HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: The Verge

Samsung Galaxy S8 review

14105 ratings | 1032968 views
The Samsung Galaxy S8 and S8 Plus are Samsung's redemption moment, the first major phones from the company since its disastrous Note 7 last fall. We filmed this review on location at One Button (http://onebuttonlife.com/). With that much pressure on their shoulders, the pair of S8s have to be good, and good they are. In fact, these phones are great, and easily the best phones released so far this year. Subscribe: https://goo.gl/G5RXGs Check out our full video catalog: https://goo.gl/lfcGfq Visit our playlists: https://goo.gl/94XbKx Like The Verge on Facebook: https://goo.gl/2P1aGc Follow on Twitter: https://goo.gl/XTWX61 Follow on Instagram: https://goo.gl/7ZeLvX Read More: http://www.theverge.com
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1821)
Marlon Park (12 days ago)
Pretty sure those filters on the selfie camera are from Snow not Snapchat
Nathan Jimenez (18 days ago)
Iris scanner has actually worked great for me umlocks mostly every time
Smellavision (20 days ago)
I hate hate hate the curved edges. almost impossible to view without some reflection along the edge. also it looks like a fish bowl and the text tends to disappear a little around the curved edges. great phone otherwise, but I hope samsung either ditches the curved edges or offers a flat alternative like they did with the s6. also the strange aspect ratio makes no sense. it do better if it were just a tad shorter. I liked my s6 better.
Tim Bolermie (27 days ago)
I can assure you my samsung s7 since the launch has not one sign of it being slowed down. In a matter of fact it is running like a train and flawless, everything works great and this is what you want. No constant thoughts if your device will work yes or no...neither of that and I can recommend these phones to anyone who is looking at it.
I installed Xeoma video surveillance app on my S8 and now I can monitor everything that happens at home when I'm gone via my phone!
Divakar Ownz (1 month ago)
He is totally dependant with iphone Dont review other phones
sylvia thimba (1 month ago)
It's nice to finally put a face to the voice
Tango01_ (1 month ago)
jet black Galaxy 🙌🏻
Tatianna (1 month ago)
my mom is buying me the Samsung galaxy S8 plus and it hasn't come in yet but i'm excited
Aubrey Martin (1 month ago)
$17 for 6-9 bananas? now that is insane.
Kai Tang (1 month ago)
I don't lock my phone. i find no one cares about me. Cry.
New star wars trailer bruh
blackeyedshad (2 months ago)
IM HAPPY WITH MY S8+
ZarusGTX (2 months ago)
1kg of banana here cost $2
gq91355 (2 months ago)
Yes, how does that notification at the 4:30 mark show up like that???
Jack Lee (2 months ago)
4:30 how did his notification pop up like that?
DDF GhostHunting (2 months ago)
I heard Samsung said that batt last 95 percent for the first year not 2
mazeblurrity 78 (2 months ago)
Nice wallpaper
Smellavision (2 months ago)
I hate the stupid curved edges. feels like looking at a fish bowl. reflections along the edge bug. I hate this phone. worst phone ever.
Cam365 (2 months ago)
The finger print sensor location gives it a 1/10
Jethro Omoso (2 months ago)
I Just Love That Wallpaper. The Designer Is Pretty Cool.
John Anderson (2 months ago)
iphone 8 better
Daniel P (1 month ago)
That's what I thought loser.
Daniel P (2 months ago)
John Anderson why is it better? Please tell me
Where do I get this soundtrack u put in the beginning
Srinath Srk (2 months ago)
that wallpaper sucks tbh
MetallicA7X92 (3 months ago)
Switching to Samsung now after being with Iphone for 4-5 years. The Iphone X is just way too expensive as it costs even more in my country than the suggested $999, which is already super high.
Done Voting (3 months ago)
I strongly regret buying this damned overpriced slippery damned phone!!!!!!!!
w35t51d369 (3 months ago)
why?
DDesigner VSpin (3 months ago)
Hi I have a question, How to setup that kind of notification that pops out? with edge lighting effects?
Victor Davies (3 months ago)
I always come back to this video. Lovely production, excellent sets, audio was good (almost musical). Only wished for more detail in stuff like camera and performance. By the way, is the background a home or studio or bar? Loved it!
JoshTheStupad (3 months ago)
Apple users be hatin'
Raju Jain (3 months ago)
How did you get the phones to stand upright like that? Can't be glue or something and I did not see any stand...?
Charmie Mat (3 months ago)
I love the verge videos cause they post links to their wallpapers 😂
Daniel P (3 months ago)
Hate the placement of the fingerprint scanner.
Isaac (3 months ago)
I have an Iphone SE, last galaxy I had was the S3. I love both phones, but the iphone felt more easier to use and less confusing. However with that being said I have no problem switching back to the galaxy, especially now with the iPhone X lol thats just crazy
Joshua Chu (4 months ago)
The Verge really love Iphones hahaha.
Coltyn Seifert (4 months ago)
SEIFERT!!!!
PurushaDesa (4 months ago)
Welcome to _Capitalism - 2017 Edition_ . Where we laugh off a company responsible for mass producing dangerous fire hazards but it's the customer who's liable.
El Mantishrimp (4 months ago)
4:32 "New star wars trailer bruh"
Jstar1991 (4 months ago)
720 sounds better than 1000
Yasir Ali (4 months ago)
Looks miles sexy than the iPhone X
Trist0 (4 months ago)
Song list????
Kevin Karnoto (4 months ago)
Watching this on my s8 , awesome phone. I think that concern me is when the first i got it the front camera have 3 strange bar. So next day i go to samsung and they replace my unit with the new one and now it perfectly fine
MR Ghost (4 months ago)
Can I put a glass screen protector on the galaxy s8?
Pandu Evan K (4 months ago)
Watching this on my new Galaxy S8 😁
mjcapo1 (2 months ago)
Pandu Evan K How do you like it so far? Was it worth it?
Cob0ss Selik (4 months ago)
Its so cool I want it📲📲📲📲📲📲📲📲📲😄😄😄😄
Jd Toledo (5 months ago)
It's true that samsung software slows down overtime. It happened on my Note2, S6 and now on my S7 edge. It's fast but not as fast otb and im gonna be getting my s8+ in a few weeks and im pretty sure it's gonna be the same scenario.
mjcapo1 (2 months ago)
Jd Toledo Did you get it? How do you like it?
MiDniTe_SaVaGe (5 months ago)
Water proof?
Ryan Phillip Lagayan (5 months ago)
Please make a video review about "J7 Pro"
Jasmin Wiley (5 months ago)
For some reason my face widget on the display lock screen won't show anymore and I tried turning it off and turning it back on restarting my phone but it still won't show up my phone has no water damage or cracks I recently just got it and it's already not working. What do I do?
Lightman116 (5 months ago)
Sticking with my S7 for now!
Tury Rascon (5 months ago)
This is really bad, really innacurate all over. From the processor to the bixby to the battery. Uninformed yet overrated review
Sean Ng (5 months ago)
6:50 Remember to check in with us after 2 years
Hope Moore (5 months ago)
I went from the note 4 to the s8+ and it was like going from a Honda to a mercadies, I absolutely LOVE! This phone. Could do without bixby though
1507krazy (5 months ago)
Stupid people..thinks the screen are bigger at 5.8...The screens are actually smaller in area with 18.5:9 ratio.
NicksDomain101 (5 months ago)
But its made of glass and is slippery af. I want to buy a phone I dont need a case for.
StikStudios Tv (5 months ago)
I want one SOO bad
Jhanna J (5 months ago)
Does this phone havd the tap to lock/unlock in the screen or home button..thing?? I would prefer that one as well #Samsung
Project Martin (5 months ago)
Yeah slowing down after a few years... my S5 is unusable! After 3 years!!!
Sam Hizs (5 months ago)
My friend had iPhone 7 plus and her hubby bought her Samsung s8 she love it soo much she wouldnt go back to iphone. Boy when I held Samsung s8 felt soo expensive n sleek and posh. So much feather samsung have that iPhone dont have ...
S.ophia 8 (5 months ago)
nice video, ur videos are really good quality. I bet this will convince my parents to buy me this phone.
Bigred TV (5 months ago)
Most of the people who have iPhones don't even keep up or look into different phones like Samsung or blackberry or whatever. They just kinda get the new iPhone every year or every other year without thinking about it because it's an apple product and is the cool thing to do. Kinda sad that there are so many followers or sheep. Some people still think Macs are the best computer and completely anti virus.
w35t51d369 (3 months ago)
i use an iPhone for the quality applications, I had the Note last year but got rid of it, so what if people buy iPhones? Apple sell 225 million of them every year, there must be a reason why so many are sold.
Mlg Mountain Dew (5 months ago)
Damn, those bananas are expensive
Felix Baur (6 months ago)
awesome review!
René Casaña (6 months ago)
When you put gay depressed apple fanboys to review Samsung/Microsoft devices, you get this kind of videos.
TheCambra (6 months ago)
I know this is random but why is my camera app grey and not blue and purple like the one in the video
Naje Safford (6 months ago)
What a beautiful video
raider steel (6 months ago)
watching on my silver S8+
mjcapo1 (2 months ago)
raider steel How do you like it? Is it worth the money or should i get something else?
Emre Eser (6 months ago)
Who is this guy? It isn't the usual Verge review
Mario Persaud (6 months ago)
Can anyone review the iblade for the Galaxy s8?
Yash David (6 months ago)
I want the s8 so bad
Shrujan Chowdary (6 months ago)
worse guy but nice script though...
Shaun Perriera (6 months ago)
I don't know why there is so much negative talk about the placement of the fingerprint scanner. I personally love it on the back. it doesn't bother me at all.
MFTerk (6 months ago)
why the hell would they change the size ratio of it? all phones should just be a sideways 16:9
Tobias C (6 months ago)
I absolutely love my Galaxy S6 , we should be available for an upgrade soon . Your reviews are amazing , thank you so much !!
CMYK vs RGB (6 months ago)
your notifications are different. I'm on 7.0 are you sure it's the default default launcher?
Alixandah (6 months ago)
One of the most expensive phones on the market and you can't even remap the Bixby button. Poor performance indeed.
Dean Kingsley (6 months ago)
What's the first songs name?
Brandon Jordan (6 months ago)
I totally love my S8 ☺
mjcapo1 (2 months ago)
Brandon Jordan Is it worth it? How do you like it so far?
dillen1958 (6 months ago)
Loving my S8+ heaps! Bought it on a plan a week ago. :-)
Christine Lacquin (6 months ago)
how much is that?
wa m (6 months ago)
this is the easiest phone to break iv ever had complete garbage
el chuy (6 months ago)
this is like the best review i have ever seen. like
Kathy Thomas (6 months ago)
dont care for the galaxy S8. difficult to navigate. wish I upgraded to I phone
Jk957 (6 months ago)
I switched to s7 and now I regret it with my decision. Every time I hold the phone in landscape I click the sleep button. I can't reply to messages from notification without unlocking the phone. Typing on s7 isn't smooth as Iphone as I get unwanted word suggestions typed automatically. Finally the price of the phone went down so quickly too. Reselling it gives about £150 which is a shame although it is only 3 months old. Soon I reach the end of my contract, I will go back to Iphone. I had all models from IPhone 3GS to IPhone 6s which never dissatisfied me but wanting to try android and s series failed me for the reasons above. I hate my colleague for this short lived hype.
Enjoilifeallday (7 months ago)
god damn, i just wish this phone had stock android :(
Julie I AM (7 months ago)
Bloody Hell! I thought of buying one of these to replace both a lap top and S5 that I'm fed up with. It sounds like a lot of design flaws and not realy worth the money.
manorma sah (7 months ago)
very nice
Free Offers (7 months ago)
nice Samsung Galaxy S8 review
Malicious Asshole (7 months ago)
Watching this on a Moto G4.
Anuj Rana (7 months ago)
Background music?
D Villanueva (7 months ago)
what messaging app was that ??
brad h (7 months ago)
$17 for bananas?! WTH??
brad h (7 months ago)
Samsung just seems boring. I think I'd rather have a V20.
pagan moon god (7 months ago)
verge = apple presstitute
Abid Ali Soomro (7 months ago)
Win Samsung Galaxy S8 https://wn.nr/zXJm9g
8 bit fox (7 months ago)
how much does it cost! no reviews tell you this! I just need like an average
Shaswat Sharma (7 months ago)
who else is watching on their Samsung galaxy s8
Vikas Gupta (7 months ago)
samsung s8 plus contacts search very poor . not good moblie
Nicole Hess (7 months ago)
What's up with background on phone
amin roy (7 months ago)
really wanted this tech but I'm on saving mode this year. Thus, this is all I can do. Experience it on utube. lol
Ignatius Zhang (7 months ago)
buy the coolest case for your Samsung phone on: https://www.wish.com/merchant/obinaposhboutique SORRY TO DISTURB, THANK YOU

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.