HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: The Tech Chap

Samsung Galaxy A8 Hands-On Review (2018) - A Cheaper S8? | The Tech Chap

966 ratings | 48444 views
Samsung Galaxy A8 - Samsung have unveiled the premium mid-range Galaxy A8 smartphone - essentially the Galaxy S8 Mini. Packing a 5.6-inch screen and DUAL front-facing cameras - the Galaxy A8 could be a great buy. Thanks for watching! Don't forget to Like, Share & Subscribe :) ~ Follow me :) Twitter: https://twitter.com/TheTechChap Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/TheTechChap Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TheTechChap ~ Support Me (shop via my Amazon links) Amazon - US: http://amzn.to/2qSHDlp | UK: http://amzn.to/2qg29NZ ~ My Video Gear Panasonic Lumix GH5 --- US: http://amzn.to/2oQU28s | UK: http://amzn.to/2r0of6h Sigma 18-35 (w/ Metabones) ---- US: http://amzn.to/2oQVGGW | UK: http://amzn.to/2oQVUOw Sennheiser ME2 --- US: http://amzn.to/2oR4xIQ | UK: http://amzn.to/2ob8SYA Zoom H1 Recorder --- US: http://amzn.to/2obehir | UK: http://amzn.to/2oXLBqo Dell XPS 15 --- US: http://amzn.to/2oQQhjo | UK: http://amzn.to/2plsdXm ~-~~-~~~-~~-~- PRIVACY POLICY and FULL DISCLOSURE: °The Tech Chap (Tom Honeyands) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program (UK & US) °If you purchase something from my affiliate links I get a small commission with no extra cost to you. This makes it possible for us to make more videos. Thank you! °I DO NOT collect, store, use, or share any data about you. *If a video is SPONSORED, it will include the 'Paid Promotion' marker and will be made clear in both the video and description. *All my opinions are my own. -~-~~-~~~-~~-~-
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (157)
SUP blue emerald planet (19 hours ago)
Well...Still gonna stick to X.But well done samsung!
Matt Luxton (1 day ago)
Looks like a nice device but as you can get the S8 cheaper now I really cannot see why anyone would buy the A8. And with the S9 out soon too I see even less reasons to buy the A8.
Versace Starr (3 days ago)
I rather go with oneplus 5t for that price with 6gb for 499.00
Eldridge Sacdalan (4 days ago)
I’ll buy Note FE instead
NITIN KARAR (4 days ago)
hello sir ..what is the actual Price in US dollar .how to parched it
NITIN KARAR (4 days ago)
hello sir .. what is the actual Price in US dawlar .. how to parched it ..
Ricardo Roose (5 days ago)
I already have the A8. For almost a week now. It feels good! I had a S7 edge before this one. The A8 has a excellent battery life!! For now i'm happy with it. Greets from the Netherlands
Ricardo Roose (1 day ago)
Prantik Chowdhury The quality is less good than in the S7 edge that i had before but stull good enough
Prantik Chowdhury (1 day ago)
How is the quality of the rear camera?
Geric John Olivar (5 days ago)
Dude Ill just get s8 for that price in philippines😈
John Emmanuel Lapira (5 days ago)
Price is too much for a midrange phone. That's the downside.
Arjun Pa Arjun (6 days ago)
do a battery life test between galaxy a8 vs oneplus 5t
Babar Bashir (7 days ago)
A very good looking phone. But yeah, hard to beat 5T at that price. And harder to beat S8. Lol
Aidan Holden (7 days ago)
Keeping my A5 2017
Mac Attack (7 days ago)
OVERPRICED. Id rather buy s8 or iphone 7
AHMAD AHMAD FIKRI (7 days ago)
did the bixby button still exist?
John Kenneth Garcia (7 days ago)
Is this phone thin? Or not?
Aryan TS (7 days ago)
Expensive so Honor 7x is my choice
Aydin C. (8 days ago)
pick up the S8 if you want to buy a Samsung phone !!
Piotr (8 days ago)
What is your (daily) main phone ?
henry chen (8 days ago)
A cheaper s8 but still an expensive mid range phone. Now samsung phone price gettin higher even the low range one getting more and more expensive
adv pulkit (8 days ago)
No 4k man...ur wrong here....thnk u
Mahesh Walatara (8 days ago)
Never buying Crapsung- they lag, explode, slow down, and got malware and viruses and to get updates have to wait for your next life. lol.
Ruan E (6 days ago)
Mahesh Walatara 🐑 *meehhh*
Matthew Jardine (8 days ago)
I always recommend buying last years flagship, the S8 in this case, over this years premium midrange. The price has come down, especially once the S9 comes out, and you get a better processor, better camera (with the exception of the dual selfie camera), faster software updates, more storage, etc.
GTFREAK (8 days ago)
Hahahaha the a8 and a8 plus is complete trash for 600 dollars I can buy an essential phone or one plus 5t for that amount performance is quite low for a phone over 500 dollars who in their right mind would buy this? i know i surely wont If i want a good phone that has a curved display with nfc that has wireless charging and even compatible with samsung vr which is cheaper than this a8 trash that samsung is trying to sell us i would more than take out 500 for the s7 edge which is my opinion is way better
shiny Pikachu (9 days ago)
I will get the s9 not the A !
Veton Jenuzi (9 days ago)
Hello there bro, i hope u know that im a huge fan of your videos, and i was wondering if you could be willing to gift me such a samsung galaxy a8 pls ✌i just cannot effort one tho
YoongSONE (9 days ago)
A8 2018 or Note FE better?? I wanna buy one of those but both seem great so im confuse to choose~~~~
REX (5 days ago)
I would wait for Galaxy S9. But Note FE is cool if you really want a note
The Joker (9 days ago)
Don’t buy it if its not an S or a Note
doge. (9 days ago)
Don't waste ur money on this.
Bogdan (9 days ago)
because the coolest monkey in the jungle is too braindead to know how anything about technology, right?
Zaif Box (9 days ago)
Very impressive device, and good explanation, for me personally i think that its s8 flat version. Very impressive features with a8. Keep it up. Nice work.
TechVEX UK (9 days ago)
It does not have 4k video
Dr. Fresh_2k (9 days ago)
Wow your one on the few youtubers who is filming CES at above 1080p. I like that.
craigr98 (9 days ago)
Selfies have never looked better...that makes me cringe.
craigr98 (2 days ago)
40Tman No.
40Tman (3 days ago)
craigr98 u hate selfies cuz you are ugly?
The Tech Chap (9 days ago)
+craigr98 yeah me too actually :/
jonah travisano (9 days ago)
A good video, but who is going to buy this phone? Samsung is going to have to drop the price.
HernanFr (9 days ago)
That phone has no reasons to exist.
HernanFr (5 hours ago)
So do we all, cunt
tal shachar (3 days ago)
HernanFr so does you
To expensive! It says Samsung on it lol that's the only reason.
Fezis Zeppelin (10 days ago)
It's not the firs one to have dual front cameras, asus release one last year.
comenerv (10 days ago)
Infinite edge display? Really?
Scott Bowlby (10 days ago)
Love how you pronounce “nougat” good first look but is a £300 phone.
Michael Griffiths (10 days ago)
Only a fool would buy it for 500 notes..
CptMikeTango (10 days ago)
So no more A3 2018?
mare68 (10 days ago)
I´ll keep my S8
Sci-Fi Admirer (10 days ago)
I wish phone companies would make compact phones, no more than 4.7 inches but with the power of larger phones. Only Sony do this, but they have large ugly bezels.
Какой то бобреный сыр впарить желают_) piece of kall )
GGori 99 (10 days ago)
I already fallen in love with the ergonomic and design.. its what 18:9 ratio meant to be.. 5,5 inches screen feels like 5 inches..
Soumitra ssk (10 days ago)
Which colour looks better
Raymond Ge (10 days ago)
Does it have a force sensitive home button like the s8?
Jamie Brennan (10 days ago)
They should sell it at £399.99
The Tech Chap (10 days ago)
I agree!
Jamie Brennan (10 days ago)
Then I'll get one
Arsenal Glasgow (10 days ago)
You can buy s8 for less in UK it joke
Zam Roni (10 days ago)
I like this phone... but it is too expensive for its class
Curt Bernardo (10 days ago)
A brand new A8 cost the same as a used pristine condition Galaxy S8 here in my country so....
Parker Brooks (10 days ago)
Let the A8 be the spiritual successor to the non-edge S6/S7.
Lewis Clay (10 days ago)
Just want to point out that that's not an infinity display
The Tech Chap (10 days ago)
Lewis Clay Samsung are calling it that on an a8. It just means their thinner bezel design :)
Madalin Pana (10 days ago)
For that much money i would get the s8
U Tube (10 days ago)
do yu kno da wae
Tk Muns (10 days ago)
@1.14 onwards "Make their product line up seem complicated". I think that ship sailed a Loooonnggg time ago.
carver 9 (10 days ago)
Tk Muns ... what complicates you and what phone is your current daily?
Perkele (10 days ago)
I love s8's fingerprint sensor position
Samnun Chowdhury (10 days ago)
If it was under £300, I would consider getting one. But not at £450. That's just too freaking much.
SUP blue emerald planet (19 hours ago)
Samnun Chowdhury Well look at his youtube channel...He sure isn’t poor
Samnun Chowdhury (3 days ago)
40Tman hahahahaha..... Millionaire... Sure u r. Just fuck off.
40Tman (3 days ago)
Samnun Chowdhury hahaha sure man cant even afford a 450 euro phone let alone flagship... mate im 19 and already a millionaire
Samnun Chowdhury (3 days ago)
40Tman u would hav to sell ur kidneys, both of them, to afford my closet u big-headed fuck knuckle. Anyway, Just shut up that cunt stubble of a face of yours n fuck off.
40Tman (3 days ago)
Samnun Chowdhury stfu child... grow up... i bet my shoes cost more than your closet
Santos (10 days ago)
A8+ is gonna launch in india for just 33k INR
Virinder Mangat (10 days ago)
Good phone ....has good features BUT EXPENSIVE !!!
Siddaraiya (10 days ago)
Had the exact same thought. Why get this when the 5t and s8 are so close in price to the a8 :s
Damir Franc (10 days ago)
How's this infinity edge with these bezels? Just because it's 2:1? Yeah no
Steve ldnuk (10 days ago)
Rocking my A5. £350 SIM free. Great phone. Ready for the S9 though, seeing what it is about.
riley busse (10 days ago)
I'm probably going to buy the new iPhone X and the Galaxy A8 because it's like the S8 plus it has thicker bezels and there's no Bixby button so you don't accidentally press it thinking it's the power button
10 minute meals (10 days ago)
Pixel 2 now £499 better value.
GX9PRO (10 days ago)
Don't Like IT I'm Happy With My S7 & S8 +
Liangjie CAI (10 days ago)
its back confirms the rumours about the new coming S9...
Leo Y.M (10 days ago)
Still expensiveeee 😥
Arun Das (10 days ago)
Nice one bro
Fancy Android (10 days ago)
The Samsung A8+ selling this phone at 757 Dollars in Bangladesh.
Nyanza (10 days ago)
It's pretty much pointless with the S8 being so close in price.
SUP blue emerald planet (19 hours ago)
Nyanza True...It kinda feels like iPhone SE,which was a downgrade too,but luckily a lot cheaper
Jorgidan 92 (10 days ago)
Hmm not bad but I think I'll still go for the S8.
sky works (10 days ago)
This is my next phone when it comes to my market, like Samsung IOS and form factor and yes Samsung should get of that old Software game, every new Samsung for 2018 should get 8.0 from the start.
Luke Kalkman (10 days ago)
Sounds like the S8 is a better choice.
deleon629 (10 days ago)
Samsung has taken the 'Nike/Air Jordan' approach to manufacturing & said, "Hey guys, if we make hybrid products that look like a fake version of our premium product, we'll rule out the fake competition!"
Eddie Law (10 days ago)
Don't buy Samsung or Apple phones!!!! Boycott these 2 companies!!!! These companies are overcharging their products!!! And it's Crap phones!!!!
DutchPortal (10 days ago)
Eddie Law which phone would you recommend?
romeo yuli (10 days ago)
Nice blue color!!!
Sai Prasad (10 days ago)
Prices of smartphones equal or usually more than 50 inch 4k display GENERATION SMART
TheMrLBC (10 days ago)
So Samsung calls this a Premium mid-range phone? What's up next then? Rubbish-midrange or Medium-lowrange phone? Typical Samsung. Either a phone is Low end/entry level, midrange or Premium. this is obv. a clear Mid-range phone, when it's not even shipping with newest version of Android
LegendaryVegeta (10 days ago)
lol
Demarchi (10 days ago)
Great video! "Brazil" :D
UNBOXINg dude (10 days ago)
nice camera shoots
Louie Evans (10 days ago)
Anything above 350 then i dont see the point.
Anime Guy (10 days ago)
Should have used SD 660 man
Anime Guy (10 days ago)
For some reason I am liking the A8 PLUS
Moher Aisyah (10 days ago)
@.nyimaks.
Ali Samari Moghadam (10 days ago)
Why would anyone buy something other than oneplus these days ?!
jonah travisano (8 days ago)
Matthew Jardine .. You make very valid points and it's the reason I don't get the OnePlus even though it is a pretty decent phone.
Matthew Jardine (8 days ago)
OnePlus makes fantastic phones, but they are not always easy to purchase, some people cannot afford the full amount upfront and prefer to pay it off over 12 to 24 months, some are often uneasy knowing that there isn’t a local place to easily get it fixed or buy accessories for it (which is the case with Apple and Samsung), and OnePlus drops support quickly, especially given that they release brand new phones every 6 months. The OnePlus 2 was not updated to Nougat. Every other 2015 flagship was.
jonah travisano (9 days ago)
Yeah...0p is a good phone, but some of us still alive having an SD card, water resistant, customer support and so on.
brown bobby (9 days ago)
stupid comment, op5 is made with samsung's components like display, ram, nand flash but lacks customer service, inferior display, no water resistence, worse camera.....it just has bigger ram with speed because of cleaner skin that's all.....there's no op5's technology existing.....those who know tech know Samsung is the real tech company whereas op5 is a poser
That Tech Though (11 days ago)
It reminds me of the Google Pixel 2 XL, interesting design choice. I'm definitely going to get one to do a full review. The fingerprint finally in the centre. Thanks for the video dude! Hope you make a huge success!
Edmund Dragojlović (11 days ago)
Was thinking of getting this a few weeks ago but decided to buy a note 8 last week XD
Cute.... Watching this on my note 8
Deux HuAnim (3 days ago)
Who cares?
TheLegend27 (9 days ago)
Same!
Anirban C (10 days ago)
ANIMESH101 -StrategicANI LOL
Kalpana Patar Saikia (11 days ago)
Looks like the bezels are thicker.
E Peddo (11 days ago)
Amazing but expensive
SUP blue emerald planet (12 hours ago)
Versace Starr Yep it would be a lot of better...Just don’t buy 5t,it isn’t really good...Even thought I am an apple fan I still gotta say,A8 is a great phone!
Versace Starr (18 hours ago)
SUP blue emerald planet I'm confused on what to get, maybe A8+???
SUP blue emerald planet (19 hours ago)
Versace Starr 5t is shit...The only good thing in it is the battery and 6GB ram,but which isn’t good at all,because it doesn’t make any difference
Versace Starr (3 days ago)
Oneplus 5t for 499.00 6gb
E Peddo budget phones are more my style lol
daviddaaannggg (11 days ago)
Why the hell did they make this more expensive than the S8
BeNii ben (11 days ago)
Gugo
Red Hood (11 days ago)
This shit will lose value after a year lol
Ivan Sitohang (8 days ago)
*less than a year
Bogdan (9 days ago)
doge. you're a retarded monkey baby that is too stupid to be able to use technology, that's why you suck tim cock's dick so much. go burn your kind, monkey
doge. (9 days ago)
Garbage Gang u do realize that Samsung phones slow down worse right? And samaung has yet to touch open it, at least Apple has the balls to.
Cristiano Sabian (9 days ago)
Red Hood about every phone does.what phone do you use?
Nihil0s (9 days ago)
Products depreciate?! You're kidding! What a stupid thing to say.
Deepak Goyal (11 days ago)
it's good to look at and good specs but can buy, because it's priced near the flagship s8/ op 5t
Ryan Sumbler (11 days ago)
361st Viewer 182,618th Subscriber 😃
badgernikes (11 days ago)
Too God Damm expensive
Kenth Eugene Cobacha (11 days ago)
279th! 😂
Kenth Eugene Cobacha (11 days ago)
279th! 😂
9Lives (11 days ago)
Great video as always. It’s a tough one, apart from the waterproofing it’s pretty inferior to the OnePlus 5t. The s8 has better specs, now if it was running Oreo out of the box then that would have been some advantage. As it is I’m struggling to see a reason to buy it.
Anirban C (10 days ago)
One plus has noise cancelation issues across the board, which is difficult to review, so everyone misses. My friend's Huawei Honor 6 has better noise cancelation than my 3T. 5 and 5T have the same issue, check their forums
The Tech Chap (10 days ago)
main USP is the dual-selfie cam for portrait mode selfies I guess! (and it's a little cheaper)
Bernard Gedeon (11 days ago)
4 is my lucky number

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.