HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: The Tech Chap

Samsung Galaxy A8 Hands-On Review (2018) - A Cheaper S8? | The Tech Chap

1205 ratings | 86845 views
Samsung Galaxy A8 - Samsung have unveiled the premium mid-range Galaxy A8 smartphone - essentially the Galaxy S8 Mini. Packing a 5.6-inch screen and DUAL front-facing cameras - the Galaxy A8 could be a great buy. Thanks for watching! Don't forget to Like, Share & Subscribe :) ~ Follow me :) Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheTechChap Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/TheTechChap Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TheTechChap ~ Support Me (shop via my Amazon links) Amazon - US: http://amzn.to/2qSHDlp | UK: http://amzn.to/2qg29NZ ~ My Video Gear Panasonic Lumix GH5 --- US: http://amzn.to/2oQU28s | UK: http://amzn.to/2r0of6h Sigma 18-35 (w/ Metabones) ---- US: http://amzn.to/2oQVGGW | UK: http://amzn.to/2oQVUOw Sennheiser ME2 --- US: http://amzn.to/2oR4xIQ | UK: http://amzn.to/2ob8SYA Zoom H1 Recorder --- US: http://amzn.to/2obehir | UK: http://amzn.to/2oXLBqo Dell XPS 15 --- US: http://amzn.to/2oQQhjo | UK: http://amzn.to/2plsdXm ~-~~-~~~-~~-~- PRIVACY POLICY and FULL DISCLOSURE: °The Tech Chap (Tom Honeyands) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program (UK & US) °If you purchase something from my affiliate links I get a small commission with no extra cost to you. This makes it possible for us to make more videos. Thank you! °I DO NOT collect, store, use, or share any data about you. *If a video is SPONSORED, it will include the 'Paid Promotion' marker and will be made clear in both the video and description. *All my opinions are my own. -~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (218)
The first review, of all that i've seen so far, that covered everything that a review should cover. The explanations, descriptions and pace of your review is just pure eargasm for me. Love your work. Just keep it up! :) On the side note, i have a question. Would you rather purchase a brand new a8 for 320 euros, a used s8 for 400-420euros or a used s7 edge for around 300euros. I like the option of having a home button, but i know that S8 has that pressure sensitive home button area at the lower end of the screen. Is that feature present on A8 as well, or not? Thank you in advance! :)
Thunder (3 days ago)
why they always say 32gb storage and not mentioning the 64gb is it not available in some regions I mean the 64gb !! .. cuz I just purchased mine and its 64gb !
KUSHCASH (4 days ago)
I paid 245€ for that phone :D brand new from store
64gb is available in UK 👍😀
miss missmusic (5 days ago)
Only 32gb? I may as well stick with my samsung A5.
MarKac (6 days ago)
Is it better than S7 ? I’m thinking this A8 or S7 cuz they both in ~400€ range
Robert Marks (11 days ago)
I brought this phone 3day now i love everything but since the phone is a 2018 model it should hav been running on oreo and not noguat
John Guijt (13 days ago)
I don't like the Bixby button, i hit it like 1-2 times a day (by accident), I don't want to use it, i'm a fan of Google Assistant.
dawood arshad (16 days ago)
I buy this phone in south africa I am happy with this phone and more satisfied after watching this video thank you.
Habib Urehman (19 days ago)
Expensive
Xenon Agoncillo (19 days ago)
Oh I AM.. buying one! In our country it's not that expensive, yet it has 6 gigabite of RAM and 64 gigabite of storage, and thanks for the review bro!
mrnedfy (20 days ago)
Btw it cost 360 € great phone. Especially they redesigns like speaker and finger print scanner is in much better position.
ツheinähattu (26 days ago)
now 400€
Ingənior (30 days ago)
Watching on my A5 2017 😭
It's already on online stores for £325
Lee Harvey (1 month ago)
Great design, one of the best design for 2018
Ming Shi (1 month ago)
I have an a5 2017 and seriously conidering to upgrade to the a8 2018. Dope phone, can't wait 'till it comes out!
dBuds ._. (1 month ago)
Why am I always readind the tech crap?
The Tech Chap (1 month ago)
😂
joel castelino (1 month ago)
Does it have dual Bluetooth audio like s8 and does it support soundcamp app
ChocoMike (1 month ago)
i can tell that the a8 has a high durability
#PetmaluLodi Lodi (1 month ago)
This is the BEST MOBILE PHONE EVER!!!!!!!!!!
Ainella (2 months ago)
Watching this video on my A8 2018 phone. 😊 I got the black one and it's indeed a nice looking phone. Switched from Apple. My iPhone 6s all of a sudden says "No Service" and the only option available here in our country is to replace it but the staff from istore said it would cost me 19,500 pesos. No, not doing it! I better get myself another phone instead. Didn't get the S8 because for me, it's still a huge price difference between A8 and S8.
renmer jhon razo (2 months ago)
i'd rather buy a galaxy note FE.. than this..
renmer jhon razo (2 months ago)
outdated bezells..
Godson Eh (2 months ago)
€300 to €350 would be ok. I just bought my galaxy S7 for €368 from online and i think comparing it to the Galaxy S8 2018, i must say that i made the right choice - better camera, Better Video quality(fast motion, slow motion, qHD video and etc)
Muhammad Adil Khan (2 months ago)
Its not cheaper though, Samsung is charging very high price for a midranger.
Anas 13 (2 months ago)
What do think should I buy it if I can get it under 400€
tolis bergidis (2 months ago)
at 420$ looks good I believe is 6 months will be under 350
Poke Trainer Oliver (2 months ago)
I'm gonna leave this out and get the s8+ after the price drop in April when the s9 comes out
MrArtnada (2 months ago)
You can get an S8 for around £390 now refurbished from the likes of Mapie. I'd rather get one of thoses TBH.
jheng nazal (2 months ago)
I like black
Erwin Rommel (2 months ago)
Go for OnePlus 5T
dBuds ._. (2 months ago)
The a8 is out in Romania.
Eliana Fernandez (3 months ago)
Which one should I buy. Galaxy A8 (2018), ipad mini 4 or s7 edge?
Stormy Molnjavichen (2 months ago)
A8
Emerald CXG81 (3 months ago)
Well...Still gonna stick to X.But well done samsung!
Matt Luxton (3 months ago)
Looks like a nice device but as you can get the S8 cheaper now I really cannot see why anyone would buy the A8. And with the S9 out soon too I see even less reasons to buy the A8.
Versace Starr (3 months ago)
I rather go with oneplus 5t for that price with 6gb for 499.00
Eldridge Sacdalan (3 months ago)
I’ll buy Note FE instead
NITIN KARAR (3 months ago)
hello sir ..what is the actual Price in US dollar .how to parched it
NITIN KARAR (3 months ago)
hello sir .. what is the actual Price in US dawlar .. how to parched it ..
Ricardo Roose (3 months ago)
I already have the A8. For almost a week now. It feels good! I had a S7 edge before this one. The A8 has a excellent battery life!! For now i'm happy with it. Greets from the Netherlands
KUSHCASH (4 days ago)
I agree its a nice phone!
Ricardo Roose (3 months ago)
Prantik Chowdhury The quality is less good than in the S7 edge that i had before but stull good enough
Prantik Chowdhury (3 months ago)
How is the quality of the rear camera?
Geric John Olivar (3 months ago)
Dude Ill just get s8 for that price in philippines😈
John Emmanuel Lapira (3 months ago)
Price is too much for a midrange phone. That's the downside.
Arjun Pa Arjun (3 months ago)
do a battery life test between galaxy a8 vs oneplus 5t
Babar Bashir (3 months ago)
A very good looking phone. But yeah, hard to beat 5T at that price. And harder to beat S8. Lol
Aidan Holden (3 months ago)
Keeping my A5 2017
Mac Attack (3 months ago)
OVERPRICED. Id rather buy s8 or iphone 7
AHMAD AHMAD FIKRI (3 months ago)
did the bixby button still exist?
John Kenneth Garcia (3 months ago)
Is this phone thin? Or not?
Aryan TS (3 months ago)
Expensive so Honor 7x is my choice
Aydin C. (3 months ago)
pick up the S8 if you want to buy a Samsung phone !!
Music (3 months ago)
What is your (daily) main phone ?
henry chen (3 months ago)
A cheaper s8 but still an expensive mid range phone. Now samsung phone price gettin higher even the low range one getting more and more expensive
adv pulkit (3 months ago)
No 4k man...ur wrong here....thnk u
Mahesh Walatara (3 months ago)
Never buying Crapsung- they lag, explode, slow down, and got malware and viruses and to get updates have to wait for your next life. lol.
Ruan E (3 months ago)
Mahesh Walatara 🐑 *meehhh*
Matthew Jardine (3 months ago)
I always recommend buying last years flagship, the S8 in this case, over this years premium midrange. The price has come down, especially once the S9 comes out, and you get a better processor, better camera (with the exception of the dual selfie camera), faster software updates, more storage, etc.
Ben Lockwood (2 months ago)
Matthew Jardine what about battery life though...major selling point for me and often quite disappointing in S line... A line seems much better in this regard
GTFREAK (3 months ago)
Hahahaha the a8 and a8 plus is complete trash for 600 dollars I can buy an essential phone or one plus 5t for that amount performance is quite low for a phone over 500 dollars who in their right mind would buy this? i know i surely wont If i want a good phone that has a curved display with nfc that has wireless charging and even compatible with samsung vr which is cheaper than this a8 trash that samsung is trying to sell us i would more than take out 500 for the s7 edge which is my opinion is way better
Dragonite (3 months ago)
I will get the s9 not the A !
Veton Jenuzi (3 months ago)
Hello there bro, i hope u know that im a huge fan of your videos, and i was wondering if you could be willing to gift me such a samsung galaxy a8 pls ✌i just cannot effort one tho
YoongSONE (3 months ago)
A8 2018 or Note FE better?? I wanna buy one of those but both seem great so im confuse to choose~~~~
REX (3 months ago)
I would wait for Galaxy S9. But Note FE is cool if you really want a note
The Joker (3 months ago)
Don’t buy it if its not an S or a Note
doge. (3 months ago)
Don't waste ur money on this.
Bogdan (3 months ago)
because the coolest monkey in the jungle is too braindead to know how anything about technology, right?
Zaif Box (3 months ago)
Very impressive device, and good explanation, for me personally i think that its s8 flat version. Very impressive features with a8. Keep it up. Nice work.
TechVEX UK (3 months ago)
It does not have 4k video
Dr. Fresh_2k (3 months ago)
Wow your one on the few youtubers who is filming CES at above 1080p. I like that.
craigr98 (3 months ago)
Selfies have never looked better...that makes me cringe.
craigr98 (3 months ago)
40Tman No.
40Tman (3 months ago)
craigr98 u hate selfies cuz you are ugly?
The Tech Chap (3 months ago)
+craigr98 yeah me too actually :/
jonah travisano (3 months ago)
A good video, but who is going to buy this phone? Samsung is going to have to drop the price.
HernanFr (3 months ago)
That phone has no reasons to exist.
ken zulueta (5 days ago)
Reading this kind of comment makes me sad for hving an a8.
HernanFr (3 months ago)
So do we all, cunt
tal shachar (3 months ago)
HernanFr so does you
To expensive! It says Samsung on it lol that's the only reason.
Fezis Zeppelin (3 months ago)
It's not the firs one to have dual front cameras, asus release one last year.
comenerv (3 months ago)
Infinite edge display? Really?
Scott Bowlby (3 months ago)
Love how you pronounce “nougat” good first look but is a £300 phone.
Michael Griffiths (3 months ago)
Only a fool would buy it for 500 notes..
CptMikeTango (3 months ago)
So no more A3 2018?
mare68 (3 months ago)
I´ll keep my S8
Sci-Fi Admirer (3 months ago)
I wish phone companies would make compact phones, no more than 4.7 inches but with the power of larger phones. Only Sony do this, but they have large ugly bezels.
Epic Baller_YT (2 months ago)
Sci-Fi Admirer iphone se
Глеб Вшивцев (3 months ago)
Какой то бобреный сыр впарить желают_) piece of kall )
GGori 99 (3 months ago)
I already fallen in love with the ergonomic and design.. its what 18:9 ratio meant to be.. 5,5 inches screen feels like 5 inches..
Soumitra ssk (3 months ago)
Which colour looks better
Raymond Ge (3 months ago)
Does it have a force sensitive home button like the s8?
Mike Steiner (2 months ago)
Raymond Ge no
Jamie Brennan (3 months ago)
They should sell it at £399.99
The Tech Chap (3 months ago)
I agree!
Jamie Brennan (3 months ago)
Then I'll get one
Arsenal Glasgow (3 months ago)
You can buy s8 for less in UK it joke
Zam Roni (3 months ago)
I like this phone... but it is too expensive for its class
Curt Bernardo (3 months ago)
A brand new A8 cost the same as a used pristine condition Galaxy S8 here in my country so....
Curt Bernardo (2 months ago)
Hi, I live in the Philippines. Yes, a used Galaxy S8 and the Plus is almost costing the same as the A8 here.
Rini Rini (2 months ago)
oh okay, didn't know that, back in Indonesia, phones are like (-+50 euros) cheaper than here in Belgium, but anyway, Belgium offers more in terms of warranty and so on. Last month, you could buy Samsung Note 8 for 850 euros, there was a 100 euros cash back gift, the same goes to the S8 plus and s8. Now the price is back to normal. That sucks there in Macedonia then :(, sorry dude.( "Mah soul, mah hart -_- ")
Stormy Molnjavichen (2 months ago)
Oh Belgium. Well, things are different in Western Europe, different market, cheaper customs etc. Macedonia is a non EU country so that's why technology is more expensive here.
Rini Rini (2 months ago)
Belgium dude :D, and no, i am going for the S9 Plus as my birthday gift :p, still using my S7 Edge now ;) . What about you?
Stormy Molnjavichen (2 months ago)
Macedonia. Where do you live? Nevertheless, you should definitely go for the S8 in your country instead of the A8 :D
Parker Brooks (3 months ago)
Let the A8 be the spiritual successor to the non-edge S6/S7.
Lewis Clay (3 months ago)
Just want to point out that that's not an infinity display
The Tech Chap (3 months ago)
Lewis Clay Samsung are calling it that on an a8. It just means their thinner bezel design :)
Madalin Pana (3 months ago)
For that much money i would get the s8
ProCheese- Yierail (3 months ago)
do yu kno da wae
Tk Muns (3 months ago)
@1.14 onwards "Make their product line up seem complicated". I think that ship sailed a Loooonnggg time ago.
carver 9 (3 months ago)
Tk Muns ... what complicates you and what phone is your current daily?
Perkele (3 months ago)
I love s8's fingerprint sensor position
Samnun Chowdhury (3 months ago)
If it was under £300, I would consider getting one. But not at £450. That's just too freaking much.
Emerald CXG81 (3 months ago)
Samnun Chowdhury Well look at his youtube channel...He sure isn’t poor
Samnun Chowdhury (3 months ago)
40Tman hahahahaha..... Millionaire... Sure u r. Just fuck off.
40Tman (3 months ago)
Samnun Chowdhury hahaha sure man cant even afford a 450 euro phone let alone flagship... mate im 19 and already a millionaire
Samnun Chowdhury (3 months ago)
40Tman u would hav to sell ur kidneys, both of them, to afford my closet u big-headed fuck knuckle. Anyway, Just shut up that cunt stubble of a face of yours n fuck off.
40Tman (3 months ago)
Samnun Chowdhury stfu child... grow up... i bet my shoes cost more than your closet
iSantos (3 months ago)
A8+ is gonna launch in india for just 33k INR
Virinder Mangat (3 months ago)
Good phone ....has good features BUT EXPENSIVE !!!
Siddaraiya (3 months ago)
Had the exact same thought. Why get this when the 5t and s8 are so close in price to the a8 :s
Damir Franc (3 months ago)
How's this infinity edge with these bezels? Just because it's 2:1? Yeah no
Steve ldnuk (3 months ago)
Rocking my A5. £350 SIM free. Great phone. Ready for the S9 though, seeing what it is about.
riley busse (3 months ago)
I'm probably going to buy the new iPhone X and the Galaxy A8 because it's like the S8 plus it has thicker bezels and there's no Bixby button so you don't accidentally press it thinking it's the power button
Nigel (3 months ago)
Pixel 2 now £499 better value.
GX9PRO (3 months ago)
Don't Like IT I'm Happy With My S7 & S8 +
Liangjie CAI (3 months ago)
its back confirms the rumours about the new coming S9...

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.