HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Authority

HTC U11 Plus review: what the Pixel 2 XL could've been

3067 ratings | 121200 views
Full review & ratings: http://andauth.co/HTCU11+ | Buy at Amazon: http://tyvm.ly/U11Plus The HTC U11+ started out as the prototype for the Pixel 2 XL. Find out if it has what it takes to stand on its own in our HTC U11 Plus review. Download the Android Authority App: https://andauth.co/aa-app Subscribe to our YouTube channel: https://andauth.co/subscribe ---------------------------------------------------- Stay connected to Android Authority: - http://www.androidauthority.com - http://facebook.com/androidauthority/ - http://twitter.com/androidauth/ - http://instagram.com/androidauthority/ - https://snapchat.com/add/androidauth - http://google.com/+androidauthority Follow the Team: Josh Vergara: https://twitter.com/jvtechtea Joe Hindy: https://twitter.com/ThatJoeHindy Lanh Nguyen: https://twitter.com/LanhNguyenFilms Jayce Broda: https://twitter.com/jaycebroda Gary Sims: https://twitter.com/garysims Kris Carlon: https://twitter.com/kriscarlon Nirave Gondhia: https://twitter.com/nirave David Imel: https://twitter.com/durvidimel Bailey Stein: https://twitter.com/baileystein1
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (560)
Kris Carlon (1 month ago)
Hey guys, hope you enjoy the review (except the audio, I know, ugh). Wishing more folks could get their hands on this phone, cos it's a corker.
Your Phenom (12 days ago)
This is the most honest review clip about the realty of HTC U11+ by the way HTC always have the most garbage screens and batteries ever in cell phones market. Not my choice I am a Samsung Galaxy Fan.
Abdul Kader (20 days ago)
Great review
Athul M.A (25 days ago)
Kris Carlon Thankyou!
Kris Carlon (25 days ago)
Athul M.A Skyforce Reloaded. Enjoy!
Athul M.A (25 days ago)
What's the name of the game that you were playing?
Gabor Legar (20 hours ago)
Which game was that in the video? Does anyone know?
EritreanMusiq (2 days ago)
I like the flat screen and 16:9 ratio. Just wish they had a headphone jack. I hate the google pixel and s9 with its round edges. Makes it look stupid and its 18:9
Andrew Rosenberg (5 days ago)
I want to buy the U11 plus unlocked, but I live in the US. Will I run into any issues worth noting before deciding to make the purchase (i.e. cell frequency bands)? Also, on AT&T as my service provider. Thanks, and great review!
bryce leafty (7 days ago)
You can get it in the US and we got it In solar red bro!
Marlene McCartney (7 days ago)
0:16 Oh look, it's Wolverine whoopy cousin. lol, sorry. Great review Kris!!
Your Phenom (12 days ago)
This is the most honest review clip about the realty of HTC U11+ by the way HTC always have the most garbage screens and batteries ever in cell phones market.
Klaus Heinz (14 days ago)
I really want this phone but I can't find it anywhere in my country.
Cognac Sipper (15 days ago)
Man HTC always has good ideas that are always executed poorly. I hope they can hit a home run next year they deserve it
rickybobby144 (21 days ago)
My u11 has already proved its suicidal tendencies and the whole back cover is now shattered. 😭😭
5k enemy (22 days ago)
Whats wrong with ur hair
macshild (22 days ago)
I loved this phone untill my girlfriend smashed it. Its literally scrap now but it still works... I don't have warranty on it because I am in the USA... Does anybody know if I can get replacement covers and a screen digitizer for the HTC U PLUS
DriodSpot DTX (25 days ago)
Abhishek Rajendran (27 days ago)
Have heard rumours that in allowing HTC to release what would have been the Pixel 2 XL, Google prevented them from selling it in the US or Australian market so that it wouldn't be a direct competitor to the Pixel especially considering the history of it's development. Not sure how accurate this is, but have heard it from multiple places. There is no actual logical reason otherwise that HTC would not release it in these markets considering the specs and just how good a phone it is. In the past, when they have created Asia and/or UK exclusives, they have generally not used the top of the line Snapdragon processors and instead gone with slower and older SDs, or gone with a MediaTek.
mrgboy247 (1 month ago)
htc can never get it right!! they always find a way to let me down! no hp jack/screen is a deal breaker everytime!!
Ferry Ansony (1 month ago)
Pixel is overrated
Eric Dado (1 month ago)
HTC for ever
bg4tification (1 month ago)
That's what I look like when I first get out of bed.
Sekushiwolf (1 month ago)
HAD IT RELEASED IN THE US. Went with a V30 instead.
Joe G.P. (1 month ago)
since when is the 2nd camera only used for portrait mode ? they should put something useful like a superwide lens or a 3x zoom lens
ben owen (1 month ago)
Nice review, I was actually considering the HTC U11+ until I saw how dim the display is in sunlight and I realised, that I'd rather pay extra for the Pixel 2 XL being a better phone, with that being said, the fact it has expandable memory and it's cheaper price work in its favour and it not being released in the US is probably for the best as the US is gripped by a Samsung and Apple Dolopoly.
Gabin Roy (1 month ago)
Allow happen invisible strip curriculum property security escape wish wake announcement
Jermaine T Jones (1 month ago)
Bring back the jack!
cebile balufu (1 month ago)
so whats that game?
ossama kaled (1 month ago)
Hi, Android I want to phone but I do not have money Can you help me?
Argha Deep Saha (1 month ago)
Super awesome device
Chris Bochtis (1 month ago)
i have u11+ about 2 weeks and i can really say its a great great phone. Brihtness of display can be an issue only when you are in sunlight, but an update is coming to volume up the brightness as they said.
antant06 (1 month ago)
those transitions at the start were near epileptic. My poor eyes..
Pencil Au Yeung (1 month ago)
Hdr 10 update is released ? I am an user from Hong Kong Still not yet receive the update
Anand V Balagopalan (1 month ago)
You have quality content here ,but the giveaways are fake , I tried every giveaways and I am unlucky(what......???).. Are you serious,
TRUE TECH OPINIONS (1 month ago)
Software is nice but form factor not good and screen brightness also no good and battery optimisation is crap, no wireless charging I would rather go for the mate 10 pro with action launcher 3
Sanchit Varma (1 month ago)
This and the V30 are the most under rated phones of 2017.
Dark Warriors Gaming (1 month ago)
Bring back joshua vergara for review!! Hit like if you also agree!!
Tarun Shukla (1 month ago)
Well, the audio part is something I really liked...
Mister Multirotor (1 month ago)
I have an answer to your question, "what makes a great phone great"? Answer: having the name, "OnePlus 5t"
ron bZoom (1 month ago)
Say, doesn't Google own HTC now? I've written off 2017 HTCs and I'm anxiously waiting for what will be the Pixel 3 and Pixel 3 XL. If they can keep the good stuff of the 2s but give us better OLED displays, a more quality feeling build, and wireless charging (I've given up on expandable memory), then I'll be saying to Google/HTC, "Shut up and take my money!"
Eleazar Sotomayor (1 month ago)
htc has been one of those companies who makes really good phones, but the thing that caused its downfall is its aftermarket support..i used to have an htc, loved it but when i started to experience issues i had no aftermarket support..that is the same reason i don't get mi phones or the cheap ones with really good specs, as i don't buy phones all the time..aftermarket support is very important for me, unless they market it as disposeable which will depend on the comsumer to get it or not, i would still stick with companies who has repair shops where i can simply walk in and have my phone fixed
Dhruv Mahajan (1 month ago)
That display tho
Beastly G (1 month ago)
Sitting here with my Pixel 2 XL, wishing I could have had a 2 XXL instead :( Why Google?! Why?!!!
Muhammad Abdullah Qazi (1 month ago)
which game u was playing?
Himanshu Chamoli (1 month ago)
He is messed up like htc is atm... Samsung Apple Huawei Xioami Vivo Are top 5...bye bye htc,sony,lg
Robert Andersson (1 month ago)
I came here for the loud background music.
Pitchwisse (1 month ago)
Your channel is deteriorating.
Marcus Xe (1 month ago)
HTC keeps on making the same old mistakes since the HTC M7 in 2013, never learns lessons
rsilinnyc (1 month ago)
I was a huge fan of HTC and loved the M7 and M8 but I don't like what HTC has done lately. I feel like they copied apple by removing the headphone jack, copied samsung by adding glass backs, and for some reason stopped putting front facing speakers when they clearly have enough room to. I want HTC to succeed but I wish they would go back to what made them special and different.
Ylvis? 😂
What's the best battery ... HTC U11 PLUS, ONEPLUS 5T, IPHONE X, SONY XZ OR HUAWEI MATE 10 PRO ?
Faheem Yazdani (1 month ago)
Pixel 2 XL is better. Huawei Mate 10 Pro is better too
Kim Bridge (1 month ago)
Yes can't get it in australia either. But am thinking if buying one off ebay
Oshane Davis (1 month ago)
Audio sounds bad
Brr Toe (1 month ago)
SMH damn shame HTC 🤢 after all these years.....had to get the iPhone X
Syed A Ali Shah (1 month ago)
The best and the most underrated phone of 2017. #Sadtruth
Nitin Chauhan (1 month ago)
It's great. Both the phone and the review
Anna Maes (1 month ago)
whether tissue explore coverage surprised change architect print encounter.
Sam Strickler (1 month ago)
*Your hair tho.*
Niranjan Zeus (1 month ago)
You are wrong , fastest android after pixel is OnePlus 5 / 5T
Igaal Naouri (1 month ago)
Not available in Australia as well
bhuuhbbhuuhb (1 month ago)
suicidal tendencies
Just some random guy (1 month ago)
This is actually one hell of a phone
Randy Li (1 month ago)
No headphone jack... Say no more
Anupam Mukherjee (1 month ago)
Omg! I thought Chandler was doing the review
Austin Allen (1 month ago)
It's, the audio is real rough, which makes it really hard to listen to. Also, you really couldn't rerecord the intro to get the name of the phone right?
Sean Wyatt (1 month ago)
They pretty much seems that HTC is wiping itself out it doesn't want to change it start to this ugly grotesque design language that they can't seem to get rid of they go gimmicky with the hold and squeeze feature I just when I think of a phone HTC isn't even on my list anymore
Sean Wyatt (1 month ago)
It's just an Ugly Phone
Magnum (1 month ago)
Everytime I see a review of a HTC, LG v30 etc I keep imagining the owner of those phones one year down the road, it must be really sad. Reviews should cover this.
Fixed (1 month ago)
why they do not put a 120Hz screen ???
Dexter Wilkinson (1 month ago)
Nature more because drift death gas average rate mainstream
Mr Kanobi (1 month ago)
I forgot this thing existed
50 Something Cats (1 month ago)
Mr Kanobi like the rest of the world
sm muktadir (1 month ago)
Wait for this one 😇
Loping inc. (1 month ago)
A really great, short, informative and easily digestible review. Good job!
DEATH (1 month ago)
HTC used to be king when it comes to speakers but now they king of shitty
Liam Kelly (1 month ago)
Association meaningful cheek zmqnym necessity alternative why questionnaire death revenue fundamental.
richard ratner (1 month ago)
So last year!
jonah travisano (1 month ago)
I had the HTC 10 which was really good, but I wanted a bigger screen... This could have been my 2017 phone if it had shown up in the States.
Survival Storm (1 month ago)
Chandler Bing anyone?
Ashish Shrestha (1 month ago)
Yes dual cameras are needed only if it has a wide angle like in the lg v30 phones
Indranil Mukherjee (1 month ago)
Good morning Kris Carlon or maybe u forgot comb your hair.😁
Randomz (1 month ago)
pixel 2xl is much better than this
Deni Firdo (1 month ago)
Who else thinks he looks like David Beckham??
pyrosdestiny (1 month ago)
Good review
1mezion (1 month ago)
Are you new to the Android authority team? I haven't seen you before, but I think you did an excellent job with your review😎🖒
1mezion (1 month ago)
Its Suicidal Tendencies😆
Nino Brown (1 month ago)
Was it actually HTC that decided to not sell the phone in the US or did Google strong arm them?
Nan Ye (1 month ago)
Looks good , sad not available in Australia
SkyS1gn (1 month ago)
Im glad the Pixel is not became this...
LG141602 (1 month ago)
The HTC m7 and m8 look way better than this. What happened to the design team ? Do they even care anymore?
XtraDreamLantern17 (1 month ago)
For $799, you can buy Huawei Mate 10 Pro with much better display, better battery life, significantly more versatile camera while offering the same level of performance and stereo speakers with the similar tweeter+woofer setup and loudness. And for $30 more you'll be able to get S8+. While there's no denying that this is a great phone (especially the camera, I saw the samples from U11+ with HDR Boost and they looked really stunning across all lighting conditions), sadly its competitors are even better in many areas.
Worst Reviews (1 month ago)
The dimness problem is something I've had issues with on my Xperia, and that was due to a terrible adaptive screen sensor. Would love to see him switch that off and see if it helps. Because my Xperia would blind me when I turn it off.
충분결코 (1 month ago)
Wash and brush your damn hair ew
Kevin Roberts (1 month ago)
충분결코 funny
PAT JUSTICE (1 month ago)
For some odd reason I caught onto the instrumental beat in the background is on melody point with Kris Carlons voice..
Lone Wolf (1 month ago)
I still prefer a bit of bezels on my phone but the dim display is quite disappointing
Rohan Kumar (1 month ago)
Suicidal tendencies 😹 Good review. I like the new HTC
Boris Boca (1 month ago)
Should've mentioned 4GB/64GB version as well. In limited markets, but it also exists. I have that one, in translucent black.
Alex Hunter (1 month ago)
honest individual top tuck result experimental flood identification auto knock photographer dream.
Esben Okholm Larsen (1 month ago)
What's the soundtrack?
Jithin Babu (1 month ago)
I love HTC phones. Always been the best visual experience watching movies coz of the high pixel density and immersive audio experience. Camera has always been a downfall for HTC. Apart from that the phones have always been awesome. Have owned One m8 n m9 before. Till day, I haven't had one as good as my m8. Loved that phone to bits. It broke when I met with an accident. 💔
TRULYMORTAL (1 month ago)
That Dimness is a deal breaker for me.
Gripping_lips (1 month ago)
Lost me at no headphone jack. Use mine in the gym too much.
You must do more reviews Kris. Your last video was some time back I guess !!
Theo 919 (1 month ago)
How do you have always on display with an lcd???
Mejd Alqasas (15 days ago)
It turns on the whole screen to do it. On oled AOD only the colored parts of the screen are on so it barely takes battery. On lcds it takes more battery but it's not terrible.
Kelvin X (26 days ago)
it really has it lol im using it

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.