase the 1080GTX Model should also be aware that by default.. the 1050ti and 1080 models both come default with 8gb RAM. If you want to the 16gb or 32gb, you will need to customize your model for an additional price, or upgrade at a later point.
shut yo mouth (5 months ago)
im about to go to college...im inbetween alienware and apple tbh im not a fan of apple but ive never own alienware and i wanted to give it a try...would you recommend this laptop for college?.....i also play bunch of games like alot of games...haha
AngelWithTwist (5 months ago)
shut yo mouth Apple sucks for games, don't BUY.
Patorikku (5 months ago)
Hey guys is it worth it to get the AMD RX 570 6GB Ram or the 1070?
mt89 (5 months ago)
AW laptops are extremely well made and durable, I bought a 17 inch R1 in year 2013 July, it is still running perfect.
Frank Lin (5 months ago)
I'm going to buy the Alienware rn!!
tyrant0289 (6 months ago)
Muke mcm Ghaddar Jdt syiak
Khin Ninson (6 months ago)
When can I afford that :(
Aleksa Vasić (6 months ago)
Why is on some 17 r4 models tobii eye tracker located below the screen and on some its merged with web cam? Please anyone if u know let me know
Aman Pandey (6 months ago)
Very nice review 👏
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Aman Pandey thank you Aman!
Elia1995 (6 months ago)
I ordered it, not this exact model of the review, but the one with a GTX 1060 6GB and 16GB DDR4, it should arrive in 2-3 weeks... (on Dell's site it says extimated delivery 30/10/2017) I can't wait to get a decent laptop to bring to my University to work with Maya, Cinema 4D, Photoshop and Sony Vegas... last year I brought my laptop and it sucks, slow as shit, it's a 2008 MacBook 13", it takes roughly 5 minutes to completely boot and the programs are very slow, I couldn't even render properly with Cinema 4D, that damn thing has only 2 cores... can't wait to get this laptop and I hope the battery will also last longer than mine...
Genes Gene (2 months ago)
Can you guys order for me.
Dommi Davros (3 months ago)
I'd tell your mum to get her own laptop! I'd never want to share this bad boy!
Elia1995 (4 months ago)
3-4 weeks.
Gary Sellars (4 months ago)
Wow, that sounds sounds fantastic, ordered mine last Monday. About how long did it take in total to receive yours?
Elia1995 (4 months ago)
Gary Sellars yeah, it arrived November 6th. The thermals are good for a laptop, on 100% usage, the CPU reaches 73 degrees, the overall performance feels like a 2015-2016 desktop, it can get over 60 FPS on most modern games on medium-high settings and has no issues at all with old games, I bring it weekly to the University to work with Cinema 4D and the render time is exactly like my i7-4790k. At home, is used by my mom, for whom I made a second user, so I don't have her messy desktop and her Chrome saved passwords when I use it; on boot, depending whose in front of it, gets recognized by the IR and it automatically logs in the right user. Our best laptop so far!!!
JustViruz (6 months ago)
Really want it
SHREY K (6 months ago)
Why don't somebody review this laptop with the newly launched 4k IPS screen with G Sync. somebody please do that
Mustafa Özdemir (5 months ago)
SHREY K Fuck yes Let me know too
MrWarningBros (6 months ago)
Thank you for this great review! Quick and straight to the point. I was searching for information what manufacturer's PCIe SSDs are inside these laptops but here I got speeds information which is even better.
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
you're welcome! Glad i could help = )
undeaddread (6 months ago)
My cpu has hit 92 degrees while playing warhammer 2 on high settings so I'm gonna have to remove the toothpaste Dell applied to the processor, the gpu is having no problem with heat
Dakkul Tech (6 months ago)
Good video.
Tanner (6 months ago)
earlier this month i purchased one with the gtx 1070, i7 7700hq, and fhd 60hz display. i decided to return it and i just purchased the same one but with the qhd 120hz display. Is it worth extra $250?
Shabih Ahmed (1 month ago)
Tanner did you like 120Hz screen? I have ordered UHD 4K display with i7-7700 with 1070 graphic. Do you think I should exchange with QHD 120Hz screen? Is it worth? It will increase the price to $600 as it is only available with 1080 card.
madcapper6 (4 months ago)
Depends on how serious of a gamer you are. If you do a lot of competitive online gaming, are into E-sports and that type of stuff, then a 120 is a must. The 1070 will run many games above 60 fps anyway so with the cheaper display you're gonna be choosing between a lot of screen tear and lag that comes via V-sync. I don't know much about VR but it seems that a 120 is needed or at least highly recommended for VR too. I'd say yes, if you're gonna utilize the better display, it's worth it.
Elia1995 (6 months ago)
Nah, the "default" monitor is already amazing and with the right settings in the nVidia control panel, you can get pretty much the same quality in terms of colours and brightness, as for 120hz... well, not so many games and programs take advantage of that and human eyes can't really see the difference between 60Hz and 120Hz, we usually don't see any difference past the 60 frames per seconds.
Vince Bentfield (6 months ago)
I only gey 70FPS for OW no matter the settings
Vince Bentfield (6 months ago)
Hobo Jo I looked into it. It wasn't capped :/
HippieJo (6 months ago)
Vince Bentfield The FPS Limit might have been capped to 70fps. Try increasing it in the settings
UltimateDebate Reviews (7 months ago)
All that room and no SD card?? Smh dell
ChrisGentleRock (21 days ago)
The Dell Alienware is a Gaming Notebook, so a card reader on this makes no sense. As a photographer you have a bag full of equipment. Use an usb card reader for 5 dollars or a cable to connect your camera.
Nathaniel's Phone (24 days ago)
David Howard It should have an SD card reader because there's space. It has nearly 100% rbg which would make it a great computer for photo and video editing. The majority of people take photos from a DSLR on an SD card. Thus, it should have one.
Darbyjack (1 month ago)
I do photography and video editing as one of my hobbies. No SD card slot is a deal breaker for me.
Steve Brower (1 month ago)
I can count the number of times I've had to move files around using SD in the last ten years on my left thumb
LaRon Fox (1 month ago)
Yes thats what it should be used for, but we have customer calling in on how to make a RAID using an SD card, or if its possible, so its not implausible that people just use SD cards for pictures and videos. That being said to the original question why not have an SD card on a laptop. I think having finger print readers are worthless on laptops due to many ways to hack them but people still have them. I personally don't use an SD card reader unless I need to get something off real quick, and you're not going to tell me that getting them wirelessley is faster than just copying and pasting them to the desktop, that process takes literally seconds upon putting the SD card in and accessing it.
KC Nham (7 months ago)
Alienware sucks rat balls! Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat OverheatOverheat Overheat Overheat Overheat OverheatOverheat Overheat Overheat Overheat OverheatOverheat Overheat Overheat Overheat OverheatOverheat Overheat Overheat Overheat OverheatOverheat Overheat Overheat Overheat OverheatOverheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Overheat Did I mention Overheat ?
Behizy (7 months ago)
I just bought this man I am soo freaking happy
Brandon 45 (7 months ago)
Nice I love my Alienware R4 17
James Thomas (7 months ago)
Nice review! Subbed.
Alina (7 months ago)
what's the song @ 7:25?
Elia1995 (5 months ago)
Alina damn, must be composed by himself then
Alina (5 months ago)
yes ... but no result
Elia1995 (6 months ago)
Tried to Shazam it ?
Trent Gresham (7 months ago)
is that machine good for audio production? I host a podcast and I'm in the market for a new pc/mac.
THEbrainbuster (7 months ago)
Y so complicated? Juz want a decent laptop that can play high quality games
JONATHAN THE GUY (7 months ago)
i wanna buy this is this a good pc?
JONATHAN THE GUY (6 months ago)
OK
HippieJo (6 months ago)
JONATHAN THE GUY but from what I've heard, it's a pretty good laptop
HippieJo (6 months ago)
JONATHAN THE GUY No it's not a good PC because it's a laptop.
CheekEman (7 months ago)
Oh by the way, your review is wrong on the CPU. It's not the 7280HQ but the 7820HK.
CheekEman (7 months ago)
Why am I watching this? I have this laptop already!
CheekEman (5 months ago)
I would say the Alienware still. I am loving this one its amazing!
CheekEman (5 months ago)
The alienware hands down
Chill.Edits (5 months ago)
CheekEman I know I’m late but which is better for gaming the alienware 17 r4 gaming laptop or the dell inspirion 15 7000 i7?
CheekEman (6 months ago)
what? lol
CheekEman (6 months ago)
Connor Blair no
유잼GOM슬기 (7 months ago)
got the gtx 1080 and jesus I love this thing. for 2200, it's pretty worth it and a copy of Destiny 2 is a bonus
Star Gate (7 months ago)
Nice review.. Can I get a bit of help here buying the right laptop? I have Dell XPS 15-9560 and Alienware 17 R4 in my mind. I am comparing Dell XPS 15-9560 with UHD 4k touch which supports up to 1 TB SSD, 32GB RAMx2400Hz and 4GB VDDR5 GTX 1050 Graphics and Alienware 17 R4 UHD that supports up to 3TB SSD+HDD, 32GB RAMx2400Hz and 8GB VDDR5 GTX 1080 graphics. I hardly game.. I am looking for a power horse that can basically serve these purposes: 1) Render 4k videos in Adobe Premier pro, After effects, Davinci Resolve and Avid Media Composer with ease. 2) 3D modelling in Blender and Cinema 4d 3) Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom The challenges in front of me for the Dell XPS 15-9560 is limited SSD storage (only up to 1TB) and a max of 4GB GTX 1050 VDDR5 graphics, where as Alienware offers up to 3TB and 8GB GTX 1080 VDDR5 graphics while both offers up to 32GB DDR4 RAM x 2400Hz. I am not concerned with the heaviness of Alienware (5Kg), but care for ultimate performance. I would appreciate your suggestions. Thank you !
Brett Matthews (7 months ago)
4:52 ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Brett locke (7 months ago)
What do you mean it's not good for designing. ? Some one please explain ! Would be much appreciated :D
Joon Ro (6 months ago)
I know it is a late reply - I think he was talking about the QHD display, which has a TN panel but very fast refresh rate. For design work you might wanna get 4K one because that will have (in general) better colors, viewing angles, and more resolutions.
8-Bit Rain (7 months ago)
Very informational and helpful.
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
+8-Bit Temmie Gaming glad I could help !!
kornfreak78 (7 months ago)
I recently ordered this laptop from dell but I went with the 17.3 inch UHD (3840 x 2160) IPS Anti-Glare 300-nits, Enabled with Tobii Eye-tracking... I wanted the best they had to offer so I opted for the UHD rather than the QHD.. did I make a mistake in doing that? The only game I plan on playing on this machine is World of Warcraft... you mentioned screen tearing? Am I going to regret going with the UHD...? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!
Mustafa Özdemir (5 months ago)
kornfreak78 hey can you please do a review :)
Sergio Jetro (7 months ago)
Gameplay graphics was shit, strange - R3 version seems better
Matthew Hedges (7 months ago)
The cottage?
Bharath Kiran (7 months ago)
Hi Matthew this is Bharath I'm a VFX student i wanna take Alienware 17r4 is it good for me are can you please prefer me a laptop

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.