HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Marques Brownlee

Apple HomePod Review: The Dumbest Smart Speaker?

63059 ratings | 1923164 views
Apple HomePod. It's somehow the best and the worst. Siri vs Google vs Alexa vs Bixby: https://youtu.be/BkpAro4zIwU MKBHD Merch: http://shop.MKBHD.com Video Gear I use: http://kit.com/MKBHD/video-gear#recommendation17959 Tech I'm using right now: https://www.amazon.com/shop/influencer-0bfe542e Intro Tracks: Muggsy Bogues by Alltta I think I Got One by Alltta ~ http://twitter.com/MKBHD http://snapchat.com/add/MKBHD http://google.com/+MarquesBrownlee http://instagram.com/MKBHD http://facebook.com/MKBHD
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (7302)
Tactical Potato (1 hour ago)
quit triggering my home pod lol
Charles Gibson (4 hours ago)
great review, I might buy one anyway because I do have apple music and that's really all I want to do with it, but crazy it doesn't have some of the other basic smart features like the ability to order food or call and uber, that might have been neat functionality
Gerald Meow (11 hours ago)
As always, another refine product from Apple. Looks nice. I've got Google Home, much cheaper at AUD 199 vs Apple HomePod at AUD 499. Music on the Google Home sounds alright, but I rather play my music/ radio on my Samsung sound bar for better music quality. Maybe a couple years time when smart speakers get so good with hardware technology, I'll put aside my Bose Soundlink Revolve and instead carry my portable, lithium powered, 5G enabled Google Home. I can listen to music and ask it the weather (on the go).
Orlando Santa (11 hours ago)
Apple fashionably late again. What's new. Overpriced.
Ryan Liu (1 day ago)
It's exactly 9 minutes and 41 seconds.
Joe Bielak (1 day ago)
Bro your vids are next level
Landrew0 (3 days ago)
Fail.
Trey Drier (3 days ago)
No Spotify .... thanks for nothing Apple. And Siri is clearly unfixable. And no bluetooth or direct connection. Man did Apple completely fumble this one. Btw isn't Marques the best sounding reviewer like....ever? I really do appreciate his subtle voice inflection and perfect annunciation. Makes watching his bloated reviews tolerable.
Scott Mc Logic (4 days ago)
Lol there's no way speakers that size will "overwhelm" with bass. Not gonna happen man!
Pete Williams (4 days ago)
Apple's silo effect at play, pity such great technology wasted.
Benjamin Gains (4 days ago)
This thing sucks
Muhammed Rifan (5 days ago)
Oooh big list of U CAN'T...!!!!
Esketit (6 days ago)
I feel like it’s good if you want to connect multiple when the update comes and it’ll be the best for the sound
fishyboy 1230 (6 days ago)
So it’s pretty much a 350$ squishy potato
tedfaun (6 days ago)
I couldn't recommend the Sony LF-S50G more. It's a great smart speaker with Google assistant built in. It's a very similar design to the homepod (which is the only thing I like about Homepod) but with a time display (for those who want to use it as an alarm clock) and it's almost twice as compact. It no doubt isn't quite as loud as the Homepod but at half the price that's not too surprising and it's definitely a big step up from the Google Home. Being able to play individual songs from Spotify with voice commands in a decent speaker is only achievable through a bizarrely small number of products on the market with Google assistant built in. This is one of them! No I don't work for Sony or Google.
Alpha (7 days ago)
Looks like another trash can just like the Mac pro
Chandru Ntr (7 days ago)
Apple
Cameron Lee (7 days ago)
So dumb that there is not an aux port or at least a USB port.
LEO BAIRD (8 days ago)
I don’t think the HomePod is dumb. It has a lot to offer, but as of now Siri Is not optimized for it. I’m very sure Apple will fix this issue sometime soon we just don’t know when.
Hello MkBhD. Is there any chance to make a Sonos Smart Speaker review?
Ji-Won Park (8 days ago)
Best review as always thx Marques
Mac Machead (8 days ago)
The home pod is apples way of saying “our fan base is composed mostly of sheep who will buy anything we make as long as there’s a picture of an apple somewhere in the package and as long as it’s expensive and makes them feel superior by having it”....
Happy kokoette (8 days ago)
Each time i watch MKBH, I learn something new. 👌
naomi castro (9 days ago)
Love how you explained everything. You answered all my questions. Jajaja also, can I ask you. I have ecobee thermostat with Alexa and it’s awesome. My kids use it all the time for there homework for spelling , for math and even history . It is great to have a ecobee teacher at home . However, do you think u can do a review on Alexa boom speaker phantom? Or if you have any suggestions to get something like my thermostat but take the speaker anywhere will b great. Thanks
Donovan Hall (9 days ago)
The unboxing music is better than the speaker
Sasholino (9 days ago)
It’s not true, i mean why it’s the best speaker ever
Iwan Bento (9 days ago)
Kebanyakan ngomong lu. Music dan suara nya ga lu keluarin,.pea
Augusto Sanchez (9 days ago)
What’s the song man? When you play AllttA
Tijsdieman (10 days ago)
see, apple is just bad...
Adi (11 days ago)
I'm kitty HD here
Stez 827 (11 days ago)
And google max can’t piss itself neither can u
Santiago Florez-Mape (11 days ago)
Why is Colombia(a country in south america where I'am from) pinned on your globe ??
Gandalfwiz2007 (12 days ago)
Designed by retards(apple)
Azhar Khan (12 days ago)
Bravo 👏🏻
Drew 2C (13 days ago)
For someone who'd so pro apple...I like the clickbait title. Apple and dumb in the same sentence. Sounds about right
prathmesh aher (13 days ago)
ahh shit.... moving on...
Sucharith Battina (14 days ago)
Good boy.
VinylRecordsCareEtc (15 days ago)
No Spotify was the deal breaker for me
Thomas1980 (15 days ago)
Very nice video
Jamal Nichols (16 days ago)
Good review, but you’re measuring HomePod by the wrong standards. HomePod is not intended to be a smart speaker that competes with Google home or Amazon Alexa. HomePod is intended to be a great sounding apple accessory for the 700 million people using apple products. And it succeeds very well at that, as you admitted in your review. Apple is following a different product vision than Google or Amazon. They don’t see voice UI as something that can stand on its own as a category, but rather as something that supplements your other methods for interacting with technology.
Mike Chininin (16 days ago)
Is this annoying if you use “Hey Siri” for you iphone?
Paul Wilson (16 days ago)
You gotta warn - TURN OFF SIRI to listen to your video!!
Artrector MSP (17 days ago)
Every room in my house has an Amazon Alexa echo dot I love them (gen 2)
S AN (17 days ago)
So... it must be paid for apple music wow good promotion
MegaManatee (17 days ago)
i like how this video is about the homepod but the first thing that shows up in the description is google home
Maximum Ven (17 days ago)
Jesus it is useless!!!
fadi semaan (17 days ago)
I like that you are honest in your videos.
Pyepar Faisal (18 days ago)
It's like a very hot girl that you actually can't bang
Jacob__ __Garrett (18 days ago)
When you said “hey siri” you set my phone off!!😂
Missing Semicolon (18 days ago)
It sounds good but it’s so stupid
You Mad Tho (18 days ago)
"You can't order food" How in the fuck would you order food from a speaker
B-Boy Dizzy (18 days ago)
Great review! Apple has no business calling this thing a "smart speaker" because it's not. It's just an wireless speaker for your iPhone... the end. I used to be a fan of Apple but Apple is making it really hard to like them now.
Zi Ye (18 days ago)
Nothing about this is screaming "Apple" anymore, except for the price tag
Devesh Pathak (19 days ago)
<jerryrigeverything>
Hadar Hogen (19 days ago)
I have the google home and I use Apple Music. You can’t really use Apple Music, it’s like this product with Spotify.
Chris George (19 days ago)
Anyone know what jacket that he’s wearing?
thot patrol (19 days ago)
A $300 speaker that cant even play music through bluetooth...HAAA.. Also no headphone hack. Great job apple you guys are killing it.
bushnaka (19 days ago)
I would like a real review!
Yash Shah (19 days ago)
I want that jacket which is it
DCM (19 days ago)
Classic Apple? Not cool bruh!
PraDip JaysWal (20 days ago)
everything copied from Google assistant nothing spacial 😂
Eric Rodriguez (20 days ago)
in other words, if you're a looser, this is for you...
Tam Tran (20 days ago)
The title got me dead
USMC (20 days ago)
seems useless.
Navneet Vikram Tey (20 days ago)
So many "Can't" hardly few "can"
Matthew Ellis (20 days ago)
Wait, you can't play Apple Music through a google home though...
Be Alright❤ (20 days ago)
apple has the ability to make both the best and the worst things. if you’re 100% in the apple ecosystem, it’s the best but if you’re just a little outside (instead of having apple music, spotify) it becomes the worst.
Gregory A. (20 days ago)
Can it play movies and shows in iTunes?
Jovin Gerald (20 days ago)
I liked the bixby smart speaker cos it had attitude 😂😂😂 but this Apple home pod is smarter i love it!
Flora Pudelkova (21 days ago)
Looks like Apple relased this just to know more about ppl's music choices and that's all.
J C (22 days ago)
Marques you goofed me. You ‘Hey Siri’d my stuff
John Alvarez, Jr. (22 days ago)
I mean it is a speaker, how lazy do we have to be to “need” it to do more than it already does
Evan Budrow (22 days ago)
I returned my HomePod bc I can’t even ask it the simplest of questions without it saying “sorry I can’t get the answer to that on HomePod”
David D (23 days ago)
From what I can see, Homepod is useless. But thing is apple users will buy it ( most of them are not very bright, but can't really blame them)
David D (23 days ago)
From what I can see, Homepod is useless. But thing is apple users will buy it ( most of them are not very bright, but can't really blame them)
Abhishek Sarma (23 days ago)
What are you eating Brandon ?
Brian C (23 days ago)
Fuck Apple !
Nour Says (23 days ago)
I buy a speaker for sound not for intelligence
Nour Says (23 days ago)
This worked fine with ijustine
Romaine Athey (27 days ago)
This time I will use woodprix instructions to make it easy with my own hands.
William Townsend (27 days ago)
Ridiculously expensive and overpriced
Ether Mining (27 days ago)
"You cannot (use Bluetooth or) plug anything into the HomePod." That's SO Apple, and one of several good reasons why the market for these things is artificially limited by Apple itself.
Peter Cotton (28 days ago)
Seems like the released it too early. They should have spent more time working on those features that other smart speakers can do.
Gil (28 days ago)
I have a Google home mini. I paid $50 for it. It does more smh
trucker V (28 days ago)
Junk
Washmi Wijeratne (28 days ago)
And this is why i dont like apple products
StyleNina (29 days ago)
You literally lost me at “you cannot use it as a Bluetooth speaker, you can’t, you can’t, you can’t”. You sir, have just saved me $349+ taxes. THANK YOUUU! 🙌🏾
mark aldrin pulido (29 days ago)
im impress with the size and sound quality. siri is smart enough for me. people are just hating.
mark aldrin pulido (29 days ago)
my homepod keeps saying uhhuh while watching this video 😭😭😭😭
William Jones-Halibut (29 days ago)
HomePod has the finest audio quality. Most of the other issues which relate to embedding of purchasing will be dealt with by software upgrades. Siri works for weather, traffic, Apple Music, reminders. The big issue is that folks are putting cheap Alexa and Google Home in kitchens, this is terrible for music but convenient however an apple user will likely have an apple watch or just use their phone. I’d say a lot of these shortcomings will disappear in the next months.
Phil Chrisman (29 days ago)
Also I am returning my HomePod today as it sounds good only at the lower levels but once punched it hurts my ears unlike my old Altec speakers or Bose headphones cranked which is too bad.
Zector 45 (30 days ago)
Thanks for stopping me from buying this lie of a "smart" speaker. You saved me $350.
deion tso (30 days ago)
It’s not picky, if it’s from apple. Should be done right the first time.
SharkBait Ooh Ha Ha (30 days ago)
Me: Hey google, what's the dumbest smart speaker? Google: apple homepod NO SHITT
Ras (1 month ago)
Excellent...
HINDI SONG (1 month ago)
Can we use it with android phone
Jimberlin (1 month ago)
Wow, very limited functionality.
Andrew J. (1 month ago)
I don’t think sound quality should be the selling point here. If you really want top notch sound quality you should be buying a HiFi set, not a tiny speaker. Really disappointed by this product and Apple’s arrogance towards Spotify and other music services. Will stick to Sonos, thanks.
*Samiul Islam* (1 month ago)
2nd Apple coming out Apple car , 4K tv Apple PS4 , Apple toilet paper, Apple All just wait nd see
Chris (1 month ago)
Dammmmn the music though, nice taste👌🏽👌🏽

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.