HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: The Verge

Samsung Galaxy S8 review

14407 ratings | 1071996 views
The Samsung Galaxy S8 and S8 Plus are Samsung's redemption moment, the first major phones from the company since its disastrous Note 7 last fall. We filmed this review on location at One Button (http://onebuttonlife.com/). With that much pressure on their shoulders, the pair of S8s have to be good, and good they are. In fact, these phones are great, and easily the best phones released so far this year. Subscribe: https://goo.gl/G5RXGs Check out our full video catalog: https://goo.gl/lfcGfq Visit our playlists: https://goo.gl/94XbKx Like The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGc Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61 Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvX Read More: http://www.theverge.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1834)
Sally Smith (7 days ago)
bixby reminds me of the Windows Paperclip (animated) assistant from decades ago that no one used.
Corey Burns (7 days ago)
Sold my iPhone 7 plus to get a s8 plus best decision I've made the display the expandable storage and ip rating and camera and just overall features just beat the hell out of the iPhone
Manas Laddha (9 days ago)
What did you know, Apple wouldn't even give you a fingerprint scanner?! Me (before iPhone X) : God the S8 doesn't have a good placement of the scanner! Me (After iPhone X) : God Why'd I say that?!?
Sally Smith (11 days ago)
There is a reason the Note 7 exploded... Samsung decided to skip the Note 6. So it was a suicide bombing protest by the phone itself.
AL MIA (28 days ago)
Warning!!!! Stay the away from S8. It's worthless. I've gone thru 3 S8 with service from Xfinity. Basically the phone is purely defective with not charging problem. Yes I have gone thru 3 phones with the same issue as Xfinity kept sending me the same worthless piece of S*&^#! The customer service from Xfinity is worthless as well going to worse Samsung Customer Support. It's interesting the customer service from Samsung are strictly outsourced overseas and yet they all have regular American names such as Christ, Jenny, John.. except they have heavy foreign ascent reading off of the scripts. Currently my S8 is being repaired by Samsung... yes they said they are repairing it and be prepared to go without a phone for two weeks while you still are required to pay for services and installment payment for the worthless POS phone. Therefore, save yourselves some grief and stay away from the Samsung S8!
AL MIA (7 days ago)
Well.. got the phone back from Samsung. They have replaced about 5 different new parts in it. Imagine .. this is a new phone. After using it for about 2 - 3 weeks, it does actually work like the way it's supposed to for the most part which is a relief. The phone does shut off on it's own sometimes.. anyways.. hoping this will be the extent of the problem. Good luck.
AL MIA (7 days ago)
Sally Smith Xfinity Mobile.. cell phone service provider
Sally Smith (7 days ago)
Who is Xfinity?
BEING HERE (1 month ago)
It really is gorgeous. But the software is glitchy, as usual. I wish they put the same effort in the stability of their software, as they do on the hardware. It's like a pretty face. But lacking in brains. But then again, most android phones are lacking to some degree in software, compared to iOS. iOs is just smooth and just works. Years later, they still work. Where most android phones begin to bog down and foul up. I think it's because of android itself. Nothing is ever refined over time. It is all about getting new and exciting stuff year after year, and pushing it out as fast as they can and then not really fixing the bugs but replacing it with the new stuff. Just my opinion. I carry both iphone and android, and have both windows and Macs. I prefer Apple products over all others for the stability and reliability and incredible ABILITY. But I am open to anyone who can do the same, and wait patiently for Samsung or LG or anyone else to rise to the occasion.
Bruno Albuquerque (1 month ago)
Bixby is now available in voice command and its REALLY good!
Sebastian J (1 month ago)
Indeed...One Of Samsung's Best Most Splendid Phones Yet...I Hope To Have One Eventually...
Joy Ekechukwu (1 month ago)
7:14 The phone looks like it's floating
Lolu lou (1 month ago)
Can I get an S8 from you?
wolf hunter (1 month ago)
Please do a reivew of s8 one year later
Misael Muñiz (2 months ago)
Love that intro "best phone evermade"
Blake Shields (2 months ago)
Pig ugly wallpaper
Michael Johnsen (2 months ago)
Ah, Verge. Your videos are so god damn sexy looking. With the extra animation and beautiful lighting... Those people behind the camera and grading need more props.
p xanias (2 months ago)
Are u serious?? Google googles reads sentences and makes a search on web. Bixby reads a whole f******g OBJECT! why so mean with bixby?
Abdelilah Hilal (2 months ago)
Guys Did the speaker showing Good sound quality on the Galaxy s8+
Amaan Dehlvi (2 months ago)
Can you tell us the name of background music
caramel coffee (2 months ago)
does anyone know if the bixby button is remappable at all anymore? like maybe with a different launcher installed? samsung should realise an extra button that can be mapped to any app would be a HUGE pro
Chris Martinez (2 months ago)
My s8 is still great and I've had it for 6 months
Thridlink (2 months ago)
how many slider shots can one man fit into an ad...
Marlon Park (3 months ago)
Pretty sure those filters on the selfie camera are from Snow not Snapchat
Nathan Jimenez (3 months ago)
Iris scanner has actually worked great for me umlocks mostly every time
Tim Bolermie (3 months ago)
I can assure you my samsung s7 since the launch has not one sign of it being slowed down. In a matter of fact it is running like a train and flawless, everything works great and this is what you want. No constant thoughts if your device will work yes or no...neither of that and I can recommend these phones to anyone who is looking at it.
I installed Xeoma video surveillance app on my S8 and now I can monitor everything that happens at home when I'm gone via my phone!
Divakar Ownz (4 months ago)
He is totally dependant with iphone Dont review other phones
sylvia thimba (4 months ago)
It's nice to finally put a face to the voice
Tango01_ (4 months ago)
jet black Galaxy 🙌🏻
Tatianna (4 months ago)
my mom is buying me the Samsung galaxy S8 plus and it hasn't come in yet but i'm excited
Aubrey Martin (4 months ago)
$17 for 6-9 bananas? now that is insane.
Kai Tang (4 months ago)
I don't lock my phone. i find no one cares about me. Cry.
New star wars trailer bruh
blackeyedshad (5 months ago)
IM HAPPY WITH MY S8+
ZarusGTX (5 months ago)
1kg of banana here cost $2
gq91355 (5 months ago)
Yes, how does that notification at the 4:30 mark show up like that???
Jack Lee (5 months ago)
4:30 how did his notification pop up like that?
DDF GhostHunting (5 months ago)
I heard Samsung said that batt last 95 percent for the first year not 2
mazeblurrity 78 (5 months ago)
Nice wallpaper
Cam365 (5 months ago)
The finger print sensor location gives it a 1/10
Jethro Omoso (5 months ago)
I Just Love That Wallpaper. The Designer Is Pretty Cool.
John Anderson (5 months ago)
iphone 8 better
Daniel P (4 months ago)
That's what I thought loser.
Daniel P (5 months ago)
John Anderson why is it better? Please tell me
Where do I get this soundtrack u put in the beginning
Srinath Srk (6 months ago)
that wallpaper sucks tbh
MetallicA7X92 (6 months ago)
Switching to Samsung now after being with Iphone for 4-5 years. The Iphone X is just way too expensive as it costs even more in my country than the suggested $999, which is already super high.
Done Voting (6 months ago)
I strongly regret buying this damned overpriced slippery damned phone!!!!!!!!
w35t51d369 (6 months ago)
why?
DDesigner VSpin (6 months ago)
Hi I have a question, How to setup that kind of notification that pops out? with edge lighting effects?
Victor Davies (6 months ago)
I always come back to this video. Lovely production, excellent sets, audio was good (almost musical). Only wished for more detail in stuff like camera and performance. By the way, is the background a home or studio or bar? Loved it!
JoshTheStupad (6 months ago)
Apple users be hatin'
Raju Jain (6 months ago)
How did you get the phones to stand upright like that? Can't be glue or something and I did not see any stand...?
Charmie Mat (7 months ago)
I love the verge videos cause they post links to their wallpapers 😂
Daniel P (7 months ago)
Hate the placement of the fingerprint scanner.
Isaac (7 months ago)
I have an Iphone SE, last galaxy I had was the S3. I love both phones, but the iphone felt more easier to use and less confusing. However with that being said I have no problem switching back to the galaxy, especially now with the iPhone X lol thats just crazy
Joshua Chu (7 months ago)
The Verge really love Iphones hahaha.
Coltyn Seifert (7 months ago)
SEIFERT!!!!
PurushaDesa (7 months ago)
Welcome to _Capitalism - 2017 Edition_ . Where we laugh off a company responsible for mass producing dangerous fire hazards but it's the customer who's liable.
El Mantishrimp (7 months ago)
4:32 "New star wars trailer bruh"
Jstar1991 (7 months ago)
720 sounds better than 1000
Yasir Ali (7 months ago)
Looks miles sexy than the iPhone X
Trist0 (7 months ago)
Song list????
Kevin Karnoto (7 months ago)
Watching this on my s8 , awesome phone. I think that concern me is when the first i got it the front camera have 3 strange bar. So next day i go to samsung and they replace my unit with the new one and now it perfectly fine
MR Ghost (7 months ago)
Can I put a glass screen protector on the galaxy s8?
Pandu Evan K (7 months ago)
Watching this on my new Galaxy S8 😁
mjcapo1 (5 months ago)
Pandu Evan K How do you like it so far? Was it worth it?
Cob0ss Selik (8 months ago)
Its so cool I want it📲📲📲📲📲📲📲📲📲😄😄😄😄
Jd Toledo (8 months ago)
It's true that samsung software slows down overtime. It happened on my Note2, S6 and now on my S7 edge. It's fast but not as fast otb and im gonna be getting my s8+ in a few weeks and im pretty sure it's gonna be the same scenario.
mjcapo1 (5 months ago)
Jd Toledo Did you get it? How do you like it?
MiDniTe_SaVaGe (8 months ago)
Water proof?
Ryan Phillip Lagayan (8 months ago)
Please make a video review about "J7 Pro"
Jasmin Wiley (8 months ago)
For some reason my face widget on the display lock screen won't show anymore and I tried turning it off and turning it back on restarting my phone but it still won't show up my phone has no water damage or cracks I recently just got it and it's already not working. What do I do?
Lightman116 (8 months ago)
Sticking with my S7 for now!
Tury Rascon (8 months ago)
This is really bad, really innacurate all over. From the processor to the bixby to the battery. Uninformed yet overrated review
Sean Ng (8 months ago)
6:50 Remember to check in with us after 2 years
Hope Moore (8 months ago)
I went from the note 4 to the s8+ and it was like going from a Honda to a mercadies, I absolutely LOVE! This phone. Could do without bixby though
Skylark1507 (8 months ago)
Stupid people..thinks the screen are bigger at 5.8...The screens are actually smaller in area with 18.5:9 ratio.
NicksDomain101 (8 months ago)
But its made of glass and is slippery af. I want to buy a phone I dont need a case for.
StikStudios Tv (8 months ago)
I want one SOO bad
Inday Jhanna (8 months ago)
Does this phone havd the tap to lock/unlock in the screen or home button..thing?? I would prefer that one as well #Samsung
Project Martin (8 months ago)
Yeah slowing down after a few years... my S5 is unusable! After 3 years!!!
Sam Hizs ❤ (8 months ago)
My friend had iPhone 7 plus and her hubby bought her Samsung s8 she love it soo much she wouldnt go back to iphone. Boy when I held Samsung s8 felt soo expensive n sleek and posh. So much feather samsung have that iPhone dont have ...
Bigred TV (8 months ago)
Most of the people who have iPhones don't even keep up or look into different phones like Samsung or blackberry or whatever. They just kinda get the new iPhone every year or every other year without thinking about it because it's an apple product and is the cool thing to do. Kinda sad that there are so many followers or sheep. Some people still think Macs are the best computer and completely anti virus.
w35t51d369 (6 months ago)
i use an iPhone for the quality applications, I had the Note last year but got rid of it, so what if people buy iPhones? Apple sell 225 million of them every year, there must be a reason why so many are sold.
Mlg Mountain Dew (8 months ago)
Damn, those bananas are expensive
Felix Baur (9 months ago)
awesome review!
René Casaña (9 months ago)
When you put gay depressed apple fanboys to review Samsung/Microsoft devices, you get this kind of videos.
TheCambra (9 months ago)
I know this is random but why is my camera app grey and not blue and purple like the one in the video
Naje Safford (9 months ago)
What a beautiful video
raider steel (9 months ago)
watching on my silver S8+
mjcapo1 (5 months ago)
raider steel How do you like it? Is it worth the money or should i get something else?
Emre Eser (9 months ago)
Who is this guy? It isn't the usual Verge review
Mario Persaud (9 months ago)
Can anyone review the iblade for the Galaxy s8?
Yash David (9 months ago)
I want the s8 so bad
Shrujan Chowdary (9 months ago)
worse guy but nice script though...
Snakes n Foxes (9 months ago)
I don't know why there is so much negative talk about the placement of the fingerprint scanner. I personally love it on the back. it doesn't bother me at all.
MFTerk (9 months ago)
why the hell would they change the size ratio of it? all phones should just be a sideways 16:9
Tobias Xo (9 months ago)
I absolutely love my Galaxy S6 , we should be available for an upgrade soon . Your reviews are amazing , thank you so much !!
CMYK vs RGB (9 months ago)
your notifications are different. I'm on 7.0 are you sure it's the default default launcher?
One of the most expensive phones on the market and you can't even remap the Bixby button. Poor performance indeed.
Dean Kingsley (9 months ago)
What's the first songs name?
Brandon Jordan (9 months ago)
I totally love my S8 ☺
mjcapo1 (5 months ago)
Brandon Jordan Is it worth it? How do you like it so far?
dillen1958 (9 months ago)
Loving my S8+ heaps! Bought it on a plan a week ago. :-)
Christine Lacquin (9 months ago)
how much is that?
wa m (9 months ago)
this is the easiest phone to break iv ever had complete garbage
el chuy (9 months ago)
this is like the best review i have ever seen. like
Kathy Thomas (10 months ago)
dont care for the galaxy S8. difficult to navigate. wish I upgraded to I phone
Jk957 (10 months ago)
I switched to s7 and now I regret it with my decision. Every time I hold the phone in landscape I click the sleep button. I can't reply to messages from notification without unlocking the phone. Typing on s7 isn't smooth as Iphone as I get unwanted word suggestions typed automatically. Finally the price of the phone went down so quickly too. Reselling it gives about £150 which is a shame although it is only 3 months old. Soon I reach the end of my contract, I will go back to Iphone. I had all models from IPhone 3GS to IPhone 6s which never dissatisfied me but wanting to try android and s series failed me for the reasons above. I hate my colleague for this short lived hype.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.