HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Dell XPS 13 (8TH GEN) vs Lenovo Yoga 920 Review!

2136 ratings | 146135 views
The NEW Dell XPS 13 refreshed with the latest 8th gen quad core Kaby Lake-R processors goes up against the Lenovo Yoga 920! Which one is better for you? The traditional Ultrabook or the 2-in-1! Watch to find out! Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com


Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (322)
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Do you prefer a more traditional styled laptop like the DELL XPS 13 or a 2-in-1 like the Yoga 920?
Hung Nguyen (11 days ago)
Yoga 920 is better :)))
Feedthe5000 (26 days ago)
Nolan Flynn You could always lower the resolution
Nolan Flynn (26 days ago)
I wish you could get a 1080p touchscreen XPS 13. If that were true, I'd get an XPS 13.
SomeStuff (1 month ago)
2 in 1 always
Feedthe5000 (1 month ago)
Matthew Moniz I love using tent mode on my 920 while watching movies in bed.
John Doe (2 days ago)
2-1 better for me
Ahad Hossain (2 days ago)
dell XPS 13 is much better than the Lenovo Yoga 920
Md Faurk ahmed (3 days ago)
How much is it, Saudi arabic price
Matthew Moniz (3 days ago)
Google is your friend
supercrazpianomanaic (9 days ago)
What about the x1 Yoga? Can you review that one and compare it to the Yoga 920?
Mahantesh Mise (11 days ago)
Bought a Lenovo yoga 920 in Jan 2018 and after 2 months the speakers were not working .Sent it back again for service center and after receiving the serviced PC again ,the speakers are not working again. Talked with the customer care ,they don't give a proper response. Asked to escalate the issue ,then they are saying their internal systems are down . Such a pathetic and worst service. Will never ever buy from them .
Alex williams (13 days ago)
Video is so good. I didn't bregret subbing
Matthew Moniz (13 days ago)
Thanks Alex! Welcome to the channel = )
Ashna Vayalil (17 days ago)
I own a dell xps 13 and I love it, the infinity display is beautiful, I never get tired of the design and build quality. The webcam is in an unflattering place, yes, but personally I don't use it, so it's not an issue for me. I'm considering getting a 920 though, just because I've never had a 2-in-1 before and the screen size and watchband hinge design is appealing to me.
Ella kate (17 days ago)
Which is the best for student?
Joris Dietz (22 days ago)
One of the greater comparison reviews, good job!!
Steven Oudit (1 month ago)
Why doesn't the Lenovo yoga 920 get all the hype that xps gets. I not understanding what's wrong with the the yoga 920
Anthony Vazquez (1 month ago)
Thum scaner
Anthony Vazquez (1 month ago)
The yoga920 is kool becuse the key bord is not pushed down when you type and you can drow on paper insted of drawing on the scren i like to drow on paper it is much more beter
SomeStuff (1 month ago)
3:53 how can we add one finger print scanner??? How is this possible?
chizusyo silwamba (1 month ago)
Leave to the verge what belongs to the verge
Stephen Monash (1 month ago)
I was sure the card slot was a micro one on other vids I saw... on this model
Brian Felshaw (2 months ago)
Does either have an HDMI?
ProAshwin! (2 months ago)
Already got a 910
Oscar Jung (2 months ago)
HP Spectre x360!
Reece Martin (2 months ago)
The Yoga vs. the 9370 is probably a more fair comparison.
Dabbiru Srikanth (2 months ago)
Where is the description about the Graphic Cards used on both the laptops?
Aliens Comin soon (2 months ago)
Thanks bro I think I love yoga 920
Old School Blues Player (2 months ago)
* * * Why is it there are so many "After Market Quiet Case & CPU Fans" and no company is making them for LAPTOPS ?....come on NOCTUA / CORSAIR / ARCTIC / Cooler Master / Be Quiet! / Slienx...
SociallyBrandedMedia (2 months ago)
Well done
lucaboden (3 months ago)
Dell needs to update their logo.
Manas Bajaj (3 months ago)
This is exactly how product comparison videos should be done. Great work! Definitely subscribing.
BookOfSaints (3 months ago)
Do you prefer coil whine or no coil whine?
Mistr_J Puuddin (3 months ago)
Which would be better Lenovo 720 4K or this 920 for some vacation video editing and some 4K files on Sony Vegas?
Terry Gujjar (3 months ago)
I had gone with Dell XPS 13 qhd+ as I really liked the build quality and the infinity display.
abdelhamid mohmed (3 months ago)
you are a great reviewer
Origen17 (3 months ago)
The Dell webcam is an absolute deal killer!
Jack Capella (3 months ago)
Lenovo, hands down
andrewmako (3 months ago)
Yoga 920 is the best. 1. A bit bigger screen and better. 2. Doesn't throttle. 3. And it has a thunderbolt 3!!!! You can connect GTX 1080ti and play high performance games. XPS 13 does not have it... 4. Camera is on top!!! not the bottom. 5. You can use a pencil to write instead of paper. I always write to learn languages for example. 6. It is quieter. 7. It has a fingerprint. Just one downside that it has sharp edges when you use in tablet mode. I would prefer this one over HP Spectre x360 because of bigger screen. Just a bit more comfortable 13.9 over 13.3. Otherwise I would buy HP with thunderbolt option.
John Hutchins (3 months ago)
I love my laptops with no irritating coil whine, so Lenovo wins.
nEOs1255 (3 months ago)
Cool review bruh
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
Thanks bruh!
Meatcurtain Asphyxiation (3 months ago)
Will both of these models accept a 3 1/2" floppy?
Matthew Moniz (3 months ago)
No only 5 and a quarter. Floppy is too new
Mark Thompson (3 months ago)
I recently got the Lenovo yoga 720 15inch. It's a bit heavy but otherwise a great laptop! I've already been using a moto X. Now my friends call me a lenovo fan boy XD
Mark Thompson (3 months ago)
anytime man! The wireless keyboard is a great idea. I am planning to get one myself. Let me know how you like it
Random YouTuber (3 months ago)
Mark Thompson thanks so much for the review! I am planning on purchasing in the next 2 weeks and I think I will go for the 720 15. I only game occasionally but I like that it doesn't scream "gaming laptop". My current laptop is a monster at 6 pounds so the 720 will be much more portable than what I'm used to. I will likely get a monitor to hook it up to in addition to a wireless keyboard for when I'm at the office. Thanks again, you gave more feedback than most reviewers. I'll steer away from the 4k model.
Mark Thompson (3 months ago)
Hey man! It's working well. I got the 15inch i5 model with a FHD display, a GTX 1050 2GB, 8GB RAM and 128GB SSD. It was the cheapest variant with the graphic card. I imagine you've been watching reviews yourself so I'm going to only list things that I think are relevant in daily use. It has been working great! Built very well, feels sturdy. The chamfered edges look stunning! They are even around the touchpad! The hinges are working fine. The speakers get loud and still sound clear, but lack depth and bass. Also, it has multiple microphones everywhere so it picks up your voice pretty well. I haven't had a better looking display than this one. The color accuracy is amazing! There are 2 issues though: 1) The screen doesn't get bright enough for outdoors during the day. I only use it indoors, generally two notches down from max brightness level. 2) There's a significant back-light bleed above the F4 key and slightly lesser above the Print-screen key. It is only visible on a perfectly black background. I only notice it during startup. It doesn't mess up the colors though. I don't think it should be a problem for video editing unless you are too particular about it. The laptop is slightly heavy. You can't use it in tablet mode while holding it with a single hand and working with another for long (unless you're are secretly Arnold Schwarzenegger :P). I've been playing CS:GO on it for a few days now. I get between 110-120fps constantly. although, there's a slight issue — when on battery, the frame rates are capped at 30fps. I haven't bothered to figure out which software does that ( Lenovo, Windows, or Nvidia) since I play only while charging. I'm sure it can be changed. Lenovo has a nifty feature wherein it keeps the battery at 55-60% to keep the battery running healthy (if turned on). The DAC is great on this one. The difference is quite noticeable. The port selection is great too. Sadly, you have to use a there propitiatory port for charging even though it has a thunderbolt 3. The placement of the ports is perfect with proper spacing between them. Lastly, the keyboard and the touchpad: 1)The touchpad feels really good. I can't make out if it's metal or plastic. The last laptop I used had separate buttons for left and right click and I've had no problems switching over to this one. 2)The keys feel very solid with very little wobble – Lower than my membrane keyboard and mechanical keyboard with cherry mx blue switches(that I broke recently) I use with my desktop. The keys are bigger than all laptops with a numpad on the side. The function keys double as hotkeys for various functions which is super convenient; and the backlight is not too bright (at level 1) so it doesn't distract you. 3) The reviews say the keyboard is good which is why I was interested in this laptop but I don't quite like it a lot. I've been using it for a moth and a half now and my typing speeds are still lower than my membrane keyboard I use with my desktop. I make a lot of typos on this one. I can elaborate on this if you want ( I am cray about keyboards). It is probably my personal problem I guess since I've been a desktop user all my life. Overall, It's a great laptop. A total all-rounder. I'd recommend this if you either want a convertible, or a thin laptop with great screen and battery life under a $1000. If looks and battery life are not an issue, I'd advise you to go for a gaming laptop in the same price range. They have more processing power but are bulky and have low battery life. P.S. Don't buy the 4K screen variant. People have been facing all kinds of problems with the screen and Lenovo can't seem to figure out how to fix them even after 8 months. Feel free to ask anything else!
Random YouTuber (3 months ago)
Mark Thompson if you don't mind me asking, what spec model did you get? I'm thinking of getting the 720 15 for video editing and light gaming. How is it a week later?
retainium (3 months ago)
I recently bought the Yoga 920 as a portable workstation for engineering applications and standard office apps. So far so good. Powerful processor, lots of memory, big SS drive and a beautiful display. It took a while to get used to the USB-C ports but I picked up an inexpensive and very portable hub for HDMI, Ethernet, wireless keyboard, etc. And it looks really cool. I watched this review to compare my experience and because I own an ancient Dell XPS 13 M1330 that was a major disappointment. Not saying it should be comparable technically, but it shares the same lineage.
Technology 17 (3 months ago)
what about the coil whine problems of xps 13? did they sort this problem out?
Hamoud Al-Qahtani (4 months ago)
يوغا أفضل بكثير 👍🏻
ElenatheMarshmallo (4 months ago)
Why two Matt’s?
Matthew Moniz (4 months ago)
Because two is better than one
h (4 months ago)
hey, thats pretty cool. good work. i like it. thanks. 8=======D
P. Wingert (4 months ago)
Can you do a review of that lamp. It is so cool looking and sexy!
Sam D'Cruz (4 months ago)
What about the thinkpad yoga?
Ayan Khan (4 months ago)
yoga 920
nickle52003 (4 months ago)
watching on my yoga 920, and even with the new xps 13 2018, still think this is the better, more versatile option.
Dejan Skenderovic (4 months ago)
Watch out for screen flickering with yoga 920. The lenovo forums are full of problems related to this. Mine had the problem out of the box. Just google yoga 920 screen flickering for reference.
Anas Nasri (4 months ago)
there is a new xps 13 and HP spectre x360 needed to comparison
Scott Williams (4 months ago)
Great video @Matther Moniz! I found your channel specifically because I'm considering these two laptops. Quick note on charging: The new Dell XPS 13 has a traditional charging plug, but it *can* also charge through the USB-C (Thunderbolt 3) port as well!
Johanas Van Bastenas (4 months ago)
____________
Warren McClure (4 months ago)
Watching this on my yoga 720 13 inch!
Justin Law (4 months ago)
Dell XPS 13 has only two lanes in its USB-C TB3...
Imran Ali (4 months ago)
I am going to buy Matt one, Not into the one with Also Matt
Dado LG (5 months ago)
As Lenovo fanboy and proud owner of tab3 pro,old z50,Moto z, Moto g, 2 gen ThinkPad and Y70 touch,guess which would I choose.
Lenovo yoga is fantastic
Ox Yo (5 months ago)
nice video !
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thank You!
Omid Majidi (5 months ago)
Great review. I am wondering why you did not make the comparison between Dell XPS 13 2in1 with Yoga 920. BTW, I just returned an HP Spectre X360 2in1 because to over heating (i7 8th, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD). I liked its performance and design but the overheating was not tolerable. Now, I'm wondering with the same configs which would be the best choice: Microsoft Surface, Dell XPS 13 2in1, or Lenovo Yoga 920. Any feedback?
Mark Thompson (3 months ago)
Omid Majidi I've been using the yoga 720 15inch for more than a month now. It's delightful! I don't have any major heating issues and I play games on this device. The 920 has a better hinge design and is lighter. I think it will be a good choice
Omid Majidi (4 months ago)
Russia_HM I have not made my mind yet. I noticed most of 2 in 1 laptop have overheating issue (the worst is HP spectre 360). The only models I found are more reliable are Microsoft Surface Book 2 and Toshiba Portege X20W-D.
Russia_HM (4 months ago)
Omid Majidi which did u end up getting??
Dulat Bekbolsynov (5 months ago)
Why did you hide the other Matt in the end?
lllllllllllll (5 months ago)
The verge MacBook comparison ...
I liked your way Matthew! It is quite informative and I am gonna go for Lenonvo 920, a bit pricy, but it looks like a fabulous laptop! Keep on such great work...
Quite bit impressive.. The way you compare between both is clearly enjoyable and very telling.. I was, for one, confused and hesitant between both, and you clarified the path for me as a customer.. Thank you for your helpful efforts.. Keep it up!
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
Thanks Doc! = ) Let me know how you like it!
MrChubby1997 (5 months ago)
i wonder how hard it was to make this video? XD
Pip Pipster (5 months ago)
I think I’m going to go with what Matt said
Rowdy van Meurs (5 months ago)
Spectre x360 13 😍
Kainan Broen (5 months ago)
Your review and video editing skills are better than 90% of the other reviewers. You deserve more subscribers.
Matthew Moniz (5 months ago)
+Kainan Broen Thanks Kainan!
Eduardo Matias (5 months ago)
None of these is my favorite laptop. I'd rather get the hp spectre x360.
Carson T (3 months ago)
Eduardo Matias not only that, but the button mechanism on the 920 is pretty good. The Spectre has a weird and cheaper click to it IMO
Eduardo Matias (3 months ago)
Carson T Yeah, you're right Lenovo 920 has better hinge than HP Spectre x360 and better track pad, because it has Microsoft precision track pad vs Synaptics on the HP.
Carson T (3 months ago)
Moayad Aljumaan 920 has a better hinge and trackpad. HP has a better keyboard, but I'm loving the Yoga. Both keyboards are far better than the XPS The size of the laptop is something else you'll want to keep in mind. Bigger screen but also a bigger amd slightly heavier body with the Yoga. But I do find the HP annoying because my palms fall off the edge when typing because of the smaller body. Otherwise, both are pretty similar - it comes down to the small things. I would suggest trying both in a store like Best Buy
Robert Hoos (4 months ago)
Eduardo Matias now you're talking
Eduardo Matias (4 months ago)
Moayad Aljumaan HP spectre x360 has better keyboard.
Rend (6 months ago)
Why does the QHD model have lower color accuracy?
Saur o (5 months ago)
Rend bad 4k display
Owais Ahmad (6 months ago)
Give the comparison between Dell Inspiron 15 2 in 1 and Lenovo yoga 520. Please.
killerofbleach2 (6 months ago)
hi Matt could you share with about the lamp that you use in 2:25, I really would like own that lamp
shiva ram (6 months ago)
This is lit af..!!!!!!!!👍👍👍👍👌👌👌👌👌
Cabdala Mohamed hassan (6 months ago)
I prefer yoga 920 it so nice and comfortable
Yiannis Fotinis (6 months ago)
If only i could get one of these as a gift.Great review as always mate.Keep it up.Cheers from Greece.
First Last (6 months ago)
That hinge is hideous.
Ashna Vayalil (17 days ago)
Yeah it's pretty weird but I do like it
Drones Eye View Ireland (3 months ago)
Your hideous
Cypher (6 months ago)
Here's a like for each of you. Loved your presentation. I mean both of you.
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Cypher lol thanks !
zosoachilles (6 months ago)
The Yoga 920 4k w/1TB is a wonderful laptop and sometime tablet. My bronze model hits all the right specs. Pricey, but worth it.
Robert Hoos (4 months ago)
zosoachilles how about lenovo 720. Quad core 512 ssd 1050 gpu.
Russia_HM (4 months ago)
zosoachilles is the battery life good??
SoundSelector (6 months ago)
5:04 whats up with the screen? the game in downscaled?
Jaehyun Bae (6 months ago)
I like these MS vs Apple type reviews. Hope to see more of them in the future
Emad Aldeen (6 months ago)
I am really confused know there is the blade stealth the yoga 920 the spector 360 and asus zenbook delux all had the 8th gen upgrade but i dont knwo which one is the best for the money according to the features that they provide can you help me with that i need a good battery life with good performance and great keyboard for coding
The SassyGuy (3 months ago)
Omid Majidi That's why i never buy hp laptops lenovo is much better and less pricey
Omid Majidi (5 months ago)
I just returned a Spectre x360 (i7 8th generation, 512 GB SSD, 16 GB RAM) due to over heating. It's a nice laptop but I don't tolerate to pay over 2000 CAD to have a burning machine when you watch YouTube! So disappointed by HP.
Emad Aldeen (6 months ago)
Zaher Qubien you are right i will go with the Specter
Zaher Qubien (6 months ago)
Emad Aldeen me too i found that the hp spectre x360 to be the best one but since they won't sell it in my country for anther half a year the yoga 920 seems to be a pretty nice laptop
Spook Daddy (6 months ago)
These or HP spectre x360 13??
PAJEDI (6 months ago)
143k subscribers only ? Wow!
Naser Ali (6 months ago)
8th Gen kaby lake????
Joe Megie (6 months ago)
The Dell works for me.
Tom Braithwaite (6 months ago)
What the fuck is "sortered on" Why is it only Americans that have a hard time saying words? Soldered, L not T😂
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Tom Braithwaite because that’s how it’s pronounced both abbreviations are correct.
justin beamon (6 months ago)
You didn't say anything about the GPU's in them!
justin beamon (6 months ago)
Matthew Moniz Oh gotcha thanks!
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+justin beamon they’re integrated not discrete so nothing really to talk about in terms of gaming
John Doe (6 months ago)
Yoga is the way to go for sure...
DQuiLon (6 months ago)
The funny thing about the Lenovo is that with the 13.9" display and a wide aspect ratio, the usable area actually feels smaller than my 13.5" Surface Book's display. In my opinion these are the best ultrabook out there, and I personally wouldn't go back to using a "regular" laptop without 2-in-1 capabilities, but the Surface 3:2 aspect ratio is the way to go and I will not look elsewhere unless it is adopted by other OEMs... SB2 ftw.
Shawn Xiangyu Sun (6 months ago)
Very interesting video 😄
Sunny Chen (6 months ago)
any coil noise from the new XPS 13?
HM Tamim (5 months ago)
yes, it has coil whine... dont but... it's disgusting
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+Sunny Chen I’ve never experienced it but I’ve heard others who have
ixidor (6 months ago)
All Matts Matter! Stop the Matt on Matt passive aggression! (but, seriously, great comparison!)
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
Thanks!
mukesh27548521 (6 months ago)
Dell Inspiron 15 7577(i7-7700HQ/16GB/256GB SSD+1TB/Win10/GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5 MaxQ) or MSI GP62MVR 7RFX-1005IN (i7-7700HQ/16GB/128GB SSD+1TB/Win10/GTX 1060 6GB GDDR5) Which one should I Buy ?
Stefano D (5 months ago)
None
Maxxmentum (6 months ago)
Nice, well laid out. I would go 920 with this info. BUT (DUM DUM DA!!!! "crash of lightening") Would the 8th gen core allow the 920 to work with MS mixed reality? Or do you need a dedicated graphics card along with it?
Thagor (6 months ago)
The Dell also can be charged with USB-C.
Game Profile (6 months ago)
You make wonderful videos .
Manuel Torrez (6 months ago)
As a developer, I like more Dell XPS 13
JennY (6 months ago)
Any chance we could see the Yoga 920 go up against its same-category rival the HP Spectre x360 with an 8th gen core? Thanks!
Nicholas Sciancalepore (6 months ago)
Does the Dell use Windows precision drivers
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
yup!
kevininsimi (6 months ago)
I love me some coil whine so XPS is defs for me.
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
lol
Sojib Ali (6 months ago)
Yoga... YOGA..... Yoga
asapjpeg (6 months ago)
I just wanna know if Adobe Premier would work perfectly on xps 13? I’m in love with the design and it’s portability.
Matthew Moniz (6 months ago)
+AsapJPEG I’d sin towards the XPS 15 instead
MegaGouch (6 months ago)
I can't wait until all phones, laptops, tablets and everything are all charged with USB-C. Will make life so much simpler when travelling, and at home can throw away 90% of my cables and chargers.
KingRockets (6 months ago)
Do you know if Dell will also upgrade their XPS 15 with the new 8th gen intel chip?
Kevin Kelley (6 months ago)
KingRockets The 15 has a full processor instead of the U processor. Those won't be out in full swing until 2018. So still 7th gen for now.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.