HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Matthew Moniz

Sony Xperia XZ1 Review - Over 30 Days Later!

1798 ratings | 90931 views
Review of the Sony Xperia XZ1. Same old design but the phone performs really well. Sony has made all the right refinements to finally have a worthy competitor! But is it enough to choose over the competition? Watch for the full review! Buy here on Amazon: Sony Xperia XZ1 - http://geni.us/8fuw Help support the channel by using my Amazon Affiliate Link: Amazon US: http://goo.gl/BVc5ez Amazon Canada: http://goo.gl/SK9sQK Amazon UK: http://goo.gl/is1MXU Follow me on Social Media: Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/mattmoniz Instagram: http://instagram.com/mattmoniz123 Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattmoniz123 Website: http://www.matthewmoniz.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (395)
Nil roy (1 day ago)
is audio quality good on xz1?
M Fara (3 days ago)
l love sony but no in this design language
진수 진수 (4 days ago)
Why Sony Phones always look classy?
Shahed Rasul (4 days ago)
I need to check the durability test. Anyway gud review.
dranm2 (5 days ago)
My Xperia XZ1 has a common screen problem unfortunately. Google " Xperia XZ1 horizontal lines" and you'll see
ceasar smart (9 days ago)
In my opinion there's nothing wrong with the design the Sony phone looks different.
Condorwatch (9 days ago)
I like my bezels thank you very much, one of my relatives got a note 8, great phone, was fun to play around with, the screen was awesome, I'll admit, but it got very annoying that I had to wrap my fingers around the edges of the phone, covering up the speaker. Give me my bezels! Somewhere where to put my thumbs on, and also fit stereo speakers under
Vera Platt (10 days ago)
I love the bezels. It makes the phone easy to handle. Your finger tips don't it the sides of the screen and make changes. The top and bottom are great as well as you can hold the phone from these and not worry about making changes on the screen.
John Willows (12 days ago)
Omg, your notification bar gave me cancer...
John Willows (12 days ago)
Matthew Moniz, don't get me wrong man, I love your videos but on one of the shots, it's absolutely cluttered :) I know some people don't mind but I'm bit of a "notification bar purist". Either way, another great video, keep it up :)
Matthew Moniz (12 days ago)
+John Willows lol
Hamza HAFIDI (12 days ago)
Pixel 2 and IPhone 8 have big Bezels too
Ritesh Chouksey (13 days ago)
Does it supports selfi stick?
Bente Moonhunter (14 days ago)
If the only bad things about the phone are the bezels and no wireless charging then I am so sold!
Andoni Arzate (15 days ago)
Great review!
Spyros Ballas (16 days ago)
Yes. Sony is a serious people. Not for those "Show of" people who want to spend hundrends of dollars more to impress people with silly bezelless and fashion designs.
Godson Eh (16 days ago)
But you don't really need a dedicated button for a camera, that's old school! On Samsung galaxy you can simply use the volume up and down for the camera.
Tarkine Services (19 days ago)
Nice review, very happy with the design...Sony, the one and only!
Chester Laungayan (19 days ago)
Been a Sony Xperia user for 5 years now and i don't think the design is boring. The manufacturer is one of the fastest to release their version of an android software update. They kill their competitors by incorporating their camera technology into their smartphones. Always reliable when they tag a phone as water and dust resistant. I can't complain anything. I'm getting the service that I paid for.
Sony Mobile (21 days ago)
sony is the best
mikldude (17 days ago)
Sony Mobile , I'm thinking not , it does seem like a good phone , just not a great one . Video was fairly average , camera looked quite good , but some way from the other top flagship models. And 4 to 4.5 hours screen on time is probably not bad for the small size battery onboard , but that's the sort of battery life duration i still get out of my 2014 galaxy note 4. Just not impressive mate . It comes back to that same old sony design we see in nearly every sony device In recent years. There are things i actually like with sony phones , and i have always thought i may like to try one , but for me sony phones do not tick enough boxes that they really should in this day and age. I would buy one over a pixel however though , at least sony keeps the core convenience features , headphone jack, sd card, and is not over priced .
weezySKLH (21 days ago)
Sony is best but I just like stock Android and cam quality and it seems like Sony is not ready to innovate there...
RD Z (22 days ago)
Are you serious man! is there problem with using finger print scanner?. does other phone have multiple or movable finger print scanner. seriously? but you said a very good joke 😁?
Nightwolf Zero (22 days ago)
I find it comfortable using it on my left hand. Just scan for the lower middle of your middle finger tip when setting it up
Ragnar Zetterberg (22 days ago)
Good rewiew, I just love the design and that it is the most durable phone out there. NO nonsens! Great camera and very good battery. I will buy this phone soon.
Gaston (22 days ago)
what about xperia z 6 ???!!!! coming or not from sony ???!!!!
Tyrion Cat (23 days ago)
What service providers are avaliable for this phone?
Aimeric DOURDAINE (24 days ago)
Apple has the same design since the iPhone 4 (without curved angles) and we say anything against them... All the guys who criticise Sony are really hypocrite
mahesh (25 days ago)
I love the design, look premium and classic design, and we can use the magnetic dock for that, I still love to use my Xperia z2.
Yawning Slakoth (28 days ago)
You my friend, pronounced stabilization the correct way. Thank you.
James Delast (29 days ago)
Excellent design.
gio san (30 days ago)
The worse phone I ever have.
雨木木 (1 month ago)
XZ1 is the best smartphone i ever had. watching this video on my XZ1
HISPEEDLEVEL (1 month ago)
I want a smartphone with 3 day battery lifetime. So 90% this phones are sucks. And of course I dont need 3D scanner in camera at all!
Democracy Illusion (1 month ago)
design is ok but perfomance allways getting worse if the time goes on = fact!
Brent Gibson (1 month ago)
Boring is Subjective..... I like it....
Donatas P (1 month ago)
Using Xperia Z2 since 2015 - best smartphone I ever had, but 16gb onboard is not enough, glass back is too fragile and Android 6 is outdated. So today I ordered the Xperia XZ1 :D
TechFirst (1 month ago)
I have the Xperia xz1, and I really like it..... I love this design...... I don't know about you all... Like if you agree that sony's design is pretty good
MMaya (1 month ago)
I LOVE this design, I think all phones now look exactly the same, bezels are not necessarily bad if the design is nice as this phone proves. It looks slick and elegant, and it's unique!
Naruset Lomaban (1 month ago)
Hey isn’t Sony xz1 have front and back 5 axis
sakil ahmed (1 month ago)
sony's battery life is fantastic..
John Man (1 month ago)
Sony not good I but it by Amazon 180€ And have a many problem and no have garanti One maunt I work for180€ Sony you most give back my mony I'm so sad
Antonio Valencia (1 month ago)
I see the OnePlus 5T getting a ton of hype and yet: it has no water proofing, still runs nougat, only the dash charger gives you fast charging, inferior camera, single bottom firing speaker, and they’re not the best with updates.
2:30 There is a Sony portrait app where you can adjust the blur in the background.
Sony better change the designs because now consumers want new things such as Dual Camera, New Design, 18:9 ratio screen... because Bezels on Sony Xperia phones look the same that means they want something to look different.
Crabclub Groot4love (1 month ago)
They design Sony uses for its phones seems very elegant and classy looking. That's why I am not surprised the James Bond uses Sony phones to his movies. My opinion though
In Game (1 month ago)
I had the Xperia arc s, Xperia m4, Xperia m5, Xperia z5 and now the xz1. Love Sony Phones and cant imagine to change away from Sony flagships... Even if the Design doesnt change that often they are the Best Phones you can get on the market...
Incognito (11 days ago)
Exactly
José Bolaños (1 month ago)
I like the design but not completely. I mean, I wouldn't complain of the bezels if they really take advantage of them with better front firing speakers.
ibanez Yamato (1 month ago)
I just love sony, I don't mind bezels but not this wide. If they make phone little shorter, at least 3200 mah battery, OIS... I would buy it even if it is 750$
Fareeha Syeda (1 month ago)
I have the Sony Xperia Z5 since its release and was thinking to upgrade to XZ1 around my birthday (few months left). I'm not particular with how old or new a phone is as long as it works well, and I've been a long time Sony fan with my two previous phones being Sony as well. Should I take the plunge? Or should I keep using my Z5 till it's dying breaths and wait for a new Sony release in the future?
It's a great phone. Also the 3d models can be exported straight to Daz Studio 3d! They use standard formats which is great.
Erik Anonym (1 month ago)
Just got my xz1 and its absolutely gorgeous, I really love their design. They change just enough each year to make it look fresh
Omar Craviotto (1 month ago)
I love Sony phones. I own an Xperia Z3 and an Xperia Z Ultra. I love them. They are now kind of old, especially the Ultra, but still super fast phones with awesome cameras. I love their design. Simple and elegant. But I know most consumers are probably looking to have them modernize their design a bit. So hopefully for next year, they will.
Clouze (1 month ago)
Would've bought it if it was the same price as the OP 5T, such a shame I like the design so much
d channel (1 month ago)
Good slow motion phone camera
Fareeda mandayapurath (1 month ago)
Design looks unique and great not boring...these days you find evry companies copying each other for their features and designs but sony remains unchanged...keep it up sony...plz dont change your design...
mark902 (1 month ago)
everyone has the same stupid criticism of the design. what phone looks different over the past five years? i mean really. what do you want, a star shaped phone? a ball phone? frig. xperias look sleek af. and this one looks the best yet.
Frank Artanis (1 month ago)
I like your video you did a very good job in as far as the Sony phones go they look tremendous just tremendous I hope they never change I've been a Sony fan for a lot longer than you've been around so keep on doing a good job
Rex Luminus (1 month ago)
The design is fine. Speakers could improve to be more robust - base. More battery life. 3800+ mAh. Good review .Thanks.
Lhonsky Lim (1 month ago)
Love Sony
MrChristopherM (1 month ago)
This is where I'm at with smart phones, I don't care about apps or software. Ultimately they all do the same stuff in my opinion i.e. texting and calling. I just want a decent camera! I want a good zooming camera too where you can see nice detail! For example at a concert or when the moon is full. Instead I always end up with washed out color/details or a white orb. As of now I have an iPhone 7. iPhone needs to step up their pixel game too! I know pixels don't necessarily equal better quality, but I think it would be a nice addition instead of the slightly tweaked camera they keep offering. If digital cameras are a thing of the past because of smart phones, then make these cameras better so we don't have to carry both. I was considering this phone (especially because it comes in my favorite color: pink), but after seeing direct picture comparisons I don't think I'm going with this one. Especially with only 10 burst shots per take. I can take at least 30 shots while holding the volume rocker on iPhone. I still think it's a beautiful phone though. Just my 15 cents on the matter.
arthur staal (1 month ago)
Watching on XZs, glad I got this phone.
To us phone nerds the Sony Ericson phones have that iconic design. So long as they keep IP6x resistance, headphone jack, near-stock android, and decent camera I'll always consider a Sony phone.
Music3ox (1 month ago)
Umm you forgot, about remote play for PS4 gaming experience. Yes, it compatible
sullivan james (1 month ago)
Hahaha, it's looks like a phone from 2013.
Charoen P (1 month ago)
Kick ass phone next in the line 5.2" is perfect 😁😁🤣
The Insane Bolt! (1 month ago)
iPhone are trash
The Insane Bolt! (1 month ago)
awesome video
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Thanks man!
Nico Giducos (1 month ago)
Link to the wallpaper pleaaase
Paul Jones (1 month ago)
Sony phones are excellent
Kat Odonnell (1 month ago)
Waterproof, fingerprint locking, slow motion video. Speedy as shit off a stick, and smart battery life. Sony really don't deserve the gyp I'm reading in comments.
Glen CB (1 month ago)
what about the heating problems?
Jonadab Debe (1 month ago)
@Matthewmoniz does the Canadian version comes with the fingerprint sensor working out of the box?
Jonadab Debe (1 month ago)
Thank you sir!!!
Matthew Moniz (1 month ago)
Yup!
Alan Hayward (1 month ago)
Nobody ever talks about call quality, after all, it is a phone.
dominionn09 (1 month ago)
Sony design with a smaller bezel would be glorious! I actually like the boxy shape. I had to send mine back though for random reboots and freezing.
tushar dongre (1 month ago)
The sample of Sony camera which are shown here are not optimum, xz1 has camera quality way better than iPhone 8.
bala murugan (1 month ago)
a great look on this phone
Miguel Naranjo Peralta (1 month ago)
Great video. How did you add the XperiaXZ PIP video in 2:09? I'd like to to learn how to do that for a school project. Thank you!
Anonymous user (1 month ago)
Only pros buy sony, Other go for samsung and sheeps 🐑 go for 🍏 Apple
Anonymous user (1 month ago)
is it worth upgrading XZs?
Jonadab Debe (1 month ago)
Hi there, I have a question. Does the Canadian Xperia XZ1 FINGERPRINT works out of the box?
TechFirst (1 month ago)
Xperiaaaaaa
\m/Metal Forever\m/ (2 months ago)
Thinner bezels kill the stereo speakers, which is why I will buy one for Xmas
Chandra Limboo (2 months ago)
I think playing games would be difficult in less bezel mobiles
Lazar Otasevic (2 months ago)
fck wireles charging? this design is the best, they just need some tuning to it
Martin Pretorius (2 months ago)
Great phone, but anyone else maybe find it drops WiFi and sometimes Bluetooth as well. Android 8.0.0, Build no 47.1.A.2.374
Aníbal Évora (1 month ago)
YES! Mine does that aswell !! Have you gotten any answers about this problem? Have they fixed it?
Muhammad Luqman (2 months ago)
I absolutely love sony phones haha
I would love to see a new design from Sony, they've always been very good at designing phones (Remember the Arc S from 2011?) Bu, I'm also a very good fan of this current Omnibalance design too. I want to see this same design with their tweaks just as much as I want to see a new design from them. I don't mind the bezels either as long as I get 2 decent front facing speakers inside them.
Atwar Ahmad (2 months ago)
great job Matthew,every other reviewer only disgrace Sony for their repeated designs, big bezels they just have to improve their camera a lot and their software too and a tad bigger battery
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
Thanks Atwar!
Paška (2 months ago)
You wanna hear another good thing? SONY XPERIA X WAS THE FIRST PHONE TO HAVE X IN THE NAME, FUCK YOU APPLE
Alexey Goncharov (2 months ago)
for the last 5 years i had a sony phones, z2,z3,z5 all of them had the same issue burning of the screen at the right side, yellowish hue. i had enough of that and one more thing, thin BEZZELS or at least 5.7 inch display at the same form factor
nikhil foka (2 months ago)
I don't understand....bro why u said it's only IPS LCD and not still prefer AMOLED??????😕😕😕 Sony has their own LCD triluminios Bravia engine display, Which I think is more better than tht over saturated AMOLED display😕😕😕
nikhil foka (2 months ago)
I don't understand....bro why u said it's only IPS LCD and not still prefer AMOLED??????😕😕😕 Sony has their own LCD triluminios Bravia engine display, Which I think is more better than tht over saturated AMOLED display😕😕😕
6644pmr (3 days ago)
Suleman Mughal not true.
Suleman Mughal (15 days ago)
iphone is IPS and people buy it more then samsung
ibanez Yamato (1 month ago)
How much we stay on the home screen really. Full HD will save more than what blacks will. Also Sony screen rocks.
Bayu Ariestyadhi (2 months ago)
nikhil foka i think bravia is more to software, and the thing about amoled is it's 'true' black so less power used on black wallpaper
Gaudi Utama (2 months ago)
people these days are saying bezel as a nuisance but I definitely likes bezels cause the way I hold my phone by actually gripping it, so thinner bezels always makes me touched the screen unintentionally.
Iván Reimer (2 months ago)
I´ve been using the Xperia Z for almost 3 years and now i´ve been using the Xperia Z5 for one year. I love the design, it´s simple and good looking. I´ll definatly consider buying the XZ1 for my next phone. I really liked that review... good job!!!
Shine Torres (2 months ago)
I'm not going back to Sony until they give us a low light aperture now the software is decent but it's still limited by an aperture of 2.0 and the bezels I can't stand them two huge once they shrink the bezels the phones will look so much better they don't have to get rid of bezels completely but they're just way too oversized also a loudspeaker is very important to me typically they put in good quality speakers but sometimes they have been way too quiet. And why not mix OIS with there steady shot then they would have the steadiest phones on the market there's so many things this company could do but typically they just don't do them. Wake up Sony!
Roderick Aspiras (2 months ago)
i think that phone is underrated. Almost all reviewers I watched said it was really snappy. Camera is on par with iphone 8 I think.
Anne De Vera (2 months ago)
I love sony design
Luka Kirkitadze (2 months ago)
Every smartphone maker tries to keep their style and follow their fan's opinions. For me personally, Sony's design language looks very beautiful. It's very different from those iPhone edged devices, somehow many of Android manufacturers try to make phones closer to Apple's design language, which is not that ideal one as many of us think. Occasionally Sony tries to show us how much they appreciate our reviews: I had Z5 Premium Dual and I didn't really enjoy their Dual sim-tray icons on the notification bar so I wrote a review. They liked my comment and promised me to hide those from newer updates and they did. None of mobile manufacturers listens to their customers that much. I like their build quality. This is the first thing I noticed when I had Xperia. Many of flagship phones come with excellent quality, but Sony is one of the top. It feels stocky, very smooth and beautiful. Right now, I have my HTC U11 as my daily driver, but Sony will be my all the time fav.
Ian Dave Manguira (2 months ago)
please review the compact
Tu Papa Chief (2 months ago)
I like big bezels
TechmagnimeHD (2 months ago)
Am I the only person who loves the xperia design in this world ?
Roger Moger (2 months ago)
Don't take this the wrong way, but American reviewers always tend to speak in favor of brand America. Iphone 8 has bezels too, same goes for google and moto, but somehow no one bothers to mention that. Likewise, most apps don't fit so-called bezeless displays, a practical point which goes in Sony's favor but again it is always ignored.
Matthew Moniz (2 months ago)
+Roger Moger Don’t worry, I won’t take it the wrong way because I’m not American. 🇨🇦

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.