HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

DELL XPS 15 Review: Is it Still Worth it? (7 Months Later!)

1423 ratings | 143960 views
Welcome to my DELL XPS 15 (9550) Review 7 Months Later. Check out dbrand skins: http://bit.ly/28LPUWU DELL XPS 15 VS ASUS ZenBook Pro: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOVdUtGfteM ASUS ZenBook Pro UX501 Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cPVxSaPwiKs DELL XPS 13 Review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGnEsAZVmjQ My Gear: http://kit.com/monizma/my-gear Help support the channel by using my Amazon affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Snapchat: https://www.snapchat.com/add/mattmoni... Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com


Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (499)
Arunan Sivakumaran (3 months ago)
Is it still good to buy in 2018? I don't need the graphics and power just for university work. Thanks!
Arunan Sivakumaran (3 months ago)
Do you mean the 2 in 1 version?
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Yup! There's a 2018 model now as well.
aLoja (4 months ago)
Dumb question how much should I spend on these virus protection? There’s all these add ons on there website ? But idk how much I should spend I’ll most likely just use fl studio ?
Marcelo Irelandes (7 months ago)
theres one version with i7 6770hq. still a good choice?
Marcelo Irelandes (7 months ago)
my use its only in photoshop and lightroom
Marcelo Irelandes (7 months ago)
in my country theres a huge diference between both in $$$ almost 900 dolars
Matthew Moniz (7 months ago)
I'd get the one with the latest one instead. the GTX 1050 is a huge upgrade over the model with the 960m
FogFighter (8 months ago)
Only one thing... Battery swelling.
xBassel92x (10 months ago)
Is it normal for the fans to go insanly fast when playing games ?
Joel Dino (10 months ago)
Do you have a video on how you use a separate scratch disk?
Voges (10 months ago)
On the YouTube videos about this laptop there are the exact same hate comments posted on all of them over this laptop lol.
EMERALD (10 months ago)
your beard is dope
Matthew Moniz (10 months ago)
Thanks!
mpgrewal00 (10 months ago)
Good honest reviews. Nice video quality.
Matthew Moniz (10 months ago)
+mpgrewal00 thank you !
Mohanned Walid (10 months ago)
Is it still worth it now?
Babar Asghar (10 months ago)
I bought xps 15 9550, and ever since getting it I'm having issues model I have has 4k n 256gb SSD pm951 16gb ram issues I'm having since yesterday is frequent BSOD and hangsup while playing 4k videos in kmplayer ... how to resolve it running Windows 10 home 1511 (don't know why it's not updating to latest)
Matthew Moniz (10 months ago)
+Taser Face send it in for a replacement
pg86131314 (11 months ago)
is the Dell xps 15 i3 worth it if U can't afford the i7 notebook? or would the xps 13 2n1 i5 be better buy both same price 999.00 but 13 xps 2n1 has the i5 . any thoughts ?
Tanya Kucey (7 months ago)
I thin kDave2D does a review on this
atif shahzad (11 months ago)
Great review bro thanks lot
Rashid Al Abri (11 months ago)
Would anyone recommend buying it now?
My SwatchOrama (1 year ago)
ahh still battling between this one or hp spectre 360x. decisions decisions
Tanya Kucey (7 months ago)
what did you go with? I chose the x360 and had problems within 4 days - it went back, store guy sais it was their 4th return! 2 with dead motherboards. hoping for better with the dell due someone soon
TechMalicious (1 year ago)
My XPS 15 9550 had some issues in the first couple of weeks. Gaming was ok however when it wasn't on charge it would cap at 30 fps, has anyone got a solution to this?
Dr Peter jones (1 year ago)
Dell has been coming out with good designs in the past 18 months. inovative and user focused. However I still dont trust them as a company. They work too closely with intel and microsoft which gives the market the impression they are working together to stop the failed UEFI bios technologies from running other operating systems for commercial gain and push up prices of hardware.This maybe illegal within the EU but a competition authority ruling will determine this soon. what is more interesting is the move into enterprise systems to the detriment of microsoft and the adoption of Ryzen chips next year allowing enterprise system development on their hardware.
Midnight zen (1 year ago)
i keep having BSOD. and it says critical process has died. anyone knows a fix ?
Mr. BAT (1 year ago)
Nice Video
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks Batman!
Jessica Blue (1 year ago)
No, it's not worth it. Dell customer support is horrible........... horrible!
Stephen Eisel (1 year ago)
Beware! I just purchased a XPS 15 9550 on 3-1-17 and I am returning it. There are still issues with the sound when playing videos and poor wifi connection. I would not recommend purchasing an XPS 15 at this time.
Stephen McInerney (10 months ago)
Chrome is worse than Edge, in that regard?!?
Stephen Eisel (10 months ago)
https://www.reddit.com/r/Dell/comments/5r1fu5/xps15_9560_wifi_problems/
Stephen Eisel (10 months ago)
Oh Stephen http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/20006909
Stephen McInerney (10 months ago)
You're referring to the 9550 which was last year's model. The current one is 9650 (released 1/2017) and does not have these issues.
Stephen Eisel (10 months ago)
No, this is a common problem with the XPS that Dell has chosen not to correct.
clarence0100 (1 year ago)
nice point. Theres a new updated version of it which solve the write up problem u have in that laptop. You should review the new version. Oh and the reason why i liked this video is because u mentioned about editing which im interested in a laptop at the moment. Pls do a review on the new version :D
Keyboard on most of the new Dell laptops is getting smaller and smaller with vast unused space on both sides...for ??? Power button placed in the most ridiculous location like it shouldn't even be there. Good designed ?...hardly , best designed was the old E series. In terms of build quality beats the average.
Jerry4050 (1 year ago)
Its strange I have experience the same bugs in the 9560 model and a strange IPS glow in viewing angles. I dont know if its because of the manufacturer Sharp way of making these 4k panels.
I'm buying one thanks to you
jed23ify (1 year ago)
I'm waiting for Dell to get their 2017 XPS 15 models at Best Buy. I heard they started shipping out already.
Calvin Page (1 year ago)
Great video but no like because I really wanted information on the battery life.
SS J (1 year ago)
Hi Mathew, can you please share where the place you bought your xps 15 for $2250 CAD? With stats like yours at Dell.ca now retails for $3000!
Tanya Kucey (7 months ago)
SS J - I got mine for that over teh thanksgiving [cad] holiday weekend at dell.ca -you just have to watch for sales.
Bala Murali (1 year ago)
I am using xps15 with exactly same specs as yours. it's 8 months old now I got this problem twice where the laptop turn on and suddenly turns off for a few times before starting to work normally .... Now it's working fine but considering that there is only a few months of warranty left I just want to know if this will be a serious issue
MangaMatt (1 year ago)
Great review! I'm debating to sell my desktop and invest into a laptop instead. I don't game that much and primary do illustration projects and 1080p video editing. Do you use your Dell XPS 15 as your primary machine and if so, do you think it will work for my needs? Thank you for reading and have a nice day (:
David Raymond (1 year ago)
Has the dead space bar been fixed? I used on for a short period of time and the space bar was terrible I had to hit it dead center or it wouldn't register a space.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Works fine for me! Never had that issue. If you do send it in to be replaced.
Rohith Sai (1 year ago)
Great review Matthew !! I have purchased it recently myself and have been using it on a daily basis for about 6 months now. The only annoying problem I had, after the recent BIOS update was with audio jack.If for some reason the headphones are unplugged and replugged back in, the sound is lost. The only way I could get it back to work was to turn it sleep mode and back on. Did anyone else face this issue with the audio driver and does it have a solution ?
Jerome Ocampo (1 year ago)
I just bought the 4k one. Are you getting slight motion blur?
kripssy (1 year ago)
So I have a 9550 fhd 8g 256gb 56whr battery on order. I plan to purchase a 2.5" crucial mx300 sata ssd for storage and since the model comes with no hdd and just the empty slot, will I need to get any ssd bracket/adapter and sata connector to get it running? Appreciate any help. Thanks
Nothing (1 year ago)
Great video, what about this XPS and the Precision 5510 which looks same but with i7 6820hq?
Tyrelle Davenport (1 year ago)
What's the battery life? I'm hearing different things. Some comments say 2 hours of video playback some say 6.
Antonio F. (1 year ago)
I own the version with the 1080p display and the larger battery (that is, the one with no mechanical hard drive) and I get around 5-6 hours of juice for video playback, text editing, web browsing and such. It's not stellar, but it's great for a laptop which packs so much power under the hood.
Enzo Masongsong (1 year ago)
Thanks to your review i'm going to buy this laptop. Thanks bro
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
You're welcome! = ) Glad I could help!
Gạo Nhỏ (1 year ago)
how about temperature when gaming ?, is it comfortable ?
Claudio B (1 year ago)
I'm still trying to decide between Dell XPS and Mac Book Pro. Which one do you recommend?
Claudio B (1 year ago)
Thanks! Looking forward to see it
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Claudio B XPS for sure. I have my MacBook pro review coming out tomorrow morning
Li-Chung Chih (1 year ago)
how is it so far? Got me thinking about buying it! Will be doing 4K renders as well.
Li-Chung Chih (1 year ago)
that is the dream! Its sexy in person... my god..
Ayush Khanal (1 year ago)
Wow you are a prophet. It has a 1050ti lol.
Victor Kallgren (1 year ago)
No one knows exactly, but Intel has to release their Kaby Lake quad core first. I don't know if Nvidia's cards are ready either. The end of Q1 is what most people seem to believe.
Everyday · Izzy (1 year ago)
Wait when is the refresh coming out?
Victor Kallgren (1 year ago)
I highly doubt it'll have a 1060. The TDP is a lot higher for that card. 1050, maybe 1050Ti, sounds more likely.
dakunclear (1 year ago)
I just bought almost the same model except with i5 and 8gb of ram but i've already upgraded the ram but ya it plays the games I want with ease plus your right about the 4k display omg it is nice
LivinThaDream (1 year ago)
So he never stated which bugs were ultimately fixed..?
nikosvault (1 year ago)
How much 4k editing can you do on a full battery charge?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
2.5 hours
Adam Brown (1 year ago)
when you say you use an external hard drive for a scratch disc, do you mean you use one for just your scratch disc and another to store your video files, as I would imagine for video editing using the same hard drive for scratch discs and video files would create a bottle no?
Tom Williams (1 year ago)
Great video. I have a question - does the QHD screen emit any backlight bleeding in dark environments? Thanks!
Tom Williams (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz Yes please
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Tom Williams do you mean 4K model ?
Saleh Ahmadzada (1 year ago)
I am between Dell XPS 15 32gb ram and 1tb SSD 2500$ and a new Macbook pro 15 2799$+200tax model. Never used a Dell laptop before. How is a trackpad if compare to macbook? How is a stability os system? Price is not important for me, but stability is very important, i have no time to play with windows explorer.exe and etc, that is why i am asking about windows. Because on my HP(it is powerful 16gb of ram , SSD and etc) windows is terrible.
What color setting do you use for the display? I just picked this one up for video editing and I can't seem to get the warm and oversaturated look to go away. Thanks!
Thanks! Ah I see. What tool would you suggest?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I colour calibrated it with a separate tool. But if you have the 4K panel it will always be a bit too contrasty. There's just tons of pixels
Gramm Bjoern (1 year ago)
I wonder if Dell is going to update this thing anytime soon? I could see myself editing video on the go with it, but after one year it could probably get a 2nd revision or so? Got time until late january and after that #appleevent I will not choose the MacBook Pro. Too many downside for my kind of work, sadly...
Gramm Bjoern (1 year ago)
That would be nice. Dells Twitter team told me to look forward to CES 2017 which isn't far away. A techwise update would be sufficient for me, because the unit itself looks solid and that screen looks awesome!
blackdification (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz Are you sure about the Update? Because I am thinking about buying one, but if theres a new release I might wait a little bit :)
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Gramm Bjoern it's going to be updated early 2017 they're just waiting for the quad core Kaby lake processors. It will use a gtx 1050 or 1060
Abvv (1 year ago)
Where did you buy it for that price? I can only find it on best buy for 3,000 and on dell website for 2,400
Fræ (1 year ago)
Still good? I thought it had a matte screen though
invincimaxi (1 year ago)
Some versions (like the 1080p non touch version) has a matte screen, but im pretty sure all the touch models have a glossy one
Ali AlZubaidi (1 year ago)
hi . . . have you had any issues connecting it to external display like screen flickering? coil whine issues?
Rick Stockton (1 year ago)
Yep, almost a year in. The biggest problem? The radio. I battled Bluetooth issues and finally got a replacement 5510 (at no cost, from Dell) and it is currently on its way back from being repaired at Dell. New motherboard, new Wi-Fi/Bluetooth card. OTHERWISE, Fast Light Stylish 6 hrs of battery life on non-SolidWorks tasks (that a day of air travel) What an AMAZING machine. The radio reliability has nearly caused me to give up on it, but the word is that Dell's repair people are really very good, and I should have my Dell Precision 5510 back this Monday before 3 PM, and, after 11 months after my original purchase, am looking forward to giving it one more shot. Why? It really *is* that amazing a machine.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I agree it's awesome! I can't wait for the refresh with the new 10 series GPUs. I'll definitely sell mine for the new one.
Paul Sandberg (1 year ago)
I just unwrapped my shiny new xps 15. I was waiting desperately for it to be delivered. Prior to its arrival I watched all videos about it on youtube, including your videos. Dude, when talking about issues that people had and those that allegedly have been solve you're leaving out the fact that almost everyone has problems with randome changes in screen brightness. Please do a google search on "xps 15 flickering screen". Why don't you talk about that? If there is a fix to that problem I would excpect reviewers like you to say something about it rather than babbling about specs anyone can check on dells website. I know you will not read this but I had to post this. Excuse my english. I'm super dissapointed and will return the device to the place in China where it took 14 days to come from.
Stephen McInerney (11 months ago)
This only affects 4K screen, right? What was the build date? Did you update drivers?
Cutie pie (1 year ago)
Screen flickers. Is it because it' has 4k screen? I don't know if I should buy this or macbook pro 15 (for video editing/graphic design). Ughh
Ezikkiel (1 year ago)
Whats your battery life like? Can you charge this with the Anker 20000 USB-C portable power bank like the 12 inch macbook do you know?
Cash Daugherty (1 year ago)
What about coil whine? This is the only deterrent to purchase for me.
Steve Mullin (1 year ago)
what is a scratch pad? i'm looking for a laptop to edit on using adobe premiere pro. I'm considering getting a used macbook pro 15" so i can also learn FCPX. How is Adobe on this machine? Can you connect a 4k TV to it to do color correction on your videos?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
A scratch disk is just a separate hard drive or external hard drive that you use to store all your files that you're editing with for premiere pro or fcpx. When you have your media, operating system and premiere on the same drive it's slow as hell. So it's always good to use a scratch disk to keep your files separate. I recommend a SSD. The Samsung T3 is a good option.
Steve Mullin (1 year ago)
what is a scratch pad? i'm looking for a laptop to edit on using adobe premiere pro. I'm considering getting a used macbook pro 15" so i can also learn FCPX. How is Adobe on this machine? Can you connect a 4k TV to it to do color correction on your videos?
Daniel Verejan (1 year ago)
Does the dust get stuck between the metal frame and carbon fiber?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Nope!
Anton Sjostrand (1 year ago)
As a programmer, I guess the keyboard will be a deal breaker for me. Too bad. Hopefully they fix this on the next model.
Martin Randall (1 year ago)
One of the great things I love about this laptop is that I can use it with a Dell Docking station to power 3 external monitors as well as using the laptop screen giving me 4 monitors to work from. It's outstanding. The only downside I've found is that the screen's resolution is so high at 4k that Windows is practically unusable. If I scale up the Window's fonts, most (but not all) applications will adjust. A better solution is to run the laptop display at less than 4k.
The Blue Rook (1 year ago)
I've been watching your reviews because I am going to be buying a laptop soon. (My first!) The machine will be used to edit audio files exclusively. It will have to come with Windows 10 unfortunately. It will be an 'independent' machine to house my audio programs and files. It will never have to be connected to the internet. Will Windows 10 allow that or will it constantly be trying to force the machine to go online even if it doesn't have an internet connection set up? Thank you for your time and informative reviews.
Soljarag5 (1 year ago)
Where did you find this laptop for $1,700 USD??
riley (1 year ago)
+Oliver M. Canstree nah that is super cheap for this laptop. the 8gb ram and 256 ssd version is 1700 lmao
Oliver M. Canstree (1 year ago)
It's before tax
SoTotallyToby (1 year ago)
You mention this laptop can edit 4K video as long as you use a separate scratch disk, I'll be getting one of these for video editing so could you please elaborate on what you mean by using a separate scratch disk?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+SoTotallyToby a scratch disk is just a separate hard drive. So for example I use a portable Samsung T1 for all my footage that I use to edit off. When you have your editing software and footage on the same drive it runs much to slow.
Rikard Svensson (1 year ago)
Dell xps 15 vs Macbook Pro 2016? i guess we'll see what the choice will be.
Abvv (1 year ago)
Man I'm asking myself the same question
juan perdomo (1 year ago)
I always think That the people saying negative things about Dell is Because They dont take good care of the laptop, Until NOW, that It Has Happened to me !! and i do take good care of it !!. Bought a US 1,600 Dell XPS 9550 at MICROSOFT store in Manhattan. I live in the caribbean, and after 3 months the hard disk died. I lost all my info !!!. Latin America dell service changed the hard disk, and after 1 week , the mother board died !!! Blue screen every time it gets a little hot. !!! 3 months after buying it and they dont want to change me the laptop !!. They want to fix it, and I am sure, it will die again soon. WONT BUY DELL NEVER IN MY LIFE TIME or any family or friend around. !! They say replacement warranty is only for 30 days as you can read at their page. 1 year is for fixing. How can you say a client that has bougth a us1,600 fabric defective laptop , and only has 3 months using the laptop, that you are sorry , that they can only fix THEIR DEFECTIVE LAPTOP!!, and you will have to go to fix it every time it dies, until the year pass and then good bye.
Siegfried Van Duffel (1 year ago)
Thank you for very nice and informative reviews. I can't decide between the XPS 15 and the Lenovo Carbon X1. I would be using it mainly for writing, and I don't need a touch screen. I'm thinking the lenovo keyboard, battery life and weight give it an advantage, but I still find the XPS 15" screen really attractive.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
You're welcome Siegfried! Both laptops will do you fine for writing, however, the XPS 15 has a dedicated graphics card which will help if you plan on gaming or editing video. If you don't plan on doing that then the X1 carbon might be the better option if you prefer a better keyboard and easier portability.
John Dunn (1 year ago)
Also can you explain what you mean by a 15" in a 14" form factor? Thanks! Love the review.. very well done, clear and thorough.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks John! = ) The size of the entire laptop is similar to the size of a 14" laptop. So you're getting a 15-inch laptop in the size of most 14-inch laptops.
John Dunn (1 year ago)
You mentioned using a scratch disc. I know I can go google it but do you have any further comment as to why you mentioned this. Would a basic corporate video editor for small biz etc need to get a 'scratch disc" as this is why I want to buy this laptop in 2017 when I get some money... to start offering video editing services to small business and non-profits etc.
John Dunn (1 year ago)
Thank you +Matthew Moniz I appreciate it. Great job keep up the excellent work!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
A scratch disk is just a second hard drive or an external hard drive that you use to store the media your editing. The reason why using a second hard drive or as the video industry calls a "scratch disk" is important is because if you work off the same hard drive as the operating system and editing program it will run very slow when you're editing your media.
Chen FAN (1 year ago)
hi Mat. Dell Canada has already refreshed XPS 13 with new 7th KabyLake Processor, WIFI, and a few other new updates. Do you have news or experience about when they will refresh XPS 15? Thanks!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
No inside info, but I believe it will be late October or November if they do it this year.
Jessie Petersen (1 year ago)
I got my XPS 15 (9550) 2 months ago, August 2016, and my sound is crackling. So I don't know if that's an update issue or a hardware/ sound card issue.
Wayne Anderson (1 year ago)
I have had mine for some 7 months or so... (i5, 8GBRam and 4k touch) My issue has been with the screen flickers and stuttering due to some kind of 4k processing barf. (Technically that all I got right now). The entire machines slows down, flickers and some times this lasts a full minute. Updates keep improving and reducing this issue but still not 100%. Bottom line it is still the best screen on a laptop that I know of and I am thinking of buying another? Nothing is perfect, and IMO I would rater have a little buggy windows machine then a mac, just due to the way I use it. Nice vid, thx
Miguel Agawin (1 year ago)
Thanks for this. Was looking at this exact model and the Asus Zenbook Pro.
Miguel Agawin (1 year ago)
Got my MacBook Pro resuscitated so I didn't end up going for the somewhat cheaper alternative of replacing it. Now can wait for the new generation to be announced next month to stack it against the XPS. And I would've chosen that over the Zenbook as I simply fell in love with the design. It had that impact you know—you'll come home with the one you want.
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Miguel Agawin you're welcome! Which one did you decide on?
thrillseeker988 (1 year ago)
Matthew - great video! Just bought this laptop. Incidentally, could you please share the name of the background music? Sounds awesome!!
Axel Wasch (1 year ago)
I found this laptop with 56Wh battery life, as the other ones were too expensive.. How long do you think that 56Wh battery life would last on regular use?
fabian8o5 (1 year ago)
I'm trying to decide between this and Asus ROG gl502, similarly priced, but the gl502 apparently has a tendency to get very hot
fabian8o5 (1 year ago)
Matthew Moniz well I need a laptop for college and it's going to be used mostly for video editing, and occasionally gaming
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
What do you use laptop mostly for? The Dell XPS 15 has a much more colour accurate screen and is better for graphical work. But you can get the GL502 with a GTX 1060 now which is significantly better for gaming.
4IN14094 (1 year ago)
The first thing I do with the SSD is switching it from RAID mode into AHCI mode, this increase the speed significantly, updating the BIOS and driver get rid of the sound problem and the wifi connection problem, I never experience any USB disconnection problem, but maybe that is only because I never runs them with external HDD, only fingers, I also didn't have any problem with the SD card slot, which is strange because I have heard many people have the same problem as you do, however I only mostly use a external card reader because I have both CF and SD to deal with. Dell is actually very good at pushing updates for their high tier laptops, I wish they fix the thunderbolt dock problem though, as they seems to put development of that broken piece of garbage on hold. Photoshoping and video editing with this machine is a great, colour is outstanding, but it do suck up much of the battery life(or lack there of).
jago (1 year ago)
this guy looks like a rat (reminds of a rat every time, top guy thou)
sia tattoo (1 year ago)
hi waht about Fan Noise and Heat ..
Buk Lulu (1 year ago)
unless if you're gaming you won't hear the fans, the laptop runs at ~35* Celsius max if you're doing normal work. If you're gaming it's a different story it might hit the 70's lol.
Lucky Luke (1 year ago)
really good review. I am looking to buy a laptop in the next month or so with a similar spec to this to play games such as civilization 6. should I wait for the next gen and if so when will they be released? thanks
Lucky Luke (1 year ago)
Thanks for the reply. That sounds promising! I shall hang tight for an announcement an hopefully it will be released this side of Christmas! I'd be upset if I spent $2k and they released it straight after lol
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks Luke! = ) Dell just updated the XPS 13, so I can only imagine they will update the XPS 15 with the 1060 GPU in the next couple of months. I'd definitely wait for that!
Steve Ma (1 year ago)
How should I choose between this one and the MacBook and the Alienware? I'm gonna be a freshman in college and probably gonna major in Engineering. Thanks man nice video
4IN14094 (1 year ago)
Depend on what you want to do with the laptop, if you are used to IOS then you could have stick with MacBook, but if you are a window person then you will have to think rather do you want to play games or not, because if you want to play games, Alienware should be the way to go, otherwise XPS 15 offer a solid choose for the lower price and still gives you enough performance for some casual gaming.
Jordi Hoven (1 year ago)
Dell XPS 13 owner here. I have had some problems with temperatures hitting 70 degrees celsius while just watching youtube or typing word documents. Fixed it on my own, DELL told me it's totally normal...
Jordi Hoven (1 year ago)
I changes some settings in the Energy profile. I've set the cpu to a Max % so that it won't go to full power. also I changed another function but I forgot how it was called... believe it was skmething like TLP-High to TLP-Low..
4IN14094 (1 year ago)
Can you share how you fix your problem? Because I believe the problem is related to Window's poor CPU management. For exmaple, watching 4K video on youtube on my I7 overclocked to 4.3 GHz is enough to gives it a 60% utilization on all 8 core.
Yossof Shady (1 year ago)
I had the same model and the screen used to constantly freeze which drove me crazy!
IndianJudgie (1 year ago)
I swear he can be some mad actor
I think it's worth it. I just can't afford it with the money I'm making. I did get an alternative to that with the Lenovo y700 laptop. Same hardware. I don't get a 4K display though.
lepermessiah01 (1 year ago)
I occasionally experience bugs when computer goes to sleep...or it takes a long time to boot up... :\
woslyer (1 year ago)
$1700??! And this was released like what, almost a year ago? I just bought one on Dell's website for $1810 after -$40 student discount and Dell's 10% off. How's it still more expensive than what Matthew paid for lol? But anyway thanks for the review Matthew. After watching your Zenbook Pro and XPS 15 reviews I ultimately decided to buy this 4k XPS with 512 SSD. Ships in about a week or two and I can't wait!! Better be worth it for this price!! (Even tho I didn't pay for it gotta thank my parents for the best college gift🤗). Just incase anyone is wondering why I bought this over the Zenbook pro, here are a few reasons and I'm writing this because I wanted some opinions when I was deciding myself. 1. Both are touch screen, which is what I needed for some of my college classes, but the Zenbook pro apparently has a super, almost "mirror-like," reflective screen that makes it almost impossible to use outdoors in the sunlight because the screen itself is not very bright. Even indoors it is so reflective I might just see people sitting behind me. 2. The bezels on the XPS line are so small, I've never seen a laptop like it. The Zenbook; however, I think has a lot bigger than average bezel size. My current laptop (which is quite bad because I had a desktop in high school and never used the 3 yr oldlaptop) is 15 inches and barely fit in my backpack. The bezels on the zenbook would make the laptop not able to fit. 3. I heard the Zenbook track pad is not super reliable and I need to use the pad for my classes since the prop up platforms in college classrooms are too small to hold a laptop + mouse. My current laptop has a 3rd gen i5 processor at 1.8 GHz, 1 TB HDD, 8 GB DDR3 ram, intel "HD" 4000 graphics (lol!), 15.6 touch, and not even 1080p screen. This XPS is going to be a huge upgrade!
Patti O'Neal (1 year ago)
Any issues connecting a quality external monitor (for example an Eizo) using the XPS 15 Thunderbolt-out to DVI-in on the monitor?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Nope none!
Liang-Chi Wuu (1 year ago)
Great review! Just one thing you didn't mentioned... are the bugs you mentioned ALL being fixed? Thanks!
Liang-Chi Wuu (1 year ago)
Excellent!! Thanks!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
+Jerry Wuu yup there's no more bugs except for the wifi which is hit or miss for some people but the wifi card can be swapped out quite easily
Felipe Navarro (1 year ago)
I got my Dell XPS 15 9550 in February this year. [16GB RAM, GTX960m, i7-6700hq, UHD Touch, 512GB Nvme SSD] It had major problems right out of the box. Screen flickering, audio jack failing, wifi messing with graphics (idk how! stupid drivers).... and oh.. THE DRIVERS AND BIOS.... Most stable right now for graphics performance is 1.1.19 because bios 1.2 makes for inconsistent graphics performance. I fixed many of my issues through drivers, settings, and installing an intel AC 8620 card. The broadcom card gave me screen flickering when connecting to non AC routers... But now... I honestly can't find a laptop better. KabyLake just came out and the GTX 10 series. But the CPU performance isn't a bottleneck. And with the thunderbolt 3, I can connect to many new eGPUs that are coming out (cheaper ones than the razer core will be out in the first quarter of 2017. Dbrand makes great skins for it... I love the carbon fiber and wood skins. Tl;Dr Many bugs... get an IntelAC 8620 card! (Easy install). Be cautious and meticulous on drivers. This Laptop is worth the price. (I paid $1500 US) (got off amazon)
Babar Asghar (10 months ago)
Felipe Navarroi got mine for $1100 but had a catch, 256gb SSD, I thought it won't be an issue but I'm getting BSOD frequently with an error "critical process failed/died" now I don't know how to fix it or what to install. tried installing Samsung 950 nvme controller software but now instead of getting BSOD, I'm getting system freeze n hangups ... updated bios also but still the same ... for some reason my windows 10 home is not updating from 1511 to latest version for some reason
GnosisMan50 (1 year ago)
Best review ever....long term use is the only way to know just how good or bad a lap top is. Thanks Matthew!
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
Thanks man! = ) I'm glad you liked it!
Joshua Huang (1 year ago)
did this video pay for the laptop?
dxxPacmanxxb (1 year ago)
What about Fan Noise and Heat?
dxxPacmanxxb (1 year ago)
+SpyKirbine I got it already but thanks. I'm really happy with it!
SpyKirbine (1 year ago)
Very very hot :v But no thermal throttling so far
Yan Gu (1 year ago)
I get xps 9550 (4k,8gb, 256 ssd), it generate the much heat left side next key(Ctrl, Shift,CapsLock) when charging and play audio video. Anyone get the same problem, how to figure out it?
SlapNDash (1 year ago)
You have a very generic narrating inflection at the end of your sentences and it's annoying me because everything else is perfect, mix that shit up
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I'll see what i can do!
Leowulf™ (1 year ago)
You have that picturesque 5'o clock shadow mate, how do you do it?
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
I sacrifice tiny children! Joking aside, I just use a trimmer
b1nside (1 year ago)
what about the heat? not mentioned if cool or not
Matthew Hailu (1 year ago)
Is that FXCM Trading Station I see :)?
Vi An MUSIC (1 year ago)
The only thing going for it is the display.
Drag0nx21 (1 year ago)
the design isn't bad too
mujjuman (1 year ago)
I have the 13 inch model. I don't think it's all that great. I think it's garbage. I wonder if the 15 inch is different
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
The 13-inch model is awesome. What don't you like about it? The 15-inch version uses a quad-core cpu instead of dual-core has a bigger trackpad and comes with a dedicated GPU
VICCO (1 year ago)
Debating if I should get this or the new MacBook Pro when it comes out... Need it for music production
Matthew Moniz (1 year ago)
This will probably be refreshed as well in a few months with the new 1060 cards. But Apple is in dire need of a refresh as well. Hopefully, they announce new macbooks during the iPhone event.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.