HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

LG V30 Review - The Best Phone Ever Made By LG!

1790 ratings | 51227 views
Here's my review of the LG V30. 30-40 days after the announcement. This is the phone LG should of released instead of the LG G6. Amazing sound, great camera, good display and fantastic performance! Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (318)
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
What do you guys think of the LG V30? I know some might argue the Pixel 2 XL is the best phone by LG but the trade off is no wireless charging, no headphone jack, no DAC but you gain dual speakers. I personally would rather the hardware features of the V30. Let me know your thoughts!
Nicholas Croft (2 months ago)
*Al* *Reid*, just download from the link, click on it, and you'll have a second (better) camera app. This one is explicitly for the LG V30: https://forum.xda-developers.com/lg-v30/themes/cstark27-google-camera-mod-wide-angle-t3747263 Specifically: Download standard rear + front cam: *cstark27_GCam_5.1.018_24_v3.5*
milktea0009 Treadway (3 months ago)
LG V30 is a no-nonsense phone with minimalist feel to it. The UI is simple and lightweight. But best of all, the Sabre Quad-DAC is WooooW. Best thing ever happen to the history of smartphones. Been waiting for a union of Smartphone and an Audiophile DAC for a long long time.
Al Reid (4 months ago)
Nicholas Croft, Thanks for the links. I wasn't aware that it was specifically for the OnePlus 3, so I can't use it right now. I'm thinking of getting the 5T, will it work on that phone? Sadly, as I'm retired/disabled and 65yrs old, I'm a bit of a technophobe, so making any changes, other than installing different launchers, is rather daunting for me. Is it possible to use the Gcam with the 5Tand if so, perhaps you would be kind enough to help me through it when the time comes. Regards...
Nicholas Croft (4 months ago)
Al Reid: Do a sort by date ("Newest First", instead of "Top Comments", on this YT page) and you'll see I did a separate post, visible to everyone, with all the details. Let me know how it goes for you.
JDM CJM (20 days ago)
Ive just swapped to the v30 from my s8 to have a change from samsung as ive had so many samsung phones. I put them side by side. The displays were about the same imo. Front facing camera is pretty poor in comparison to the s8 but the audio experience and the back cameras are better. It also feels a bit quicker. Not sure what version you have in your review here but mine is buttery smooth.
Chad Higgins (2 months ago)
Highly recommend this phone! I also got a V20 And a S8+. V30 is Awesome! Get it now!
Enrique Cabrera (2 months ago)
One thing to mention about Bluetooth music playback, is the fact that this photo suppors aptx HD which when paired with a compatible headphone, just sounds amazingly close to playing in wired mode.. also new over the V-20 is Bluetooth 5.0 on v30
julius bergen (3 months ago)
V30 Power! :D
Justin nikku (3 months ago)
Grt reveiw.. v30 is amzing cam
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Thanks Justin!
Igor (4 months ago)
Oh I want this phone so baaaad
jbw0224 (4 months ago)
FYI, it has NO LED light indication. You can not look at the phone and see if it is charging, or if it is fully charged. Did you miss a call or a text message? You can't tell unless you open the screen and look, there are no lights! Also appears they took away the ability to text via your voice rather than having to type. I have a V30, and these are all critical omissions, IMO.
AMBEE 2772 (3 months ago)
jbw0224 Does Always-On Display ring a bell?
bohemod (5 months ago)
Reminds me of the bad guy from The Goonies this lad!
Segni Feyera (5 months ago)
The pictures you took look like its in Yorkdale mall lol
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
That's because it is = )
Andrew (5 months ago)
I love my Lg v30. Its super fast and the screen looks awesome. I hate the speaker but thata it.
wunnell (5 months ago)
The DAC doesn't help wireless audio, as suggested, but the V30 also supports aptX and aptX HD to improve Bluetooth audio with supported headphones. The Pixel 2 (XL) doesn't support aptX at all and Samsung phones don't support aptX HD, so you can still get better audio quality from this phone even using Bluetooth.
wunnell (5 months ago)
It appears that aptX and aptX HD support is coming built into Android Oreo so that means that many phones that get that update, although not necessarily all, will get that support.
wunnell (5 months ago)
Note that your headphones have to specifically support aptX or aptX HD to get that benefit. You can find out which ones do here: https://www.aptx.com/products?field_product_category_tid=125
Zeus kon (5 months ago)
wunnell that's a magnificent news for me! Ty
Edward J Garza (5 months ago)
Developer options??? Hmmm, i just got this phone, i cant find that so i can adjust mines???
Michael Dean Carr (5 months ago)
Coming off an iphone 7 plus which was a very solid phone the V30 has been eye opening. Connectivity (which no one seems to talk about) is much faster and Quad DAC is so great. Smaller handset, bigger brighter screen. What’s not to like. I will see when my X comes in who the kingvof the hill is.
dwight deyampert (5 months ago)
V30, getting in a couple weeks. Still love my V20 too!!!
Rony Gonzalez (5 months ago)
Dear LG, please do NOT get rid of the headphone jack on next years phones. You're my last hope.
Tiger Gray (5 months ago)
No removable battery and no ir blaster? I will stick with my v20..
Luke 078 (5 months ago)
How is the screen compared to s8 or note 8?
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
definitely inferior
solo (5 months ago)
The only draw back to this phone is the front camera, I don't understand why they couldn't make a manageble front camera
solo (5 months ago)
I'm not feeling that caption! It's the newest phone from LG , it has to be the best they have made.
Wr Im (6 months ago)
Lagging?? No way !!! it is the fastest phone in the market. May be it is just your phone that is lagging which is a pre-product model; I can see the " its not for sale" on the back.
Anton Nilakson (6 months ago)
How is the selfie camera?
Tuan Ngoc (6 months ago)
Save your money never buy LG brand new. LG phones always drop drastically in price after a few month. Specs look good on paper but screen has serious low brightness OLED problems and camera is mid range quality. Want a true flagship buy a Note 8 or S8 or iPhone X.
SHUBHAM (6 months ago)
Note 8 is having a SOT of 5-6+ Hrs, with Medium Gaming, Photography and General stuff.. Your Screenshot showed 3 n half Hr of SOT in V30 !!
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+SHUBHAM ya im using the Exynos variant as well still can't get more than 3.5 to 4! Glad you are though. Regardless it's an awesome phone !
SHUBHAM (6 months ago)
I use an Exynos Variant, Dual Standby Sim Mode.. During Cellular Usage I get 4+Hrs SOT and During Weekends on WiFi only, I get 5+ Hrs SOT !! Happy with overall Note 8 Performance :)
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+SHUBHAM I've never got 5-6 hrs of sot on my note 8. Battery life was better on the V30 at least for me
SuperFuzzmonkey (6 months ago)
Do you have a cold?
Mike M (6 months ago)
I can't understand why manufactures don't put larger batteries in their flagship high end devices. while lower end devices like acer liquid zest plus, asus zenfone 4 max, Lg x power and x power 2 have huge batteries inside their devices and last for a few days on a single charge. I hate high end devices with very small 3000 MaH batteries and have to charge the thing 2 times per day plus charge overnight. Specially for the higher price tag on high end devices they should be putting 5000 or even 6000 Mah batteries in them. LG high end devices have always been known for poor battery life same as Samsung high end devices as sell. I can't find any high end LG or Samsung devices that will last for an entire day without needing to charge half way through the day. Unless its a Low end LG device like their x power line up. I'm now forced to use an Acer Liquid Zest Plus which is a low end device to be able to get the optimum battery life. I'm not gonna spend over $1,000 on a high end device if I'm forced to have to charge the bloody thing half way through the day a couple of times. I did enjoy the battery life on the Blackberry Keyone but I went through 2 Keyones that the screen magically popped off So had to ditch the Keyone. Come on you manufactures lets see you finally putting in huge batteries in your high end devices which will allow up to 2 days on a single charge and you'll have my money.
MR. Youssif (6 months ago)
LG v30 or s8plus
ahfimiwonawun (6 months ago)
Do audio interfaces(for xlr mics) work with the v30 through the usb-c port?
Murali Tharan (6 months ago)
Only Drawback Is Front Camera & 4GB Ram !!!!
jimmy cychowski (6 months ago)
I'm down for that Quad DAC and Glorious headphone jack, though I've heard the display has issues, I'm a music lover so the V30 is top of my list, currently using a htc10 which is top notch for headphone playback, you haven't had a chance to compare headphone playback have you?
1g2002541 (6 months ago)
I thought Pixel 2 is a corporated product with HTC
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Yup it is! Pixel 2 is made by HTC and Pixel 2 XL is made by LG
OtterNZ (6 months ago)
Lol, nice Troll Face for the shot of the Samsung sign at 3:26
James Bond (6 months ago)
I would never buy the pixel to massive bezels no wireless charging that's a deal breaker for me
Alan Gurling (6 months ago)
The Verge has just declared that the V30 has a really bad screen, so much that it's a deal breaker. What do you think?
Alan Gurling (6 months ago)
Thanks for the crazy fast reply! And yes, their review is a bit weird. Even calling the photos from this camera as "unrealistic". What does that even mean?! 😅
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Ya i saw. It's definitely not the best OLED screen out there but it's not as bad as they're making it out to be.
allen0088 (6 months ago)
@0:28 yeah thats what she said! Yah bruh
William Stone (6 months ago)
Thank you for the animation scaling tip! That was driving me crazy, now this thing flys 🤙
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+William Stone you're welcome! Glad I could help : )
Pranav Mahajan (6 months ago)
Amazing video bro i think people really need to know about the v30.. I think it has best value for money
jaleroca1 (6 months ago)
Speaking to an LG rep at T-Mobile, she told me about the make up of the v30 and how it doesn't get hot anymore. They've done some different things including adding a heat sync to draw the heat from the battery. I don't usually take a lot of pictures but I listen to music. I bought a nice pair of Hi-Def headphones and listen to all of my music this way, so I am very happy to see that they've chosen to keep the headphone jack. The theme can always be changed. Nova launcher and even LG has themes to change what it device comes with.
keroroslayer (6 months ago)
Heads up for animation feature, helped me on my older LG.
AbdulMalik Olanrewaju (6 months ago)
Lovely review
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+AbdulMalik Olanrewaju thank you !
Smit_K (6 months ago)
Great video matt!
Hazed VFX (6 months ago)
You look like a older Henrik Zetterberg. Lol
carbonunit (6 months ago)
I cant wait to pair this phone with my Beyerdynamic DT1990s
everything is tech Ejaz (6 months ago)
If u play a video then Why there are black bars on the side screen of lgv30 Speed test better performance on s8
JSantana319 (6 months ago)
I recently got the V20 on Amazon for $350 and the second screen is super useful especially for notifications. I wish they would've kept it on the V30.
Moeen Kara (6 months ago)
Thank you Matt.....this was a perfect balanced review.....I have seen a lot of reviews where the V30 seems to be a less expensive alternative to a s8 or s8+......yes it is a beautiful phone but every phone has thier pros and cons.....loved the review. Saw the review late but worth it.....as usual it was a unbiased and a balanced one....cheers 👍👍👍
Abraham Al- HatMi (6 months ago)
Help me make a decision The V30 or the S8+
The King (6 months ago)
2:16 look at those huge black bars on both phones edge display is stupid and pointless
jusbe47 (6 months ago)
Sorry - from your film it appears (3'55") that the V30 has more dynamic range (luma) than the iPhone 8. The iPhone 8 is clipping more highlights on the apples at the top and lacks the colour range (chroma) across all the apples that the V30 captures. Look at the middle shelf of fruit: the range of light (from bright to dark) is greater. The iPhone flattens the image and makes all the elements of more similar brightness - indicating a narrower luma range (= lower dynamic range). Looks like the iPhone 8 is attempting to compensate for its 8bit camera by raising the exposure somewhat, to capture more shadow detail. Nice review, BTW.
h3ll-b3nt (6 months ago)
*PLEASE DO A REVIEW ON THE DELL INSPIRON 15 7577*
TheAbhishek72 (6 months ago)
i like the way you dont underrate those awesome lg phones.
Francesco Varrato (6 months ago)
Hi, thanks for the insightful review. Just wondering: how fragile is the glass on the back? Because it comes from a high price and the structure seems fragile as an investment...
Ali K (6 months ago)
The sound over Bluetooth supports APTX-HD so it is much better than othet devices that don't support aptx-HD
Rizwan Azad (6 months ago)
The only bummer in an otherwise great overall package is a subpar front facing camera. Not that many people cares about it, but being on par with the competition would've been nicer.
Aftab Singh Chohan (6 months ago)
I'm a person who always roots for the small guy aiming big. Thats why I end up buying stuff, be it cars or mobiles etc, from such companies. I had a OP3t but it had an accident within first 6 months so had to get a new one. I got a new LGV20. Loved it for many reasons. Hated it for Terrible Battery drain, heating issues, Terrible Front Camera(I'm not a camera guy but many of you are) and laggy AF UI( I could be biased in this regard as I had experienced the Oxygen OS by then, spoilt.). Sold it within 14 days at 60-70% of original price for the said issues and ... ... Got myself a new LG G6(as It had gone cheaper than before and my above habbit). Good phone to begin with. Hated it for TERRIBLE BATTERY DRAIN, HEATING ISSUES, TERRIBLE FRONT CAMERA, AND LAGGY AF UI. (Note- I'm not a gamer, I dont play any games on mobiles big or small whatsoever.) This G6 literally got warm stting idle in my shirt pocket, with no apps running in the background, while I was driving in my car with the AC on, early in the morning when the temp outside was only 26-28 degree C. Sold it within two weeks at 70% of original price. Did you guys notice a pattern here???? I think we as consumers need to ask all these big reviewers(MKBHD PocketNow and Android Authority Mr Moniz etc) to include a section in their Mobile Review videos that just deals with heating issues of a mobile while in use and gaming etc. Reviews have started to become too cosmetic and superficial nowdays. Some of you might suggest that may be I got a faulty handset. But on 2 occasions back to back?????? I always root for the small guy.... But he has to learn from his lessons and improve as well and LG simply has not. Thanks. Hope I've helped.
Bernard Poindexter (6 months ago)
missing dual speakers fuck the DAC *IF YOU TAKE SELFIES* You also enjoy the feeling of penis heads on your tonsils and the feeling of warm jizz shooting in your face.
Debra Dukes (6 months ago)
Matthew I really love watching your reviews always enjoy.Say hello to wifey hope she is doing well and definitely enjoyed Thanks so much Deb.
T. O. (6 months ago)
Great concise review! Earned my sub. Cheers!
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+T. O. Awesome thanks man!
Scott Spooner (6 months ago)
I didnt like the power button on the lg g6, also like the stock Android experience way better...
Funny videos (6 months ago)
Comparison between s8 and lg v30
Paul Cotton (6 months ago)
Great screen, battery, and audio. Bad front camera and ui.
Paul Cotton (6 months ago)
I hate lg ui
William L. (6 months ago)
v30 > note 8. They cant refute my arguments. The cores of the processor are more advanced on v30 (4x2.45 GHz Kryo &4x1.9 GHz Kryo), processor only for hifi audio(B&O certified), better battery life and more efficient, screen with more color density, screen with more nits, Univision aspect ratio, chip fm, high-sensitivity microphones, Dolby vision capacity, military certified, f1.6 aperture lens, less thick, cameras with exclusive capacities (point zoom, manual focus, Log mode), aod with GUI, screen compatible with the stylus like the note spen, no edge screen (false pulsation and  more fragile), less weight, the wideangle camera, 163mm of height and 16:9 ratio makes the phone look stupidly long, no bisby button (unnecesairy) not another power button, better finger scanner position, better Wi-Fi range, v30 have all the sofware funtion in the note 8 but with more options. You will never have a bottleneck with 4 gb of ram on a phone. You cant note the difference between the same processor with 4 gb and 32 gb of ram on android, the sistem always admin and optimized this. But more ram will drain more battery so you better have the optimal ram capacity. V30 have the better quality hardware combination on a phone actually. And yes v30 look more aesthetic. The only phone how can face v30 is pixel xl2 actually. I have the best phone of 2016, the s7 edge, it’s a true fact. (pixel xl is the second position bc the better cameras 2016) but this time the winners are v30 and pixel xl2. They are the best devices of 2017.
William L. (6 months ago)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzYpmYzHcm4&t=177s Even the preprodution v30 still faster than note 8 or just a milliseconds lower. If you are smart you can see the best option, but if you still be a fanboy, die with your shit and pls dont reply to me.
Mr Valenzuela (6 months ago)
I wish lg would implement an option to have a permanent secondary display.
nalditwisterron (6 months ago)
Am I the only one loving the animation...
Gui Schwertner (6 months ago)
AL Gee
hello world (6 months ago)
The lg battery is better than the iPhone 8+
hello world (6 months ago)
Really didn't that sums up all I had to say? It seems I made a mistake in my previous comment though. I should've stated that lg v30 battery is way way way better than the iPhone 8+
Solomon's Tech (6 months ago)
hello world and?
hello world (6 months ago)
If you notice in the video comparison, the v30 showed the blue of the sky in the beginning while the iPhone over exposes the sky but yet he still stated that the iPhone has the better dynamic range
hello world (6 months ago)
It funny because the Samsung note 8 looks way to warm and saturated in this video. The lg seems to be more color accurate but then again I could be wrong
Damon May (6 months ago)
im sticking with the v20 it has 1 feature that makes it better REMOVABLE BATTERY
Super Fleymez (4 months ago)
Damon May this phones battery life in a test came out number 1 against galaxy s8 plus, note 8, one plus 5, iPhone X and 8 plus.
Fernando A (6 months ago)
Really nice review
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Thanks Fernando!
lazylalo1 (6 months ago)
If you try the audio on this phone, you won't go back to another phone with out a DAC. I tried it on the V10 then i tried other phones but ended up with the V20 and still today no other phone competes in audio. Today am heading to the store and getting a V30. Guys if you love music the V series phones from LG will give you the best experience regardless of the headphones you are using.
Androvich (6 months ago)
lazylalo1 every phone has a DAC. It literally converts zeroes and ones to electrical signals. You can hear zeroes and ones
7skies (6 months ago)
"Every once in a while, a revolutionary product comes along that changes everything. ..."-Steve Jobs . . . "This is one of those products."-Me ;)
Kingslayer (6 months ago)
Best phone ever made by LG? Watching this video on my V20 and thinking nah... 🤣 No removable battery No IR blaster No second display to put your name or signature on it. Glass rears prone to stickiness, cracks, scratches, and fingerprints.
Tommy Long (6 months ago)
do you know when the google phone coming out
Navneet Krishna S (6 months ago)
Nice vid man.
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Thanks!
Floris Kuipers (6 months ago)
What about the display? Resolution, aspect ratio and just the thin bezels
Abhay Nanal (6 months ago)
As always is, this is again one of my favourite videos and therefore your channel. Love you.
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Thanks Abhay! = )
Joshua Dave Degamo (6 months ago)
does the entrance always start with you sitting down on a chair :D?
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Joshua Dave Degamo haha lately yes
Ivan Petrov (6 months ago)
I wonder how long the reviewer used the phone before drawing conclusions and if the unit was final retail hardware and software or not...
Edwin (6 months ago)
Pervert at 5:48
AW D (6 months ago)
You said note 8 screen is better but i like the v30 more You said iphone 8 camera is better But i prefer v30 more 😂
Tungsten Carbide (4 months ago)
AW D I agree. iPhone 8 pictures looked overprocessed
aldeen1982 (6 months ago)
You confuse me a bit: "Battery life is fantastic on this device"! Well, fantastic? 3:55 min SOT --> 11% battery left? And you get only 1 day of it? Why is it than "fantastic"? Really confusing... Otherwise good review ;-)!
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+aldeen1982 I usually get 3-3.5 hours of sot on most android phones so getting 4 plus is good for me.
lukeerambo (6 months ago)
Watching this on my Note 8 :)
mohsin haroon (6 months ago)
Did u check for screen banding issues? Did not see any mention of it !
Nizar Noor (6 months ago)
It's missing a good front-facing camera...
The flamingsword (6 months ago)
I still prefer the LG V30, buuut I gotta say, the iPhone 8 still does a better job in the camera department simply because the colors are a lot more true to life. Colors are way too saturated on LG V30, especially looking at videos and photos showing grass where it is like neon green in comparison to what the iPhone shows
Zake B (6 months ago)
The flamingsword but if you film your video in cine mode you can do the color in light room or other software the effect is actually better than iPhone 8
djluigi (6 months ago)
JUSTICE LEAGUE TRAILER!
The Nekozilla (6 months ago)
Dont forget that lgv30 have long exposure photography
c0pyimitati0n (6 months ago)
So overall what is your favorite smartphone for content creators?
BloodFlow HigH (6 months ago)
Best phone of 2017 !! : D.# Real monster
Yash Tech (6 months ago)
Great Video Bro #MonizEmpire.. 😎
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Thanks yash! = ) Hope all is well
rafikz77 (6 months ago)
The S8 and Note 8 destroy the V30 in low light pics
Eric Gordon (6 months ago)
I actually turned off the animations for my Nexus 6P when I first got it and still makes the phone seem faster.
Dr. Jé (6 months ago)
0:18 "it doesn't feel like 6 inches " - that's what I said....(he pulls out & leaves)
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
lol
ELEXCEER (6 months ago)
Just like the iPhone X is the best phone Apple ever made
BTICronox (6 months ago)
It isn't... the iPhone X is a UI nightmare :D
LemonKnight (6 months ago)
only if it runs stock android
Raian Levy (6 months ago)
I still have the 6P and I'm debating between the V30 (headphone jack, a bit more customizable software, better looking) or the Pixel 2 XL (more expensive but 3 years of software updates which are really important to me, Front firing speakers). I'm gonna wait for the prices to drop a little but which would you recommend?
R JEFF3 (6 months ago)
Go into the Verizon corporate store and try out the Pixel 2 XL
SATYAM PANDEY (6 months ago)
Raian Levy keep the 6p
Guy Davis (6 months ago)
The LG V30 is a boss, I want this phone.
RON VARSUL (6 months ago)
Love my lg v30 !

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.