HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Marques Brownlee

Audio Technica ATH-M50X Review!

32824 ratings | 1675754 views
ATH-M50X: Successor to the legendary M50s! Audio Technica ATH-M50X: http://amzn.to/1fw8DrU Audio Technica ATH-M50: http://amzn.to/WjgIHN ATH-M50 Removable Cable Mod: http://amzn.to/1gmDn16 Nexus 5 red carbon skin: http://goo.gl/xsFuWj Video Gear I use: http://amzn.com/lm/R3B571T7PT4PWM Intro/Outro Track: Deadmau5 - Slow Down, Start Over ~ http://twitter.com/MKBHD http://google.com/+MarquesBrownlee http://facebook.com/MarquesBrownlee http://facebook.com/MKBHD http://instagram.com/MKBHD
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (4926)
TobyTTC (11 hours ago)
It’s a 2.5 jack, not a 3.5
Dakshin Pradeep (1 day ago)
Guys is it a good idea to buy the ATH M50X in 2018 anyone plz reply:)
Ed Jackson (4 days ago)
Headphones Still more ports than a MacBook Pro 2017
Marika Tachibana (15 days ago)
man you are massive m50x fanboy
Ransu (20 days ago)
why my m50x have crack sound when i move my headphone's earcups
probably got a faulty unit, that should be covered under your warranty - contact their customer support
Chirpy100 (25 days ago)
Just bought some of the Matte Grey ones yesterday! Super excited to get them!
Kang Dindu (29 days ago)
I just got these headphones and the overall sound quality is decent. Good tight bass, but highs are annoying as piss. Or should I say HISSSSSSSSSSSSS... Because that's all I'm hearing on many tracks.
Alejandro Aristizabal (30 days ago)
Are you color blind?
Scott Lowell (1 month ago)
These are superior to the FAR more expensive Sennheiser HD-660s.
MAN RAY (1 month ago)
"And this new blue version" *bright orange headphones appear on screen
Bharat Aggarwal (1 month ago)
does M-50X have great bass?
Darshil Parikh (1 month ago)
There's a "2.5mm" headphone jack empty on the left hand side of the....
ZiisusChrist (1 month ago)
Don't buy these if you are not willing to mod these. I have this and the wire itself is in two pieces in the end. So enough plug-in and plug-out it will get detached. I was helluva lucky this time when the other part got off and was stuck in my phone that i could actually get it out from there. The proprietary wire costs 30€ and it is complete and utter shit. No wonder these were so cheap. They are making money with the wires.Just mod these if you have ones. No point in buying shitty wires from AT.
Sergio Domingues (1 month ago)
I have big ears, I'm concerned about the size of this headphones because they seem a little small, probably they won't cover all my ear I guess. Can somebody say something about it's size?
Ashmeet singh (2 months ago)
Guys m50x or bose qc35. Which one should I buy
Arnav Agarwal (2 months ago)
How is M50 Xs bass if I use it with an amp
Chirpy100 (2 months ago)
Would anyone recommend getting these in 2017?
Matthew Webber (2 months ago)
i bought these headphones 2 years ago and have to say, are brilliant and still like new (using with latest i-pod touch). You will not be disappointed
Chirpy100 (2 months ago)
Matthew Webber Very True... Thanks!
Matthew Webber (2 months ago)
I wouldn't worry about these becoming obsolete as i would just use an adapter
Chirpy100 (2 months ago)
Matthew Webber Because in 2017 phone manufacturers are killing the headphone jack, and leaning more toward wireless. I don't want these to be obsolete in 2 years!
Matthew Webber (2 months ago)
Why not?
Austin Jasper (2 months ago)
would you recommend these headphones over astro a40 tr's?
Alex Dubovsky (2 months ago)
do they have a built-in microphone?
Casper Ko (2 months ago)
2.5mm
Nikeruto Shippuden (2 months ago)
I just bought them for school and this is the first video Im watching on them. I love them!
deXter2 (3 months ago)
These are faaar from being neutral and analitic. They may be more than Beats, but they still have a lot of drowbacks if you want to use them in a studio.
FeastingLord (4 months ago)
I had some m40s and they were hands down one of the most durable and beautiful sounding headphones I've had
AG Zakuariku (4 months ago)
so there noise canceling?
Rajesh Kumar (4 months ago)
what the deal with m50x and High resolution audio headsets? Which is better. Is it based on Hardware Output? Please help.
William Turner (4 months ago)
Gettin these asap
Rani Shaikh (4 months ago)
nice
Jonathan Balloch (4 months ago)
"And this new blue color" <viewer gets freaked out thinking he has a stroke and blue now looks orange> o_0
HITMAN DULSHANK (4 months ago)
Just a quick question, if i wanted to make this a Bluetooth headphone, is there a mod available that you know of? and is it any good? (as in battery life, sound quality loss and so on..........)
David Aronson (4 months ago)
Status Audio CB-1> M40X > M50X
David Aronson (4 months ago)
It's not 3.5 mill on the side, it's 2.5 mil
Valkiron (4 months ago)
Marques...*sigh* I love your videos. Seriously. I do. But, to say that the M50s are the best headphones under 200 dollars.... ...is just ridiculous. To make things worse, you......reviewed the M70s. Why? Just...why? Just try the M40s, MB. Don't be afraid. If you hate 'em, that's fine. But, if you love them (like everyone else), let the public know, and please stop spreading the lie that the M50s are superior.
LeanGod (4 months ago)
Do they have a microphone l?
ADFullClip (4 months ago)
These the ones I have !
zact lee (4 months ago)
review status audio cb-1
Oboreru Sakana (4 months ago)
Pyramid hair.
Darek Nowak (5 months ago)
Just bought them and attached to the portable DAC SMSL M3. Played some random FLACs. Love it!
Youssef Alowlh (5 months ago)
i'm gonna buy it you are the best
Grayson Purdy (5 months ago)
I have these and am getting hardly any bass... I went to an extreme bass boosted song and it was still majorly lacking... are mine defective or is there any way to get more bass?
wrmaldonado (5 months ago)
Hello Marques, How would you say the M50X compares to Sony XB950N1? I ask because you post videos that are based on good quality and unbiased facts. Love your vids, especially the beats exposure ones.
Blake Blundell (5 months ago)
Thanks for this video, I was so close to buying Beats Studio 2.0 for $250 but bought the ath-m50x instead for only $130 after watching this video and the "truth about beats by dre"
smilelisasa (5 months ago)
Hi if I could know what brand/module of the recording interface sitting on your table this video? Thanks
Smalls (5 months ago)
Can any mic works with any audio interface?
Arvin B (5 months ago)
mkb i love you man.. but you gotta retract this video. M50s are not the best headphone under 200. Check out zeos he has good recommendations on headphones.
V a p o r i z e d (5 months ago)
If you want a great alternative to Beats by Dre. Audio-Technica ATH-M50x is a great choice!! ; ) Beats comfortable headphones with similar sound to ATH-M50x ❤
Devistation (5 months ago)
I kinda regret buying these cause im more of a deep base person since I don't really feel it on these headphones but they are the most confortable headphones.
Ariel Luces (5 months ago)
$130 on amazon right now
Levent 040 (5 months ago)
they cost 140 euros in the netherlands
ss4chris89 (5 months ago)
wow i had to go back and look at the m50 review. youve come a long way. but you had more personality in your older vids. nothing wrong with now though either .
Nitheesh A S (5 months ago)
So this is the video that made this headphone so popular eh? Personally, I feel that this isn't worth all this hype and the money.
Thanks man...
Milton Huynh (6 months ago)
Get the ATH-M40X's if you want to save $60 and can accept lower bass and build quality. After getting it, I never looked for another pair it was perfect for me
Matt J (6 months ago)
How are these for noise cancelling? I've got loud ass roommates I'm tired of listening to
flpmrtnz (6 months ago)
still a good buy in July 2017?
Muhitul Khan (6 months ago)
I saw the blue Orange fuck I m color blind
Kurt Reodica (6 months ago)
Hey man is the sj55 good?
Youtube Channel (6 months ago)
Bought mine a few years ago, honestly one of the best investments i've made. These are actually surprisingly rugged, i've taken them to the gym (just to see what it'd be like) never did it again because they kept falling off. Worn them in the rain and they still work 100%. Never had a problem with these headphones. Bought them for music and gaming and now i use them for what they're supposed to be used for.
Greg T (6 months ago)
Nice video. Thanks. I've had my phones for about a year now and can't find a thing wrong with them. Great sound. Very comfortable for long sessions.
John Smith (6 months ago)
Just bought a pair myself. Not my first pair of decent headphones so I was a little worried they would disappoint, but they totally blew me away. Best sounding headphones i have ever owned.
morgen dikmen (6 months ago)
is it wireless? or i need the wire plugged in to be able to listen to music?
im.da. Batman (6 months ago)
WHAT ABOUT THE Status Audio CB-1?!!?!?!?!
muanthang zou (6 months ago)
still the best even in 2017 @mkbhd?
Sean McVety (6 months ago)
Just bought off amazon for 199. Canada is way more expensive but its still a price im gonna pay for such comfy and high end headphones
manishmetal (7 months ago)
listening to this on my Ath-m50x 😀😀 I listen to a lot of rock and alternative music and it sounds awesome on these ... probably the best I have heard on any other headphone I have ever owned
Joshowa (7 months ago)
are these still worth it?
Yeah, I know right (7 months ago)
Quit commenting saying the headphones are orange not blue. They are blue/orange
Dave A (7 months ago)
Thanks for review, looking to order them tomorrow
Kyris Xiandrii (7 months ago)
i'm thinking about buying these headphones
Ross Lemon (7 months ago)
Getting the m40x in 2 days. Opinions?
Valkiron (4 months ago)
You made the right decision.
PrasBhekti (7 months ago)
this is over the ear completely?
Sui Yo (8 months ago)
Holy shit, these are 10000% better than the g993's - total scam! Audio cut out every 6 seconds, horrible quality audio and build, get these!!
1334Caddy (8 months ago)
Watched you review on the Amazon reviews, came to youtube to find your affiliate link to buy them through. Thanks for your awesome reviews!
Herr Doodlesmith (8 months ago)
When you have locked one cable in to place, can you later on switch to one of the other cables included in the box?
ashu gupta (8 months ago)
I just bought this one. And it's the best headphones I've ever used. Is there a third party cable which comes with mic and buttons to control ??
mikbanin (8 months ago)
Great vid ! I was just wondering what is your audio setup ? (amplifier, speakers, sub...)
Dracula Nova (8 months ago)
My only issue is that the standard cable's plastic around the jack plug tends to wear away, exposing the wire underneath. But apart from that its excellent.
Ashley Rodrigues (8 months ago)
Hey Marques! The earcups on my m50x has worn out... Wat do yu suggest?
Arpit Gohil (8 months ago)
Before purchasing any thing, I just open up YouTube and watch as many videos as possible about that product. And videos from your channel are the one which I prefer to watch first because you are one of the genuine tech reviewer and that's why you are my all time favorite. So thank you for making all this honest reviews and making our purchase a good one. I guess this has changed marketing​ strategy of many tech companies because of you guys. It's not only me but many people does this, so many of them are now spending more on making product then on promoting it. Thanks to all you guys for making this happen and made us a happy consumers​.
Bruno R. (8 months ago)
Thanks Marques I bought it because of you and this video and i am loving it.
Tobi Nator (8 months ago)
When looking for a cheaper headphones for my small professional video editing business, you were the first one I looked to. I carry these around with me everywhere I go. I have created hundreds of hours of content wearing these, and I could have never got the opportunity without you! Thanks for making honest, good review that have actually helped me make an unbiased decision in buy great tech.
Epic Feels (8 months ago)
Awesome review! Love that crisp quality and it's actually pretty comprehensive.
Fiddlydb (8 months ago)
How long of a life do they usually have?
MistahFen (8 months ago)
I had these for a while, and I wouldn't rebuy them. The sound wasn't all that great, at least not as good as everyone was claiming them to be and they felt cheap to me when I had them. Also they were really uncomfortable for my use when I had them. And let's face it, these cans are only getting older and older while better headphones are being put out every month.
Verhooven One (8 months ago)
Marques, please make a review of ATH-MSR7 and compare them with M50x.
Odla Atsira (8 months ago)
I have an HONEST opinion here, and i kinda want to share it with you guys. So, here's the deal... Recently, i bought my m50x in replace for my Sony gold headphone hoping that it would sounds much better in my expectations. But, it doesnt. Despite it's ridiculous name, the Sony gold headphone is actually sounds a bit better imo. It's also quite comfortable but the noise isolation isn't as good as the m50x. In terms of clarity and the bass i think both is on par. But somehow the gold headphone give a better overall enjoyment. It feels like i can feel the "soul" of the song by wearing the gold headphones, but it's somehow feels a bit bland with the m50x, maybe due to echo-ish sound(.?) that the gold produces or something i dont really know how to describe it. I have to be honest and kinda hard to say this (of course, i just bought the m50x), but i think i like the Gold headphone more than the m50x. However, the gold headphone durability is weak af, mine was broke after 1 year (but still can use it tho). If anyone want to share an opinion you can reply below my comment. Fun fact: i'm listening to this video using my m50x cause my gold headphone was broken lol.
Odla Atsira (8 months ago)
I forgot to add this. In terms of design, m50x is much better than than the gold headphone imo. M50x is just perfect if you want to wear it outside due to it's slim and cool design compared to the sony gold bulky design.
Zasha Wakeham (8 months ago)
Are this good at concealing sounds? I have a phantom mic that picks up a lot
Zasha Wakeham (9 months ago)
Is there much leak of sound? I have a sensitive phantom powered microphone. trying to find a headset that wont pick up
krenkson (9 months ago)
Hi guys, if you like these please check the Denon HP800 as for me they sound better than ATH-M50X ! They cheap and they sound incredible.... check them out
Moisés Batista (9 months ago)
I just wonder if this brand pays for these reviews? ( Z Reviews hates the M50x)
Yasser Ouacha (9 months ago)
ps : Microdynamics is one of the strongest points of the m50x ;)
Yasser Ouacha (9 months ago)
They sound incredible, the soundstage is OK for a closed back. imagin is superb and work well with instrument separation. read the review below from Bob Katz for more details...
Moisés Batista (9 months ago)
Do you have one? How they really sound? and what about the sountage? Thanks
Yasser Ouacha (9 months ago)
Z reviews makes inacurate reviews :) check that from BOB KATZ a famous audio mastering engineer with decades of experience : http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/katzs-corner-episode-10-mid-priced-sealed-headphone-survey-audio-technica-ath-m50x?page=1#vkxAaJtOEohDvGyi.97
Jasmine C (9 months ago)
Is there an adapter I have to buy to get them hooked up on my MacBook Pro?
Marco Ramos (9 months ago)
Are these Bluetooth and if not what pair of Bluetooth do you recommend?
Addhayan Bakhshi (9 months ago)
I have a Sony XB650BT right now. Waiting to get a good wired headphones for music and movies. Will buy these this year for sure!!
Outstanding Innovation (9 months ago)
Overrated headphone
adiptawf (9 months ago)
I use this before i change to Razer Kraken 7.1. Its actually good for me play dota and csgo😂
AXLplosion (9 months ago)
My HyperX Cloud 2s just started to die today. Could barely hear anything from the right side. I guess I know what I will buy now.
THERANDOMVLOGER (9 months ago)
these or sony xb950bt?
RMNSTD (9 months ago)
THERANDOMVLOGER Sony for bass, these for more accurate, clear/balanced sound. i recommend XB950B1/XB950N1 over XB950BT
Matt Diffey (9 months ago)
If you guys are worried about the comfort, you can super easily replace the earpads on these with bigger ones that are way more comfy! I made a video (my first ever youtube video!) about it on my channel if you want to check it out (or if not - search Brainwavz Earpads on Amazon - I'm here to help not to shill!)
Sebastian Cabicom (10 months ago)
Had mine for a couple years now, and i am continually astonished by its sound quality. Outperforms much more expensive alternatives.
Flojd_57 (10 months ago)
Are they good for rap and r&b?
Mititelu Radu (10 months ago)
Just got my 40X, I payed 25$ more just to try it out in the shop instead of order it online. Long story short I did not cared about money, I just had 40x and 50x on the table in front of me, and I had to say that 50x were not bad, were unusable. It hurt my ears... everything was a mess of sounds that was hurting my ears. 40x ... great job, good quality... a little to flat for my taste but I already knew that. How can anyone give 50x a good score, is a mystery for me. Even the Fury X2 that are for gaming are better because the simple fact that it does not make my ears hurt.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.