HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Marques Brownlee

18-core iMac Pro Review: Not a Trap!

48042 ratings | 1434478 views
iMac Pro. Turns out it's not a trap. It's pretty damn good. That time I thought it was a trap: https://youtu.be/RvXmktAurSQ That wallpaper: https://i.imgur.com/YO1xfwJ.jpg Satechi hub: http://amzn.to/2oE4VtP Twelvesouth stand: https://twelvesouth.com/product/hirise-pro-for-imac MKBHD Merch: http://shop.MKBHD.com Video Gear I use: http://kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959 Tech I'm using right now: https://www.amazon.com/shop/influencer-0bfe542e Intro Track: More Better by Alltta ~ http://twitter.com/MKBHD http://snapchat.com/add/MKBHD http://google.com/+MarquesBrownlee http://instagram.com/MKBHD http://facebook.com/MKBHD
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (6178)
Marques Brownlee (3 months ago)
YouTube is taking its damn time processing this one
JOHN.Z (1 hour ago)
But can it run crysis???
Eshu Marneedi (3 days ago)
Thanks For Awesome Tech Videos!! Just Subbed!!!!
Ben-kitty Jones (19 days ago)
I have been sitting for hours once waiting for my 2013 Toshiba C-55-A. It sucks to wait. I got so bored, I ate 5 bags of chips. Sorry, mommy.
Nirmal Zala (1 month ago)
Marques Brownlee my friend
Jeremy Moody (20 hours ago)
"with a bit more, for a bit less"... I could literally build a computer that can beat this in productivity for about $7000 in parts.
Shay Monét (1 day ago)
can you explain why you spent 13k again because the website says 5k......
GameFriendsBG (4 days ago)
I won't pay for that much like its 4999 dollars. go away apple
Liam Dale (8 days ago)
So the max RAM is 128GB. Who would need 128GB of RAM in a computer!?
The Dirt EP (12 days ago)
I really like apple products, my last work was produced on a Macbook Pro, I really worry about overheating on high performance iMacs though.
Keith Edward (12 days ago)
$13K woah!
Seth Sanchez (12 days ago)
where did u get that much money???
Medevenx (12 days ago)
You get this to render 30 fps videos? What a joke
Mariusz Aleksandrowicz (13 days ago)
What 2 options would you recommend to upgrade for software engineer (mostly Java backend and Swift for iOS)? I do some sort of pictures and movies but all concern only my family.
Clive Green (13 days ago)
I’m definitely heterosexual, but I could watch this guy all day.
Anzor Youssef (13 days ago)
is it good for VGaming?
K J (14 days ago)
Nothing new!!! Nothing groundbreaking!!! Nothing revolutionary!!!
khalil taylor (15 days ago)
Watching on the iMac pro!
Keith Batchelor (15 days ago)
Your presentations are always very professional Marques. Well done.
Max Zip (16 days ago)
If this ever lagged I would shoot up the world
Alex Andriesi (16 days ago)
Hasselblad X1D 😏
Hey Marques I am new to your channel and I am honestly impressed by a lot of your content .I am in the finance field and i was curious about what computer you would recommend for large data analysis work type as most of your videos center on visual creatives.
Emad Saeed (18 days ago)
is this the fully loaded (with max possible specs) imac pro??
Luke George (18 days ago)
It wanna be good for $13k....
Michael Arthur (18 days ago)
*TRASH CAN MAC PRO?*
Trajce Playz (19 days ago)
*But can it run Crysis?*
Ben-kitty Jones (19 days ago)
I would be able to do so many things on that! I wish that I was able to afford it! I do so many things on it, and it is insane for what I do. I think that I do too many things for kids my age to do. I would be loving video editing too!
Sebastian Valdez (20 days ago)
Whole new levels of money wasting with this one
Randy Maldonado (20 days ago)
what type of desk do you have?
The Projector (20 days ago)
What's the song in the beginning
Mateusz Felix (22 days ago)
How fucking dumb are you all for bashing magic mouse design. Where the hell were they supposed to put it then? On the glass side? To ruin smooth and glossy surface? It's charging fast so there is absolutely no reason to talk shit about it. Same with Apple pencil. U should be happy you can charge it without carrying any adapters or even more additional cords. Jesus.
Dishant Vaghela (22 days ago)
I love your video always
The Gman (23 days ago)
For a guy who bought a 40k $ RED camera, of course he's gonna recommend this over-expensive beast...
Xiotus (25 days ago)
Price 100% money 1%
Xiotus (25 days ago)
How the he'll do you get such money ??
Panthos (25 days ago)
are u kidding me, $30k, i well never get an iMac im gonna stick with a custom PC with a crazy price (not even the half) and get the best performance
letsroll (25 days ago)
YOU ARE INSANE
GTAMASTER (26 days ago)
13k for a computer is fucking crazy!
Bill Westfall (26 days ago)
$13k, but at least they give you stickers
Gabriel Schroll (26 days ago)
Awesome video, Marques! I too will be waiting for the modular Mac Pro. I can't accept a Mac that is not user upgradable. Question - do you know how well those modified 2010-2012 5.1 Westmere Mac Pros stand up to these iMac Pro machines? I'm seeing that you can get a 12-core 2012 with 64gb RAM and a GTX 1080ti for around $3500-$4000. Worth it? Anyone who has any knowledge on this, please feel free to post!
MyReview1 (28 days ago)
What standing desk it that?
Andre Yee (29 days ago)
Amazing computer... Complete trash price.
Mitchell Rossman (1 month ago)
I still don’t think it’s worth 10k more.
Nyshant Kumar (1 month ago)
Watching something I know I will never get.
avinas jha (1 month ago)
$13000 ?? screw that
привет
Ven (1 month ago)
The price is a TRAP!
Johnny Chen (1 month ago)
18 cores.... wait... what?!
Alexey Souvorkin (1 month ago)
$13,000! You can go quantum with a PC for that.
Ken Whitaker (1 month ago)
I also couldn't wait for the Mac Pro. Amazing with 10-core unit. Interesting is that the limit of dual display 5K additional displays works incredibly well. One other video benefit is that if you use the Wacom Cintiq pro 24, it works too! Wow.
demonpride1975 (1 month ago)
this is nice but way overkill. 128 gb of ram is pointless, you will never end up using that much memory.
ZachMetalFan (1 month ago)
Jealousy Overload! x_x
FritsJan Smit (1 month ago)
Agree. Using it with DaVinci Resolve 14... smooth as butter...
Quelvin Trinidad (1 month ago)
The intro is sick💯
Bryce A (1 month ago)
Okay the it's quiet under load, but how hot does it get under load? My 2013 iMac 780M GPU stopped working, probably due to apples preference for silence over cooler temps. I now run my fans at max always. It's nosy, but i use headphones anyway so i don't care. (I bought a new motherboard with the same 780M for $450)
debendra gurung (1 month ago)
For video editing u dont need the expensive ECC memory nor you may need the xeon cores. It might be slower.
quicktjc1 (1 month ago)
Waist of MONEY! I'd build my own PC and make it more powerful for a lot cheaper.
Design Script (1 month ago)
buddy do a grant here for ur bros back in home land Africa like am crazy about this piece and can't do shit to get it ..you can't buy in credit down here you have to pay cash...damn nigga sow a seed in my life bud
Arjun Roy (1 month ago)
You could have just given us the time it took to render in minutes instead of the Rocket League analogy 🙄🙄
Frustrated Panda (1 month ago)
144p with buffering. I am god. Of patience.
ploptop1263 (1 month ago)
Not a fan of the design of iMacs, but I like the insides and display...
Rondre (1 month ago)
hey marques why dont you build a hackintosh but if your scared of apples rage its fine just dont
Rondre (1 month ago)
are you intensely addicted to rocket league
Mastro6478 (1 month ago)
Wasted 14,000$
SuperMachead1 (1 month ago)
I can’t see Apple moving towards a modular upgradable system after all of their products have gone so far the other way being almost unfixable never mind non upgradable ....I bought a used Mac mini because it was the last upgradable version...I think the 2014 model...I upgraded it myself and it will last me years to come 🤓
Aashish Bista (1 month ago)
sir you explained and review so nicely best review ever really thank you for awsome video sir
MahaVakyas (1 month ago)
the cool thing is that marques can write off this imac pro as a 'business expense' since his business is youtube videos and he uses this imac pro for that. :)
xilinor (1 month ago)
I'm still waiting for the 8 CPU with 36 cores each version
amin aminn (1 month ago)
But can it run crysis ?
Mohammed Holba (1 month ago)
OMG, I can buy a flat for this price.
Mastro6478 (1 month ago)
Do did you say $14,000
Rally Bop (1 month ago)
what table is that?
Fwz Dev (1 month ago)
still, nobody tested this product how it should be tested. BRING up 3D modeling, some intensive work not just a timeline with no effects on it loled. waste of cash
Anmol Mr.difficult (1 month ago)
13000$ 🙄🙄🙄hands down bro
w0mbles (1 month ago)
$13000. No. I don't care how fucking good space gray is... $13K. No.
Cristian Silvagnoli (1 month ago)
Any app or website suggested for MacBook wallpapers?
chris prior (1 month ago)
I really enjoy ur reviews of stuff and i enjoy listening to your voice.
DrunkMeteor (1 month ago)
that intro is amazing
JWil42 (1 month ago)
I hope that Apple puts Qi charging on their Magic Mouse. That would fix it easily if they include a special mouse pad
Bashir Solomon (1 month ago)
A headphone jack???.. And It's not on their phones👎
79a8sgdasuy (1 month ago)
Cool t-shirt
WoolFlannel (1 month ago)
I can understand why people would get this mac. If they're mainly an apple user and like the OS, and just want to buy a computer and not think to much about specifications. However, since I'm a specs whore I'd just get the amd 1950x. 2 cores less than the xeon but a higher base frequency by more than 1GHz. Not only that but it would be modular since it's a pc and work better for premiere pro with it's scuffed code. My main concern with the imac pro is the possible heat issues. But ultimately, at this price point it doesn't really matter what you're getting since they're pretty similar.
Jerome James (1 month ago)
What software does he use ??
SARY GLD (1 month ago)
Those specs are completely NUTS. Clearly the most beautiful desktop pc you can buy IMO.
Goth Pop TV (1 month ago)
Add 8 USB ports 2 FireWire, 2 SD slots, 2 Thunderbolt ports a DVD drive and maybe then... MAYBE then you can call it a "Pro". It sits on the desktop- there's no need for it to be thin. Why can't the base be twice as think and have all the ports. There's nothing "Pro" about having to turn the iMac around just to p;lug in a flas drive. That's why I'd rather have 8 UBS ports, so I don't have to unplug anything to make room for another device.
Brian Todd (1 month ago)
@marques brownlee, do you follow Linus Tech Tips? Have you followed his saga with getting his new iMac Pro fixed? Apple seems to lack the parts and training to support fixing the new computers. Do you have any thoughts on that?
rchtrll (2 months ago)
please do 4k 60 fps
Rz ReZion (2 months ago)
Yaaaay and in Brazil it is a whopping *U$30,000* yes *30K* !
Bilal Mithani (2 months ago)
Amazing review
Maggie Costello (2 months ago)
How do you think this would do with statistic and data modeling programs?
Aidan Phillips (2 months ago)
Are traps gay?
Dmitri Mendeleev (2 months ago)
Wtf apparently games of rocket league is a unit of measure.
viperkilla123 (2 months ago)
it's so expensive though. couldn't you make a desktop with similar power for way less money if you bought the parts separately?
Gang (2 months ago)
Can it run Windows movie maker?
Ryan Dela Cruz (2 months ago)
Great vid Marquez, I have some funds to purchase a an imac or imacPro... what system u recommend for editing on fcpx 4k video 5min to 10 mins. if its the imac Pro, what do you recommend I upgrade in the configuration considering budget costs. thank you in advance
Ryan Dela Cruz (2 months ago)
I realize you answered my question in the video... sorry... 10 core upgrade, ram then graphics
Stephen Swetonic (2 months ago)
guess you'll have to use a slower machine so you can play more rocket league
nixieHead (2 months ago)
Your friend Linus is getting trouble with apple.
Psychotic lad (2 months ago)
*R O C K E T L E A G U E T H E B O Y S*
Mike P (2 months ago)
I'd be worried it would overheat if I couldn't open up the case to blow the dust out of it. Other than that, looks like an awesome machine.
Parry Hotter (2 months ago)
I hate your desktop pictures anyway. Lol
Chandru Ntr (2 months ago)
Samsung
tashi tshering (2 months ago)
Richy rich
Abhishek Malik (2 months ago)
You don’t do a giveaway you have lots of Iphone and many more products I m unable to purchase any Apple products because I m not enough rich please give me anyone product you have I won’t mind to get the used one also so please
Blackapino The Apple Guy (2 months ago)
It's my NEXT iMac after I purchase the Newer Version of the iMac I have, which is the Late 2015. I'm looking to Get the iMac with the AMD Radeion...which is an Upgrade from my Iris Pro 620. Nicely reviewed. So are you going to Be attending Vidcon 2018?

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.