HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Android Police

Google Allo review - is it worth switching?

2032 ratings | 191767 views
Allo is Google's newest messaging app. With so many great third party messengers, is this even worth considering? Watch and find out! ▶ Google Allo: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.android.apps.fireball iOS: https://itunes.apple.com/app/id1096801294?mt=8 _____________________________________________ Want to sponsor the next Android Police video? Get in touch: videosponsor@androidpolice.com. ▶ Circle us on Google+ https://plus.google.com/+AndroidPolice ▶ Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Like us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AndroidPolice ▶ Subscribe to the RSS feed at http://www.androidpolice.com/feed
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (415)
I would use it if it could connect to normal sms but didn't Google hangouts already do this?
Fadi (21 days ago)
This is so stupid just use SMS when someone doesn't have allo.
unknown Unknown (1 month ago)
Why didn't they just rebrand the hangouts app to Google All or Gouts or something and add Google assistant and the scream thing to hangouts. Since hangouts as a business tool is kinda being killed by the new hangouts chat and talk apps. So hangouts being rebranded with a Google assistant look would probably of attracted the same amount of users as the new allo plus long time users of hangouts. Just a thought
pattimcb31 (1 month ago)
I tried to go to this and everyone blocked me thinking it was spam
MacRat (2 months ago)
This looks like it's targeted to teenagers.
Chris Craver (3 months ago)
No SMS integration... deleted Google...fail!!!
Lena Le (3 months ago)
I like hangouts I use it t text my entire class it's also easier for students
m de (5 months ago)
Which is better allo or samsung message
Bit Keram (19 days ago)
m de Ever heard about Messenger by Facebook?
Rexcel Anne Sobrevega (6 months ago)
How to hack in allo
It's a me Mario (8 months ago)
Now Allo has the ability to send texts to people who don't have Allo installed.
Donald Baird (11 months ago)
It's good for using Google Assistant.
Atriel Hudson (1 year ago)
I feel like Google took all the functionality of Hangouts and broke it down into 4 separate apps. Messenger for SMS/MMS with a regular phone carrier. Allo for IM's (Though, the fact that it doesn't support multiple platforms is irritating), Duo for Video Chat, and Google Voice for Call/Message Forwarding.
Herman Singh (1 year ago)
Allo is terrible. Personally, I use invi. I like it because it utilizes both sms and im functionality in one app. It also has this cool thing called Awesome bar which allows you to send memes, gifs, and other fun stuff
Haroun George (1 year ago)
I think google is gonna release this app with sms support as a feature for android o
Jonas Jerner (1 year ago)
Hangouts! Allo is extreme bad and i nerver install it. we only need big update on Hangouts not 2 new bad apps Allo and Duo 😈
Abibas (1 year ago)
It's a huge disappointment just because you can't really text people with Allo who don't have it (or atleast, you shouldn't)
AirrunCanall (1 year ago)
So its hangouts for cheaters.
Ryan McMahon (1 year ago)
Allo is stupid. Just build on messenger its that simple. To many Google messaging apps it's ridiculous and the very reason Google can not compete with Apples iMessage. Apple has 1 messaging app, you can't count the # of Google messaging apps.
Vado (1 year ago)
me irl
Caleb Allen (1 year ago)
I read in the Google Playstore that this app has an end-to-end encryption feature, in the incognito mode. But really, does anyone believe that? Google spies everyone, always! ;-)
Amira Lions (1 year ago)
I liked your review. You saved me from wasting my time with this one. I just turned off my Verizon Message+ as it kept putting me in driving mode and answering my text messages for me, telling everyone I couldn't answer because I was driving. Everyone was probably wondering why I'm always driving. LOL!
H D (1 year ago)
Please try this Whiteboard App for Android , totally free. If you like it please rate and comment. Thank you :) https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.hashdroid.whiteboardFree&hl=en
Mohammed Kamal (1 year ago)
blocked in my country
Abdul Mannan (1 year ago)
it's the best messaging app ever! I love it!
KrAzY Qc (1 year ago)
Don't ever trust this app ! Read before you APP-ly it to your phone !! http://thefreethoughtproject.com/snowden-allo-google-messaging-warning/
sungodApollo (1 year ago)
Yeah I suppose it's kind of a downer if the replyer has to down load allo to receive pics.
Peter Nagy (1 year ago)
What I don't get is why on earth have to be Allo and Duo two separate apps!?
MyDustyVision (1 year ago)
Without SMS support, Allo is useless. Get your shit together Google
DctrBanner (1 year ago)
I have it installed. I'll use it when they have native SMS support. I'm not gonna use two apps for that.
Omer Alazawy (1 year ago)
0:08 what is this ? samsung s7 edge ? it looks :\ weird
Ode Valkamo (1 year ago)
this is why i prefer google assistant/google now than siri
Burak Okuroğlu (1 year ago)
Truth is, I really like the products that Google make. But this... No chat backup? And full of unnecessary stuff just to show the things that Google can do. Competitor to WhatsApp? Doubt it.
Aman Singh (1 year ago)
Sounds like HowToMen.
Ranger (1 year ago)
imessage ripoff much?
BigCountryGaming (1 year ago)
If Google made this the base messaging app then this would be a killer app. Google really needs to push out a iMessage competitor.
Tryosis (1 year ago)
2:47 "Hugh Mungus".
srinivas Cheenu (1 year ago)
does anyone can tell me how to send a music attachment from my file manager
Cust0mBuilder (1 year ago)
heard NSA has a big foothold in Allo even though google "promised" in its pre release that it wouldn't read your messages.
reezdog (1 year ago)
Allo is free why not have it. I still use what's app.
Ian Lim (1 year ago)
HUGH MUNGUS LMFAOO
Акыл Чик (1 year ago)
Snowden said this app is fucked up, it's a spy shit...
FPC-Virtual (1 year ago)
I am about to download it and will surely do a cool tutorials on it all as well as a review. Thanks for the info, I hope it works well once I get the Pixel phone. I'm very intrigued by such and love this AI experience potential of the Google Assistant. Curated!
saabdriver2008 (1 year ago)
hangouts ftw
SolarizeYourLife (1 year ago)
Oh, so this is only an elaborate SMS app... they didn't say that in app description...
emmanuel daniel (1 year ago)
Please do a video review of the moto Z play
RelaxingTVP (1 year ago)
I see that the new iOS 10 iMessage version has just been copied. Why can't Google stop copying Apple 😪🔫🔫
arv ind (1 year ago)
not worth switching
Julian (1 year ago)
Telegram is better
kingziggyjumbleboing (1 year ago)
Who else saw that his name was hugh mungus?
Michael Harding (1 year ago)
I'd use allo if it was a viable hangouts replacement. If hangouts had the color options as messenger (i'm superficial that way) and had the google assistant, I'd only use hangouts. take duo, take allo, put them back in hangouts, and keep that one nice.
Soviet Waffle (1 year ago)
I think you accidentally leaked your phone number at 2:39
Soviet Waffle (1 year ago)
when you swiped from the left, below your name
Jerry N. (1 year ago)
I just wanna be able to have pretty chat bubble colors bruh
Ben (1 year ago)
Hugh Mungus
Arindam Dhar (1 year ago)
please introduce the back up data option in this chatbox
TheRealConcertKing (1 year ago)
Did you say "textseses?"
Ahmed (1 year ago)
useless app
Sergio Duarte (1 year ago)
Knotfest! Nice.
Javier Velazquez (1 year ago)
This thing is DOA. Too late to the party.
Nikolas Manuelides (1 year ago)
so its like Telegram's retarded brother
Manuel Olivas (1 year ago)
i use textra dont think ill switch.
uranglintau (1 year ago)
3:49 Snowden in Allo?? Mmm...
Marcos Beni (1 year ago)
All of this could have been integrated onto Google Hangouts, instead they choose to create an entirely new service and app. I use my Google Voice number for all of my calling and texting on Hangouts. Hangouts also comes with a chrome extension I also use to send my texts from any computer without having to have the phone around. I even use different phones different days of the week and all my texts and call logs are always synchronized among them because it's all attached to my Google account. There's no way I'm giving up all of this flexibility and important features for this Allo sh*t.
sugir gowtham (1 year ago)
Whether allo is available for idevices???
Ajie Pratama (1 year ago)
I tried Allo... and that was not so good than WA/Telegram.
joniyboiy (1 year ago)
If Google expects this to have any chance of competing with iMessage they need to add SMS support immediately, as well as preferably the ability to use it on multiple devices. A web client would be nice as well. Feels like it's lacking a lot right now.
Pradeep Sasidharan (1 year ago)
I loved it.. best when working.. were it's time consuming to go to different apps.. now all in one place..
Avinash Lahane (1 year ago)
HowToMen :)
Olle Löfgren (1 year ago)
I like it and is trying it out. But the problem is to get people to Join...
Rob Varley (1 year ago)
what a pointless, stupid app. Google is getting worse and worse at making apps
RPDBY (1 year ago)
verdict: fuck it
Vijay Pannaimani (1 year ago)
I like Jio chat
Anand Karthikeyan (1 year ago)
What region of the US is this narrator's accent from?
Jeremy (1 year ago)
I love the concept, but I NEED it for it to be SMS compatible (fully). Without that I stay with hangouts.
ballistichydrant (1 year ago)
dumb app . no multiple devices . dumb
AnointedFlow (1 year ago)
tooooo many messengers from Google. They should destroy Messenger because that's the most useless one and just perfect Hangouts. It gives you the best communication experience. Calls, text and video
Ahmed Yanaal (1 year ago)
Is this How To Men?
AnointedFlow (1 year ago)
Why would you need an incognito chat?
Elijah Newsome (1 year ago)
to discuss porn
AnointedFlow (1 year ago)
I mean really.
Ahmed Yanaal (1 year ago)
well. in order for Google Assistant to work it reads all the data you guys share in the chat. And all of the chats are stored in Google servers. So if you told something sensitive. The suits can get them if they have a warrant. But since Incognito modes give E2E Google can't access any messages send in the incognito mode. I guess that's why. If you value privacy over features you can just talk in incognito mode all day.
AnointedFlow (1 year ago)
the fact it's there is suspect
Ahmed Yanaal (1 year ago)
it offers end to end encryption and self destruction of texts. that's why.
DarkSaruman (1 year ago)
What's the point of this app? Why have Hangouts and this? Why not simply install this features to Hangouts which is also cross platform and works well for SMS?
Sim Lash (1 year ago)
Just wait for Google Assistant to get integrated into Hangouts. That's really the only thing that makes Allo interesting
saucermonkey320 (1 year ago)
disappointed
DingDong cheng (1 year ago)
No sms bla bla bla but whatsapp doesn't have that either, I like it, it´s pretty simple and clean, The assistant is very cool. Up for Google.
papa bless (1 year ago)
the biggest let down is the people youre messaging have to have this app. wtf google?
Jan Keith Darunday (1 year ago)
Snowden warns us about this. "Do not use it", he says. He also said before that it is "dangerous". References: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/news/google-allo-should-be-deleted-and-never-used-says-edward-snowden-a7320861.html http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/news/google-allo-unsafe-dangerous-edward-snowden-app-release-date-a7052746.html
Tristan Crawford (1 year ago)
Allo will be worth switching to when SMS and MMS are integrated and it can be set as the default messaging app.
MayitoTek (1 year ago)
Only four of my contacts currently have Allo installed. I hope it gets a lot more popular over time.
Cris NGA (1 year ago)
You dont have to switch. embrace the technology
TheEndergun (1 year ago)
Not gonna lie, the main reason I want to use this is so I can stop fucking using facebook for my texting.
Kamran Malik (1 year ago)
Android sucks in battery life
David Norton (1 year ago)
Does it though?
Amal Edward (1 year ago)
Bullcrap app!
Rupesh Manikonda (1 year ago)
not gonna use it after what Snowden said..
Ali Yahya (1 year ago)
Hugh Mungus @2:48
Nicolas Montiel (1 year ago)
Assistent is supposed to work in normal chats too right???
Thomas S. (1 year ago)
yes you have to write "@google" and then the command in a chat with a friend
Jose Perez (1 year ago)
Yes
Sweler18 (1 year ago)
heads up notificazions?? doesn't works??
sanjeed km (1 year ago)
uninstalled it ! don't waste your storages !
Kornel Wojtan (1 year ago)
No SMS on this app unless the person you're sending SMS has Allo as well. I say big NO for this app!
jason roberts (1 year ago)
What could make Allo work would be - Sms integration , adding more features like duo right within the chatbox , audio messages , voice calling , q r codes or usernames or so people can add each other and talk even if they dont have to share their numbers with each other . Till any of that takes place it will not take off even despite the Google assistant.
Yuen (1 year ago)
I like it's features, but Allo isn't as handy as Hangouts or Messenger...
Erald M. (1 year ago)
It sucks. No thanks.
Luke Nallen (1 year ago)
allo is amazing, I love assist

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.