HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Marques Brownlee

Audio Technica ATH-M50X Review!

33329 ratings | 1720508 views
ATH-M50X: Successor to the legendary M50s! Audio Technica ATH-M50X: http://amzn.to/1fw8DrU Audio Technica ATH-M50: http://amzn.to/WjgIHN ATH-M50 Removable Cable Mod: http://amzn.to/1gmDn16 Nexus 5 red carbon skin: http://goo.gl/xsFuWj Video Gear I use: http://amzn.com/lm/R3B571T7PT4PWM Intro/Outro Track: Deadmau5 - Slow Down, Start Over ~ http://twitter.com/MKBHD http://google.com/+MarquesBrownlee http://facebook.com/MarquesBrownlee http://facebook.com/MKBHD http://instagram.com/MKBHD
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (4958)
Mario Cario (4 hours ago)
these headphones are unconformable as shit thanks for baiting me into buying this shit fuck face
Tony Dillinger (2 days ago)
Do not buy Beats headphones, but also do not buy these headphones! Tell you the truth I actually don't own m50x I bought the m40x because I heard many people say the M50 is just way too muddy and not really good for anything. Watch the review by Z reviews.
nahathaLie (7 days ago)
Beyerdynamics Custom one plus pro or these? Can't decide
Franco Longstaff (8 days ago)
Nexus 5 RIP :(
zombieimpact1865 1 (15 days ago)
Hyperx cloud Alpha' s are only $99.99 and with tax it is $104.99 and they sound way better than the audio technica hth m50x
zombieimpact1865 1 (15 days ago)
I have a pair of Audio technica ATH M50x and my Hyperx Cloud alpha headphones are far superior when it comes to sound quality with music and gaming. The bass is very crisp and the mids and highs are very clear. They sound alot like open back headphones
zombieimpact1865 1 (15 days ago)
I would go for the Hyperx cloud alpha' s over these because they are cheaper, more comfortable and sound much better
Eddie Weedon (21 days ago)
This video just made me sad, I broke my coiled cable and mislaid my carrying bag. Love the headphones though!!
andrew Chills (30 days ago)
Are these still worth it?
pie 14 (1 month ago)
i just bought it with m-audio headphone amplifier..the result is superb
Zubysaboss 10 (1 month ago)
I do not understand why people would use a studio monitor for regular listening. Why would you do that?
as ad (1 month ago)
im not sure why someone would buy the more expensive m50x over the on sale ws1100is? i think ws1100is is a better headphone
we rw (1 month ago)
I've been using them for 1 1/2 years now and still they sound awesome.
Cameron Savage (1 month ago)
M40x vs m50x? for mainly music listening. Vinyl records and digital. I also will use for audio production and recording.
Commissioner Johnson (1 month ago)
M40x is better
Ashani Ashani (1 month ago)
I want a flat headphone in this range as I'm a producer and I need that. Ineed someone to please tell me whether I should go with these!?
doge (1 month ago)
Do the cables have a mic
DJ AppleJ Sound (2 months ago)
Old intro/outro was better!
Heard ATH M20X got almost identical sound quality to M50X is that true?
Matthew Dillon (2 months ago)
Would these be good for gaming?
EstebanERP (2 months ago)
I have a broken Sony xb950bt and im buying this ath m50x to replace them, is it a good deal or should i just repair my xb? The ath m50x will come with an amp. I listen mostly to metal and slow latin music and a lot of YouTube.
flying snail (2 months ago)
The ATH-M50x's are great! They sound amazing, super portable and crazy durable (I sat on them once and they still look brand new). They're not the most comfortable headphones though.
Hadrian Wong (3 months ago)
It’s a 2.5 jack, not a 3.5
Dakshin Pradeep (2 months ago)
Guys is it a good choice to buy the ATH M50X in 2018 anyone plz reply:)
Dakshin Pradeep (2 months ago)
vs thanks for replying dude 😊
vs (2 months ago)
Dakshin Pradeep yes!!
Ed Jackson (3 months ago)
Headphones Still more ports than a MacBook Pro 2017
Marika Tachibana (3 months ago)
man you are massive m50x fanboy
Ransu (3 months ago)
why my m50x have crack sound when i move my headphone's earcups
ClashBerry (3 months ago)
probably got a faulty unit, that should be covered under your warranty - contact their customer support
Chirpy100 (3 months ago)
Just bought some of the Matte Grey ones yesterday! Super excited to get them!
Kang Dindu (4 months ago)
I just got these headphones and the overall sound quality is decent. Good tight bass, but highs are annoying as piss. Or should I say HISSSSSSSSSSSSS... Because that's all I'm hearing on many tracks.
Alejandro Aristizabal (4 months ago)
Are you color blind?
Scott Lowell (4 months ago)
These are superior to the FAR more expensive Sennheiser HD-660s.
MAN RAY (4 months ago)
"And this new blue version" *bright orange headphones appear on screen
Bharat Aggarwal (4 months ago)
does M-50X have great bass?
Darshil Parikh (4 months ago)
There's a "2.5mm" headphone jack empty on the left hand side of the....
ZiisusChrist (5 months ago)
Don't buy these if you are not willing to mod these. I have this and the wire itself is in two pieces in the end. So enough plug-in and plug-out it will get detached. I was helluva lucky this time when the other part got off and was stuck in my phone that i could actually get it out from there. The proprietary wire costs 30€ and it is complete and utter shit. No wonder these were so cheap. They are making money with the wires.Just mod these if you have ones. No point in buying shitty wires from AT.
Sergio Domingues (5 months ago)
I have big ears, I'm concerned about the size of this headphones because they seem a little small, probably they won't cover all my ear I guess. Can somebody say something about it's size?
Ashmeet singh (5 months ago)
Guys m50x or bose qc35. Which one should I buy
Arnav Agarwal (5 months ago)
How is M50 Xs bass if I use it with an amp
Chirpy100 (5 months ago)
Would anyone recommend getting these in 2017?
Matthew (5 months ago)
i bought these headphones 2 years ago and have to say, are brilliant and still like new (using with latest i-pod touch). You will not be disappointed
Chirpy100 (5 months ago)
Matthew Webber Very True... Thanks!
Matthew (5 months ago)
I wouldn't worry about these becoming obsolete as i would just use an adapter
Chirpy100 (5 months ago)
Matthew Webber Because in 2017 phone manufacturers are killing the headphone jack, and leaning more toward wireless. I don't want these to be obsolete in 2 years!
Matthew (5 months ago)
Why not?
Austin Jasper (5 months ago)
would you recommend these headphones over astro a40 tr's?
Alex Dubovsky (5 months ago)
do they have a built-in microphone?
Casper Ko (5 months ago)
2.5mm
Nikeruto Shippuden (6 months ago)
I just bought them for school and this is the first video Im watching on them. I love them!
deXter2 (6 months ago)
These are faaar from being neutral and analitic. They may be more than Beats, but they still have a lot of drowbacks if you want to use them in a studio.
FeastingLord (7 months ago)
I had some m40s and they were hands down one of the most durable and beautiful sounding headphones I've had
AG Zakuariku (7 months ago)
so there noise canceling?
Rajesh Kumar (7 months ago)
what the deal with m50x and High resolution audio headsets? Which is better. Is it based on Hardware Output? Please help.
Tommes Heijnis (7 months ago)
Gettin these asap
Rani Shaikh (7 months ago)
nice
Jonathan Balloch (7 months ago)
"And this new blue color" <viewer gets freaked out thinking he has a stroke and blue now looks orange> o_0
HITMAN DULSHANK (7 months ago)
Just a quick question, if i wanted to make this a Bluetooth headphone, is there a mod available that you know of? and is it any good? (as in battery life, sound quality loss and so on..........)
David Aronson (7 months ago)
Status Audio CB-1> M40X > M50X
CR1MS (17 days ago)
»your opinion
David Aronson (7 months ago)
It's not 3.5 mill on the side, it's 2.5 mil
Valkiron (7 months ago)
Marques...*sigh* I love your videos. Seriously. I do. But, to say that the M50s are the best headphones under 200 dollars.... ...is just ridiculous. To make things worse, you......reviewed the M70s. Why? Just...why? Just try the M40s, MB. Don't be afraid. If you hate 'em, that's fine. But, if you love them (like everyone else), let the public know, and please stop spreading the lie that the M50s are superior.
LeanGod (7 months ago)
Do they have a microphone l?
ADFullClip (7 months ago)
These the ones I have !
zact lee (7 months ago)
review status audio cb-1
Oboreru Sakana (7 months ago)
Pyramid hair.
Darek Nowak (8 months ago)
Just bought them and attached to the portable DAC SMSL M3. Played some random FLACs. Love it!
Youssef Alowlh (8 months ago)
i'm gonna buy it you are the best
Grayson Purdy (8 months ago)
I have these and am getting hardly any bass... I went to an extreme bass boosted song and it was still majorly lacking... are mine defective or is there any way to get more bass?
wrmaldonado (8 months ago)
Hello Marques, How would you say the M50X compares to Sony XB950N1? I ask because you post videos that are based on good quality and unbiased facts. Love your vids, especially the beats exposure ones.
Blake Blundell (8 months ago)
Thanks for this video, I was so close to buying Beats Studio 2.0 for $250 but bought the ath-m50x instead for only $130 after watching this video and the "truth about beats by dre"
smilelisasa (8 months ago)
Hi if I could know what brand/module of the recording interface sitting on your table this video? Thanks
Smalls (8 months ago)
Can any mic works with any audio interface?
Arvin B (8 months ago)
mkb i love you man.. but you gotta retract this video. M50s are not the best headphone under 200. Check out zeos he has good recommendations on headphones.
V a p o r i z e d (8 months ago)
If you want a great alternative to Beats by Dre. Audio-Technica ATH-M50x is a great choice!! ; ) Beats comfortable headphones with similar sound to ATH-M50x ❤
wunt sum dek? (8 months ago)
I kinda regret buying these cause im more of a deep base person since I don't really feel it on these headphones but they are the most confortable headphones.
Ariel Luces (8 months ago)
$130 on amazon right now
Levent 040 (8 months ago)
they cost 140 euros in the netherlands
ss4chris89 (9 months ago)
wow i had to go back and look at the m50 review. youve come a long way. but you had more personality in your older vids. nothing wrong with now though either .
Nitheesh A S (9 months ago)
So this is the video that made this headphone so popular eh? Personally, I feel that this isn't worth all this hype and the money.
Thanks man...
Milton Huynh (9 months ago)
Get the ATH-M40X's if you want to save $60 and can accept lower bass and build quality. After getting it, I never looked for another pair it was perfect for me
Matt J (9 months ago)
How are these for noise cancelling? I've got loud ass roommates I'm tired of listening to
flpmrtnz (9 months ago)
still a good buy in July 2017?
Muhitul Khan (9 months ago)
I saw the blue Orange fuck I m color blind
Kurt Reodica (9 months ago)
Hey man is the sj55 good?
Youtube Channel (9 months ago)
Bought mine a few years ago, honestly one of the best investments i've made. These are actually surprisingly rugged, i've taken them to the gym (just to see what it'd be like) never did it again because they kept falling off. Worn them in the rain and they still work 100%. Never had a problem with these headphones. Bought them for music and gaming and now i use them for what they're supposed to be used for.
Greg T (9 months ago)
Nice video. Thanks. I've had my phones for about a year now and can't find a thing wrong with them. Great sound. Very comfortable for long sessions.
John Smith (9 months ago)
Just bought a pair myself. Not my first pair of decent headphones so I was a little worried they would disappoint, but they totally blew me away. Best sounding headphones i have ever owned.
morgen dikmen (9 months ago)
is it wireless? or i need the wire plugged in to be able to listen to music?
Shihabafi (9 months ago)
WHAT ABOUT THE Status Audio CB-1?!!?!?!?!
muanthang zou (9 months ago)
still the best even in 2017 @mkbhd?
Sean McVety (10 months ago)
Just bought off amazon for 199. Canada is way more expensive but its still a price im gonna pay for such comfy and high end headphones
manishmetal (10 months ago)
listening to this on my Ath-m50x 😀😀 I listen to a lot of rock and alternative music and it sounds awesome on these ... probably the best I have heard on any other headphone I have ever owned
Joshowa (10 months ago)
are these still worth it?
Yeah, I know right (10 months ago)
Quit commenting saying the headphones are orange not blue. They are blue/orange
Dave A (10 months ago)
Thanks for review, looking to order them tomorrow
Kyris Xiandrii (10 months ago)
i'm thinking about buying these headphones
Ross Lemon (10 months ago)
Getting the m40x in 2 days. Opinions?
Valkiron (7 months ago)
You made the right decision.
PrasBhekti (10 months ago)
this is over the ear completely?
Sui Yo (11 months ago)
Holy shit, these are 10000% better than the g993's - total scam! Audio cut out every 6 seconds, horrible quality audio and build, get these!!
1334Caddy (11 months ago)
Watched you review on the Amazon reviews, came to youtube to find your affiliate link to buy them through. Thanks for your awesome reviews!
Herr Doodlesmith (11 months ago)
When you have locked one cable in to place, can you later on switch to one of the other cables included in the box?
ashu gupta (11 months ago)
I just bought this one. And it's the best headphones I've ever used. Is there a third party cable which comes with mic and buttons to control ??
mikbanin (11 months ago)
Great vid ! I was just wondering what is your audio setup ? (amplifier, speakers, sub...)
Dracula Nova (11 months ago)
My only issue is that the standard cable's plastic around the jack plug tends to wear away, exposing the wire underneath. But apart from that its excellent.
Ashley Rodrigues (11 months ago)
Hey Marques! The earcups on my m50x has worn out... Wat do yu suggest?
Arpit Gohil (11 months ago)
Before purchasing any thing, I just open up YouTube and watch as many videos as possible about that product. And videos from your channel are the one which I prefer to watch first because you are one of the genuine tech reviewer and that's why you are my all time favorite. So thank you for making all this honest reviews and making our purchase a good one. I guess this has changed marketing​ strategy of many tech companies because of you guys. It's not only me but many people does this, so many of them are now spending more on making product then on promoting it. Thanks to all you guys for making this happen and made us a happy consumers​.
Bruno R. (11 months ago)
Thanks Marques I bought it because of you and this video and i am loving it.
Tobi Nator (11 months ago)
When looking for a cheaper headphones for my small professional video editing business, you were the first one I looked to. I carry these around with me everywhere I go. I have created hundreds of hours of content wearing these, and I could have never got the opportunity without you! Thanks for making honest, good review that have actually helped me make an unbiased decision in buy great tech.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.